DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatib et al (US 2010/0260468) and further in view of Henderson et al (US 2025/0047939).
For claim 1, Khatib et al teach a method comprising:
providing, for display on a client device, a digital video comprising a video portion defined by a start frame and an end frame within the digital video (e.g. figures 4-5, paragraph 41: video clips display on client device. Video clips have to have a start frame and an end frame; paragraph 42: The thumbnails may be static or may depict the portion of the media file currently being viewed, displaying a progress bar to indicate the relative location, within the file, of a currently viewed frame.);
receiving, from the client device, a text command associated with a target video segment within the video portion (e.g. paragraph 12: editing a video file includes: receiving, at a server, a video editing command from a remote client; modifying, at the server, a virtual representation of a media file in accordance with the received command; paragraph 13: The method further includes receiving text-based video editing commands from a plurality of remote thin clients.);
generating, from the digital video in response to the text command, a modified digital video the video (e.g. paragraph 12: editing a video file includes: receiving, at a server, a video editing command from a remote client; modifying, at the server, a virtual representation of a media file in accordance with the received command; paragraph 13: The method further includes receiving text-based video editing commands from a plurality of remote thin clients.);and
providing the modified digital video for display on the client device (e.g. figures 4-5, paragraph 41: video clips display on client device).
Khatib et al do not further disclose the text command comprising one or more text characters indicating digital content to add to the target video segment, digital content to remove from the target video segment, or a characteristic of digital content to alter for the target video segment, wherein the digital content comprises a digital object, a video element, or an audio channel for the target video segment; modifying the digital video by adding the digital content to the target video segment, removing the digital content from the target video segment, or altering the characteristic of the digital content for the target video segment as indicated by the text command. Henderson et al teach the text command comprising one or more text characters indicating digital content to add to the target video segment, digital content to remove from the target video segment, or a characteristic of digital content to alter for the target video segment, wherein the digital content comprises a digital object, a video element, or an audio channel for the target video segment; modifying the digital video by adding the digital content to the target video segment, removing the digital content from the target video segment, or altering the characteristic of the digital content for the target video segment as indicated by the text command (e.g. figure 3B: 330 instructions “play this episode, only showing scenes featuring elephants and/or the character Betty”, 340 System edits out scenes that don’t fit the instructions resulting personalized episode features. Paragraph 8: “direct user commands (e.g., text or voice) to modify the content…). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein paragraph 47 of Khatib et al discloses CPU.
For claim 5, Khatib et al do not further disclose altering the audio channel for the target video segment as indicated by the text command. Henderson et al teach altering the audio channel for the target video segment as indicated by the text command (e.g. figure 3B “edit outs scenes that don’t fit the instructions”, so it is obvious to one ordinary skill in the art corresponding audio is also edit out). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
Claims 12 and 19 are also rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
For claims 6, 13, and 20, Khatib et al do not further disclose providing a visual indication of the target video segments associated with the text command. Henderson et al teach providing a visual indication of the target video segments associated with the text command. (e.g. figure 3B: 350-1: Scene 1 featuring elephants, Betty, and Adam”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
For claims 2, 9 and 16, Khatib et al do not disclose detecting, from the text command, a trigger word defining addition, removal, or alteration of the digital content for the target video segment and determining, based on the trigger word, one or more additional words within the text command that indicate the digital content for the target video segment. Henderson et al teach detecting, from the text command, a trigger word defining addition, removal, or alteration of the digital content for the target video segment and determining, based on the trigger word, one or more additional words within the text command that indicate the digital content for the target video segment. (e.g. figure 3B: 330 instructions “play this episode, only showing scenes featuring elephants and/or the character Betty”, 340 System edits out scenes that don’t fit the instructions resulting personalized episode features. Paragraph 8: “direct user commands (e.g., text or voice) to modify the content…). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
For claims 3, 10 and 17, Khatib et al do not further disclose adding the digital content to the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating addition of the digital content; removing the digital content from the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating removal of the digital content; or altering one or more visual or audio characteristics of the digital content for the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating adjustment of the digital content. Henderson et al teach adding the digital content to the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating addition of the digital content; removing the digital content from the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating removal of the digital content; or altering one or more visual or audio characteristics of the digital content for the target video segment according to the trigger word indicating adjustment of the digital content. (e.g. figure 3B: 330 instructions “play this episode, only showing scenes featuring elephants and/or the character Betty”, 340 System edits out scenes that don’t fit the instructions resulting personalized episode features. Paragraph 8: “direct user commands (e.g., text or voice) to modify the content…). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
For claims 4, 11, and 18, Khatib et al do not further disclose receiving, from the client device, a modification to the one or more text characters of the text command; and updating the modified digital video by changing the digital content for the target video segment according to the modification of the one or more text characters. Henderson et al teach receiving, from the client device, a modification to the one or more text characters of the text command; and updating the modified digital video by changing the digital content for the target video segment according to the modification of the one or more text characters (e.g. figure 3B, paragraph 51: the user’s request (330). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art for user to modify the instructions 330). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatib et al and Henderson et al, as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 above, and further in view of Du et al (US 2022/0383000).
For claims 7 and 14, Khatib et al do not disclose:
receiving the text command comprises detecting at least one translation trigger character indicating a translation of the audio channel for the target video segment a first language to a second language; and generating the modified digital video comprises altering the audio channel for the target video segment to include translated audio in the second language.
Henderson et al teach:
receiving the text command comprises detecting at least one trigger character indicating a of the audio channel for the target video segment; and generating the modified digital video comprises altering the audio channel for the target video segment. (e.g. figure 3B “edit outs scenes that don’t fit the instructions”, so it is obvious to one ordinary skill in the art corresponding audio is also edit out). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Henderson et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to provide machine-learning assisted real-time video editing for user to personalize video content (e.g. Henderson et al, abstract) to improve convenience for user.
Khatib et al and Henderson et al do not further disclose translation of audio from a first language to a second language. Du et al teach disclose translation of audio from a first language to a second language. (e.g. paragraph 51: The text may be translated independently in the presentation area thereof, and the translation is not updated as the modification in other areas. The user may input a character in the editing area, or modify the character of the text to be translated). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Du et al into the teaching of Khatib et al and Henderson et al to improve accuracy reflect the text the user intended to produce.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484