Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burton (US 5771526 A).
Regarding claim 1, Burton teaches a vehicle assembly comprising:
a vehicle door (Fig 1, rear door/liftgate indicated at 12) defining a window opening (Fig 1, window occupied by 14), the vehicle door including a structure (Fig 1, structure 10) having a surface defining a portion of a lower edge of the window opening (Fig 1, surface is upper edge of 10 which is the lower edge of window 14) and a recess extending downwardly from the surface (Fig 1, recess of 10, see Fig 4);
a window extending across the window opening (Fig 1, window at 14); and
a window wiper (Fig 1, Fig 4, wiper 16) mounted to the structure and having a parked position in which the window wiper is positioned in the recess (Fig 4, parked positioned seen in recess).
Regarding claim 2, Burton teaches wherein a perforated wall extends across the recess and permits fluid to drain from the recess (Fig 7, perforated wall by virtue of 36).
Regarding claim 3, Burton teaches wherein the perforated wall extends across a first side of the recess and the window extends across a second side of the recess opposite the first side (Fig 1, Fig 7, window would be atop of the recess, perforated wall/bottom wall is at the opposite side of the recess).
Regarding claim 13, Burton teaches a cover secured to at least one of the window wiper and the structure and configured to substantially cover the recess (Fig 6, cover 30).
Regarding claim 17, Burton teaches a ramp positioned in the recess and configured to urge the window wiper away from the window when the window wiper is positioned in the recess (Fig 6, sloped/ramped surface at 22).
Regarding claim 18, Burton teaches wherein the vehicle door is a rear liftgate (Fig 1, rear door/liftgate indicated at 12).
Regarding claim 19, Burton teaches an apparatus comprising:
a portion of a vehicle (Fig 1, rear of vehicle at 12) defining a window opening (Fig 1, window occupied by 14);
a structure (Fig 1, structure 10) secured to the portion and having a surface defining a portion of a lower edge of the window opening (Fig 1, surface is upper edge of 10 which is the lower edge of window 14) and a recess extending downwardly from the surface (Fig 1, recess of 10, see Fig 4);
a window extending across the window opening (Fig 1, window at 14); and
a window wiper (Fig 1, Fig 4, wiper 16) mounted to the structure and having a parked position in which the window wiper is positioned in the recess (Fig 4, parked positioned seen in recess).
Regarding claim 20, Burton teaches an apparatus comprising:
a structure (Fig 1, structure 10) configured to secure along a lower edge of a window opening (Fig 1, surface is upper edge of 10 which is the lower edge of window 14) defined by a portion of a vehicle (Fig 1, rear of vehicle at 12), the structure having a surface defining a portion of a lower edge of the window opening (Fig 1, surface is upper edge of 10 which is the lower edge of window 14) and a recess extending downwardly from the surface (Fig 1, recess of 10, see Fig 4);
a window wiper (Fig 1, Fig 4, wiper 16) mounted to the structure and having a parked position in which the window wiper is positioned in the recess (Fig 4, parked positioned seen in recess); and
a drive unit mounted to the structure and coupled to the window wiper to actuate the window wiper (Column 4, line 13-15, drive/drive shaft).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (US 5771526 A), in view of Williams (US 20190152441 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Burton is silent on wherein the structure defines a channel under the perforated wall and configured to conduct fluid away from the recess to a side of the vehicle door.
Williams teaches wherein the structure defines a channel under the perforated wall and configured to conduct fluid away from the recess to a side of the vehicle door (Fig 2, under recess 224, trough channel 211 directs water away).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Burton by having the structure defines a channel under the perforated wall and configured to conduct fluid away from the recess to a side of the vehicle door as disclosed by Williams because to allow a pathway to convey water away from the vehicle (Para 0018).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (US 5771526 A), in view of Heffernan (US 2271225 A)
Regarding claim 14, Burton is silent on a heating element mounted to the structure and configured to melt ice within the recess.
Heffernan teaches a heating element mounted to the structure and configured to melt ice within the recess (Fig 2-3, heating element 19 below structure 3/9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Burton by having the heating element in the recited location as disclosed by Heffernan because it allows for a means to heat a wiper to address issues like accumulation of snowpack which can obstruct a windshield (Page 1, left column, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 15, Burton as modified teaches wherein the heating element is mounted below a bottom wall of the recess (Fig 2-3 of Heffernan, heating element 19 mounted below structure 3/9 and its bottom wall).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (US 5771526 A), in view of Merkel (US 20040008000 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Burton is silent on a magnet mounted to the window wiper and a Hall effect sensor mounted to the structure and configured to sense the magnet when the window wiper is positioned within the recess.
Merkel teaches a magnet mounted to the window wiper and a Hall effect sensor mounted to the structure and configured to sense the magnet when the window wiper is positioned within the recess (Fig 2-3, Para 0022, magnet 62/64 may be considered broadly a part of the wiper and the indication of its position would indicate its position in the recess, as a modification to Burton).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Burton by having the recited magnet and Hall effector sensor on the wiper system as disclosed by Merkel because it would allow for the determination of the position of the wiper.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recites “wherein a drive unit is mounted to the structure, an arm being mounted to the drive unit and the window wiper being mounted to the arm, the structure defining a slot permitting movement of the arm within the slot, the slot extending across a portion of the surface and the recess.” While a drive unit and arm is known in the art, see e.g. Merkel (US 20040008000 A1), Pfeiffer (FR 2490572 A1), Ijima (JP 2015051709 A), and any hypothetical modification would likely have rendered their placement obvious. The claim additionally recites a slot, which extends across a portion of the surface and the recess. No additional slot is readily apparent nor obvious. The opening of Burton has already been drawn to the recess and thus cannot be additionally be drawn to a separately recited slot. Dependent claims 6-12 contain the subject matter of claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See discussion under allowable subject matter.
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676