DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qing (CN 111486953).
Re claim 1: Qing teaches a line spectroscopic reflectometry (fig. 1 and 2) comprising: a line beam forming part (1) configured to generate a line beam from a light source irradiating a broadband wavelength (in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, continuous spectrum linear light source); a bi-telecentric relay optical part (7/8/9) that uses bi-telecentric optics to enlarge the line beam generated by the line beam forming part and vertically irradiates and reflects it onto a measurement object (18) (in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, double telecentric system); a spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part (16/14/12) configured to separate the reflected line beam from the measurement object by wavelength to acquire a spectroscopic reflectance image (in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1); and an image analysis processing part (17) that obtains a thickness of the measurement object from the spectroscopic reflectance image for a region where the line beam is irradiated onto the measurement object (in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, technical field and abstract, height/thickness).
Re claim 12: Qing teaches the line spectroscopic reflectometry, wherein the line beam forming part, the bi-telecentric relay optical part, and the spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part are integrally formed to constitute a single measurement head capable of measuring thickness of a predetermined width, and the thickness is measured while moving the single measurement head or moving the measurement object (Qing, abstract, see fig. 1 and 2, single measurement head/device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) in view of Meimoun (US 20110311132).
Re claim 2: Qing teaches the line spectroscopic reflectometry, further comprising a beam splitter (6) configured to reflect the light reflected from the measurement object (18) toward the spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part (16/14/12) and to transmit the light irradiated from the line beam forming part (1) toward the measurement object (18) (see fig. 1 and 2), but does not specifically teach the line beam is reflected and the light reflected from measurement object is transmitted through the beam splitter. Meimoun teaches a beam splitter (174) configured to reflect light irradiated from beam forming part (172) toward a measurement object (176) and to transmit light reflected from the measurement object (176) toward a reflectance image acquisition part (180) (see fig. 1c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place the image acquisition part and the beam forming part of Qing similar to Meimoun while still being capable of irradiation the object and capturing an image from the object providing an alternate set up for a versatile design (MPEP, 2144.04, VI, C).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) as modified by Meimoun (US 20110311132) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Noehte et al. (US 20090154318).
Re claim 3: Qing as modified by Meimoun teaches wherein the line beam forming part comprises a first mirror (Qing, 2) configured to convert the light irradiated from the light source into a collimated beam (Qing, in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1), and a second mirror (Qing, 4) configured to focus the collimated beam in one direction (Qing, in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, fig. 1 and 2), but does not specifically teach wherein the line beam forming part comprises a lens configured to convert the light irradiated from the light source into a circular collimated beam, and a cylindrical lens configured to focus the circular collimated beam in one direction. Noehte teaches wherein a line beam forming part comprises a lens (18) configured to convert the light irradiated from the light source into a circular collimated beam (see fig. 1), and a cylindrical lens (28) configured to focus the circular collimated beam in one direction (paragraph 163-166, fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a collimating lens and cylindrical lens similar to Noehte to form a desired line beam of Qing as modified by Meimoun in order to ensure uniform distribution of light providing for higher quality measurements.
Re claim 4: Qing as modified by Meimoun teaches wherein the line beam forming part comprises a first mirror (Qing, 2) configured to convert the light irradiated from the light source into a collimated beam (Qing, in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1), and a second mirror (Qing, 4) configured to focus the collimated beam in one direction (Qing, in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, fig. 1 and 2), but does not specifically teach wherein the line beam forming part comprises a lens (L1) that makes a circular collimated beam from the light emitted from the light source, a Powell lens that is disposed behind the L1 and expands the light in one direction, a cylindrical lens (Cy12) that is disposed behind the Powell lens and collimates the light, and a cylindrical lens (Cy13) that is disposed behind the L1 and focuses the light in one direction. Noehte teaches wherein the line beam forming part comprises a lens (L1) (18) that makes a circular collimated beam from light emitted from a light source (4), a Powell lens (24) that is disposed behind the L1 and expands the light in one direction (see fig. 1), a cylindrical lens (26) that is disposed behind the Powell lens (24) and collimates the light, and a cylindrical lens (28) that is disposed behind the L1 and focuses the light in one direction (see fig. 1, paragraphs 163-166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a collimating lens, Powell lens and cylindrical lens similar to Noehte to form a desired line beam of Qing as modified by Meimoun in order to ensure uniform distribution of light providing for higher quality measurements.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) in view of Nomaru (US 20230228558).
Re claim 9: Qing teaches the line spectroscopic reflectometry, wherein the spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part comprises spectroscopic optics (12/13) configured to separate the line beam reflected from the measurement object by wavelength and a camera (14) configured to acquire a two-dimensional spectroscopic reflectance image from the spectroscopic optics (12/13) (see fig. 1 and 2), and the image analysis processing part obtains the thickness for each point of the line beam with respect to wavelength (in machine translation, under embodiment 1, fig. 1 and 2), but does not specifically teach the image analysis processing part uses a wavelength map that matches a wavelength (ƛ) of the light received by each pixel (x pixel * y pixel) of the camera to obtain R(v, ƛ) converted into a wavenumber (v = 1/ ƛ) from the spectroscopic reflectance image (R(x, y)), and performs Fourier transform on this in the v-axis direction, to obtain the thickness for each point of the line beam. Nomaru teaches an image analysis processing part uses a wavelength map that matches a wavelength (ƛ) of the light received by each pixel (x pixel * y pixel) of a camera to obtain R(v, ƛ) converted into a wavenumber (v = 1/ ƛ) from a spectroscopic reflectance image (R(x, y)), and performs Fourier transform on this in the v-axis direction, to obtain a thickness for each point of a line beam (paragraph 8, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform a Fourier transformation similar to Nomaru with the image analysis of Qing in order to determine thickness at specific locations in a reduced amount of time providing for a more efficient design.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) as modified by Nomaru (US 20230228558) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chalmers et al. (US 20050174584).
Re claim 10: Qing as modified by Nomaru teaches wherein the spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part comprises spectroscopic optics (Qing, 12/13) configured to separate the line beam reflected from the measurement object by wavelength and a camera (Qing, 14) configured to acquire a two-dimensional spectroscopic reflectance image from the spectroscopic optics (Qing, 12/13, see fig. 1 and 2), and the image analysis processing part uses a wavelength map that matches a wavelength (ƛ) of the light received by each pixel (x pixel * y pixel) of the camera to obtain R(v, ƛ) converted into a wavenumber (v = 1/ ƛ) from the spectroscopic reflectance image (R(x, y)), and performs Fourier transform on this in the v-axis direction, to obtain the thickness for each point of the line beam. Nomaru teaches an image analysis processing part uses a wavelength map that matches a wavelength (ƛ) of the light received by each pixel (x pixel * y pixel) of a camera to obtain R(v, ƛ) converted into a wavenumber (v = 1/ ƛ) from a spectroscopic reflectance image (R(x, y)), and performs Fourier transform on this in the v-axis direction, to obtain a thickness for each point of a line beam (Nomaru, paragraph 8, abstract), but does not specifically teach the line spectroscopic reflectometry, wherein the wavelength map is formed by reflecting monochromatic or quasi monochromatic light as a line beam to acquire a spectroscopic image, acquiring a plurality of spectroscopic images for different wavelengths, and then matching pixel areas where light of certain wavelengths is received. Chalmers teaches the line spectroscopic reflectometry, wherein the wavelength map is formed by reflecting monochromatic or quasi monochromatic light as a line beam to acquire a spectroscopic image, acquiring a plurality of spectroscopic images for different wavelengths, and then matching pixel areas where light of certain wavelengths is received (paragraph 83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a monochromatic or quasi monochromatic light and perform matching similar to Chalmers with the image analysis of Qing and Nomaru in order to determine thickness at specific locations in a reduced amount of time providing for a more efficient design.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) in view of Chalmers et al. (US 20050174584).
Re claim 11: Qing teaches the image analysis processing part (17) that obtains a thickness of the measurement object from the spectroscopic reflectance image for a region where the line beam is irradiated onto the measurement object (in machine translation, under implementation principle under embodiment 1, technical field and abstract, height/thickness), but does not specifically teach wherein the image analysis processing part obtains the thickness regarding each point of the line beam through a comparison computation between the acquired spectroscopic reflectance image and a theoretical model of a spectroscopic reflectance signal. Chalmers teaches wherein an image analysis processing part obtains the thickness regarding each point of the line beam through a comparison computation between the acquired spectroscopic reflectance image and a theoretical model of a spectroscopic reflectance signal (paragraph 83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to perform matching/comparison similar to Chalmers with the image analysis of Qing in order to determine thickness at specific locations in a reduced amount of time providing for a more efficient design.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing (CN 111486953) in view of Iwayama (US 20130169974).
Re claim 13: Qing teaches the line spectroscopic reflectometry, wherein the line beam forming part, the bi-telecentric relay optical part, and the spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part are integrally formed to constitute a single measurement head capable of measuring thickness of a predetermined width, and the thickness is measured while moving the single measurement head or moving the measurement object (Qing, abstract, see fig. 1 and 2, single measurement head/device), but does not specifically teach a plurality of measurement heads and the measurement heads or the object are moved. Iwayama teaches wherein a beam forming part, an optical part, and a spectroscopic reflectance image acquisition part are integrally formed to constitute a single measurement head (11) capable of measuring (fig. 1), and a plurality of measurement heads (11) are arranged in a spaced apart array form, and a distance is measured by moving the plurality of measurement heads or moving the measurement object (object moved, see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a plurality of measurement heads with a moving object similar to Iwayama to cover a larger area of the object measuring different regions providing for a more versatile design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 5, the prior art of record individually or in combination fails to teach the line spectroscopic reflectometry according to claim 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the bi-telecentric relay optical part comprises a lens (L2) disposed at an image space's side and a lens (L3) disposed at an object space's side, and a distance between the L2 and the L3 is equal to a sum of their focal lengths, and the line beam focused by the line beam forming part is generated in front of the L2.
In regards to claim 6, the prior art of record individually or in combination fails to teach the line spectroscopic reflectometry according to claims 4, 2 and 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the bi-telecentric relay optical part comprises a lens (L2) disposed at an image space's side and a lens (L3) disposed at an object space's side, and a distance between the L2 and the L3 is equal to a sum of their focal lengths, and the line beam focused by the line beam forming part is generated in front of the L2.
Claim 8 is objected to because of its dependency on claim 6.
In regards to claim 7, the prior art of record individually or in combination fails to teach the line spectroscopic reflectometry according to claims 3, 2 and 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the bi-telecentric relay optical part further comprises a lens (L2) disposed at an image space's side, a lens (L3) disposed at an object space's side, and a lens (L6) disposed in front of the beam splitter at the line beam forming part's side, the beam splitter is disposed between the L2 and the L3, a distance between the L2 and the L3 is equal to a sum of their focal lengths, so that the L2 and the L3 form bi-telecentric optics regarding the reflected light reflected from the measurement object, and a distance between the L6 and the L3 is equal to a sum of their focal lengths, so that the L6 and the L3 form bi-telecentric optics regarding the incident light toward the measurement object.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2878