DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025 and 02/17/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 20200005100 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM.
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a display control device (Fig. 4, #300 called photo image providing device, Paragraph [0133] – KIM discloses a photo image providing device 300 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a camera 310, a processor 320, an artificial neural network 330, a memory 340, and a display 350. See also Paragraph [0135].)
that controls a list display of a plurality of images (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0137] – KIM discloses the processor 320 may control the display unit 350 to display content, information, or data. Paragraph [0155] – KIM discloses the processor 320 may display a plurality of candidate photo images corresponding thereto on the display unit 350.), the display control device comprising:
a processor (Fig. 4, #320 called processor, Paragraph [0133] – KIM discloses photo image providing device 300 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a camera 310, a processor 320, an artificial neural network 330, a memory 340, and a display 350.),
wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.);
and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.).
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches an operation method of a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images (Fig. 5-6, Paragraph [0002] – KIM discloses the present disclosure relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference.), the operation method comprising:
receiving an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.);
and performing a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.).
Regarding claim 10, KIM teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0133-0134] – KIM discloses a photo image providing device 300 according to an embodiment of the present invention may include a camera 310, a processor 320, an artificial neural network 330, a memory 340. Each of the processor 320 and the memory 340 may be the processor 180 and the memory 170 shown in FIG. 1.)
storing an operation program of a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0137] – KIM discloses the processor 320 may control the display unit 350 to display content, information, or data. For example, the processor 320 may control the memory 340 to store content, information, data, and newly generated information. See also Paragraph [0059, 0165].), the operation program causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
receiving an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.),
and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.);
and performing a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0163] – KIM discloses by learning the candidate photo image selected by the user to obtain user preference image quality information, it is possible to obtain user preference more accurately. The user preference image quality information may be a parameter value for a photo image in specific photographic environment information. Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200005100 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM in view of SHINGAI (US 20090060388 A1), hereinafter referenced as SHINGAI.
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches the display control device according to claim 1,
Although KIM further teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 4, #320 called processor, Paragraph [0133]) is configured to:
and perform image quality correction according to the correction value (Fig 4, Paragraph [0165] – KIM discloses the processor 320 may adjust the photo image obtained from the camera 310 with the user image quality information shown in Table 1. For example, if the obtained photo image is a low illumination photo image, based on user preference image quality information, the processor adjusts brightness to a digital gain of 28, sharpness to an overshooting sharpness of 43, and noise to an edge ambient noise of 12.).
KIM fails to explicitly teach calculate a numerical value representing the image quality for an image for which the process is to be performed; calculate a correction value for the image quality according to the numerical value;
However, SHINGAI explicitly teaches calculate a numerical value representing the image quality for an image for which the process is to be performed (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0038] – SHINGAI discloses sampling unit M2 extracts (samples) additional information from the image data GD output by the image acquisition unit M1 and extracts (samples) pixels of predetermined numbers (pixel groups). Additional information is, for example, information designating image processing conditions of the image file GF, such as, for example, parameters for sharpness, blur; and noise removal, and so forth.);
calculate a correction value for the image quality according to the numerical value (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0039] – SHINGAI discloses adjustment parameter creation unit M3 uses the information extracted by the sampling unit M2 to create image quality adjustment parameters for the image data GD. The adjustment parameter creation unit M3 utilizes parameters created from the image processing control information and image data Smp to create the image quality adjustment parameters. See also Paragraph [0042].;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of SHINGAI having calculate a numerical value representing the image quality for an image for which the process is to be performed; calculate a correction value for the image quality according to the numerical value.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a numerical value representing the image quality for an image for which the process is to be performed; calculate a correction value for the image quality according to the numerical value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction, since both KIM and SHINGAI relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and SHINGAI discloses an image processing device, an image processing method, and an image processing program which are capable of adapting to image quality adjustment of image data that have been changed, through resizing, to a different size from the original in cases where image quality adjustment parameters have been created assuming an application to original image data. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and SHINGAI (US 20090060388 A1), Paragraph [0008].
Regarding claim 3, KIM teaches the display control device according to claim 1,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: discriminate an acquisition source of an image for which the process is to be performed; and perform image quality correction according to the acquisition source.
However, SHINGAI explicitly teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 1, #10 called control unit, Paragraph [0036] – SHINGAI discloses the control unit 10 reads and executes firmware (F/W) that is stored in the ROM 12. The executed F/W generally comprises an image acquisition unit M1, a sampling unit M2, an adjustment parameter creation unit M3, a resize judgment unit M4, an adjustment parameter modification unit M5, an image quality adjustment unit M6, a resize unit M7, and a print processing unit M8.) is configured to:
discriminate an acquisition source of an image for which the process is to be performed (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0037] – SHINGAI discloses image acquisition unit M1 acquires image files that are input by an image input device and image files that are stored in the involatile memory 14 as input images, performs input image decoding and color space conversion as necessary, and outputs image data GD and additional information. See also Paragraphs [0062-0063].);
and perform image quality correction according to the acquisition source (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0045] - SHINGAI discloses image file GF comprises an image data storage area 101 that stores image data GD and an image processing control information storage area 102 that stores image processing control information (image quality adjustment processing conditions) GC that is referenced and applied during automatic image quality adjustment of the image data. See also Paragraphs [0062-0063].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of SHINGAI having wherein the processor is configured to: discriminate an acquisition source of an image for which the process is to be performed; and perform image quality correction according to the acquisition source.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a numerical value representing the image quality for an image for which the process is to be performed; calculate a correction value for the image quality according to the numerical value.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction, since both KIM and SHINGAI relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and SHINGAI discloses an image processing device, an image processing method, and an image processing program which are capable of adapting to image quality adjustment of image data that have been changed, through resizing, to a different size from the original in cases where image quality adjustment parameters have been created assuming an application to original image data. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and SHINGAI (US 20090060388 A1), Paragraph [0008].
Regarding claim 4, KIM in view of SHINGAI teach the display control device according to claim 3,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to discriminate the acquisition source by performing image processing on the image for which the process is to be performed.
However, SHINGAI explicitly teaches wherein the processor is configured to discriminate the acquisition source by performing image processing on the image for which the process is to be performed (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0059] – SHINGAI discloses the control unit 10 searches for image processing control information GC which represents information during image data generation from the image processing control information storage area 102 of the read image file GF. When image processing control information is found as a result of the search, the processing moves to step S108 and the image processing control information GC at the time the image data were generated is acquired and temporarily stored in the RAM 10b. Paragraph [0047] – SHINGAI discloses image processing control information GC is information designating image processing conditions when image-processing image data generated by an image data generation device such as the DSC 12 and can include parameters relating to the exposure time, ISO sensitivity, aperture, shutter speed, and focal length that can be optionally set by the user, as well as image processing control parameters such as an exposure correction amount, white balance, photographic mode, target color space, contrast designation, saturation adjustment amount designation, sharpness designation, and noise removal designation, which are optionally set by the user.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of SHINGAI having wherein the processor is configured to discriminate the acquisition source by performing image processing on the image for which the process is to be performed.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to discriminate the acquisition source by performing image processing on the image for which the process is to be performed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction, since both KIM and SHINGAI relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and SHINGAI discloses an image processing device, an image processing method, and an image processing program which are capable of adapting to image quality adjustment of image data that have been changed, through resizing, to a different size from the original in cases where image quality adjustment parameters have been created assuming an application to original image data. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and SHINGAI (US 20090060388 A1), Paragraph [0008].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200005100 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM in view of KOKEMOHR (US 20130346898 A1), hereinafter referenced as KOKEMOHR.
Regarding claim 5, KIM teaches the display control device according to claim 1,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of applying a display effect applied to one of the plurality of images to the other images.
However, KOKEMOHR explicitly teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of applying a display effect applied to one of the plurality of images to the other images (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0085] – KOKEMOHR discloses the system enables the user to transfer an edit stack from one image thumbnail to one or more other image thumbnails in order to apply the image enhancements associated with the stack to images corresponding to the one or more other image thumbnails.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of KOKEMOHR having wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of applying a display effect applied to one of the plurality of images to the other images.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of applying a display effect applied to one of the plurality of images to the other images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction and provides a simple edit management system, since both KIM and KOKEMOHR relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and KOKEMOHR discloses implementations for applying image enhancements, wherein implementations enable a user to apply a stack of edits to a series of images allowing batch processing without extensive training. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and KOKEMOHR (US 20130346898 A1), Paragraph [0115].
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200005100 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM in view of BUCKLEY (US 20130262505 A1), hereinafter referenced as BUCKLEY.
Regarding claim 6, KIM teaches the display control device according to claim 1,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of adding accessory information to the image that does not have accessory information.
However, BUCKLEY explicitly teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 4, #302 called processor, Paragraph [0049]) is configured to perform a process of adding accessory information to the image that does not have accessory information (Fig. 8-9, Paragraph [0054] – BUCKLEY discloses you start with Image A (FIG. 8), which is missing metadata, find a matching or near-matching Image B (FIG. 9), which has the desired metadata, which you then copy to Image A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of BUCKLEY having wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of adding accessory information to the image that does not have accessory information.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to perform a process of adding accessory information to the image that does not have accessory information.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction and enables automated metadata matching, since both KIM and BUCKLEY relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and BUCKLEY discloses a method for augmenting the metadata content of a digital asset by importing metadata it does not have from a copy or near copy of the same asset found elsewhere. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and BUCKLEY (US 20130262505 A1), Paragraph [0069].
Regarding claim 7, KIM in view of BUCKLEY teach the display control device according to claim 6,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: search for a similar image of the image that does not have accessory information; and generate accessory information to be added to the image that does not have accessory information based on accessory information of the similar image.
However, BUCKLEY explicitly teaches wherein the processor (Fig. 4, #302 called processor, Paragraph [0049]) is configured to:
search for a similar image of the image that does not have accessory information (Fig. 8-9, Paragraph [0055] – BUCKLEY discloses a digital object A, such as Image A, is received by the system—with an attribute vector identified or formulated by the system that includes metadata or tags as well as image features (when A is a digital image such as Image A). The attribute vector has parts P and Q, the value of the attributes in P are filled in and known, while the value of those in Q are blank and unknown and, therefore, being sought. Next, a subset P′ of the attribute set P is specified, and a search is conducted for other objects that have the same value of P′.);
and generate accessory information to be added to the image that does not have accessory information based on accessory information of the similar image (Fig. 8-9, Paragraph [0056] – BUCKLEY discloses the search returns at least one object B, such as Image B (FIG. 9), whose attribute subset P has the same value as the attribute subset P′ of object A. The matching P′ attributes, could be global positioning system (GPS) coordinates or other geographical identification metadata, the date and time a picture was taken or scanned (within some reasonable tolerance), a perceptual image hash or a combination of these ideas. Paragraph [0058] – BUCKLEY discloses the objective is to populate the missing metadata Q′ of A with metadata from the object B that matches A along pre-specified dimensions P′.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of BUCKLEY having wherein the processor is configured to: search for a similar image of the image that does not have accessory information; and generate accessory information to be added to the image that does not have accessory information based on accessory information of the similar image.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the processor is configured to: search for a similar image of the image that does not have accessory information; and generate accessory information to be added to the image that does not have accessory information based on accessory information of the similar image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction and enables automated metadata matching, since both KIM and BUCKLEY relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and BUCKLEY discloses a method for augmenting the metadata content of a digital asset by importing metadata it does not have from a copy or near copy of the same asset found elsewhere. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and BUCKLEY (US 20130262505 A1), Paragraph [0069].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200005100 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM in view of ECKHARDT (US 5721811 A), hereinafter referenced as ECKHARDT in further view of GOWDA (US 6628333 B1), hereinafter referenced as GOWDA.
Regarding claim 8, KIM teaches the display control device according to claim 1,
KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the images include a first digital image which is a digital image obtained by digitizing an image printed out on an instant film,
However, ECKHARDT explicitly teaches wherein the images include a first digital image which is a digital image obtained by digitizing an image printed out on an instant film (Fig. , Col. 3, Lines [43-45] – ECKHARDT discloses print 12 may be a photographic print, and is preferably of the instant photographic variety, such as a Polaroid print. Col. 3, Lines [45-50] – ECKHARDT further discloses the color image provided on print 12 is scanned by an image scanner 14 which generates an electronic representation of the color image on print 12. Scanner 14 generates a digital output representative of a plurality of pixel values of the color image of print 12.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of ECKHARDT having wherein the images include a first digital image which is a digital image obtained by digitizing an image printed out on an instant film.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein the images include a first digital image which is a digital image obtained by digitizing an image printed out on an instant film.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction, since both KIM and ECKHARDT relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and ECKHARDT relates generally to apparatus for and methods of automated pre-press for color printing, and more particularly to apparatus for and methods of automatically generating a color accurate printed facsimile of a reflection input color image; novel means are employed to achieve rapid, colorimetrically calibrated scanning with standard equipment, and the colorimetry of the prior art is improved to deal effectively with whitepoint and blackpoint misalignment. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and ECKHARDT (US 5721811 A), Col. 1, Lines [9-14], Col. 3, Lines [18-21].
KIM in view of ECKHARDT fail to explicitly teach and a second digital image which is a printed digital image having a history of being printed out on the instant film.
However, GOWDA explicitly teaches and a second digital image which is a printed digital image having a history of being printed out on the instant film (Fig. 1, Col. 2, Lines [34-36] – GOWDA discloses printer 114 prints instant film photographs corresponding to received or stored digital images, and has the capability to print at least one image on a single piece of instant film.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of having a display control device that controls a list display of a plurality of images, the display control device comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: receive an instruction from a user as to which of a first process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively low image quality to image quality of an image with relatively high image quality, a second process of adjusting image quality of an image with relatively high image quality to image quality of an image with relatively low image quality, and a third process of adjusting image quality of the plurality of images to a target image quality is to be performed; and perform a process for which the instruction was received, among the first process, the second process, and the third process, with the teachings of GOWDA having and a second digital image which is a printed digital image having a history of being printed out on the instant film.
Wherein having KIM’s display control device wherein having and a second digital image which is a printed digital image having a history of being printed out on the instant film.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for providing a list display of images that improves user satisfaction, since both KIM and GOWDA relate to image processing techniques, wherein KIM relates to a photo image providing device and a photo image providing method that provide optimized image quality according to user preference wherein the user's satisfaction can be improved by providing a photo image considering the user's preference, and GOWDA combines the advantages of a digital camera with the ability to provide instant photographs; this combination allows an arbitrary number of copies of the same photographic image to be printed from the camera, in the case in which more than one copy is desired. Please see KIM (US 20200005100 A1), Paragraph [0200], and GOWDA (US 6628333 B1), Col. 1, Lines [37-41].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
ARIYAMA et al. (US 20220086334 A1) - Image quality according to user preferences can be suitably reflected in an image capturing device (camera). A program causes a computer to function as an analysis-object image quality adjusting unit that generates an analysis-object image. The analysis-object image quality adjusting unit generates an adjusted analysis-object image used along with an analysis-object RAW image to decide an image quality settings parameter of a captured image acquired by an image capturing device. In this case, the adjusted analysis-object image is generated by performing image quality adjustment processing on an analysis-object RAW image that is different from an adjustment-object RAW image, on the basis of image quality adjustment information indicating an image quality adjustment value of image quality adjustment processing as to the adjustment-object RAW image.… Fig. 1, Abstract.
YOSHIMOTO et al. (US 20070296874 A1) - A display device having a multi-view display panel (45) for displaying, on the common screen, individual images for more than one viewing direction and having image quality adjustment circuits (41, 42) for individually adjusting the quality of an image corresponding to each of the individual images..… Fig. 1, Abstract.
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673