DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2025 and 12/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites that “the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis.” Similarly, claim 14 recites that “the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis.”
However, it is unclear how a lens module can “move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis,” as it is unclear which axes the lens modules are moving in and which ones they should be perpendicular to. It is unclear how the modules can “move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis.” Moreover, as the lens modules are provided along separate axes, it is unclear how they can move “parallel” to both a second and a third axis which are perpendicular to each other. For the purposes of examination, any lens modules that move in different directions relative to each other will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2025/0264785; hereinafter – “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a camera module, comprising:
a plurality of lens modules (130, 140), each comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087); and
a reflective module (120) comprising a reflective member configured to change a path of light incident on the plurality of lens modules (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0077-0087),
wherein the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087), and
wherein one of the plurality of lens modules is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Chang further teaches that the plurality of lens modules comprise: a first lens module (130) in which light is incident; and a second lens module (140) disposed between the first lens module (130) and the reflective module (120) (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 2, as above.
Chang further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0073 and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Chang further teaches a housing (110) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0087).
Regarding claim 8, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Chang further teaches that the reflective member (120) is a prism which comprises an incident surface (121), a reflective surface (123), and an exit surface (122), and the plurality of lens modules comprise one or more lenses having a diameter larger than a width of the incident surface of the prism (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0077-0087).
Regarding claim 9, Chang teaches a camera module, comprising:
a first lens module (130, 131) comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087);
a second lens module (132, 140) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the first lens module in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087); and,
a reflective module (120) comprising a reflective member, and being spaced apart from the second lens module in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0077-0087),
wherein one of the first lens module and the second lens module is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 14, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Chang further teaches that the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 15, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Chang further teaches an image sensor (150) that is spaced apart from the reflective module in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, wherein the reflective member is configured to change a path of light from the first optical axis direction to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Regarding claim 16, Chang teaches the camera module of claim 15, as above.
Chang further teaches a third lens module (120, 140) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the reflective module and the image sensor in the second optical axis direction, respectively (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0078-0087).
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hegels et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0164415; hereinafter – “Hegels”).
Regarding claim 1, Hegels teaches a camera module, comprising:
a plurality of lens modules (101, 105, 107), each comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066); and
a reflective module (103) comprising a reflective member configured to change a path of light incident on the plurality of lens modules (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066),
wherein the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066), and
wherein one of the plurality of lens modules (101) is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0056 and 0070-0071).
Regarding claim 7, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Hegels further teaches a housing in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-9; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 9, Hegels teaches a camera module, comprising:
a first lens module (101) comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066);
a second lens module (105) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the first lens module in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066); and,
a reflective module (103) comprising a reflective member, and being spaced apart from the second lens module in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066),
wherein one of the first lens module and the second lens module is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0056 and 0070-0071).
Regarding claim 10, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the reflective module (103) is configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 11, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 10, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the second module (101, 105) is configured to rotate together with the reflective module (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 12, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 11, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the first lens module (105, 101) is configured to rotate together with the second lens module (101, 105) and the reflective module (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 13, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the first lens module (101) and the second lens module (105) are configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 14, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 15, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Hegels further teaches an image sensor (109) that is spaced apart from the reflective module in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, wherein the reflective member is configured to change a path of light from the first optical axis direction to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 16, Hegels teaches the camera module of claim 15, as above.
Hegels further teaches a third lens module (107) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the reflective module and the image sensor in the second optical axis direction, respectively (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, and 14-16 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0155571).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a camera module, comprising:
a plurality of lens modules (12, 14, 16, 122, 142, 162), each comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117); and
a reflective module (13) comprising a reflective member configured to change a path of light incident on the plurality of lens modules (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117),
wherein the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117), and
wherein one of the plurality of lens modules (14) is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Xu further teaches that the plurality of lens modules comprise: a first lens module (12, 122) in which light is incident; and a second lens module (14, 142) disposed between the first lens module (12, 122) and the reflective module (13) (See e.g. Fig. 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 2, as above.
Xu further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Xu further teaches a housing (11) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Xu further teaches that the reflective member (13) is a prism which comprises an incident surface (136), a reflective surface (137), and an exit surface (138), and the plurality of lens modules comprise one or more lenses (122, 142) having a diameter larger than a width of the incident surface of the prism (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0046, 0052-0054, 0065-0068, and 0087).
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches a camera module, comprising:
a first lens module (12, 122) comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117);
a second lens module (14, 142) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the first lens module in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117); and,
a reflective module (13) comprising a reflective member, and being spaced apart from the second lens module in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117),
wherein one of the first lens module and the second lens module is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Xu further teaches that the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Xu further teaches an image sensor (50) that is spaced apart from the reflective module in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, wherein the reflective member is configured to change a path of light from the first optical axis direction to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0052, 0064, 0100, and 0113-0115).
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches the camera module of claim 15, as above.
Xu further teaches a third lens module (16, 162) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the reflective module and the image sensor in the second optical axis direction, respectively (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0068-0071, 0098-0100, 0108-0109, 0113-0115, and 0127-0128).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, and 14-16 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,872,820; hereinafter – “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a camera module, comprising:
a plurality of lens modules (1, 5, 11, 16, 19), each comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30); and
a reflective module (9) comprising a reflective member configured to change a path of light incident on the plurality of lens modules (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30),
wherein the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30), and
wherein one of the plurality of lens modules (1, 5) is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches that the plurality of lens modules comprise: a first lens module (1) in which light is incident; and a second lens module (5) disposed between the first lens module (1) and the reflective module (9) (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 2, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches a housing (31, 32) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches that the reflective member (9) is a prism which comprises an incident surface, a reflective surface, and an exit surface, and the plurality of lens modules comprise one or more lenses (1-8) having a diameter larger than a width of the incident surface of the prism (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto teaches a camera module, comprising:
a first lens module (1) comprising one or more lenses (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30);
a second lens module (5) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the first lens module in a first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30); and,
a reflective module (9) comprising a reflective member, and being spaced apart from the second lens module in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30),
wherein one of the first lens module and the second lens module is configured to move in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 14, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches that the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Regarding claim 15, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches an image sensor (24) that is spaced apart from the reflective module in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, wherein the reflective member is configured to change a path of light from the first optical axis direction to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 5, L. 54-62).
Regarding claim 16, Yamamoto teaches the camera module of claim 15, as above.
Yamamoto further teaches a third lens module (11, 16, 19) comprising one or more lenses, and being spaced apart from the reflective module and the image sensor in the second optical axis direction, respectively (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0176159; hereinafter – “Wu”).
Regarding claim 6, Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto each teaches the camera module of claim 2, as above.
Chang further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0073 and 0078-0087).
Xu further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Yamamoto further teaches that the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Nevertheless, given the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above and in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Wu.
Wu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a plurality of lens modules (O1, O2, O3) and a reflective module (O22) wherein the plurality of lens modules are configured to move in directions parallel to a second axis and a third axis among a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-10; Paragraphs 0047, 0061, and 0070).
Wu teaches these lens modules movable in second and third directions such that “the purpose of the optical image stabilization (OIS) can be achieved” (Paragraphs 0047, 0061, and 0070).
Therefore, even if Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto did not teach the required details, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto with the lens modules movable in second and third directions of Wu such that “the purpose of the optical image stabilization (OIS) can be achieved,” as taught by Wu (Paragraphs 0047, 0061, and 0070), and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claim(s) 7 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, Hegels, Xu, or Yamamoto in view of Shabtay et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0126051; hereinafter – “Shabtay”).
Regarding claim 7, Chang, Hegels, Xu, and Yamamoto each teaches the camera module of claim 1, as above.
Chang further teaches a housing (110) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0087).
Hegels further teaches a housing in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-9; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Xu further teaches a housing (11) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Yamamoto further teaches a housing (31, 32) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length in the first optical axis direction and a length in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
While Chang, Hegels, Xu, and Yamamoto each teach camera modules reading on the claimed limitation, in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Shabtay.
Shabtay teaches compact folded tele cameras comprising a plurality of lens modules (202), a reflective module (204), and a housing (214) in which the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module are disposed, wherein the housing has a length (MMH) in the first optical axis direction and a length (MML) in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and wherein 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 is satisfied, where H is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the first optical axis direction, and L is a length of the housing in a direction parallel to the second optical axis direction (See e.g. Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0075-0090, 0103, 0109-0114; See also Tables 1 and 12 showing values of H and L falling within Applicant’s claimed range).
Shabtay teaches this housing with this length and height to provide “folded Tele cameras with large BFL/TTL ratios of 0.75 or more for providing large EFLs for large zoom factors and still supporting small camera bumps having short BL” (Paragraph 0017) for providing “slim mobile devices” (Paragraph 0103).
Therefore, even if Chang, Hegels, Xu, or Yamamoto did not disclose the claimed housing, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chang, Hegels, Xu, or Yamamoto with the housing satisfying 0.2 ≤ H/L ≤ 1.0 of Shabtay to provide “folded Tele cameras with large BFL/TTL ratios of 0.75 or more for providing large EFLs for large zoom factors and still supporting small camera bumps having short BL” for providing “slim mobile devices,” as in Shabtay (Paragraphs 0017 and 0103), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto in view of Hegels.
Regarding claim 3, Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto each teaches the camera module of claim 2, as above.
Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto fail to explicitly disclose that at least one of the plurality of lens modules and the reflective module is configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis.
However, Hegels teaches a camera for a portable electronic device with optical image stabilization comprising a plurality of lens modules (101, 105, 107) and a reflective module (103) wherein at least one of the plurality of lens modules (101) and the reflective module (103) is configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Hegels teaches these rotatable elements for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” (Paragraph 0048) and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” (Paragraph 0053) in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction” (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto such that the lens modules or reflective module are configured to rotate as in Hegels for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction,” as taught by Hegels (Paragraphs 0026, 0048, and 0053), and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 4, Chang in view of Hegels, Xu in view of Hegels, and Yamamoto in view of Hegels each teaches the camera module of claim 3, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the second lens module (101) is configured to rotate about at least one or more of the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis together with the reflective module (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 5, Chang in view of Hegels, Xu in view of Hegels, and Yamamoto in view of Hegels each teaches the camera module of claim 4, as above.
Chang further teaches that the second lens module is coupled to the reflective module to be spaced apart from the reflective member in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0066-0068, 0070-0073, and 0077-0087).
Xu further teaches that the second lens module is coupled to the reflective module to be spaced apart from the reflective member in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 3-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0044-0049, 0052-0057, 0065-0070, 0087-0088, 0109, 0112, and 0115-0117).
Yamamoto further teaches that the second lens module is coupled to the reflective module to be spaced apart from the reflective member in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; C. 4, L. 60 – C. 5, L. 30).
Additionally, Hegels further teaches that the second lens module is coupled to the reflective module to be spaced apart from the reflective member in the first optical axis direction (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 10, Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto each teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto fail to explicitly disclose that the reflective module is configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis.
However, Hegels teaches a camera for a portable electronic device with optical image stabilization comprising a plurality of lens modules (101, 105, 107) and a reflective module (103) wherein the reflective module (103) is configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Hegels teaches these rotatable elements for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” (Paragraph 0048) and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” (Paragraph 0053) in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction” (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto such that the lens modules or reflective module are configured to rotate as in Hegels for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction,” as taught by Hegels (Paragraphs 0026, 0048, and 0053), and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 11, Chang in view of Hegels, Xu in view of Hegels, and Yamamoto in view of Hegels each teaches the camera module of claim 10, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the second module (101, 105) is configured to rotate together with the reflective module (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 12, Chang in view of Hegels, Xu in view of Hegels, and Yamamoto in view of Hegels each teaches the camera module of claim 11, as above.
Hegels further teaches that the first lens module (105, 101) is configured to rotate together with the second lens module (101, 105) and the reflective module (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 13, Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto each teaches the camera module of claim 9, as above.
Chang, Xu, and Yamamoto fail to explicitly disclose that the first lens module and the second lens module are configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis.
However, Hegels teaches a camera for a portable electronic device with optical image stabilization comprising a plurality of lens modules (101, 105, 107) and a reflective module (103) wherein the first lens module (101) and the second lens module (105) are configured to rotate about at least one or more of a first axis parallel to the first optical axis direction, a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a third axis perpendicular to both the first axis and the second axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-3 and 7-8; Paragraphs 0045-0048, 0052-0055, 0058-0059, 0062, and 0065-0066).
Hegels teaches these rotatable elements for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” (Paragraph 0048) and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” (Paragraph 0053) in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction” (Paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chang, Xu, or Yamamoto such that the lens modules or reflective module are configured to rotate as in Hegels for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting the angle, e.g., the “pitch angle” between the first optical axis A and the second optical axis B” and for “reducing the effects of a shaking motion of the camera housing by adjusting a “yaw angle” of the rotatable group of components” in order to “achieve high correction angles via this enhanced optical image stabilization (OIS), while totally holding the same image quality compared to the zero-angle imaging without any performance reduction,” as taught by Hegels (Paragraphs 0026, 0048, and 0053), and since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Miyatani et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2026/0194794) teaches an optical lens, camera module, and electronic device with similar lens elements and reflective member.
Yeh et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0385415) teaches a photographing lens assembly comprising a similar optical arrangement.
Kim (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2024/0163539) teaches a camera module with lens modules and a reflective module that is rotatable.
Yin (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0075160) teaches an optical lens assembly with a similar arrangement of lens modules movable in multiple directions and a reflection member.
Hu et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0026666) teaches an optical system having a similar arrangement of lens modules and a reflection module.
Nomura et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2015/0215541) teaches an imaging apparatus with lens modules and a rotatable reflection member.
Terada (U.S. Patent No. 8,446,681) teaches an optical apparatus comprising a similar configuration of lens modules and a reflective module.
Wada (U.S. Patent No. 7,889,436) teaches a zoom lens and camera having the same with lens modules and a reflective module.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896