DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jefferies et al., (US Publication No. 2017/0316621), hereinafter “Jefferies”.
Regarding claims 1, 4, Jefferies discloses
A vehicle that is communicatively connected to a server via a network [Jefferies, figures, 1, 11], the vehicle comprising:
a processor [Jefferies, figures, 1, 11]; and
a non-transitory memory that stores a program [Jefferies, figures, 1, 11],
wherein the processor executes the program to cause the vehicle to operate as:
a first acquirer that acquires user information for identifying a user [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-101, remote servers may then test to determine whether that customer is in its database based on the identifier provided];
a storage that stores vehicle information for identifying the vehicle [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-102, database];
a transmitter that transmits the user information acquired and the vehicle information stored in the storage to the server [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-105];
a second acquirer that acquires, from the server, function information indicating one or more functions that: are identified based on the user information and the vehicle information [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-105, access code];
are performable by the vehicle [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-105, access code]; and
are permitted to be utilized by the user [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 99-105, access code]; and
a controller that enables the one or more functions indicated by the function information [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grimm et al., (US Publication No. 2014/0142783), hereinafter “Grimm”.
Jefferies does not specifically disclose, however Grimm teaches
wherein the first acquirer repeatedly acquires the user information from a circuit that holds the user information by wirelessly communicating with the circuit [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection], and
when the first acquirer acquires information different from the user information acquired at a previous timing, the controller disables the one or more functions [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include validating the user periodically in order to ensure the authorized user is still within proximity and access is still required. It would have been obvious to combine repeatedly acquiring user information with users of temporary vehicles (i.e., rental vehicles) to ensure the user is still authorized as both arts relate to the authentication of users to vehicles.
Regarding claim 3, Jefferies-Grimm further discloses
wherein when the first acquirer acquires same information as the user information acquired at the previous timing, the controller keeps the one or more functions enabled [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection].
Regarding claim 5, Jefferies-Grimm further discloses
acquiring, by the server, the user information and the vehicle information from the vehicle [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105];
identifying, by the server, the one or more functions based on the user information, the vehicle information, and permission information that is previously stored [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection]; and
transmitting, by the server, to the vehicle, the function information indicating the one or more functions identified [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105].
Regarding claim 6, Jefferies-Grimm further discloses
wherein the permission information includes:
one or more permission functions that are permitted to be utilized by the user identified by the user information [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105]; and
one or more performable functions that are performable by the vehicle identified by the vehicle information, and in the identifying, the server identifies, as the one or more functions, one or more common functions that are common to the one or more permission functions and the one or more performable functions [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105].
Regarding claim 7, Jefferies-Grimm further discloses
transitioning to a state where an operation of the vehicle is performable, by receiving, by the vehicle, operation permission information for permitting the operation [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105];
transmitting, by the server, to an information terminal possessed by the user, inquiry information for inquiring whether to permit the user identified by the user information to utilize the vehicle identified by the vehicle information when the user information and the vehicle information are acquired from the vehicle [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection];
acquiring, by the server, from the information terminal, response information indicating a response to the inquiry information [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection]; and
preventing, by the server, transmission of the operation permission information when the response information indicates that the vehicle is not permitted to be utilized [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection].
Regarding claim 8, Jefferies-Grimm further discloses
transitioning to a state where an operation of the vehicle is performable, by receiving, by the vehicle, operation permission information for permitting the vehicle to perform the operation [Jefferies, figures, 1, 9, 11, paragraphs 41, 99-105];
transmitting, by the server, to an other server, inquiry information for inquiring whether the user identified by the user information is previously permitted to utilize the vehicle identified by the vehicle information when the user information and the vehicle information are acquired from the vehicle [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection];
receiving, by the server, from the other server, response information indicating a response to the inquiry information [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection]; and
preventing, by the server, transmission of the operation permission information to the vehicle when the response information indicates that the vehicle is not permitted to be utilized [Grimm, figures 1-2, paragraphs 6, 24, 30-33, validate connection].
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433