DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ [0031] line 4, the first elements are given the reference number 13, which is already given to the positioning elements
in ¶ [0034] both the holding means and the lens holder have the same reference number “8”. The list of reference numbers states that the lens holder should have the reference number 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHTING DEVICE FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE WITH LENS HOLDER
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a holding means, wherein the holding means is configured to hold the first lens and the second lens.” The “holding means” is interpreted under 112(f) as having the corresponding structure in the specification or equivalent (¶ [0007] cup shaped element).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “positioning elements” in claim 9.
No structure is recited in the Specification for the positioning elements. Therefore, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as any element that is capable of performing the recited function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mochizuki, US 2024/0052988 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mochizuki discloses “A lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: an imaging component having an active surface on which light-emitting diodes or laser diodes are arranged in a matrix for a targeted generation of pixels of a light distribution (LED array 32, Fig. 3; ¶ [0044]);
projection optics, the projection optics being configured to project light emanating from the active surface toward an exterior of the motor vehicle, the projection optics comprising a first lens (80, Fig. 4), a second lens (70, Fig. 4), and a third lens (60, Fig. 4), wherein the light emanating from the active surface first passes through the third lens, then through the second lens, and then through the first lens (seen in Fig. 4); and a lens holder (54, Fig. 3-4), wherein the lens holder is suitable and configured to hold at least the third lens (seen in Fig. 4), wherein the lighting device comprises a holding means (90, Fig. 3-4), wherein the holding means is configured to hold the first lens and the second lens (seen in Fig. 3-4).”
Regarding claim 2, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the imaging component is a solid-state LED array (¶ [0044]).”
Regarding claim 3, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the holding means is a one-piece component and is cup-shaped (seen in Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the holding means is disposed between the first lens and the second lens (seen in Fig. 3-4; the cover surrounds the space between the first and second lens) .”
Regarding claim 6, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the holding means is configured as an aperture diaphragm, wherein the aperture diaphragm is configured to limit light projected by the projection optics toward the exterior of the motor vehicle (seen in Fig. 4, the holding means covers the edge of the lens).”
Regarding claim 7, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the third lens is configured to produce light with an approximately parallel beam path, such that the third lens is configured as a collimator (¶ [0073]; seen in Fig. 4).”
Regarding claim 8, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “including a heat sink arranged on the imaging component (a heat sink arranged on the imaging component (20, Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 9, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “ the holding means includes positioning elements for fastening a diaphragm (92, Fig. 3, the securing portions are capable of fastening a diaphragm).”
Regarding claim 10, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “ the holding means is a plastic injection-molded component formed of a thermoset or thermoplastic material (¶ [0069] “resin”).”
Additionally, the limitation has been considered but not given any patentable weight. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 11, Mochizuki discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “ A motor vehicle comprising the lighting device of claim 1 (¶ [0040] “vehicle lamp”).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recites, inter alia, a lighting device for a motor vehicle, the lighting device comprising: an imaging component having an active surface on which light-emitting diodes or laser diodes are arranged in a matrix for a targeted generation of pixels of a light distribution; projection optics, the projection optics being configured to project light emanating from the active surface toward an exterior of the motor vehicle, the projection optics comprising a first lens, a second lens, and a third lens, wherein the light emanating from the active surface first passes through the third lens, then through the second lens, and then through the first lens; and a lens holder, wherein the lens holder is suitable and configured to hold at least the third lens, wherein the lighting device comprises a holding means, wherein the holding means is configured to hold the first lens and the second lens and “the holding means has first recesses for fastening the first lens on a side of the holding means facing away from the imaging component; and the holding means has second recesses for fastening the second lens on a side of the holding means facing the imaging component.”
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al., US 2024/0344680 A1 discloses a lens holder for a second and third lens
Abe, US 2016/0097504 A1 discloses a lens holder
Anzai, US 2014/0029287 A1 discloses a lens holder
Motohashi, US 2019/0086051 A1 discloses a lens holder
Sato, US 2023/0097767 A1 discloses a lens holder
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875