DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is responsive to Applicants' application filed on 03/06/25. Claims 1-8 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koertzen (US 20060255777 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Koertzen teaches a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter with parallel switches [fig 3], comprising: a switching DC-DC conversion circuit [s1-s4] comprising at least one switch unit [s1-s2] each comprising N [2] switches connected in parallel, wherein the N switches comprise an ith [th being order] switch [i.e. first switch s1] and an (i+1)th switch [i.e. 2nd switch s2], N is a positive integer higher than or equal to 2, and i is a positive integer from 1 to N-1; and
a control unit [32] electrically connected to the N switches of the at least one switch unit to respectively turn on or off the N switches of the at least one switch unit;
wherein the control unit outputs an ith driving signal [function of 32] and an (i+1)th driving signal to the ith switch and the (i+1)th switch respectively,
and conduction phases of the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal are alternate with each other [implicit in ¶15, it’s disclose that one switch is disabled, thus the other is enabled].
Regarding claim 2. Koertzen teaches the DC-DC converter as claimed in claim 1, wherein a phase difference between the conduction phases of the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal is 360/N degrees [interpreting N as 2 360 gives 180 deg in offset, which is similar to the period were one switch is enabled and the other switch is disabled].
Regarding method claims 5-6, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koertzen (US 20060255777 A1) in view of Krishnamurthy et al. (US 20220374060 A1)
Regarding claim 3. Koertzen teaches the DC-DC converter as claimed in claim 1.
However, Koertzen does not explicitly mention a circuit wherein the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal are pulse-width modulation signals having duty cycles lower than (1/N)x100% respectively.
Krishnamurthy teaches a circuit wherein the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal are pulse-width modulation signals having duty cycles lower than (1/N)x100% respectively [¶19].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Krishnamurthy in order to provide a controller using PWM which keeps the switch ON or OFF as intended to drive the efficiency towards higher than 85%.
Regarding claim 4. Koertzen teaches the DC-DC converter as claimed in claim 2.
However, Koertzen does not explicitly mention a circuit wherein the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal are pulse-width modulation signals having duty cycles lower than (1 /N)x 100% respectively.
Krishnamurthy teaches a circuit wherein the ith driving signal and the (i+1)th driving signal are pulse-width modulation signals having duty cycles lower than (1 /N)x 100% respectively [¶19].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Krishnamurthy in order to provide a controller using PWM which keeps the switch ON or OFF as intended to drive the efficiency towards higher than 85%.
Regarding method claims 7-8, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838