DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
Figure 1 and Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 change “a hydraulic end comprising valve box” to “a hydraulic end comprising a valve box.”
Claim 10 has a transition phrase typographic error, and recites “further compressing a control circuitry.” Correct the term to “comprising.”
Claim 11 preamble recites “a a discharge pressure,” delete the extra “a.”
Claim 12 recites “and the at least one processor is configured,” change to “and at least one processor is configured.” This is the first recitation of the “at least one processor” and should be entered with the indefinite article “a.”
Claims 1-20 use inconsistent transition phrases and grammar “comprising:” “wherein” “comprises” “further comprising:” “by:” “configured to:” “further comprising” “wherein:”.
Use consistent transition phrases and grammatical marks so that the preamble of each claim can be readily identified. (See MPEP 608.01(i) and 2111.03).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 6-7, 9-11, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprakel (DE 19503864, citations to machine translation) in view of Blum (US 7,186,097).
Examiner notes on Interpretation:
Applicant uses a new term “hydraulic-end valve box 2-1,” review of applicant’s disclosure indicates that it is what a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as “the fluid end” of a plunger pump, which holds the plunger bore.
Applicant does define the exact term “open side of the V-shape”, however based on applicant’s disclosure of fig 3, 11 and 12 which shows the fluid injected through injection hole 6 and the pump working chamber to the right of the piston; and applicant disclosure of “V-shaped lip and an opening facing a direction of a high-pressure cavity of the hydraulic-end valve box 2-1 (Applicant’s published application US2025/0198404, par 0109). The “open side” can reasonably be interpreted as the V-shape with the narrower end of the V pointing away from the pump working chamber, and the top side of the V-shape facing toward the pump working chamber; in the same manner shown in applicant’s fig 3, 11, and 12.
Sprakel fig 1
Blume fig 12A
Claim 1, Sprakel discloses a method for monitoring a packing status of a plunger pump (plunger pump, “monitor packing wear,” abstract), comprising:
obtaining packing pressure measurements from a pressure detector (fig 1, transverse bores 14/15 carry hydraulic fluid to measuring device 17, pg 4), the pressure detector being disposed within a packing cavity (13 and 14 connect to the cavity containing sealing package 7, id.) and between two packing components of a packing (14/15 are between seal 13 and seal pack 7; seal 13 and seal pack 7 are components of the packing),
the two packing components being arranged in tandem (7 and 13 both function as seals on the plunger; reasonably they are both plunger seals on the same plunger and thereby meet the plain meaning of tandem) … for sealing between a wall of the packing cavity (bore for plunger 4 in gland holder 6, pg 4) and an outer surface of a plunger (4) of the plunger pump (fig 1 depicts seals 13 and 7 are between blunger 4 and bore of gland holder 6), and the sealing being pressure-assisted …by a pressurized fluid (incompressible cooling liquid, water, pg 4) from a hydraulic-end valve box of the plunger pump (applicant’s fig 11 shows “hydraulic-end valve box 2-1” is the fluid end of the plunger pump with its inlet and outlet valves; Sprakel fig 1 shows fluid passages through 5/6 which are equivalent to applicant’s fluid end of the plunger pump); and
monitoring the packing status of the plunger pump based on the packing pressure measurements (measuring device 17 passes on info to control device 18 and it’s evaluated for tolerance ranges, for leaks in the seal packs 7 then alarms, pg 4).
Sprakel is silent on seals 13 and 7 “each having a cross section with a V-shape,” where the “the sealing being pressure assisted via a pressure exerted from an open side of the V-shape.”
Blume teaches an analogous plunger pump and gland seal, where the seal (fig 12A, packing ring 98) each has a cross section with a V-shape (packing ring 98 in the commonly used chevron configuration, c 13 ln 11-20; a chevron is v shaped).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic packing seal 7 of Sprakel with the chevron cross section packing 98 material of Blume in order to increase the tightening of the packing ring over the plunger as it is longitudinally compressed (Blume, c 13 ln 15-17).
Furthermore, as a result of the combination Sprakel in view of Blume, arranging Blume’s packing ring (98) in the same orientation in the combination as in its original reference (Blume fig 15A, 98) orients the packing in the same orientation as applicant’s disclosed packing (Applicant’s fig 3, 11 and 12) where the pointed part of the chevron points toward the portion of the plunger extending out of the pump housing.
Since the arrangement the packing ring chevron of Sprakel in view of Blume is similar to applicant’s arrangement of packing in their fig 12, and Sprakel discloses fluid leaking from the pump working chamber toward the gland chamber to cause a pressure rise (Sprakel pg 4), it is reasonable to conclude that the fluid moving from pump working chamber toward the glad seal meets the claim for “the sealing being pressure-assisted via a pressure exerted from an open side of the V-shape.”
Claim 2, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the packing cavity comprises a first contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and the packing (Sprakel, fig 1, thrust collar 10 and spring 11 are at the first contact position of the packing cavity; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 11, par 0108), a second contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and a packing pressing cap (stuffing box holder 6 is packing pressing cap, Sprakel, fig 1 shows first support ring 8 which is between stuffing box holder 6 and plunger cylinder housing 5; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 11, par 0108), a third contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and a packing pressing ring (Sprakel first support ring 8; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 12 packing pressing ring 23, par 0108), and a fourth contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and a packing isolating ring (Sprakel, second support ring 9, analogous to applicant’s packing isolation ring 24, par 0108).
Claim 3, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
monitoring the packing status of the plunger pump is further based on a discharge pressure of the hydraulic-end valve box in addition to the packing pressure measurements (Sprakel, pg 2, “changes in … pressure increase, pulsation level, pulsation frequency, lower pulsation peaks, upper pulsation peaks, pulsation mean or the detect pulsation bandwidth… in combination with each other an indication of the state of the monitored … seal;” a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the pressure and pulsation measurements as measurements of plunger pump discharge pulses and would recognize “the monitored give seal” as the packing seal), and
comprises: … determining whether the packing pressure measurements indicate a packing pressure exceeding a preset packing pressure threshold (first and second threshold for pulsation of coolant liquid measured by 17, pg 4); and
when it is indicated that the packing pressure exceeds the preset packing pressure threshold,
determining that the packing is abnormal (Sprakel, alarm for leaking seals, pg 4).
Sprakel does not explicitly disclose…
determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure;
when the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure … determine whether the packing is abnormal.
Nevertheless, applicant explains the term “reach” is the context of the pressure inside “the hydraulic end will reach the lubrication grease pressure cavity along the direction of the arrow” (Applicant’s par 0067). Because of the leakage “the pressure in the lubricating cavity will exhibit high pressure… the pressure sensor 4 detects a pressure value…and the control system 5 provides …alarm information (Applicant par 0067). Reasonably, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the broad interpretation of the claim includes this method of determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure assisted packing seal pressure.
Therefore, according to applicant’s disclosure Sprakel inherently meets the claims “determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure;
when the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure … determine whether the packing is abnormal” by measuring the increase in pressure in the seal pack area due to leakage across the seal (See Sprakel pg 4).
Claim 4, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the preset packing pressure threshold comprises a plurality of thresholds (Sprakel first and second limit value, pg 4) determined based on packing abnormality levels (Sprakel, a first limit value outside of tolerance level indicates an abnormal leak, a second limit value shuts off the pump, pg 4), and determining whether the packing pressure exceeds a preset packing pressure threshold (exceeds first or second limit, pg 4) comprises: comparing the packing pressure in a level by level manner with the plurality of thresholds sorted in ascending order to determine the packing status (the second limit value is higher than the first limit value because the second limit value is hit when the pressure continues to increase past the first limit value, pg 4).
Claim 5, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein before determining whether the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure, the method further comprises:
determining whether an operating status of the plunger pump and the discharge pressure of the hydraulic-end valve box are stable (are amplitude frequency and pulsation within the certain tolerance range for the respective measured variable, pg 4; examiner notes that applicant defines stable as “fluctuation within a preset … fluctuation range,” Applicant’s par 0158); and
determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure comprises:
when the operating status of the plunger pump and the discharge pressure of the hydraulic-end valve box are stable, determining an operating condition of the plunger pump (determine whether to alarm, pg 4) based on the operating status of the plunger pump (detect higher pressure in the seal is an operating status of the pump, pg 4); and
determining, in the operating condition, whether the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure (the alarm for leakage is based no whether pressure leaks from the discharge pressure of the working chamber to the seal, pg 4; See further explanation at claim 3).
Claim 7, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
generating corresponding alarm prompt information based on an abnormality status of the packing (alarm pg 4; the term “prompt” has the plain meaning in computer usage of a displayed computer message suggesting a user to do something; therefore an alarm prompt that suggests the operator see to the cause of the alarm meets the definition), wherein:
the alarm prompt information comprises identification of at least one cylinder with a packing abnormality (alarm pg 3, 4, 5), abnormality level information (there are two threshold levels, the alarm identifies the first threshold, pg 4), and abnormality handling information (the alarm indicates that a first threshold is passed, the same variable passing the second threshold causes a shutdown, pg 4; therefore the alarm is informing the person of ordinary skill in the art that a shutdown may occur without intervention).
Claim 9, Sprakel discloses a plunger pump, comprising:
a hydraulic end (fig 1, pump head 5, pg 4) comprising [a] valve box (pump head 5, 4) and a plunger chamber (bore for plunger 1) disposed in sequence;
a plunger (1) movably disposed within the plunger chamber, an inner wall of the plunger chamber and an outer surface of the plunger forming a packing cavity (fig 1 depicts packing cavity for seal 7 and 13 between plunger 7 and the bore for the plunger, pg 4);
a packing (seal package 7 and seal 13) disposed in the packing cavity,
the packing comprises at least two packing components being arranged in tandem (7 and 13 both function as seals on the plunger; reasonably they are both plunger seals on the same plunger and thereby meet the plain meaning of tandem)… for a sealing between the inner wall of the plunger chamber and the outer surface of the plunger (fig 1 depicts the seal in the position to seal these surfaces), …; and
at least one pressure sensor disposed between the two packing components (fig 1, transverse bores 14/15 carry hydraulic fluid to measuring device 17, pg 4; 14/15 are between seal 13 and seal pack 7; seal 13 and seal pack 7 are components of the packing).
Sprakel is silent on
with each having a cross section with a V- shape… and the sealing being assisted via a pressure exerted from a pressurized fluid from the valve box.
Blume teaches an analogous plunger pump and gland seal, where the seal (fig 12A, packing ring 98) each has a cross section with a V-shape (packing ring 98 in the commonly used chevron configuration, c 13 ln 11-20; a chevron is v shaped).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic packing seal 7 of Sprakel with the chevron cross section packing 98 material of Blume in order to increase the tightening of the packing ring over the plunger as it is longitudinally compressed (Blume, c 13 ln 15-17).
Furthermore, as a result of the combination Sprakel in view of Blume, arranging Blume’s packing ring (98) in the same orientation in the combination as in its original reference (Blume fig 15A, 98) orients the packing in the same orientation as applicant’s disclosed packing (Applicant’s fig 3, 11 and 12) where the pointed part of the chevron points toward the portion of the plunger extending out of the pump housing.
Since the arrangement the packing ring chevron of Sprakel in view of Blume is similar to applicant’s arrangement of packing in their fig 12, and Sprakel discloses fluid leaking from the pump working chamber toward the gland chamber to cause a pressure rise (Sprakel pg 4), it is reasonable to conclude that the fluid moving from pump working chamber toward the glad seal meets the claim for and the “seal being assisted via a pressure exerted from an open side of the V-shape.”
Claim 10, Sprakel teaches the plunger pump according to claim 9, further compressing a control circuitry (fig 2, control room comprising control device 18, pg 4), wherein the control circuitry is configured to monitor a packing status (whether leaking by seal pack, pg 4) of the plunger pump based on measurements of a packing pressure (pressure of seal, claim 10, 12, pg 5) from the at least one pressure sensor (pressure measuring device 17 used to determine health of seal packs 7, pg 4).
Claim 11, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger pump according to claim 10, wherein the control circuitry is configured to monitor the packing status based on a discharge pressure of the valve box in addition to the packing pressure measurements (Sprakel packing leakage is monitored based on pressure in the valve box leaking through to gland seal pg 2, 4; see further explanation at claim 3) by:
determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure (pressure from discharges reaches the seal by leaking and causing a pressure rise, pg 4; see explanation in claim 3);
when the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure, determining whether the packing pressure measurements indicate a packing pressure exceeding a preset packing pressure threshold (leakage causes a rise in pressure there is a first and second threshold, pg 4); and
when it is determined that the packing pressure exceeds the preset packing pressure threshold, determining that the packing is abnormal (alarm sounds for passing the threshold, pg 4).
Claim 13, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger pump according to claim 11, wherein before determining whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure, the control circuitry is configured to: determine whether an operating status of the plunger pump and the discharge pressure of the valve box are stable (are amplitude frequency and pulsation within the certain tolerance range for the respective measured variable, pg 4; examiner notes that applicant defines stable as “fluctuation within a preset … fluctuation range,” Applicant’s par 0158); and determine whether the discharge pressure reaches a pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure (pressure from discharges reaches the seal by leaking and causing a pressure rise, pg 4; see explanation in claim 3) by: when the operating status of the plunger pump and the discharge pressure of the valve box are stable (are amplitude frequency and pulsation within the certain tolerance range for the respective measured variable, pg 4; examiner notes that applicant defines stable as “fluctuation within a preset … fluctuation range,” Applicant’s par 0158), determining an operating condition of the plunger pump (determine whether to alarm, pg 4) based on the operating status of the plunger pump (detect higher pressure in the seal is an operating status of the pump, pg 4); and determining, in the operating condition, whether the discharge pressure reaches the pressure-assisted packing sealing pressure (the alarm for leakage is based no whether pressure leaks from the discharge pressure of the working chamber to the seal, pg 4; See further explanation at claim 3).
Claim 15, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger pump according to claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: generate corresponding alarm prompt information based on an abnormality status of the packing (alarm pg 4), wherein: the alarm prompt information comprises identification of at least one cylinder with a packing abnormality (alarm pg 3, 4, 5), abnormality level information (there are two threshold levels, the alarm identifies the first threshold, pg 4), and abnormality handling information (the alarm indicates that a first threshold is passed, the same variable passing the second threshold causes a shutdown, pg 4; therefore the alarm is informing the person of ordinary skill in the art that a shutdown may occur without intervention).
Claim 17, Sprakel discloses a plunger-packing assembly (fig 1, stuffing box 4, pg 4), comprising: a plunger (1) movably disposed within a plunger chamber (bore for plunger 1) having an inner wall to form a packing cavity between the plunger and the inner wall (fig 1 depicts packing cavity for seal 7 and 13 between the plunger 7 and the bore for the plunger, pg 4); a packing (seal package 7 and seal 13) disposed in the packing cavity for a sealing between the plunger and the inner wall (fig 1 depicts the seal in the position to seal these two surfaces), the packing comprising two packing components being arranged in tandem (7 and 13 both function as seals on the plunger; reasonably they are both plunger seals on the same plunger and thereby meet the plain meaning of tandem), … and
a pressure detector disposed between the two packing components for packing pressure measurements used for determining a status of the sealing (fig 1, transverse bores 14/15 carry hydraulic fluid to measuring device 17, pg 4; 14/15 are between seal 13 and seal pack 7; seal 13 and seal pack 7 are components of the packing).
Sprakel is silent on each of the two packing components having a cross section with a V-shape, and the sealing being assisted via a pressure exerted from an open side of the V-shape by a pressurized fluid.
Blume teaches an analogous plunger pump and gland seal, where the seal (fig 12A, packing ring 98) each has a cross section with a V-shape (packing ring 98 in the commonly used chevron configuration, c 13 ln 11-20; a chevron is v shaped).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the generic packing seal 7 of Sprakel with the chevron cross section packing 98 material of Blume in order to increase the tightening of the packing ring over the plunger as it is longitudinally compressed (Blume, c 13 ln 15-17).
Furthermore, as a result of the combination Sprakel in view of Blume, arranging Blume’s packing ring (98) in the same orientation in the combination as in its original reference (Blume fig 15A, 98) orients the packing in the same orientation as applicant’s disclosed packing (Applicant’s fig 3, 11 and 12) where the pointed part of the chevron points toward the portion of the plunger extending out of the pump housing.
Since the arrangement the packing ring chevron of Sprakel in view of Blume is similar to applicant’s arrangement of packing in their fig 12, and Sprakel discloses fluid leaking from the pump working chamber toward the gland chamber to cause a pressure rise (Sprakel pg 4), it is reasonable to conclude that the fluid moving from pump working chamber toward the glad seal meets the claim for and the “seal being assisted via a pressure exerted from an open side of the V-shape.”
Claim 18, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger-packing assembly of claim 17, further comprising a packing pressure cap, a packing pressure ring, and a packing isolation ring, wherein the packing cavity comprises a first contact position between a hydraulic-end valve box and the packing (Sprakel, fig 1, thrust collar 10 and spring 11 are at the first contact position of the packing cavity; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 11, par 0108), a second contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and the packing pressing cap (stuffing box holder 6 is packing pressing cap, Sprakel, fig 1 shows first support ring 8 which is between stuffing box holder 6 and plunger cylinder housing 5; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 11, par 0108), a third contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and the packing pressing ring (Sprakel first support ring 8; this is analogous to applicant’s fig 12 packing pressing ring 23, par 0108), and a fourth contact position between the hydraulic-end valve box and the packing isolating ring (Sprakel, second support ring 9, analogous to applicant’s packing isolation ring 24, par 0108).
Claim 19, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger-packing assembly of claim 17, further comprising a discharge pressure sensor disposed at the open side of the V-shape for measuring the pressurized fluid.
Claim 20, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the plunger-packing assembly of claim 17, wherein: the two packing components, when disposed in tandem, forms an accommodation space between the open side of the V-shape of one of the two packing components and a tip end of the V-shape of another of the two packing components; and the pressure detector is disposed in the accommodation space.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison (US 5,772,403) in view of Kelly (US 4,884,549).
Claim 6, Sprakel in view of Blum teaches the method according to claim 5.
Sprakel does not disclose wherein determining whether an operating status of the plunger pump is stable comprises:
obtaining running status information of the plunger pump through a running detector arranged at one end of a crankshaft of the plunger pump, wherein the running status information of the plunger pump comprises at least one of a running speed of the plunger pump (first of three alternates), crank position information of the crankshaft of the plunger pump (second of three alternates), and plunger position information (third of three alternates), and wherein the running detector comprises a uniformly- toothed trigger wheel or comprises a tooth-missing trigger wheel and a key phase sensor; and
determining, based on the running status information, whether the operating status of the plunger pump is stable.
Allison teaches an analogous pump monitoring and shutdown system wherein determining whether an operating status of the plunger pump is stable comprises:
obtaining running status information of the plunger pump through a running detector (pump running sensor 44 and rpm sensor 46 provided at pump crankshaft to measure speed, ) arranged at one end of a crankshaft of the plunger pump (sensor 44/46 is on the crankshaft, fig 1 shows sensor 44/46 at an end of the crankshaft), wherein the running status information of the plunger pump comprises at least one of
a running speed of the plunger pump (speed sensor 44, id; the first of three alternately claimed options),
… and
determining, based on the running status information, whether the operating status of the plunger pump is stable (the controller based upon the running sensor 44 determines whether the pump is running/operating and reached an operating speed; c 6 ln 10-20; under a BRI “stable” is interpreted as indicating that the pump has reached the operating speed of the pump).
Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison is silent on wherein the running detector comprises a uniformly- toothed trigger wheel or comprises a tooth-missing trigger wheel and a key phase sensor.
Allison does not teach this because it does not disclose the details of the running sensor 44 or rpm sensor 46.
Kelly teaches a speed sensor using a trigger wheel (96) with uniformly-toothed trigger wheel (equiangularly spaced trigger elements or teeth 97) used to calculated speed with greater accuracy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the running detector (sensor 44/46) of Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison by using the uniformly toothed trigger wheel taught by Kelly in order to measure speed of rotation with greater accuracy.
Claim 14, Sprakel in view of Blum teaches the plunger pump according to claim 13.
Sprakel does not disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine whether an operating status of the plunger pump is stable by:
obtaining running status information of the plunger pump through a running detector arranged at one end of a crankshaft of the plunger pump, wherein the running status information of the plunger pump comprises at least one of a running speed of the plunger pump (first of three alternates), crank position information of the crankshaft of the plunger pump (second of three alternates), and plunger position information (third of three alternates), and wherein the running detector comprises a uniformly- toothed trigger wheel or comprises a tooth-missing trigger wheel and a key phase sensor; and
determining, based on the running status information, whether the operating status of the plunger pump is stable.
Allison teaches an analogous pump monitoring and shutdown system wherein determining whether an operating status of the plunger pump is stable comprises:
obtaining running status information of the plunger pump through a running detector (pump running sensor 44 and rpm sensor 46 provided at pump crankshaft to measure speed, ) arranged at one end of a crankshaft of the plunger pump (sensor 44/46 is on the crankshaft, fig 1 shows sensor 44/46 at an end of the crankshaft), wherein the running status information of the plunger pump comprises at least one of
a running speed of the plunger pump (speed sensor 44, id; the first of three alternately claimed options),
… and
determining, based on the running status information, whether the operating status of the plunger pump is stable (the controller based upon the running sensor 44 determines whether the pump is running/operating and reached an operating speed; c 6 ln 10-20; under a BRI “stable” is interpreted as indicating that the pump has reached the operating speed of the pump).
Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison is silent on wherein the running detector comprises a uniformly- toothed trigger wheel or comprises a tooth-missing trigger wheel and a key phase sensor.
Allison does not teach this because it does not disclose the details of the running sensor 44 or rpm sensor 46.
Kelly teaches a speed sensor using a trigger wheel (96) with uniformly-toothed trigger wheel (equiangularly spaced trigger elements or teeth 97) used to calculated speed with greater accuracy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the running detector (sensor 44/46) of Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison by using the uniformly toothed trigger wheel taught by Kelly in order to measure speed of rotation with greater accuracy.
Claims 8, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprakel in view of Blum in view of Allison.
Claim 8, Sprakel in view of Blum teaches the method of claim 7. Sprakel does not disclose wherein the alarm prompt information is indicated via colored light.
Allison teaches an analogous pump monitoring and shutdown system with an alarm prompt information is indicated via colored light (the alarm may be a visual alarm such as a light, used to alert the operator that a fault has occurred; c 6 ln 65-c 7 ln 10; examiner notes under a plain usage of the term “color,” that all visible light inherently has a color; as color is the human perception of light’s wavelength, and all light has wavelength).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic alarm of Sprakel with a visual alarm taught by Allison in order to notify the operator of the pump visually which can more easily be perceived in noisy environments.
Claim 12, Sprakel in view of Blume teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the preset packing pressure threshold comprises a plurality of thresholds determined based on packing abnormality levels (Sprakel, first and second threshold, pg 4), … [the controller] determines whether the packing pressure exceeds a preset packing pressure threshold (the controller 18 determines whether the pressure passes a first and second threshold, pg 4) by:
comparing the packing pressure in a level by level manner with the plurality of thresholds sorted in ascending order to determine the packing status (the controller determines whether pressure passes the first threshold level then whether it passes the second threshold level, pg 4).
Sprakel is silent on “at least one processor is configured to execute the computer instructions.”
Allison teaches an analogous pump monitoring and shutdown system which uses a controller enables as a computer (68) which can execute computer instructions (can be programmed, c 7 ln 25-40) to control the pump and manage the fault alarms (c 7 ln 25-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the controller of Sprakel as a computer with a processor and programs of Allison in order to connect the alarm system to modern systems which allow downloads of logging data for analysis (Allison, c 7 ln 27-40).
Claim 16, Sprakel in view of Blum teaches the plunger pump according to claim 15. Sprakel does not disclose wherein the alarm prompt information is indicated via colored light.
Allison teaches an analogous pump monitoring and shutdown system with an alarm prompt information is indicated via colored light (the alarm may be a visual alarm such as a light, used to alert the operator that a fault has occurred; c 6 ln 65-c 7 ln 10; examiner notes under a plain usage of the term “color,” that all visible light inherently has a color; as color is the human perception of light’s wavelength, and all light has wavelength).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic alarm of Sprakel with a visual alarm taught by Allison in order to notify the operator of the pump visually which can more easily be perceived in noisy environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maurer (US 3,907,307) discloses a packing assembly with pressure monitoring.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746