DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim14 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14, line 3, “the” should be deleted before “a”; claim 14, line 9, “by wrapping the inserting the stick” is confusing. It is not clear what element of the invention the verb “wrapping” is referring to. Appropriate correction is required for the above objection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sexton, I (4,934,024).
Claim 1, Sexton discloses a training device for stick based sports (column 5,lines 62-67 and column 6, lines 1-2) comprising:
a generally cylindrical body (figure 14 shows a generally cylindrical body) having an exterior surface and an interior surface with a cavity formed within, wherein the body has a first end and a second end to form a length of the device,
wherein the device further includes a first edge and a second edge, wherein the first edge and second edge are configured to wrap around a stick and are positioned proximate to each other;
wherein a slot is formed between the first edge and second edge of the body (as shown in figure 14, the device includes a body having interior/exterior surfaces and cavity formed therebetween; first and second ends and includes a slot between the first and second edges; column 8, lines 53-68 and column 9, lines 1-22).
Claim 2, Sexton shows a portion of the first edge positioned on a first plane and portion of the second edge is positioned on the second plane. (as taught by Sexton the device is formed of a deformable material that allows the user to form the material to the shape of for example a handle. The material can be stretched to any desired shape and/or size and a portion of the first and second edges of the material may partially or fully overlap i.e. extend over as deemed necessary by the end user; column 8, lines 10-27 and more specifically lines 23-25 which teaches the concept of overlapping the edges in order to form a seal).
Claim 3, Sexton shows a portion of the first edge extends past a portion of the second edge (as shown in figure 14, a portion of the first edge goes past a portion of the second edge).
Claim 4, Sexton shows the first end includes a first flared portion (as shown in figure 14 the first end includes a first flared portion).
Claim 5, Sexton shows the first end includes a first flared portion (as shown in figure 14 the second end includes a second flared portion).
Claim 6, Sexton shows the first flared portion and second flared portions are configured to maintain the interface between the user as well as prevent the ends from catching on the stick while in use (Abstract of the disclosure; column 4, lines 4-68 and column 5, lines 1-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-13, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexton, I (4,934,024) in view of Barkowicz (5,035,428)
Claim 7, Sexton shows that the interior surface has a first coefficient of friction. Regarding the use of a second coefficient of friction, the claim as written does not require that the first and second coefficients of friction be different. In any event, Barkowicz discloses a related grip mechanism wherein it is taught that a portion of the grip may employ a material of a second, different coefficient of friction. Barkowicz, like the applicant, teaches that such a configuration provides a firm grip for the user, while enhancing the swing by allowing the bat to slip or rotate (figure 4; column 2, lines 59-68 and column 3, lines 1-54). Those of ordinary skill in the art desiring to provide the user with a strong grip while enhancing the user’s swing, would have therefore considered such a configuration as obvious.
Claim 8, Sexton shows comprised of a material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) (column 4, lines 4-9).
Claim 9, Sexton shows the thermoplastic is a copolymer which is a specific type of polymer (column 4, lines 4-32).
Claim 10, Sexton shows the polymer has a predetermined rigidity (all material have a “predetermine rigidity”; column 2, lines 35-57).
Claim 11, Sexton shows the distance between the first edge and second edge can be changed by applying a predetermined compressive force (as taught by Sexton the thermoplastic material allows for the shape of the device to be changed by applying pressure or compressive force so that the device conforms to the shape of the implement and the hand of the user; column 5, lines 14-30; also see figures 5 and 13).
Claim 12, Sexton shows the first edge configuration approximates the shape of a user's four fingers that wrap round the exterior surface of the body (as noted above Sexton teaches the thermoplastic material allows the device to be conformed to the shape of the user’s fingers; column 5, lines 14-30; also see figures 5 and 13s).
Claim 13, Sexton shows the second edge configuration approximates the shape of a user's thumb (as noted above Sexton teaches the thermoplastic material allows the device to be conformed to the shape of the user’s fingers and thumb; column 5, lines 14-30; also see figure 5 and 13).
Claim 14, Sexton discloses an apparatus and a method to enable training of stick-based sports using a device as in claim 1, the method comprising the steps of:
providing [[the]] a stick handling device (column 5,lines 62-67 and column 6, lines 1-2), wherein the device includes generally cylindrical body having an exterior surface and an interior surface with a cavity formed within,
wherein the body has a first end and a second end to form a length of the device,
wherein the device further includes a first edge and a second edge, wherein the first edge and second edge are configured to wrap around a stick and are positioned proximate to each other;
wherein a slot is formed between the first edge and second edge of the body (as shown in figure 14, the device includes a body having interior/exterior surfaces and cavity formed therebetween; first and second ends and includes a slot between the first and second edges; column 8, lines 53-68 and column 9, lines 1-22);
placing the device around a shaft of the stick by wrapping the (?) inserting the stick through the slot of the device (see figure 14);
wherein the device forms a cylindrical shape around the shaft of the stick via the first edge and second edge of the device, the cylindrical shape comprising an adjustable internal diameter based upon the force applied by a user force (as taught by Sexton the thermoplastic material allows for the shape of the device to be changed by applying pressure or compressive force so that the device conforms to the shape of the implement and the hand of the user; column 5, lines 14-30; also see figures 5 and 13); and
gripping the device loosely during stick handling drills to allow axial rotation of the stick (this step is inherently achieved when holding a sports implement during warmup or training). To support examiner’s position the patent to Barkowicz is introduced. Barkowicz, like the applicant, teaches that such a configuration provides a firm grip for the user, while enhancing the swing by allowing the bat to slip or rotate (figure 4; column 2, lines 59-68 and column 3, lines 1-54). Those of ordinary skill in the art desiring to provide the user with a strong grip while enhancing the user’s swing, would have therefore considered such a configuration as obvious.
Claim 15, Sexton shows the device further includes a flair portion at the first end and the second end (as shown in figure 14 the first and second ends include a first and a second flared portion respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Erb (5,342,046) see figures 1-3; Tu Teng (7,309,292) see figures 1, 3; Marooth (D21,773 S) see figure 1); Seline et al (D873,645 S); see figures 1, 7, 13.
/MITRA ARYANPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/ma/
19 October 2026