DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-15 and 17-25 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to newly added limitation which haven’t been rejected in the previous action, please refer to new ground of rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-15 and 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over California (US 20230358358 A1) in view of Wu (US D964372 S; from IDS 07/28/2026).
For claim 1. California discloses An apparatus, comprising: a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to be placed adjacent an object (figure 13, [0112], mobile phone); and first and second retaining elements extending outwardly from the outer surface of the body and defining a retaining groove therebetween (figures 18-19, [0115], retaining elements the two walls 22), the retaining groove having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]), wherein the retaining groove is configured to receive an item (the flexible tie 14) such that the item is retained in the retaining groove by the first and second retaining elements (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
California fails to disclose the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove.
Wu discloses an electronic device case comprising a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to house the electronic device, a retaining groove (for a pen or stylus) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Wu into the art of California as to include the retaining configuration for a pen or stylus as an alternative/additional embodiment.
For claim 2. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the first and second retaining elements are longest along axes parallel to the outer surface of the body (figures 18-19, [0115], retaining elements the two walls 22).
For claim 3. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the first and second retaining elements are integral with the body ([0017]).
For claim 4. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the body is a protective case for a portable electronic device (figure 13, [0112], mobile phone case).
For claim 5. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the retaining groove is uncovered (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 6. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the body is a planar item detachably connected to the object (figure 13, [0112], mobile phone case).
For claim 8. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses in another embodiment that wherein the second end of the retaining groove includes a closed end that is closed by a joining wall section joining the first and second retaining elements (figures 33, 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by California into the art of California as modified by Wu as to have a closed end as an alternative embodiment.
For claim 12. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the first and second retaining elements provide the retaining groove with a substantially U-shaped or substantially V-shaped configuration (figures 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 13. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein a shape of the retaining groove substantially mimics a shape of the item to be retained therein (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 14. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the retaining groove is defined by the first retaining element, the second retaining element, and the outer surface of the body (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 15. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the second end of the retaining groove comprises a second open end (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 17. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein a portion of the outer surface and the inner surface of the body of the apparatus are planar (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 18. California discloses A method of retaining an item (the flexible tie 14) to an apparatus, comprising: providing the apparatus comprising a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to be placed adjacent an object (figure 13, [0112], mobile phone), the apparatus including first and second retaining elements extending outwardly from the outer surface and defining a retaining groove therebetween (figures 18-19, [0115], retaining elements the two walls 22), the outer surface therefrom and defining a retaining groove therebetween, the retaining groove having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]); and fitting the item into the retaining groove such that the item is retained in the retaining groove by the first and second retaining elements (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
California fails to disclose the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove.
Wu discloses an electronic device case comprising a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to house the electronic device, a retaining groove (for a pen or stylus) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Wu into the art of California as to include the retaining configuration for a pen or stylus as an alternative/additional embodiment.
For claim 19. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the method according to claim 18, California discloses further comprising removing the item from the retaining groove to use the item (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 20. California discloses (figure 13, [0112], mobile phone case) A retaining apparatus for an electronic device, comprising: a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to be placed adjacent the electronic device; and first and second retaining elements extending outwardly from the outer surface and defining a retaining groove therebetween (figures 18-19, [0017], [0115], retaining elements the two walls 22), the retaining groove having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]); wherein the retaining groove is configured to receive an item (the flexible tie 14) such that the item is retained in the retaining groove by the first and second retaining elements (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
California fails to disclose the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove.
Wu discloses an electronic device case comprising a body having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the inner surface configured to house the electronic device, a retaining groove (for a pen or stylus) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an intermediate portion between the first end and the second end, the retaining groove being open at the first end, the first and second retaining elements converging towards each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the first end of the retaining groove toward the intermediate portion, the first and second retaining elements diverging away from each other in a direction that is parallel to the outer surface and from the intermediate portion towards the second end of the retaining groove, the first and second retaining elements comprising wall portions that gradually increase in height from the outer surface in a direction from the first end toward the second end of the retaining groove (figures 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Wu into the art of California as to include the retaining configuration for a pen or stylus as an alternative/additional embodiment.
For claim 21. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, California discloses wherein the body has a rounded rectangular shape with four corners, and wherein the retaining groove has a linear path in a diagonal direction that extends from a first one of the four corners to a second one of the four corners that is opposite of the first one of the four corners (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 22. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 21, California discloses wherein the first one of the four corners is a top-right corner and wherein the second one of the four corners is a bottom-left corner (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 23. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, California discloses wherein the body has a rounded rectangular shape with four corners, and wherein the retaining groove has a linear path in a diagonal direction that extends from a first one of the four corners to a second one of the four corners that is opposite of the first one of the four corners (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 24. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 23, California discloses wherein the first one of the four corners is a top-right corner and wherein the second one of the four corners is a bottom-left corner (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
For claim 25. California in combination with Wu substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, California discloses wherein the first and second retaining elements are integral with the body (figures 13, 18-19, [0115]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
August 3, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643