Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory, II (US 12,476,472) in view of Sorenson (US 11,271,399).
With respect to claims 1, 9, 11 and 19 Gregory teaches a power distribution unit comprising (Fig. 1-2 and 4): a plurality of outlets (108); and a controller (102) configured to: poll the plurality of outlets to determine a polled electrical load of each outlet (col. 9 lines 10-20), add one or more outlets (col. 8 lines 10-25) of the plurality of outlets to a queue (see sequence) based on a comparison of the polled electrical loads and a user set threshold (col. 3 lines 40-50), connect the queued outlets (run programmed sequence) to a power input. Gregory however does not teach monitoring a total electrical load of the power distribution unit, and disconnect, in response to determining that the total electrical load exceeds the user set threshold, one or more outlets of the plurality of outlets from the power input. Sorenson teaches (col. 10 lines 5-25 for example) monitoring a total electrical load of the power distribution unit, and disconnect, in response to determining that the total electrical load exceeds the user set threshold, one or more outlets of the plurality of outlets from the power input (col. 2 lines 15-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gregory to include the known use of disconnecting a load for the benefit of protecting the system (col. 4 lines 35-40).
With respect to claims 2 and 12 Gregory teaches to poll the plurality of outlets, the controller is configured to: connect a first pair of outlets (first group of outlets in sequence) of the plurality of outlets to the power input; and disconnect the first pair of outlets (see moving to next group of outlets in the sequence, col. 8 lines 50-65) of the plurality of outlets from the power input.
With respect to claims 3 and 13 Gregory teaches (col. 4 lines 20-50) the ordering the charging sequence by programming the routine however does not teach the assigning a priority. Sorenson teaches (col. 6 lines 40-60) the assigning of priority values. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gregory to use a priority ordering of the sequencing for the benefit of ensuring critical loads are charged first to maintain critical operations.
With respect to claims 4 and 14 Gregory teaches the power distribution unit however does not teach the determining whether connecting the first outlet to the power input will cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold; and add, in response to determining that connecting the first outlet to the power input will not cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold, the first outlet to the queue. Sorenson teaches (col. 12 lines 45-55) the using expected power usage or current consumption levels for predicting power draw by the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the expected power levels of Sorenson to unit of Gregory for the benefit of preventing a adding a load to a sequence exceeding the threshold and protecting the system from damage.
With respect to claims 6 and 16 Gregory teaches the power distribution however does no teach the disconnection in reverse order. Sorenson teaches the controller is configured to disconnect outlets from the power input in reverse priority order in response to determining that the total electrical load exceeds the user set threshold (col. 10 lines 20-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gregory to include the disconnecting in reverse priority order to maintain supply to critical operations.
With respect to claims 7 and 17 Gregory teaches the power distribution unit however does not teach the determining whether connecting the first outlet to the power input will cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold; and add, in response to determining that connecting the first outlet to the power input will not cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold, the first outlet to the queue. Gregory further teaches a timer (see configure time or schedule col. 2 lines 45-60); and connect, in response to the timer elapsing, the additional outlets to the power input. Sorenson teaches (col. 12 lines 45-55) the using expected power usage or current consumption levels for predicting power draw by the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the expected power levels of Sorenson to unit of Gregory for the benefit of preventing a adding a load to a sequence exceeding the threshold and protecting the system from damage.
With respect to claims 8 and 18 Gregory teaches a plurality of switches (col. 5 line 8), each switch of the plurality of switches being associated with a respective outlet of the plurality of outlets (108); a plurality of outlet sensors (204), each outlet sensor of the plurality of sensors being associated (see Fig. 2) with a respective outlet of the plurality of outlets and configured to sense an electrical load (current draw) of the respective outlet; and wherein the controller is configured to: actuate each switch (see connect each sequence group to power) of the plurality of switches to connect or disconnect the respective outlet, determine an electrical load of each outlet by monitoring a respective outlet sensor. Gregory teaches the use of GFCI setting the maximum current level however Gregory as modified above however does not teach the connection of a main sensor in sensing the total electrical current. It is well known to use main sensor to sense total current of which the Examiner takes Official Notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Gregory to include the known use of a main sensor for the benefit of rapid determination of an overcurrent condition.
With respect to claims 10 and 20 Gregory teaches the polled values are current values. Sorenson teaches electrical loads and the total electrical load are power values (see power draw levels, col. 3 lines 35-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Gregory to use the known alternative of power levels for protecting the system from damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 5 and 15 Gregory as modified above teaches power distribution unit however does not teach the further limitation each outlet of the plurality of outlets is assigned a priority; and to add one or more outlets of the plurality of outlets to the queue, the controller is configured to: select a second outlet of the plurality of outlets, the second outlet having a lower priority than the first outlet, determine whether connecting the second outlet and any queued outlets to the power input will cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold; and add, in response to determining that connecting the second outlet and any queued outlets to the power input will not cause the total electrical load of the power distribution unit to exceed the user set threshold, the second outlet to the queue. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836