DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The Response, filed on August 3, 2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action dated May 8, 2026, the title, the specification, and claims 1, 4, 8 and 12 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The two information disclosure statements submitted on October 14, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the objection to the title, Applicant has amended the title to be more clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Therefore, the outstanding objection to the title is withdrawn.
Regarding the objection to the drawings, the drawings have not been found to illustrate and indicate the recited limitations, i.e., wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (claims 1 and 8) and wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing, and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing (claim 12). The Office notes that the written description has also not been found to support these limitations. The Office also notes that Applicant has not been found to address the objection to the drawings in their Remarks. Absent illustration and clear elemental indicators supported by the original disclosure, the objection to the drawings is maintained.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1-7, Applicant has cancelled the claim language that failing to comply with the written description requirement. Therefore, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 1-7 is withdrawn. Please note the new 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, infra.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 8-11, Applicant has cancelled the claim language that failing to comply with the written description requirement. Therefore, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 8-11 is withdrawn. Please note the new 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, infra.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-7, Applicant cancelled the indefinite claim language. Therefore, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-7 is withdrawn. Please note the new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, infra.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 8-11, Applicant cancelled the indefinite claim language. Therefore, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 8-11 is withdrawn. Please note the new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, infra.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4, Applicant amended the indefinite claim language. However, the uncertainty related to whether "each of the plurality of auxiliary guide grooves" references the "plurality of auxiliary guide grooves" of the housing, the "plurality of auxiliary guide grooves" of the carrier, or both the housing and the carrier. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4 is maintained.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 12-16, Applicant cancelled the indefinite claim language. Therefore, the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 12-16 is withdrawn. Please note the new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, infra.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 12, 15 and 16, Applicant argues “Seo does not teach that the driving holder 250 has a lower surface that has two sides that are spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction (z-axis direction), and at least a portion of both the two sides are parallel to the second axis (x-axis or y-axis).” (Remarks, p. 8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, Seo teaches the newly amended limitations, in that Seo discloses wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side (e.g., fig. 11, element 250, front side of bump out associated with element 251a, and the other side can be interpreted as either side inset therefrom the bump out and parallel thereto, or the curved portion) each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction (fig. 11, spaced apart in z-direction), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 11, x-direction; if interpreting the curved portion, at least one portion is parallel along the curve). Based on at least the above, the Office stands behind the teachings of Seo as applied to the claims as currently presented.
The Office notes that Applicant has not been found to separately argue the merits of the dependent claims, and instead rests upon their dependence from the independent claims.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 16, Applicant's argues that Kim fails to teach the features recited in claims, 1, 8 and 12 (Remarks, p. 10). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 5, can be interpreted as sides associated with indicator 1130b), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 5, at least a portion of sides associated with indicator 1130b are parallel to X axis).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side, each spaced apart from the first axis in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 5, can be interpreted as sides associated with indicator 1130b), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 5, at least a portion of sides associated with indicator 1130b are parallel to X axis).
As to claim 12, Kim teaches wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing (e.g., figs. 4 and 5, lower surface of element 1130 adjacent to side of element 1030), and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing (e.g., figs. 4 and 5).
Based on at least the above, the Office stands behind the teachings of Kim as applied to the claims as currently presented.
The Office notes that Applicant has not been found to separately argue the merits of the dependent claims, and instead rests upon their dependence from the independent claims.
Applicant is reminded that a patent is granted based on new and novel innovations and advancements over that of the prior art, not on mere and minor structural differences or distinctions which can be found to exist from that of the prior art. The metes and bounds of new and novel innovation(s) and advancements are disclosed by and defined by the teachings and disclosures of the written description.
* * * * * * *
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (claims 1 and 8) and wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing, and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one side" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "other side" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "one side" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "other side" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-7, independent claim 1, from which claims 2-7 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis." The claim language has not been found to be described in the specification, as required by the written description requirement, or found to be described in the prior applications from which continuity is claimed (U.S. 17/583,779 and 18/541,314). The written description requirement is a critical aspect of patent law that ensures inventors adequately document their inventions, thereby protecting their rights and informing the public about the claimed technological advancement. Absent any discussion, the claims fail the written description requirement.
Regarding claims 8-11, independent claim 8, from which claims 9-11 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis." The claim language has not been found to be described in the specification, as required by the written description requirement, or found to be described in the prior applications from which continuity is claimed (U.S. 17/583,779 and 18/541,314). The written description requirement is a critical aspect of patent law that ensures inventors adequately document their inventions, thereby protecting their rights and informing the public about the claimed technological advancement. Absent any discussion, the claims fail the written description requirement.
Regarding claims 12-16, independent claim 12, from which claims 13-16 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing, and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing.” The claim language has not been found to be described in the specification, as required by the written description requirement, or found to be described in the prior applications from which continuity is claimed (U.S. 17/583,779 and 18/541,314). The written description requirement is a critical aspect of patent law that ensures inventors adequately document their inventions, thereby protecting their rights and informing the public about the claimed technological advancement. Absent any discussion, the claims fail the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-7, independent claim 1, from which claims 2-7 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis.” It is unclear how the lower surface of the carrier has both “one side”, as well as has an “other side”, with at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis, based on the claim as currently written. This lack of clarity opens multiple interpretations, including but not limited to, a lower surface can have multiple sides, e.g., a top side vs a bottom portion side, based on orientation, but still 2 parts/portions/sides of a bottom side, or a lower surface can have sides, such as the lower surface of a squared U-shaped structure has sides; with the sides of the bottom being perpendicular to the lower side. Further to this, the written description, from which definiteness is established by particularly pointing out the subject matter, has not been found to discuss this currently claimed subject matter. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “wherein the housing and the carrier each includes a plurality of auxiliary guide grooves, wherein each of the plurality of auxiliary guide grooves...” As the housing includes “a plurality of auxiliary guide grooves” and the carrier includes “a plurality of auxiliary guide grooves”, it is unclear from the claim as currently written, whether later “each of the plurality of auxiliary guide grooves” references the “plurality of auxiliary guide grooves” of the housing, the “plurality of auxiliary guide grooves” of the carrier, or of both the housing and the carrier. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8-11, independent claim 8, from which claims 9-11 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction, and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis.” It is unclear how the lower surface of the carrier has both “one side”, as well as has an “other side”, with at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis, based on the claim as currently written. This lack of clarity opens multiple interpretations, including but not limited to, a lower surface can have multiple sides, e.g., a top side vs a bottom portion side, based on orientation, but still 2 parts/portions/sides of a bottom side, or a lower surface can have sides, such as the lower surface of a squared U-shaped structure has sides; with the sides of the bottom being perpendicular to the lower side. Further to this, the written description, from which definiteness is established by particularly pointing out the subject matter, has not been found to discuss this currently claimed subject matter. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12-16, independent claim 12, from which claims 13-16 depend and inherit all limitations therefrom recites “wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing, and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing.” It is unclear which surface of the carrier constitutes the lower surface of the carrier, and which side surface of the housing constitutes the adjacent side surface, as a surface can surround an element, and does not necessarily require or define straight or flat surfaces, as a side surface can be adjacent to at least two or more distinct sides surfaces, and a surface can be at or extend around a corner or edge, which changes or redefines what could be interpreted or reinterpreted as a parallel or perpendicular side. Further to this, the written description, from which definiteness is established by particularly pointing out the subject matter, has not been found to discuss this currently claimed subject matter. Absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on full and fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter. In view of the above, the claims are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0363626 to Seo et al. (hereinafter “Seo”).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches a folded module (e.g., fig. 11), comprising a housing (e.g., fig. 11, element 210), a carrier accommodated in the housing (e.g., fig. 11, element 250), a rotation holder disposed on the carrier (e.g., fig. 11, element 270), and a reflective member mounted on the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 11, element 273), wherein the carrier is rotatable around a first axis perpendicular to an optical axis (e.g., fig. 11, y-axis perpendicular to z-axis; [0083]) and the rotation holder is rotatable around a second axis (e.g., fig. 11, x-axis) perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis (e.g., fig. 11; [0089]), and wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side (e.g., fig. 11, element 250, front side of bump out associated with element 251a, and the other side can be interpreted as either side inset therefrom the bump out and parallel thereto, or the curved portion) each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction (fig. 11, spaced apart in z-direction), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 11, x-direction; if interpreting the curved portion, at least one portion is parallel along the curve).
Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first axis (e.g., fig. 11, y-axis) is provided between the one side and the other side of the lower surface of the carrier and closer to one of the one side and the other side of the lower surface of the carrier (e.g., fig. 11, y-axis closer to bump out side than curved side).
Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a first ball group disposed between the housing and the carrier and supporting a rotation of the carrier around the first axis (e.g., fig. 11, elements 212 and 213), wherein the first ball group comprises a main ball member forming the first axis (e.g., fig. 11, element 212; wherein the term “main ball member” is merely a label open to broad interpretation), and a plurality of auxiliary ball members spaced apart the first axis (e.g., fig. 11, elements 213; wherein the term “auxiliary ball members” is merely a label open to broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a second ball group disposed between the carrier and the rotation holder and supporting a rotation of the rotation holder around the second axis (e.g., fig. 11, elements 272a), wherein the second ball group includes a plurality of ball members spaced apart in a second axis direction (e.g., fig. 11; wherein the term “ball member” is merely a label open to broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 12, Seo teaches a folded module, comprising a housing (e.g., fig. 11, elements 210 and 230), a carrier (e.g., fig. 11, element 250) accommodating in the housing to be adjacent to one side surface of the housing (e.g., fig. 11, flat surface in X-Z plane), a rotation holder disposed on the carrier (e.g., fig. 11, element 270), and a reflective member mounted on the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 11, element 273), wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing (e.g., fig. 11, a bump out side of element 250 associated with element 251a, or an either side inset therefrom the bump out and parallel thereto, or a curved side; all options being adjacent to a surface of housing, fig. 11, elements 210 and 230) and at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing (e.g., fig. 11, at least a portion being parallel to the one side in both the y-axis and/or the x-axis).
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein the carrier is rotatable around a first axis perpendicular to an optical axis with respect to the housing (e.g., fig. 11, rotating around element 212), and the rotation holder is rotatable around a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis with respect to the carrier (e.g., fig. 11, rotating around elements 272a).
Regarding claim 15, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 13, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a first ball group disposed between the housing and the carrier and supporting a rotation of the carrier around the first axis (e.g., fig. 11, elements 212 and 213; wherein the term “first ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 16, Seo teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 13, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a second ball group disposed between the carrier and the rotation holder and supporting a rotation of the rotation holder around the second axis (e.g., fig. 11, elements 272a; wherein the term “second ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0129197 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a folded module (e.g., fig. 4, element 1000), comprising a housing (e.g., fig. 4, element 1010), a carrier accommodated in the housing (e.g., fig. 4, element 1123), a rotation holder disposed on the carrier (e.g., fig. 4, element 1120) and a reflective member mounted on the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 4, element 1110; [0063]), wherein the carrier is rotatable around a first axis perpendicular to an optical axis (e.g., figs. 4 and 5; rotatable around Y axis and perpendicular to Z axis) and the rotation holder is rotatable around a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis (e.g., fig. 4, 5 and 7; rotatable around X axis), and wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side each spaced apart from the first axis in an optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 5, can be interpreted as sides associated with indicator 1130b), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 5, at least a portion of sides associated with indicator 1130b are parallel to X axis).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first axis is provided between the one side and the other side of the lower surface of the carrier (e.g., fig. 5, based on rotation between ball members) and closer to one of the one side and the other side of the lower surface of the carrier (e.g., figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a second ball group (e.g., fig. 4, elements 1133b; [0092-96]; wherein the term “second ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation) disposed between the carrier and the rotation holder (e.g., figs. 4, 5 and 7) and supporting a rotation of the rotation holder around the second axis (e.g., figs. 4, 5 and 7; [0093]), wherein the second ball group includes a plurality of ball members spaced apart in a second axis direction (e.g., figs. 4, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 5, supra) including teaching wherein the carrier (e.g., fig. 6, element 1130) and the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 7, element 1120) each includes a plurality of guide grooves (e.g., fig. 6, element 1132; fig. 7, element 1021; [0101]) accommodating a portion of the plurality of ball members (e.g., figs. 6 and 7, “a portion” of the balls members are accommodated).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 6, supra) including teaching wherein the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 4, element 1120) includes protrusions extending to the second axis direction (e.g., fig. 4, portions of element 1120 associated with indicator 1120a, ends of curves are protrusions that extend in the X axis away from a central area), and the rotation holder includes the plurality of guide grooves on the protrusions (e.g., fig. 4, indicators 1120a).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a camera module (e.g., figs. 3A-4), comprising a housing (e.g., fig. 3A and 4, element 1010), a folded module (e.g., fig. 3A, element 1100) accommodated in the housing and (e.g., fig. 3A and 4) including a reflective member converting a direction of light to an optical axis direction (e.g., figs. 3A and 4, element 1110; [0063]), and a lens module including at least one lens disposed in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 3A, element 1200), wherein the folded module comprises a carrier (e.g., fig. 4, element 1123) rotatable around a first axis perpendicular to an optical axis (e.g., figs. 4 and 5; rotatable around Y axis and perpendicular to Z axis), and a rotation holder (e.g., fig. 4, element 1120) on which the reflective member is mounted (e.g., figs. 4 and 7) and rotatable around a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis (e.g., fig. 4, 5 and 7; rotatable around X axis), and wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side and other side, each spaced apart from the first axis in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 5, can be interpreted as sides associated with indicator 1130b), and at least a portion of each of the one side and the other side is parallel to the second axis (e.g., fig. 5, at least a portion of sides associated with indicator 1130b are parallel to X axis).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching the camera module further comprising a first ball group (e.g., figs. 4-6, elements 1131; wherein the term “first ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation) disposed between the housing and the carrier (e.g., fig. 4, between element 1010 and 1130) and supporting a rotation of the carrier around the first axis (e.g., figs. 4-6; [0091]), and a second ball group (e.g., figs. 4 and 7, element 1133; wherein the term “second ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation) disposed between the carrier and the rotation holder (e.g., fig. 4, between elements 1130 and 1120) and supporting a rotation of the rotation holder around the second axis (e.g., figs. 4 and 7; [0091]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a folded module, comprising a housing (e.g., fig. 3A and 4, element 1030), a carrier (e.g., fig. 4, element 1130) accommodating in the housing to be adjacent to one side surface of the housing (e.g., fig. 4), a rotation holder disposed on the carrier (e.g., fig. 4, element 1120), and a reflective member mounted on the rotation holder (e.g., figs. 3A and 4, element 1110; [0063]), wherein a lower surface of the carrier comprises one side adjacent to one side surface of the housing (e.g., figs. 4 and 5, lower surface of element 1130 adjacent to side of element 1030), and wherein at least a portion of the one side of the lower surface of the carrier is parallel to the one side surface of the housing (e.g., figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein the carrier is rotatable around a first axis perpendicular to an optical axis with respect to the housing (e.g., figs. 4-7), and the rotation holder is rotatable around a second axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axis with respect to the carrier (e.g., figs. 4 and 7; [0091]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 13, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a first ball group (e.g., figs. 4-6, elements 1131; wherein the term “first ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation) disposed between the housing and the carrier and supporting a rotation of the carrier around the first axis (e.g., figs. 4-7; [0091]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 13, supra) including teaching the folded module further comprising a second ball group (e.g., figs. 4 and 7, element 1133; wherein the term “second ball group” is merely a label open to broad interpretation) disposed between the carrier and the rotation holder (e.g. figs. 4 and 7) and supporting a rotation of the rotation holder around the second axis (e.g. figs. 4 and 7; [0091]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638