DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
(1) In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121 (b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131 (b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
(2) Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Remarks
Receipt of Applicant’s Amendment file on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 101 rejection, applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “claims 1-20 disclose communication between an apparatus and a user or an AI application, which are eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101” (page 7th, 5th paragraph). Respectfully, communication between an apparatus and a user or an AI application, which merely constitute extra-insignificant solution activity (mere data gathering and output, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; see MPEP 2106.05(g) – presenting offers, selecting information examples). Therefore claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are maintained. Further explanations is provided below
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection (See new references of DUAN QIN).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are directed to non-statutory subject matter because it does not fall within four category of patentable subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C 101 (Process, machine manufacture or composition of matter).
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (Step 2A), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B). Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas.
Analysis
STEP 1:
Claims 1, 10 and 19 subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. § 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
STEP 2A, PRONG l (Claim 1):
Under step 2A, prong 1, of the 2019 Guidance, we first look to whether the claim recites any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activities such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes). MPEP § 2106.04(a).
Limitation recites:
receiving, by an apparatus, optimization request information entered by a user or sent by an artificial intelligence (Al) application, wherein the optimization request information requests the apparatus to optimize a first model file comprised in the optimization request information, the first model file comprises M operators, each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation, each operator corresponds to one kernel function, and M is a positive integer”
providing, by the apparatus, a second model file for the user or sending, by the apparatus, the second model file to the Al application, wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M”
Claim 1 recites limitation “wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M”; this limitation is, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mathematical concept/calculation.
STEP 2A, PRONG 2 (Claim 1):
Limitations recite “receiving, by an apparatus, optimization request information entered by a user or sent by an artificial intelligence (Al) application … ” and “providing, by the apparatus, a second model file for the user or sending, by the apparatus, the second model file to the Al application” respectively, which merely constitute extra-insignificant solution activity (mere data gathering and output, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; see MPEP 2106.05(g) – presenting offers, selecting information examples).
The additional limitations “AI application”, and “an apparatus” describe generic computer components, akin to adding the word "apply it" in connection with the abstract idea.
STEP 2B (Claim 1):
Under step 2B, the limitations “receiving…” and “providing…” merely constitute extra-insignificant solution activity (mere data gathering and output, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; see MPEP 2106.05(g) – presenting offers, selecting information examples) and is well-known, conventional, and routine in the art (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering).
Viewed as a whole, the additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 10 and 19 are being rejected under U.S.C. 101 for similar reasons.
Similarly, additional limitations “at least one processor”, “at least one memory”; “AI application” in claim 10 and “a computing device…; a processor…; a memory; user interface…”, “a plurality of prediction engines”; “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”, “AI application” in claim 19 describe generic computer components, akin to adding the word "apply it" in connection with the abstract idea.
Under step 2B, the limitations “receiving… ” and “providing …” merely constitute insignificant solution activity (mere data gathering and output, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; see MPEP 2106.05(g) – presenting offers, selecting information examples) and is well-known, conventional, and routine in the art (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering)).
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are dependent on their respective parent claims 1, 10 and 19 respectively and include all the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 19; since these claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, thus the claims are direct to abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN QIN (CN 114692863 A) in view of Shivam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0297643 A1), further in view of Ashari et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0032487 A1).
Regarding claim 1, DUAN QIN teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by an apparatus, optimization request information entered by a user or sent by an artificial intelligence (Al) application, wherein the optimization request information requests the apparatus to optimize a first model file comprised in the optimization request information (page 14, the electronic device may acquire a model to be optimized, which needs to be subjected to model optimization, according to a model optimization instruction input by a user when receiving the model optimization instruction input by the user, or may acquire the model to be optimized, which needs to be subjected to model optimization, according to a received model optimization request when receiving a model optimization request transmitted by another electronic device; also see page 7);
providing, by the apparatus, a second model file for the user or sending, by the apparatus, the second model file to the AI application (page 16, the electronic device adjusts the parallel computing strategy according to the pruning strategy for the model to be optimized, so as to obtain the parallel computing strategy corresponding to the optimization model; and then the optimization model is deployed to the terminal according to the parallel computing strategy corresponding to the optimization model).
DUAN QIN does not explicitly disclose: the first model file comprises M operators, each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation, each operator corresponds to one kernel function, and M is a positive integer.
Shivam teaches: the first model file comprises M operators, each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation, each operator corresponds to one kernel function, and M is a positive integer (paragraph [0039], a matrix multiplication operation can be referred as a General Matrix Multiplication; A and B are input matrices of dimensions M rows by k columns and K rows by N column, respectively, and C is a preexisting output matrix that is overwritten with the result and has dimension of M rows by N columns; it will be appreciated that the product of AB has MxN elements, each of which is calculated as the dot-product of two K element vectors, thus a total of MxNxK FMA (fused multiply add) operations are needed to compute the product of AB, and each FMA operation is a combination of a multiply operation followed by an addition operation; also see paragraph [0037], launching the kernels to execute the desired operation(s) in the PPU; launching operations on two or more PPUs simultaneously, also see paragraph [0139]); generating a second model file based on the first model file (paragraph [0039], a matrix multiplication operation can be referred as a General Matrix Multiplication; A and B are input matrices of dimensions M rows by k columns and K rows by N column, respectively, and C is a preexisting output matrix that is overwritten with the result and has dimension of M rows by N columns)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the first model file comprises M operators, each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation, each operator corresponds to one kernel function, and M is a positive integer into model optimization of DUAN QIN.
Motivation to do so would be to include the first model file comprises M operators, each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation, each operator corresponds to one kernel function, and M is a positive integer to address the issue with conventional solutions simply are not executed as fast as desirable (Shivam, paragraph [0003], line 20-21).
DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam do not explicitly disclose: wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M.
Ashari teaches: wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M (paragraph [0058], development of GPU kernels for primitive linear algebraic operators (e.g., matrix vector multiplication) that are used in developing ML processes is extended by developing fused kernels for a combination of primitive operators …; a fused kernel is developed to optimize the computation on the GPU; also see paragraph [0061], receiving input matrix comprising a matric (sparse or dense) that includes row and column data; also see [0064], GPU exploitation is to launch separate kernels for individual operations; one for matrix-vector multiplication (XxY) and another transpose-matrix-vector multiplication (XTx(∙)); also see paragraph [0085]-[0086]; in combination with the matrices of the matrix multiplication of Shivam, it reads on as claimed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M into model optimization of DUAN QIN.
Motivation to do so would be to include wherein the second model file is based on the first model file and comprises N fused operators, each fused operator is used to perform at least two matrix multiplication calculations, each fused operator corresponds to one kernel function, N is a positive integer, and N<M such that not only reduces the process cost of data load due to improved temporal locality but also enables other optimizations (Ashari, paragraph [0058], line 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein the first model file is a model file of a trained AI model (DUAN QIN, page 14, the electronic device may acquire a model to be optimized, which needs to be subjected to model optimization, according to a model optimization instruction input by a user when receiving the model optimization instruction input by the user, or may acquire the model to be optimized, which needs to be subjected to model optimization, according to a received model optimization request when receiving a model optimization request transmitted by another electronic device; also see page 7, the electronic device firstly obtains a model to be optimized, which needs model optimization; the training state of the model to be optimized is not particularly limited in the present application, and the model may be a trained model or a model that has not been trained).
Regarding claim 3, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein any matrix multiplication calculation performed using each fused operator does not depend on a calculation result of another matrix multiplication calculation performed using the same fused operator (Ashari, paragraph [0058], development of GPU kernels for primitive linear algebraic operators (e.g., matrix vector multiplication) that are used in developing ML processes is extended by developing fused kernels for a combination of primitive operators…; a fused kernel is developed to optimize the computation on the GPU; also see paragraph [0061], receiving input matrix comprising a matric (sparse or dense) that includes row and column data; also see [0064], GPU exploitation is to launch separate kernels for individual operations; one for matrix-vector multiplication (XxY) and another transpose-matrix-vector multiplication (XTx(∙)); also see paragraph [0077], the goal behind the technique is to reuse the rows r while computing w[:]=X [r,:] TxpH, where p[r] = X[r,:]x y[:]).
Regarding claim 4, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein that each operator is used to perform one matrix multiplication calculation comprises: each operator is used to perform a matrix multiplication calculation between a left hand side matrix and a right hand side matrix (Shivam, paragraph [0039], a matrix multiplication operation can be referred as a General Matrix Multiplication; A and B are input matrices of dimensions M rows by k columns and K rows by N column, respectively, and C is a preexisting output matrix that is overwritten with the result and has dimension of M rows by N columns; it will be appreciated that the product of AB has MxN elements, each of which is calculated as the dot-product of two K element vectors, thus a total of MxNxK FMA (fused multiply add) operations are needed to compute the product of AB, and each FMA operation is a combination of a multiply operation followed by an addition operation).
Regarding claim 5, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 4, further teach the second model file is generated based on a dimension of the left hand side matrix or a dimension of the right hand side matrix in the first model file (Shivam, paragraph [0039], a matrix multiplication operation can be referred as a General Matrix Multiplication; A and B are input matrices of dimensions M rows by k columns and K rows by N column, respectively, and C is a preexisting output matrix that is overwritten with the result and has dimension of M rows by N columns; it will be appreciated that the product of AB has MxN elements, each of which is calculated as the dot-product of two K element vectors, thus a total of MxNxK FMA (fused multiply add) operations are needed to compute the product of AB, and each FMA operation is a combination of a multiply operation followed by an addition operation).
Regarding claim 6, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 4, further teach wherein left hand side matrices of a plurality of matrix multiplication calculations performed using a first fused operator have a same dimension, right hand side matrices of the plurality of matrix multiplication calculations performed using the first fused operator have a same dimension, and the first fused operator is one of the N fused operators (Ashari, paragraph [0058], development of GPU kernels for primitive linear algebraic operators (e.g., matrix vector multiplication) that are used in developing ML processes is extended by developing fused kernels for a combination of primitive operators …; a fused kernel is developed to optimize the computation on the GPU; also see paragraph [0061], receiving input matrix comprising a matric (sparse or dense) that includes row and column data; also see [0064], GPU exploitation is to launch separate kernels for individual operations; one for matrix-vector multiplication (XxY) and another transpose-matrix-vector multiplication (XTx(∙)).
Regarding claim 7, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 4, further teach wherein the method further comprises: determining a plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a first matrix multiplication calculation, wherein the first matrix multiplication calculation is a matrix multiplication calculation performed using one of the M operators; performing the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on at least one second fused operator of the N fused operators (Ashari, paragraph [0058], development of GPU kernels for primitive linear algebraic operators (e.g., matrix vector multiplication) that are used in developing ML processes is extended by developing fused kernels for a combination of primitive operators …; a fused kernel is developed to optimize the computation on the GPU; also see paragraph [0061], receiving input matrix comprising a matric (sparse or dense) that includes row and column data; also see [0064], GPU exploitation is to launch separate kernels for individual operations; one for matrix-vector multiplication (XxY) and another transpose-matrix-vector multiplication (XTx(∙)); and adding calculation results of the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations (Ashari, paragraph [0058], development of GPU kernels for primitive linear algebraic operators (e.g., matrix vector multiplication) that are used in developing ML processes is extended by developing fused kernels for a combination of primitive operators …; a fused kernel is developed to optimize the computation on the GPU; also see paragraph [0061], receiving input matrix comprising a matric (sparse or dense) that includes row and column data; also see [0064], GPU exploitation is to launch separate kernels for individual operations; one for matrix-vector multiplication (XxY) and another transpose-matrix-vector multiplication (XTx(∙); also see paragraph [0062], performing inter-vector or intra-block aggregations for the vector via atomic operations using the partial output vector results; also see paragraph [0067], the partial values of w computed by multiple threads spanning warps and blocks are aggregated to obtain the final vector result).
As per claims 10-16, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claims 1-7 and are similarly rejected.
As per claims 19-20, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claims 1-2 and are similarly rejected.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN QIN (CN 114692863 A) in view of Shivam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0297643 A1), and Ashari et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0032487 A1), further in view of INKUN et al. (CN114168154 A).
Regarding claim 8, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 7, but do not explicitly disclose: wherein the determining a plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a first matrix multiplication calculation comprises: splitting the first matrix multiplication calculation into the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a dimension of the left hand side matrix or a dimension of the right hand side matrix in the first matrix multiplication calculation.
JINKUN teaches: wherein the determining a plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a first matrix multiplication calculation comprises: splitting the first matrix multiplication calculation into the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a dimension of the left hand side matrix or a dimension of the right hand side matrix in the first matrix multiplication calculation (page 9, paragraph [5], one representation file obtained after decomposition correspond to “+” in the operator (i.e., the algorithm of multiplication included in the operator, and the corresponding algorithm type is the algorithm type of multiplication); also see page 11, paragraph [4], the electric device may use, as the intermediate representation to be fused, and may convert one intermediate representations, which may be understood as splitting operator corresponding to the intermediate representation to be adjusted to obtain the corresponding operators (that is, splitting operators) respectively converted and represented by the plurality of fused intermediate representations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include wherein the determining a plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a first matrix multiplication calculation comprises: splitting the first matrix multiplication calculation into the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a dimension of the left hand side matrix or a dimension of the right hand side matrix in the first matrix multiplication calculation into model optimization of DUAN QIN.
Motivation to do so would be to include wherein the determining a plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a first matrix multiplication calculation comprises: splitting the first matrix multiplication calculation into the plurality of second matrix multiplication calculations based on a dimension of the left hand side matrix or a dimension of the right hand side matrix in the first matrix multiplication calculation such that the operator fusion rate is improved, the memory reuse can be improved, and the model effect and the model performance after compiling optimization is improved (JINKUN, page 2, third to last paragraph, line 10-11).
As per claim 17, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claim 8 and is similarly rejected.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DUAN QIN (CN 114692863 A) in view of Shivam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0297643 A1), and Ashari et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0032487 A1), further in view of Palmer et al. (U.S. patent No. 11,169,798 B1).
Regarding claim 9, DUAN QIN as modified by Shivam and Ashari teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose: wherein the AI application deploys the second model file on a cloud server of the AI application after receiving the second model file.
Palmer teaches: wherein the AI application deploys the second model file on a cloud server of the AI application after receiving the second model file (col. 6, line 24-40, enables build-once/reusability/generic models with model inheritance from the base model class, model version tracking, model packaging, automatic realtime performance profiling, etc.; also see col. 3, line 43-56, AI model serving system can reside on specific computers or be otherwise distributed between multiple computer system, including within a fabric/cloud-based computing environment in which the functionality of the AI model serving system is provided as service over a network; also see col. 5, line 18-23, accept new model package versions and allow remote program package managers or the like to download model packages, by e.g., version number, and load them into their program runtime(s); also see col. 8, line 15-18, deploying new and in-development models to the API).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include wherein the AI application deploys the second model file on a cloud server of the AI application after receiving the second model file into model deployment of DUAN QIN.
Motivation to do so would be to include wherein the AI application deploys the second model file on a cloud server of the AI application after receiving the second model file which provide and effective automated way to share and prototype runnable model packages (Palmer, col. 6, line 30-31).
As per claim 18, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claim 9 and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEN HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2168