DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 10-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 6, “and the air supply outlets” should be revised to “and air supply outlets” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claims 2-3, 10, 14, and 17-18, each instance of “according to patent claim” should be revised to “according to claim” to ensure clarity in the claims.
In Claims 2-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17, and 19, each instance of “in the case of which” should be revised to “wherein” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 4 Line 3, “forms the powder outlet” should be revised to “forms a powder outlet” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 5 Line 3, “for the connection” should be revised to “for connection” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 6 Line 2, “a further one” should be revised to “one” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 6 Line 3, “for the connection” should be revised to “for connection” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 7 Line 2, “a further one” should be revised to “one” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 7 Line 3, “for the connection” should be revised to “for connection” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 13 Line 6, “the axis of rotation” should be revised to “an axis of rotation” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 16 Lines 3-4, “the powder inlet of the powder injector” should be revised to “the powder inlet” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 17 Line 2, “on the outlet side” should be revised to “on an outlet side” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 18 Line 3, “in the powder supply” should be revised to “in a powder supply” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “connecting means” in Claim 13 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 8 of the Specification which states, “The connecting means advantageously serves the purpose of establishing a releasable connection. The connecting means is preferably a mechanical connection between upper housing part and lower housing part. It can be, for example, a screw or a combination of threaded pin and nut.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “connecting means” in Claim 13 to be a screw, a combination of a threaded pin and a nut, or equivalents thereof.
This application also includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are:
The “quick closure by means of which the line connection block can be fastened to the injector housing” in Claim 1, which recites sufficient structure of a closure; and
The “connecting means” in Claim 14, which recites sufficient structure of a screw.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is indefinite because Lines 2-3 state “the fluidizing ring centers the intake pipe with respect to the pipe” and there is improper antecedent basis for “the fluidizing ring” in the claim. It is not clear if a fluidizing ring was intended to be previously recited or not and it is not clear if Claim 19 is intended to depend from a different claim. For the purpose of examination, Claim 19 Lines 2-3 will be interpreted to state “a fluidizing ring centers the intake pipe with respect to the pipe”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE-102018111949-A1 to Tobler et al. (“Tobler”).
As to Claim 1, Tobler discloses a powder injector (See Figs. 5-6) with quick coupling (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing quick connection),
with an injector housing (#33 and #31), which has a powder inlet (#36) and supply air inlets (#38, #41, and #46, See Fig. 11b) and in which a drive nozzle (#34) and a collection nozzle (#36) are arranged (See Fig. 8a and Paragraph 0071),
with a line connection block (#32), which has connections for supply air lines and the supply air outlets (See Fig. 12a and Paragraph 0067) and
with a quick closure, by means of which the line connection block can be fastened to the injector housing and the supply air outlets of the line connection block can be connected to the supply air inlets of the injector housing (See Paragraph 0065 and Annotated Fig. 7).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the quick closure has a snap-in connection (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing a plug quick connection and See Fig. 7. The plug connection between #32 and #33 is equivalent to a snap-in quick connection).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the quick closure has a self-resetting closure clip (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing a plug and screw quick connection, which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to comprise a structure that is equivalent to a self-resetting closure clip. Therefore some self-resetting closure clip structure exists between #33 and #32.).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the line connection block comprises a powder hose connection, which forms the powder outlet of the powder injector (See Annotated Fig. 7, the powder hose connection forms a beginning of an outlet that powder from #150 is dispensed out of).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein one of the connections of the line connection block is provided for the connection of a hose for conveying air (See air hoses #37, #40, #45 and See Paragraph 0082).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein a further one of the connections of the line connection block is provided for the connection of a hose for metering air (See Paragraph 0051 disclosing an additional air supply and an air flow meter for setting an ideal feed rate).
As to Claim 7, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein a further one of the connections of the line connection block is provided for the connection of a hose for fluidizing air (See Paragraph 0061 disclosing fluidized material and See #45 in Fig. 7).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the connections are arranged on one side of the line connection block (See connections on a left side of #32 in Fig. 7).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses the powder injector comprising seals between the supply air outlets and the supply air inlets (See Paragraphs 0090-0092).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 9 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the seals are formed as radially acting seals (See Paragraphs 0090-0092 and See seals on #46 and #32 in Fig. 7).
As to Claim 11, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the line connection block has a guide and the injector housing has a counter piece matching the guide (See Figs. 6-7 and See Paragraph 0065, the line connection block as an outlet end guide on #33 that matches with an inlet end guide on #32).
As to Claim 13, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 3 above, Tobler further discloses wherein of which the injector housing comprises an upper housing part (#31) and a lower housing part (#33), and
with a connecting means, which connects the upper housing part and the lower housing part to one another, which forms the axis of rotation for the closure clip and which holds the closure clip (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing that #31 and #33 can be connected via a screw connection. An axis that #31 is screwed to #33 is equivalent to an axis that the closure clip can be rotated around and which holds the closure clip between #33 and #32 in place).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 13 above, Tobler further discloses wherein in the case of which the connecting means is formed as screw (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing that #31 and #33 can be connected via a screw connection).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the injector housing is formed so that the collection nozzle can be pulled out of the injector housing when the line connection block is taken off (See Paragraph 0077 and See Fig. 10b).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler further discloses a powder conveyor with the powder injector (See Fig. 3),
with an intake pipe (See Annotated Fig. 7, the intake pipe is a portion of #31), which is connected to the powder inlet of the powder injector (See Annotated Fig. 7, the intake pipe is fluidly connected to the powder inlet via #48a),
with a pipe surrounding the intake pipe (See #33 in Annotated Fig. 7), and
with a fluidizing air line (#47a), which runs through the injector housing and which opens out into the pipe (See Annotated Fig. 7, the fluidizing air line #47a opens out into #33).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the powder conveyor of Tobler as applied to Claim 16 above, Tobler further discloses in the case of which the intake pipe has a thread on the outlet side and the injector housing has a matching counter thread (See Paragraph 0065 disclosing that #33 and #31 can be connected via a screw connection and see a thread formation on the intake pipe of #31 in Fig. 6, therefore, the intake pipe has a thread on a left outlet end of it and part of the injector housing has a matching counter thread).
As to Claim 18, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 16 above, Tobler further discloses the powder conveyer comprising a fluidizing ring (#49, which carries fluidizing air pipe #46), which is connected to the pipe and which is provided to distribute fluidizing air in the powder supply (See Annotated Fig. 7, the ring #49 is connected within #33 and distributes fluidizing air by guiding #46).
As to Claim 19, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 16 above, Tobler further discloses wherein the fluidizing ring centers the intake pipe with respect to the pipe (See Annotated Fig. 7, the fluidizing ring helps align #33 with #31 and thus centers the intake pipe with respect to the pipe).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobler in view of US Patent 5,505,566 to Gruber (“Gruber”).
Regarding Claim 12, in reference to the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above, Tobler does not specifically disclose the powder injector having a non-return valve, which is arranged in the injector housing downstream from the supply air inlet .
However, Gruber discloses, in the same field of endeavor of powder injection, a powder injector (See Fig. 1), having a non-return valve (#22, which is a check-valve per Col. 3 Line 39. Check valves prevent backflow of fluid.), which is arranged in an injector housing (#10) downstream from a supply air inlet (#21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the powder injector of Tobler as applied to Claim 1 above such that the powder injector has a non-return valve arranged in the injector housing downstream from the supply air inlet as taught by Gruber, since doing so would yield the predictable result of preventing unwanted reverse flow of fluid in the injector housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 17, 2026