DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being described by Khatib et al (US 2010/0260468).
For claim 1, Khatib et al teach a method comprising:
providing, for display on a client device, a digital video comprising a video portion defined by a start frame and an end frame within the digital video (e.g. figures 4-5, paragraph 41: video clips display on client device. Video clips have to have a start frame and an end frame; paragraph 42: The thumbnails may be static or may depict the portion of the media file currently being viewed, displaying a progress bar to indicate the relative location, within the file, of a currently viewed frame.);
receiving, from the client device, a text command comprising one or more text characters triggering an editing operation between the start frame and the end frame of the video portion within the digital video (e.g. paragraph 12: editing a video file includes: receiving, at a server, a video editing command from a remote client; modifying, at the server, a virtual representation of a media file in accordance with the received command; paragraph 13: The method further includes receiving text-based video editing commands from a plurality of remote thin clients.);
generating, from the digital video in response to the text command, a modified digital video by performing the editing operation to the video portion between the start frame and the end frame as indicated by the text command (e.g. paragraph 12: editing a video file includes: receiving, at a server, a video editing command from a remote client; modifying, at the server, a virtual representation of a media file in accordance with the received command; paragraph 13: The method further includes receiving text-based video editing commands from a plurality of remote thin clients.);and
providing the modified digital video for display on the client device (e.g. figures 4-5, paragraph 41: video clips display on client device).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein paragraph 47 of Khatib et al discloses CPU.
For claim 5, Khatib et al teach generating the modified digital video comprises modifying an audio channel associated with the digital video based on performing the editing operation to the video portion between the start frame and the end frame (e.g. paragraph 36: “user's alterations and edits, including, for example, the name of the source file or files, the number of layers, the placement of the source files on the layers, crops, cuts, edits, and similar information.” The Examiner recognizes when the video is cut, the corresponding audio must also be cut).
Claims 12 and 19 are also rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
For claims 6, 13, and 20, Khatib et al teach providing the modified digital video for display on the client device comprises providing a visual indication of the video portion modified by performing the editing operation (e.g. figure 4, 408, paragraph 42: FIG. 4 illustrates snapshot 408 of an editing session wherein three video clips, depicted on layers V1-V3, are cropped and positioned side-by-side in the upper-right EDIT window).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatib et al, as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Gruber et al (US 2017/0263248).
For claims 2, 9 and 16, Khatib et al do not further disclose detecting, from the text command, a trigger word defining the editing operation; and determining, based on the trigger word, one or more additional words within the text command that indicate digital content included as part of the editing operation. Gruber et al teach detecting, from the text command, a trigger word defining the editing operation; and determining, based on the trigger word, one or more additional words within the text command that indicate digital content included as part of the editing operation (e.g. paragraph 306: , the user can achieve this effect by speaking a trigger phrase, such as “literal,” “transcribe,” or “dictate,” immediately before or after speaking the predefined editing command such that the trigger phrase is temporally adjacent to the editing command.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gruber et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to improve accuracy reflect the text the user intended to produce (e.g. paragraph 3, Gruber et al).
For claims 3, 10 and 17, Khatib et al teach one or more of: adding the digital content to the video portion according to the trigger word indicating to add the digital content; removing the digital content from the video portion according to the trigger word indicating to remove the digital content; or modifying the digital content within the video portion according to the trigger word indicating to modify the digital content (e.g. paragraph 36: “user's alterations and edits, including, for example, the name of the source file or files, the number of layers, the placement of the source files on the layers, crops, cuts, edits, and similar information.”).
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatib et al, as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Du et al (US 2022/0383000).
For claims 4, 11, and 18, Khatib et al do not further disclose receiving, from the client device, a modification to the one or more text characters of the text command; and updating the modified digital video by performing an additional editing operation according to the modification of the one or more text characters. Du et al teach receiving, from the client device, a modification to the one or more text characters of the text command; and updating the modified digital video by performing an additional editing operation according to the modification of the one or more text characters (e.g. paragraph 51: The text may be translated independently in the presentation area thereof, and the translation is not updated as the modification in other areas. The user may input a character in the editing area, or modify the character of the text to be translated). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Du et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to improve accuracy reflect the text the user intended to produce.
For claims 7 and 14, Khatib et al do not further disclose receiving the text command comprises detect at least one translation trigger character defining a translation operation to translate the video portion from a first language to a second language; and generating the modified digital video comprises performing the translation operation to translate the video portion from the first language to the second language. Du et al teach receiving the text command comprises detect at least one translation trigger character defining a translation operation to translate the video portion from a first language to a second language; and generating the modified digital video comprises performing the translation operation to translate the video portion from the first language to the second language. (e.g. paragraph 51: The text may be translated independently in the presentation area thereof, and the translation is not updated as the modification in other areas. The user may input a character in the editing area, or modify the character of the text to be translated). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Du et al into the teaching of Khatib et al to improve accuracy reflect the text the user intended to produce.
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484