Detailed Action
Claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 6, 2025 and December 16, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and accordingly, the IDS have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites in part, “the delivery destination of the work completion notice includes at least one of the plurality of information processing terminals other than the each of the plurality of information processing terminals.” The language is not clear. Since “each of the plurality of information processing terminals” is excluded, i.e., “other than the each of the plurality of information processing terminals,” it is not clear how the destination includes at least one of the information processing terminals.” It is not clear which destination is included in the delivery destination.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites in part, “in response to determining that messages associated with the data update event regarding all of data planned to be acquired has been stored in the message queue.” It is not clear which message queue “the message queue” is referring to because the system comprises a plurality of message queues. Claim 4 requires that the system comprise “a plurality of information processing terminals according to claim 3,” and claim 1 requires that the information processing terminal comprises a message queue. It is not clear if claim 7 requires messages, associated with the data update event regarding all of data planned to be acquired, to be stored in each message queue in each of the information processing terminals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Patent Publication No. 2013/0097259 (“Li) in view of Shimomoto US Patent Publication No. 2019/0361653 (“Shimomoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an information processing terminal comprising:
a memory;
a processor configured to load programs from the memory to execute the programs; and
a transceiver configured to send a message to a server and receive a message from the server, wherein the memory is configured to store: a program of a predetermined application; the predetermined application; data obtained by execution of the predetermined application (fig. 2. see memory 208);
a message queue (fig. 2. see queue 214); and
a program of a first processing unit and a second processing unit, the predetermined application, the operating system, the first processing unit, and the second processing unit are implemented by the processor executing the programs stored in the memory (para. [0022] CPU 204 is configured to execute the software application(s) 210 and the status update engine 212),
the first processing unit is configured to capture a data update event generated by executing the predetermined application and cause the message queue to store a message associated with the data update event (para. [0022] status engine 212 monitors the commands issued. determines whether one or more status criteria have been satisfied. status update engine 212 generates a status message. para. [0027] status update engine 212 as a separate software module. Note: component of the engine that monitors/determines is considered as the “unit.”),
the second processing unit is configured to perform a data synchronization with the server by sending the message associated with the data update event stored in the message queue to the server when the information processing terminal is able to communicate with the server (para. [0026] status messages may be stored in the status message queue 214 when the client device 102 is offline or otherwise unable to communicate with the server 106. once the client device 102 returns online or otherwise establishes a connection with the server 106…. transmitted to the server 106. Note: component of the engine that transmits is considered as the “unit.”), and
the predetermined application is configured to run independently of the first processing unit and the second processing unit (para. [0027] FIG. 2 shows the status update engine 212 as a separate software module para. [0034] software application executing on one of the client devices 102).
Li does not teach a program of an operating system configured to manage the predetermined application. Shimomoto discloses a program of an operating system configured to manage a predetermined application (para. [0171] HDD 608 may store the operating system (OS) that controls entire operation of the computer system 600, and various application programs that may run on the OS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Shimomoto’s disclosure of implementing a program of an operating system configured to manage a predetermined application such that the application of Li is managed by a program of the operating system. One of ordinary skill in the in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been desirable to implement an operating system for management of resources, and execution and control of application(s).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Shimomoto teach the information processing terminal according to claim 1, wherein the message associated with the data update event includes data update information (Li: para. [0049] once the status update criteria have been satisfied, the status update engine generates a status message which includes application information.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shimomoto and Azulay et al. US Patent No. 12,360,827 (“Azulay”).
Regarding claim 3, Li does not teach the information processing terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first processing unit is configured to cause the message queue not to store the message associated with the captured data update event when the data update event is captured in a case where the message associated with the data update event regarding same data has already stored in the message queue.
Azulay discloses a processing unit configured to cause a message queue not to store a message in a case where the message regarding same data has already stored in the message queue (col. 6, lines 46-57. if the second event message is determined to be the same as the first event message, then, at 312, event message buffer 100 does not queue the second event message. with the second event message being identical to, and/or having identical content to, the first event message, there is no need to queue the second event message.). Li teaches the message associated with the captured data update event when the data update event is captured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Azulay’s disclosure such that the message queue of Li does not store the message in a case where the message regarding same data has already stored in the message queue. One of ordinary skill in the in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have preserved resources by preventing the storage and transmission of identical data.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches a data management system comprising: a plurality of the information processing terminals according to claim 3 (see rejections of claims 1 and 3 of above).
Li does not teach a relay server configured to relay a communication between the plurality of information processing terminals and the server, wherein the relay server is configured to receive the message associated with the data update event from each of the plurality of information processing terminals along with a delivery destination specified by the each of the plurality of information processing terminals and deliver the message associated with the data update event in accordance with the delivery destination.
Shimomoto teaches a relay server configured to relay a communication between a plurality of information processing terminals and a server, wherein the relay server is configured to receive a message from each of the plurality of information processing terminals along with a delivery destination specified by the each of the plurality of information processing terminals and deliver the message associated with the data update event in accordance with the delivery destination (para. [0048] message queue server 50 functions as a relay device, which transfers a message transmitted from the other network to a destination. message queue server 50 includes a message queue 52, a message receiver 54, a message transfer device (message transfer). message receiver 54 receives a message addressed to a specific destination, which is transmitted from the message relay agent 22 or 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Shimomoto’s disclosure of a relay server configured to receive a message from each of the terminals with a destination specified by the each of the p terminals and deliver the message in accordance with the delivery destination. One of ordinary skill in the in the art would have been motivated to do so for providing management of messages on the relay server and providing messaging between devices in different networks.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shimomoto, Azulay, and Xiao et al. US Patent Publication No. 2015/0009818 (“Xiao”).
Regarding claim 5, Li does not teach the data management system according to claim 4, wherein the each of the plurality of information processing terminals is configured to send a predetermined request to the relay server, and the relay server is configured to: accumulate the message associated with the data update event received from the each of the plurality of information processing terminals; and deliver a first message associated with the data update event to the each of the plurality of information processing terminals having sent the predetermined request in a case where the first message associated with the data update event is accumulated and a delivery destination of the first message is the each of the plurality of information processing terminals having sent the predetermined request.
Xiao discloses each of a plurality of information processing terminals configured to send a predetermined request to a server, and the server is configured to: accumulate a message received from the each of the plurality of information processing terminals; and deliver a first message to the each of the plurality of information processing terminals having sent the predetermined request in a case where the first message is accumulated and a delivery destination of the first message is the each of the plurality of information processing terminals having sent the predetermined request (para. [0091] group server aggregates, according to the address of the subscription device, all notification messages destined for the subresource. para. [0093] group server sends, according to the address of the subscription device, a notification message obtained after aggregation to the subscription device. para. [0103] subresource includes the addresses of all subscription devices with the same subscription condition). Li teaches a first message associated with the data update event. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Shimomoto with Xiao’s disclosure of configuring each terminal to send a request to a server and for the server to be configured to accumulate and deliver a message to each terminal having sent the request. One of ordinary skill in the in the art would have been motivated to do so for benefits of enabling the terminals to receive certain messages through subscription of the messages.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Shimomoto, Azulay, and Zheng et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0337479 (“Zheng”).
Regarding claim 6, Li does not teach the data management system according to claim 4, wherein the each of the plurality of information processing terminals is configured to send the predetermined request to the relay server after confirming that the each of the plurality of information processing terminals is able to communicate with the relay server.
Zheng discloses an information processing terminal configured to send a predetermined request to a server after confirming that the information processing terminal is able to communicate with the relay server (para. [0086] client and the server establish a session according to a connection-oriented transport protocol. client may send the subscription request message to the server based on the transport protocol. server receives the subscription request message, and parses the message to know that the client subscribes…). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Shimomoto with Zheng’s disclosure such that each terminal as disclosed Li is configured to send the predetermined request to the server after confirming that the information processing terminal is able to communicate with the relay server. One of ordinary skill in the in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have similarly determined capabilities and provided a subscription request based on a transport protocol.
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kendall et al. US Patent Publication No. 2020/0082469 (para. [0095] if the unique identifier of the message is the same as the unique identifier of a message already on the pending message queue… process ends. para. [0096] in the event that the unique identifier of the message is not the same as the messages already on the pending message queue, the message is determined to be newly added to the pending message queue)
Neagu et al. US Patent Publication No. 2017/0351979 (para. [0034] if the worker indicates the selected job is complete, then the component continues at block 908, the component sends the updated data of the selected job)
Bequet et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0197697 (para. [0026] in response to storage, within the task queue, of task completion messages for each task of the set of tasks, storing, within the job queue, a job completion message indicating completion of performance of the job flow. in response to the storage, within the job queue, of the job completion message, transmitting, from the at least one processor, an indication of completion of performance of the job flow)
McClory et al. US Patent Publication No. 2018/0321993 (para. [0138] when a service task is completed, worker 430 may place a task completed message on event publish queue 422 for dissemination to related services and applications)
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445