DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On page 11 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that independent claims 1, 6, 13 have been amended to overcome the double patenting rejection.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the amendments overcome the double patenting rejection (see updated rejection below).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,560 in view of Obara et al. (US Pat. 10,063,911), herein referenced as Obara.
Instant Application Claim 1
US Pat. 12,267,560 Claim 1
A method comprising: making, to the user when a first video clip in a first video is playing, a first query whether the user wants to watch a second video clip having a same plot as the first video clip;
A method comprising: … querying, when a first start location of the first video clip is played, a user whether to watch a second video clip having a same plot as the first video clip at the same time as the first video clip;
obtaining a confirmation operation of the user in response to the first query;
obtaining a confirmation operation of the user;
sending, to a video cloud platform in response to the confirmation operation, a same plot clip request indicating the first video clip;
sending, in response to the confirmation operation, a same plot clip request of the first video clip to a video cloud platform;
receiving, from the video cloud platform in response to the same plot clip request, the second video clip; and
… playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
receiving, from the video cloud platform, a second video corresponding to the second video clip, a second start location of the second video clip, and a first end location of the second video clip; and playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
The claim in the instant application recites the additional limitation of simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
Nevertheless, Obara discloses simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface (Col. 12 lines 5-29, Fig. 1, i.e., displaying a live video and a catch-up video in a PIP catch-up window. Display screen 100 displays a live video, such as a sporting event. When playback of a catch-up video is initiated, processes for which are described below, a PIP catch-up window 102 may be displayed in an overlay on top of the live video). It would have been obvious to include simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface in claim 1 of patent 12,267,560 for the benefit of saving time by multitasking by watching multiple videos at once.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 2.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 3.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 4.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 5.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 6.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 7.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 8.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 9.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 10.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 11.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 12.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 13.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 14.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 15.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 16.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 17.
Claim 18 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 18.
Claim 19 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 19.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 13, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman et al. (US Pub. 2015/0063781) in view of Obara et al. (US Pat. 10,063,911), herein referenced as Silverman and Obara, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Silverman discloses “A method comprising: presenting to a user when a first video clip in a first video is playing, a first query as to whether the user wants to watch a second video clip having a same plot as the first video clip ([0005], [0027]-[0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., a user may be alerted to the availability of related content via an indicator 20. The user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content. The navigation pane 14 has a selection of related scenes 16a-d that are related to the current scene being played in the primary viewing area 12. The related scenes may feature similar characters, relate to the same subplot, feature a similar catchphrase, or any other relation, as indicated by the metadata tags on the clips);
obtaining a confirmation operation of the user in response to the first query ([0030], Fig. 1, i.e., the user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content);
sending, to a video cloud platform in response to the confirmation operation, a same plot clip request indicating the first video clip ([0019]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], [0031], Fig. 1, i.e., using metadata tags to search related video content on a video content server);
receiving, from the video cloud platform in response to the same plot clip request, the second video clip; and … playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.” ([0027]-[0028], Fig. 1, i.e., the related scenes 16 are selectable by the user, and may lead the user to a particular scene, or, alternatively, may lead the user to a list of related scenes. For example, the first related scene 16a may relate to the current scene's subplot. Selection of the related scene may cause the current scene in the primary viewing area 12 to pause, and then a small overlay window 18 may play the related scene).
Silverman discloses playing a related scene in a small overlay window over primary viewing area (Fig. 1), however fails to explicitly disclose simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
Obara teaches the technique of simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface (Col. 12 lines 5-29, Fig. 1, i.e., displaying a live video and a catch-up video in a PIP catch-up window. Display screen 100 displays a live video, such as a sporting event. When playback of a catch-up video is initiated, processes for which are described below, a PIP catch-up window 102 may be displayed in an overlay on top of the live video).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface as taught by Obara, to improve the video navigation system of Silverman for the predictable result of saving time by multitasking by watching multiple videos at once.
Regarding claim 5, Silverman discloses “wherein before presenting the first query, the method further comprises: sending, to the video cloud platform, a watching request of the first video; receiving, in response to the watching request and from the video cloud platform, the first video; and playing the first video.” ([0019]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], [0031], Figs. 1, 3, i.e., presentation of video content from a video content server).
Regarding claim 6, Silverman discloses “A method implemented by a video cloud platform, wherein the method comprises: receiving, from a terminal device, same plot clip request indicating a first video clip in a first video ([0005], [0027]-[0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., a user may be alerted to the availability of related content via an indicator 20. The user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content. The navigation pane 14 has a selection of related scenes 16a-d that are related to the current scene being played in the primary viewing area 12. The related scenes may feature similar characters, relate to the same subplot, feature a similar catchphrase, or any other relation, as indicated by the metadata tags on the clips); and
sending, to the terminal device in response to the same plot clip request, a second video corresponding to a second video clip to enable the terminal device to … playing a part of all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.” ([0027]-[0028], Fig. 1, i.e., the related scenes 16 are selectable by the user, and may lead the user to a particular scene, or, alternatively, may lead the user to a list of related scenes. For example, the first related scene 16a may relate to the current scene's subplot. Selection of the related scene may cause the current scene in the primary viewing area 12 to pause, and then a small overlay window 18 may play the related scene).
Silverman discloses playing a related scene in a small overlay window over primary viewing area (Fig. 1), however fails to explicitly disclose enabling the terminal device to simultaneously playing a part of all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
Obara teaches the technique of enabling the terminal device to simultaneously playing a part of all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface (Col. 12 lines 5-29, Fig. 1, i.e., displaying a live video and a catch-up video in a PIP catch-up window. Display screen 100 displays a live video, such as a sporting event. When playback of a catch-up video is initiated, processes for which are described below, a PIP catch-up window 102 may be displayed in an overlay on top of the live video).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of enabling the terminal device to simultaneously playing a part of all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface as taught by Obara, to improve the video navigation system of Silverman for the predictable result of saving time by multitasking by watching multiple videos at once.
Regarding claim 7, Silverman discloses “wherein before receiving the same plot clip request, the method further comprises: receiving, from the terminal device, a watching request of the first video; and sending, in response to the watching request and to the terminal device, the first video.” ([0019]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], [0031], Figs. 1, 3, i.e., presentation of video content from a video content server).
Regarding claim 8, Silverman discloses “wherein before receiving the same plot clip request, the method further comprises: obtaining video clips that have the same plot and are from a plurality of videos; and separately recording a start location and an end location of each of the video clips, wherein the first video is any one of the videos, and wherein the video clips comprise the first video clip and the second video clip.” ([0020]-[0021], [0027]-[0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., navigation pane 14 has a selection of related scenes 16a-d that are related to the current scene being played in the primary viewing area 12. The related scenes may feature similar characters, relate to the same subplot, feature a similar catchphrase, or any other relation, as indicated by the metadata tags on the clips. The related scenes 16 are selectable by the user, and may lead the user to a particular scene, or, alternatively, may lead the user to a list of related scenes).
Regarding claim 9, Silverman “wherein obtaining the video clips comprises: obtaining a plurality of target type clips from the videos; and obtaining the video clips from the target type clips.” ([0027]-[0028], Fig. 1, i.e., if a Star Wars film was playing on primary viewing area 12, and the current scene was Luke Skywalker on Tatooine, navigation key 17a might read "Luke Skywalker," and navigation key 17c might read "Tatooine," allowing the viewer to easily pull up a list of scenes involving Luke Skywalker or a list of scenes taking place on Tatooine).
Regarding claim 13, Silverman discloses “An electronic device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device ([0048]-[0049], Figs. 1, 5) to:
present to a user when a first video clip in a first video is playing, a first query whether the user wants to watch a second video clip having a same plot as the first video clip ([0005], [0027]-[0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., a user may be alerted to the availability of related content via an indicator 20. The user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content. The navigation pane 14 has a selection of related scenes 16a-d that are related to the current scene being played in the primary viewing area 12. The related scenes may feature similar characters, relate to the same subplot, feature a similar catchphrase, or any other relation, as indicated by the metadata tags on the clips);
obtain a confirmation operation of the user in response to the first query ([0030], Fig. 1, i.e., the user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content);
send, to a video cloud platform in response to the confirmation operation, a same plot clip request of request indicating the first video clip ([0019]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], [0031], Fig. 1, i.e., using metadata tags to search related video content on a video content server);
receive, from the video cloud platform in response to the same plot clip request, the second video clip; and… play a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.” ([0027]-[0028], Fig. 1, i.e., the related scenes 16 are selectable by the user, and may lead the user to a particular scene, or, alternatively, may lead the user to a list of related scenes. For example, the first related scene 16a may relate to the current scene's subplot. Selection of the related scene may cause the current scene in the primary viewing area 12 to pause, and then a small overlay window 18 may play the related scene).
Silverman discloses playing a related scene in a small overlay window over primary viewing area (Fig. 1), however fails to explicitly disclose simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface.
Obara teaches the technique of simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface (Col. 12 lines 5-29, Fig. 1, i.e., displaying a live video and a catch-up video in a PIP catch-up window. Display screen 100 displays a live video, such as a sporting event. When playback of a catch-up video is initiated, processes for which are described below, a PIP catch-up window 102 may be displayed in an overlay on top of the live video).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of simultaneously playing a part or all of the second video clip and the first video clip on a same interface as taught by Obara, to improve the video navigation system of Silverman for the predictable result of saving time by multitasking by watching multiple videos at once.
Regarding claim 17, Silverman discloses “wherein before presenting the first query, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: send, to the video cloud platform, a watching request of the first video; receive, in response to the watching request and from the video cloud platform, the first video, a start location of the first video clip, and an end location of the first video clip; and play the first video.” ([0019]-[0020], [0027]-[0028], [0031], Figs. 1, 3, i.e., presentation of video content from a video content server, wherein video clips are displayed in the navigation panel).
Regarding claim 19, Silverman discloses “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: present, to the user when a start location of the first video clip is played, a second query as to whether the user wants to watch the second video clip at the same time in a form of a dialog box; and continue, in response to the second query, to play the first video when a tapping operation of the user is not detected within a display time of the dialog box.” ([0030], [0051], Fig. 1, i.e., the computing device is a tablet device with a touchscreen. A user may be alerted to the availability of related content via an indicator 20. The user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content, otherwise video content continues to play).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverman in view of Obara and in further view of Retureau et al. (US Pub. 2017/0026689), herein referenced as Retureau.
Regarding claim 20, Silverman discloses “wherein the one or more processors are at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: make, to the user when a start location of the first video clip is played, a second query whether the user wants to watch the second video clip at the same time in a form of a…prompt; receive, from the user, in response to the second query, a … signal; and determine, based on the … signal, to play the first video.” ([0005], [0027]-[0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., a user may be alerted to the availability of related content via an indicator 20. The user can then select the indicator 20 if they want to reveal the navigation pane 14 so that they can navigate related content. The navigation pane 14 has a selection of related scenes 16a-d that are related to the current scene being played in the primary viewing area 12. The related scenes may feature similar characters, relate to the same subplot, feature a similar catchphrase, or any other relation, as indicated by the metadata tags on the clips).
The combination fails to explicitly disclose a voice signal.
Retureau teaches that it was known in the art to provide a voice signal ([0032], i.e., a selection may be made to display a set of episodes related to the video being watched. The selection to view both the actively playing video and the related episodes may be made by selecting a soft button, an external button on the mobile device 130, a swipe action, or by voice command). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a voice signal as taught by Retureau, to improve the video navigation system of Silverman for the predictable result of providing user the convenience of navigating video content using voice commands.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 10-12, 14-16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (1) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and (2) filing a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 July 29, 2026