DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12, in the reply filed on October 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
"a rotation mechanism... configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle" in Claim 1, as described in Paras. [0143] & [0145] of Applicant’s specification.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (hereinafter "Ono") (US 2023/0020281).
Regarding Claim 1, Ono discloses a device (Fig. 1, 10; [0036]), the device comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1, 12; [0036]);
a visualization shaft (Fig. 1, 11; [0036]) extending from the handle ([0036]), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Fig. 4, 11a; [0037]) disposed at an angle (Fig. 4, R2; [0054]) that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft (see Fig. 4);
a rotation mechanism (Fig. 1, a rotation assembly comprising 33 and 34; [0048]) connecting the visualization shaft to the handle ([0048]), wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle ([0048]);
an imaging sensor ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]); and
a light source ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0037] & [0048]).
The intended use language “for visualizing a surgical procedure in an ear” does not positively recite any structural limitations so as to carry out the function, accordingly the prior art Ono can carry out the function, i.e. the intended use recited absent any specific structure recited to do so.
Regarding Claim 9, Ono discloses the device of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein the rotation mechanism comprises:
a connecting ring (Fig. 3, 33; [0048]) attached directly to the visualization shaft ([0049]);
a connector (Fig. 3, 34; [0048]) connected directly to the handle ([0049]); and
a limiter ring (an omega-shaped portion of 12 defined by 37; see Fig. 6) that rotates around the visualization shaft (see Figs. 10 & 12-14) and includes at least one rotation limiter (wall portions of the omega-shaped portion of 12; see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Ono discloses the device of Claim 1. Ono further discloses a rotation cuff (Fig. 3, 34; [0048]) attached to an outer surface of the visualization shaft at or near the handle ([0049]); and
a rotation indicator (Fig. 3, 39; [0053]) attached to the rotation cuff ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ono discloses the device of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein the rotation mechanism comprises a rotation dial (Fig. 3, 33; [0048]) on the handle ([0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (hereinafter "Ono") (US 2023/0020281).
Regarding Claims 6-7, Ono discloses the device of Claim 1. Ono fails to explicitly disclose wherein the angle is between 10 degrees and 45 degrees; and wherein the angle is 20 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the angle of the distal end of Ono be 20 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, distal end would not operate differently with the claimed angle. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that “the distal tip 1806 may be angled at an angle of between about 5 degrees and about 60 degrees, or between about 10 degrees and about 45 degrees, or between about 15 degrees and about 30 degrees… in [an] embodiment… the distal tip 1806 has an angle of approximately 20 degrees” (see Para. [0141] of Applicant’s specification).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (hereinafter "Ono") (US 2023/0020281) in view of Barry et al. (hereinafter "Barry") (US 2022/0160220).
Regarding Claim 12, Ono discloses the device of Claim 1. Ono fails to explicitly disclose an image guidance sensor at the distal end of the visualization shaft.
However, Barry teaches a device (Fig. 1, 100; [0075]), the device comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1, 120; [0075]);
a visualization shaft (Fig. 1, 108; [0075]) extending from the handle ([0076]), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Fig. 1, 110; [0077]) disposed at an angle that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (Fig. 8, LA; [0076]) of the visualization shaft (see Fig. 8);
an imaging sensor (Fig. 2, 140; [0077]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0077]);
a light source (Fig. 3B, 390; [0080]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0080]),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0077] & [0080]); and
an image guidance sensor (Fig. 2, 146; [0107]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0108]).
The advantage of the orientation sensor is to use orientation data to maintain a display of the gathered image in a desired orientation (Barry; [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the distal end of the visualization shaft as disclosed by Ono, to include the orientation sensor taught by Barry, to use orientation data to maintain a display of the gathered image in a desired orientation (Barry; [0073]).
Claims 1-5 & 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendory et al. (hereinafter "Bendory") (US 2022/0218186) in view of Ono et al. (hereinafter "Ono") (US 2023/0020281).
Regarding Claim 1, in an alternative, Bendory discloses a device (Claim 1, Line 1) for visualizing a surgical procedure in an ear (Claim 1, Lines 1-2), the device comprising:
a handle (Claim 1, Line 3);
a visualization shaft (Claim 1, Line 4) extending from the handle (Claim 1, Line 4), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Claim 1, Line 5) disposed at an angle that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0018]);
an imaging sensor at the distal end of the visualization shaft (Claim 1, Line 5); and
a light source at the distal end of the visualization shaft (Claim 1, Line 6),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0018]).
Bendory fails to explicitly disclose a rotation mechanism connecting the visualization shaft to the handle, wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle.
However, Ono teaches a device (Fig. 1, 10; [0036]), the device comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1, 12; [0036]);
a visualization shaft (Fig. 1, 11; [0036]) extending from the handle ([0036]), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Fig. 4, 11a; [0037]) disposed at an angle (Fig. 4, R2; [0054]) that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft (see Fig. 4);
a rotation mechanism (Fig. 1, a rotation assembly comprising 33 and 34; [0048]) connecting the visualization shaft to the handle ([0048]), wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle ([0048]);
an imaging sensor ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]); and
a light source ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0037] & [0048]).
The advantage of the rotation mechanism is to permit the visualization shaft to be rotationally movable with respect to the handle (Ono; [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as disclosed by Bendory, to include the rotation mechanism taught by Ono, to permit the visualization shaft to be rotationally movable with respect to the handle (Ono; [0010]).
Regarding Claim 2, Bendory, as previously modified by Ono, teaches the device of Claim 1. Bendory further discloses a first suction tube extending along a proximal portion of a first side of the visualization shaft (Claim 1, Lines 7-8);
a second suction tube extending along a proximal portion of a second side of the visualization shaft (Claim 1, Lines 9-10); and
a first suction component (Claim 1, Line 11), comprising:
a first suction shaft (Claim 1, Line 12);
a first thumb depress member coupled with a proximal end of the first suction shaft (Claim 1, Lines 13-14);
a first spring disposed over a proximal portion of the first suction shaft (Claim 1, Lines 15-16), such that when the first suction shaft is advanced and then released, the first suction shaft retracts automatically (Claim 1, Lines 16-18); and
a first suction tubing for connecting at least one of the first suction shaft or the first thumb depress member with the handle (Claim 1, Lines 19-21).
Regarding Claim 3, Bendory, as previously modified by Ono, teaches the device of Claim 2. Bendory further discloses wherein the first suction component further comprises a suction push rod attached to the proximal portion of the first suction shaft (Claim 6, Lines 1-3), wherein the suction push rod has an outer diameter sized to fit through an inner diameter of the first suction tube and the second suction tube (Claim 6, Lines 3-6), and wherein the first thumb depress member is attached to a proximal end of the suction push rod (Claim 6, Lines 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Bendory, as previously modified by Ono, teaches the device of Claim 2. Bendory further discloses an irrigation component (Claim 7, Lines 1-2), comprising:
an irrigation shaft sized to fit through the first suction tube or the second suction tube (Claim 7, Lines 3-4); and
an irrigation tubing attached at one end to the irrigation shaft (Claim 7, Lines 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Bendory, as previously modified by Ono, teaches the device of Claim 2. Bendory further discloses wherein the first suction shaft has an outer diameter of 3 French or less (Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 8, Bendory, as previously modified by Ono, teaches the device of Claim 1. Bendory further discloses wherein the handle comprises a finger loop configured to allow the device to be held by a single finger of a user (Claim 11).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,159 in view of Ono et al. (hereinafter "Ono") (US 2023/0020281) and Barry et al. (hereinafter "Barry") (US 2022/0160220).
The claims of ‘159 disclose all of the limitations of the instant claims except for wherein the distal end is disposed at an angle that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft; a rotation mechanism connecting the visualization shaft to the handle, wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle; wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft; wherein the angle is between 10 degrees and 45 degrees; wherein the angle is 20 degrees; wherein the rotation mechanism comprises: a connecting ring attached directly to the visualization shaft, a connector connected directly to the handle, a limiter ring that rotates around the visualization shaft and includes at least one rotation limiter, and a rotation dial on the handle; a rotation cuff attached to an outer surface of the visualization shaft at or near the handle; and a rotation indicator attached to the rotation cuff; and an image guidance sensor at the distal end of the visualization shaft.
Regarding wherein the angle is 20 degrees, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the angle of the distal end be 20 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, distal end would not operate differently with the claimed angle. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that “the distal tip 1806 may be angled at an angle of between about 5 degrees and about 60 degrees, or between about 10 degrees and about 45 degrees, or between about 15 degrees and about 30 degrees… in [an] embodiment… the distal tip 1806 has an angle of approximately 20 degrees” (see Para. [0141] of Applicant’s specification).
Regarding Claims 1-12, Ono discloses a device (Fig. 1, 10; [0036]), the device comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1, 12; [0036]);
a visualization shaft (Fig. 1, 11; [0036]) extending from the handle ([0036]), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Fig. 4, 11a; [0037]) disposed at an angle (Fig. 4, R2; [0054]) that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft (see Fig. 4);
a rotation mechanism (Fig. 1, a rotation assembly comprising 33 and 34; [0048]) connecting the visualization shaft to the handle ([0048]), wherein the rotation mechanism is configured to allow the visualization shaft to rotate around the longitudinal axis relative to the handle ([0048]);
an imaging sensor ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]);
a light source ([0037]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0037]),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0037] & [0048]);
wherein the rotation mechanism comprises:
a connecting ring (Fig. 3, 33; [0048]) attached directly to the visualization shaft ([0049]);
a connector (Fig. 3, 34; [0048]) connected directly to the handle ([0049]);
a limiter ring (an omega-shaped portion of 12 defined by 37; see Fig. 6) that rotates around the visualization shaft (see Figs. 10 & 12-14) and includes at least one rotation limiter (wall portions of the omega-shaped portion of 12; see Fig. 6); and a rotation dial (Fig. 3, 33; [0048]) on the handle ([0049]);
a rotation cuff (Fig. 3, 34; [0048]) attached to an outer surface of the visualization shaft at or near the handle ([0049]); and
a rotation indicator (Fig. 3, 39; [0053]) attached to the rotation cuff ([0053]).
The advantage of the rotation mechanism is to permit the visualization shaft to be rotationally movable with respect to the handle (Ono; [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as disclosed by ‘159, to include the rotation mechanism taught by Ono, to permit the visualization shaft to be rotationally movable with respect to the handle (Ono; [0010]).
Regarding Claims 1-12, Barry discloses a device (Fig. 1, 100; [0075]), the device comprising:
a handle (Fig. 1, 120; [0075]);
a visualization shaft (Fig. 1, 108; [0075]) extending from the handle ([0076]), the visualization shaft comprising a distal end (Fig. 1, 110; [0077]) disposed at an angle that is not perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (Fig. 8, LA; [0076]) of the visualization shaft (see Fig. 8);
an imaging sensor (Fig. 2, 140; [0077]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0077]);
a light source (Fig. 3B, 390; [0080]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0080]),
wherein the imaging sensor and the light source are positioned at the angle of the distal end relative to the longitudinal axis of the visualization shaft ([0077] & [0080]); and
an image guidance sensor (Fig. 2, 146; [0107]) at the distal end of the visualization shaft ([0108]).
The advantage of the orientation sensor is to use orientation data to maintain a display of the gathered image in a desired orientation (Barry; [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the distal end of the visualization shaft as disclosed by ‘159, to include the orientation sensor taught by Barry, to use orientation data to maintain a display of the gathered image in a desired orientation (Barry; [0073]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2025/0072920; US 2024/0341572; US 2020/0329953; US 2020/0129050; US 2019/0069759; US 2017/0239091; US 2014/0357947 and U.S. 5,921,956.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795