DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the active layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the hole extraction layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (“Evaluation of the impact of trivalent metal doping on the performance of titanium dioxide as an electron transport layer of inverted-structured organic solar cells”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an inverted-structure organic solar cell (OSC) comprising an electron transport layer (ETL) made of trivalent metal-doped titanium dioxide (TiO2) (4. Conclusion; see Figure 3a and Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the trivalent metal is indium (In) (4. Conclusion).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the trivalent metal is gallium (Ga) (4. Conclusion).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the active layer comprises PTB7:PC7oBM (see Figure 3a).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the hole extraction layer (HEL) comprises molybdenum trioxide (MoO3) (see Figure 3a).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Thambidurai et al. (“Solution-processed Ga-TiO2 electron transport layer for efficient inverted organic solar cells”).
Regarding claim 1, Thambidurai discloses an inverted-structure organic solar cell (OSC) (Figure 2d) comprising an electron transport layer (ETL) made of trivalent metal-doped titanium dioxide (TiO2) (it is disclosed the Ga doped TiO2 is a trivalent metal; 2. Experimental section).
Regarding claim 3, Thambidurai discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the trivalent metal is gallium (Ga) (2. Experimental section).
Regarding claim 4, Thambidurai discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the active layer comprises PTB7:PC7oBM (see Figure 2d).
Regarding claim 5, Thambidurai discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the hole extraction layer (HEL) comprises molybdenum trioxide (MoO3) (see Figure 2d).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Suto et al. (EP 4024487).
Regarding claim 1, Suto discloses an inverted-structure organic solar cell (OSC) ([0010]; see Figure 1) comprising an electron transport layer (ETL) (3) made of trivalent metal-doped titanium dioxide (TiO2) ([0049]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Suto discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the trivalent metal is Indium (In) (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 5, Suto discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the hole extraction layer (HEL) (5) comprises molybdenum trioxide (MoO3) ([0030]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722