DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 06/12/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending with claims 4-18 newly added.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 6, 10, 13-16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7 and 9-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,613 in view of Baynham et al. (U.S. 8,083,799 B2).
Concerning claim 1, claim 1 of the patent recites a spinal implant comprising an upper surface including a first porous portion and a first non-porous portion; a lower surface including a second porous portion and a second non-porous portion; a cavity formed through the upper and lower surfaces; first and second side walls extending between the upper and lower surfaces; a front section extending between the upper and lower surfaces; and a rear section extending between the upper and lower surfaces.
Claim 5 of the patent recites that the rear section includes an opening extending into the spinal implant, and claim 6 that the opening is a threaded opening. Claim 7 recites that the threaded opening and the first and second chamfer are configured to cooperate with an insertion tool for insertion of the spinal implant at a surgical site.
Claim 9 of the patent independently recites a body having a front end, a rear end, and opposed side walls extending between the ends; upper and lower surfaces defined respectively by a non-porous upper outer rim and a non-porous lower outer rim; a non-porous front wall extending at the front end between at least the upper and lower outer rims; and a non-porous rear wall extending at the rear end between at least the upper and lower outer rims.
Claim 14 of the patent recites that each of the side walls includes openings extending into the cavity.
The patent claims therefore recite the elongate body architecture of claim 1 of the application including a front section and a rear section, the rear section having a rear wall, upper and lower surfaces extending therebetween, first and second side walls extending between the upper and lower surfaces, openings in each side wall, an internally threaded opening at the rear section, chamfers, and cooperation with an insertion tool.
Concerning claim 2, claim 9 of the patent recites each of the side walls including at least one non-porous strut extending therebetween, and a porous structure integrally formed with the upper rim, the lower rim, and the at least one strut, the porous structure extending from the body outer perimeter to the body inner perimeter such that the porous structure is encased within a non-porous structure. Claim 12 of ’613 further recites that the at least one non-porous strut contacts the opposed side walls, and claim 13 that the strut contacts the cavity.
Application claim 2 recites a body including porous and non-porous sections, with one or more non-porous struts extending through the porous section from the first side wall to the second side wall, and is therefore anticipated by, or at minimum rendered obvious by, claims 9, 12, and 13 of the patent. A non-porous strut that contacts both opposed side walls and passes through a porous structure encased in non-porous material is not patentably distinct from a non-porous strut extending through the porous section from the first side wall to the second side wall.
However, the application claims differ from the patent claims in that the application claims recite: (a) first and second recesses in the first and second side walls; (b) chamfered edges at the intersection of the first side wall with the upper surface and of the second side wall with the lower surface; (c) the insertion tool positively recited as an element of a claimed system; and (d) insertion in a first orientation with the side walls contacting the vertebrae, followed by rotation 90° to a second orientation with the upper and lower surfaces contacting the vertebrae.
As to (a), claim 14 of the patent recites openings extending into the cavity in each side wall. To the extent the instant “first recess” and “second recess” are broader than or equivalent to such openings, no patentable distinction results.
As to (c), claim 7 of the patent already recites the implant as configured to cooperate with an insertion tool. Positively reciting the cooperating tool as a system element rather than reciting the implant as configured to cooperate with it is not a patentable distinction. The recitations that the tool is “removably attachable” and “adapted to insert… and rotating” remain functional.
As to (d), and as further support for (a), Baynham teaches a spinal implant having a first recess formed in one elongated side wall and a second recess formed in the opposite elongated side wall, provided specifically to reduce the frictional forces opposing rotation and to reduce the space traversed between adjacent vertebrae, thereby minimizing stress on the vertebrae; an implant tool removably connected to a threaded opening in an end wall; and insertion of the implant in a low-profile orientation with the side walls contacting the adjacent vertebrae, followed by rotation of approximately 90° so that the toothed upper and lower peripheries engage the vertebral end plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the implant of the patent claims with the side wall recesses and the insert-and-rotate methodology of Baynham, for the reasons Baynham expressly identifies.
Regarding claim 3, claim 10 of the patent recites that the upper and lower surfaces comprise surface serrations, and that a contour of each surface serration is defined by a non-porous cross strut and a curved contoured portion. A serration is by definition a projection extending beyond the surface from which it rises; a non-porous cross strut defining the contour of such a serration therefore extends beyond the upper or lower surface.
Regarding claim 4, claim 14 of the patent recites that each of the side walls includes openings extending into the cavity. Claim 15 recites that each of the openings includes porous and non-porous sections. An opening extending through a side wall into the cavity is a lateral window.
Regarding claim 6, claim 3 of the patent recites that the front section is tapered to define a wedge-shaped end, and claim 4 that the wedge-shaped end is configured to distract vertebral bodies during insertion. Baynham further teaches a leading end configured for low-profile entry between the adjacent vertebrae prior to rotation. The recitation “to permit insertion… in the first orientation” is functional.
Regarding Claim 10, claim 10 of the patent recites that the upper surface and lower surface comprise surface serrations.
Regarding claim 13, claim 16 of the patent recites a porous structure having an average pore diameter between 100 and 1000 microns, and claim 17 recites an average porosity between 30% and 80%. The ranges are coextensive.
Regarding claim 14, the claimed range falls entirely within the 30%–80% range of claim 17 of the patent. Where the claimed range lies inside a range disclosed by the reference, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Concerning claim 15, claim 1 of the patent recites a cavity formed through the upper and lower surfaces. Claim 9 recites a porous structure extending from the body outer perimeter to the body inner perimeter about the cavity, and claim 11 recites that the inner perimeter is defined by porous and non-porous sections.
Concerning claim 16, the cavity of claim 1 of the patent, being an open volume formed through the upper and lower surfaces, is structurally capable of containing such material. This is a statement of intended use.
Concerning claim 18, claim 9 of the patent recites a porous structure extending from the body outer perimeter to the body inner perimeter such that the porous structure is encased within a non-porous structure, with the upper and lower surfaces defined by non-porous outer rims forming non-porous exterior surfaces, and each side wall including at least one non-porous strut. Claim 12 recites that the non-porous strut contacts the opposed side walls.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baynham et al. (U.S. 8,083,799 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Baynham discloses a spinal implant system comprising a spinal implant (cage 10) having an elongate body with: a central longitudinal axis extending through the body (Baynham, claim 1, referencing the longitudinal centerline CL of the implant; Fig. 5); a front section and a rear section (end walls 15 and 14), the rear section having a rear wall and an internally threaded opening (col. 3; end wall 15 has threaded opening 32 to which the implant tool is removably connected, and Baynham expressly states that openings 31 and 32 may be reversed, such that the internally threaded opening is located in the trailing end wall 14); an upper surface and a lower surface each extending between the front section and the rear section (top portion 11 and bottom portion 13, defined by the toothed peripheries of the elongated side walls bounding opening 30); a first side wall and a second side wall (elongated side walls 16 and 12) extending between the upper surface and the lower surface on first and second sides of the longitudinal axis, the first and second side walls comprising a first recess and a second recess, respectively (recess 80 formed on side wall 16; recess 81 formed on the opposite side wall 12 — see Figs. 6 and 8, and Baynham claim 1, reciting that the first recess is formed on one elongated side and the second recess is located on the elongated side opposite the first recess);
wherein an intersection of the first side wall and the upper surface comprises a first chamfered edge and an intersection of the second side wall and the lower surface comprises a second chamfered edge (first recess 80 is located at the top portion 11 and is cut into the exterior surface of side wall 16, and second recess 81 is an inverse mirror image located at the bottom portion 13 of side wall 12; the edge of each recess slopes at approximately 45° from the longitudinal centerline, and may range from 1° to 89°, thereby defining a chamfered edge at each said intersection); and wherein the rear wall is generally perpendicular to the first side wall and the second side wall (end walls 14 and 15 are rectilinear, with the side walls attached to opposite sides of the rectangle). Baynham further discloses an insertion tool removably attachable to the implant and adapted to insert the implant between adjacent vertebrae in a first orientation with the first and second side walls configured to contact the adjacent vertebrae, and to rotate the implant 90° to a second orientation with the upper and lower surfaces configured to contact the adjacent vertebrae. Specifically, Baynham teaches an implant tool removably connected to the threaded opening and used to manipulate the implant, that the implant is slid into the prepared site with one side wall contacting the upper vertebra and the other side wall contacting the lower vertebra in a low-profile insertion orientation, and that the implant is thereafter rotated approximately 90° to engage the teeth of the top and bottom peripheries with the vertebral end plates.
Concerning claim 4, the first recess includes a first lateral window (see Fig. 1, element 18) extending through the first side wall and the second recess includes a second lateral window (see Fig. 1, element 18 (opposite)) extending through the second side wall.
Concerning claim 6, wherein the front section includes a nose (see Fig. 1, near element 15) having sidewalls angled to permit insertion of the implant between the adjacent vertebrae in the first orientation.
Concerning claim 7, wherein the implant further includes a visual identifier (see Fig. 4, element 65) at the rear section configured to identify an orientation of the implant.
Concerning claim 8, wherein the visual identifier includes a dimple (see Fig. 4, element 61) provided at the rear section.
Concerning claim 10, wherein each of the upper surface and the lower surface includes a plurality of serrations (see Fig. 1, element 25).
Concerning claim 12, wherein the serrations (see Fig. 1, element 25) are oriented at an angle within a range of 60 degrees to 80 degrees to resist back-out of the implant from between the adjacent vertebrae.
Concerning claim 15, wherein the body further includes a cavity formed through the upper surface and the lower surface, an interior of the cavity being at least partially formed of porous material (see col. 1, lines 19-26).
Concerning claim 16, wherein the cavity is configured to contain a bone growth promoting material therein (see col. 1, lines 19-26).
Concerning claim 17, wherein the body includes titanium and is formed by an additive manufacturing process (see col. 2, lines 61-65).
Concerning claim 18, wherein the first side wall and the second side wall are each formed solid on an exterior of the body (see col. 2, lines 61-65) and porous on an interior of the body (see col. 1, line 66 – col. 2, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baynham et al. (U.S. 8,083,799 B2) in view of Paul (U.S. 2005/0143822 A1).
Baynham et al. disclose the invention substantially as described above. However, Baynham et al. do not explicitly disclose than an intersection of the first side wall and the lower surface includes a third chamfered edge and an intersection of the second side wall and the upper surface comprises a fourth chamfered edge.
Paul disclose a spinal implant having a chamfered edge (see Fig. 2A, element 40) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing more efficient insertion of the implant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bayham’s implant to include chamfered edges, as disclosed by Paul in order to prevent a squared leading corner of the implant from scraping or gouging the vertebral endplate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773