Specification
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome the previous objection and thus the objection is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously presented objections to the claims and thus the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 6, 9, 17, and 20, the limitation “up to” is interpreted to mean “less than or equal to” the recited value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) teaches a method of ion beam deposition onto a wafer (substrate) placed on a wafer stage 140 (substrate stage) in a vacuum chamber, generating ions from an ion beam source 105 comprising a plasma chamber 110 (plasma source), collimating the generated ions with an extraction grid system 150 (first collimator), directing the collimated broad ion beam 130 toward a target 145, and causing a sputtering of target material in a deposition plume toward the substrate (para 0026, 0086, claim 1; Fig. 16). Hegde also teaches that the deposition plume exposure may be defined by physical beam blocks (171, 172) forming an aperture that narrows the deposition plume of sputtered material and exposes the collimated sputtered material to the substrate, where the stage and substrate may be scanned relative to the deposition material and the physical beam blocks during deposition (at least a portion of the exposure step) (para 0090-0092; Fig. 17).
Hegde fails to teach a second collimator between the target and substrate and collimating the sputtered material from the deposition plume using the second collimator, wherein the second collimator comprises a plurality of fixed holes each having an aspect ratio defined by a ratio of a length of each hole to a diameter of each hole and the substrate stage is scanned relative to the second collimator. However, Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches that an ion beam sputtering source 42 for sputtering a substrate 44 through an aperture in a shadow mask 46 that serves to collimate the deposition particles may also include a built-in or separate collimator, such as a honeycomb style grid to further enhance collimation at the surface of the substrate (pg. 5, 7, 11; Fig. 2). Hegde teaches ion beam sputtering a target 145 to deposit on a scannable substrate where the deposition plume exposure (i.e., film forming area) is defined by physical beam blocks (171, 172) (i.e., shadow mask) (para 0086-0090; Fig. 17). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a collimator, as described by Pelhos, alongside the physical beam blocks (i.e., mask) and between the target and substrate to further control the sputtering rate and direction (collimating the sputtered material), thus improving control over the film uniformity. As a result, the combination of Hegde and Pelhos includes a second collimator between the target and substrate, where the substrate stage is scanned relative to the second collimator during deposition, and where the sputtered material from the deposition plume is collimated using the second collimator.
The combination of Hegde and Pelhos fails to explicitly teach the second collimator comprises a plurality of fixed holes each having an aspect ratio defined by a ratio of a length of each hole to a diameter of each hole. However, Moslehi (US 6132805 A), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches a shuttering system 10 between a target 22 and substrate 26 for controlling deposition by blocking line of sight and/or using a collimator having a hexagonal honeycomb shape to limit the incidence angles of deposition, where the plurality of openings (fixed holes) in the collimator have an aspect ratio of diameter to thickness/length of the opening (col 4 line 10-25, col 7 line 21-57; Fig. 1, 5). Hegde teaches the physical beam blocks (171, 172) block/shutter deposition material to form a slit through which deposition can occur. Pelhos teaches a honeycomb shaped collimator that is built-in to a shadow mask (pg. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the honeycomb shaped collimator of Pelhos with the hexagonal honeycomb shaped collimator having holes with an aspect ratio, as described by Moslehi, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the collimated ion beam 130 contacts multiple portions of the target instead of a single point and thus is a non-focused broad ion beam (Hegde para 0003, 0086; Fig. 16-17).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the substrate stage 140 can be rotated during deposition (at least a portion of the exposure step) in order to form a more uniform film (Hegde para 0087, 0089; Fig. 16-17).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the wafer rotation speed may be 0.5 to 1000 rpm for the deposition process (Hegde para 0082, 0085). The aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach a rotation speed “up to five hundred RPMs”. However, one skilled in the art would have expected the use of any value within the Hegde range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 0.5 to 1000 rpm, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the scanning the substrate stage during deposition may be at a speed of 0.01 mm/s to 1 cm/s (up to 10 m/s) (Hegde para 0081, 0085).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator is built into the mask/blocks placed between the substrate and a target such that the second collimator does not block/impinge the collimated ions from the ion source (Hegde para 0090, Fig. 16-17; Pelhos pg. 11). Alternatively, because the second collimator is designed to control the alignment of the sputtered particles and not the collimated ions, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the second collimator such that it does not block/impinge the collimated ions from the ion source so that the sputtering of the target by the collimated ions is not interfered with.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator comprises a plurality of hexagonal honeycomb shaped holes (Pelhos pg. 11; Moslehi col 7 line 21-57, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator is part of the physical beam blocks (171, 172) and thus appears to have a larger surface area than a total surface area of the substrate/wafer (Hegde Fig. 17; Pelhos pg. 11). Alternatively, Hegde teaches the physical beam blocks (171, 172), which form part of the second collimator are included to block deposition from reaching the substrate and forming a slit to allow the deposition plume to pass through (para 0090; Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include physical beam blocks/second collimator that are large enough to completely block the wafer/substrate when on opposite sides of the slit.
Alternatively, the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, so the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator is part of the physical beam blocks (171, 172) and thus appears to have a larger surface area than a total surface area of the substrate/wafer (Hegde Fig. 17; Pelhos pg. 11). Alternatively, Hegde teaches the physical beam blocks (171, 172), which form part of the second collimator are included to block deposition from reaching the substrate and forming a slit to allow the deposition plume to pass through (para 0090; Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include physical beam blocks/second collimator that are large enough to completely block the wafer/substrate when on opposite sides of the slit.
Alternatively, the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, so the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kahn (US 20010004047 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi fails to explicitly teach the collimated broad ion beam impinges an area of the target that is at least as large as a total area of the substrate. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, so the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Alternatively, Kahn (US 20010004047 A1), in the analogous art of ion beam sputtering, teaches an ion beam deposition system including an ion beam designed to hit an entire exposed surface of a target 29a and deposit material onto a substrate 40a that is smaller than the target (para 0031; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the target and substrate size of Hegde with a target size such that its entire surface is impinged by the ion beam and a substrate smaller than the target, as described by Kahn, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As a result, the area of the target impinged by the ion beam is equal to the target area and the target area is larger than the total area of the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi fails to explicitly teach the collimated broad ion beam impinges an area of the target that is greater than a total area of the substrate. However, the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, so the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Alternatively, Kahn (US 20010004047 A1), in the analogous art of ion beam sputtering, teaches an ion beam deposition system including an ion beam designed to hit an entire exposed surface of a target 29a and deposit material onto a substrate 40a that is smaller than the target (para 0031; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the target and substrate size of Hegde with a target size such that its entire surface is impinged by the ion beam and a substrate smaller than the target, as described by Kahn, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As a result, the area of the target impinged by the ion beam is equal to the target area and the target area is larger than the total area of the substrate.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Druz (US 20130206583 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the stage 140 can tilt the wafer relative to the deposition material and thus relative to the second collimator during at least a portion of the deposition/exposure step, where the wafer tilt angle may range from about 1 to 85 degrees relative to the etch/deposition source (Hegde para 0084-0085, 0087, 0089-0090; Fig. 16-17). Hegde fails to explicitly teach the stage is tilted at no greater than +/-5 degrees. However, one skilled in the art would have expected the use of any value within the Hegde range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 1 to 85 degrees relative to the deposition material, including values resulting in a tilt angle with respect to the second collimator within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Alternatively, Hegde fails to explicitly teach the substrate stage is tilted relative to the second collimator. However, Druz (US 20130206583 A1), in the analogous art of substrate treatment, teaches an ion beam deposition source 50 separated from a substrate by a shield 52 having an aperture 54, where the substrate may be tilted relative to the deposition source and shield to the same amount due to the shield and substrate being aligned in parallel (para 0049-0050, 0090, 0107; Fig. 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the beam block/substrate arrangement of Hegde with the shield/substrate arrangement of Druz including the shield parallel to the target because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. As a result, the tilt angle relative to the deposition material of Hegde is approximately equal to the tilt angle relative to the shield and the second collimator, which is built into the shield (Pelhos pg. 11).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Endo (US 20120247952 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the stage 140 may translate/move relative to the beam blocks (171, 172) (second collimator) during deposition (at least a portion of the exposure step) and the blocks/collimator may be adjusted in positions to adjust the slit width (move relative to one another) (Hegde para 0090, Fig. 17; Pelhos pg. 11). The aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the movement of the second collimator is performed during at least a portion of the exposure step. However, Endo (US 20120247952 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches that a shield plate 5 (collimator) having a slit for allowing sputtered particles to pass from the target 3 to the substrate W, wherein the shield plate may be moved during deposition along with the substrate stage to control the film uniformity (para 0076-0077, 0079; Fig. 1a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the position and/or slit width of the blocks/collimator of Hegde to further control the film uniformity.
Claim(s) 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagamine (US 20150068887 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator (171, 172), which includes the second collimator, appears to have a larger surface area than a total surface area of the substrate/wafer (Hegde Fig. 17) but fails to explicitly teach the second collimator has a surface area at least as large as a total surface area of the substrate/wafer. However, Nagamine (US 20150068887 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches the size of a substrate shutter 130 (collimator) between a target 121 and substrate 111 may be larger than the diameter of the substrate (surface area at least as large as a total surface area of the substrate) (para 0026, 0048, 0063; Fig. 4, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the relative sizes of the beam blocks/collimator and substrate of Hegde with the relative sizes of the substrate shutter (collimator) and shutter of Nagamine because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi teaches the second collimator (171, 172) appears to have a larger surface area than a total surface area of the substrate/wafer (Hegde Fig. 17) but fails to explicitly teach the second collimator has a surface area larger than a total surface area of the substrate/wafer. However, Nagamine (US 20150068887 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches the size of a substrate shutter 130 (collimator) between a target 121 and substrate 111 may be larger than the diameter of the substrate (surface area greater than a total surface area of the substrate) (para 0026, 0048, 0063; Fig. 4, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the relative sizes of the beam blocks/collimator and substrate of Hegde with the relative sizes of the substrate shutter (collimator) and shutter of Nagamine because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1), Moslehi (US 6132805 A), and Pearson (US 20200176214 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Hegde (US 20220189727 A1) teaches a method of ion beam deposition onto a wafer (substrate) placed on a wafer stage 140 (substrate stage) in a vacuum chamber, generating ions from an ion beam source 105 comprising a plasma chamber 110 (plasma source), collimating the generated ions with an extraction grid system 150 (first collimator), directing the collimated broad ion beam 130 toward a target 145, and causing a sputtering of target material in a deposition plume toward the substrate (para 0026, 0086, claim 1; Fig. 16). Hegde also teaches that the deposition plume exposure may be defined by physical beam blocks (171, 172) forming an aperture that narrows the deposition plume of sputtered material and exposes the collimated sputtered material to the substrate, where the stage and substrate may be scanned relative to the deposition material and the physical beam blocks during deposition (at least a portion of the exposure step) (para 0090-0092; Fig. 17). Hegde also teaches the wafers include 3-dimensional devices/features forming an inboard and outboard side (plurality of holes) (para 0006, 0010, 0089, 0093; Fig. 17).
Hegde fails to teach a second collimator between the target and substrate and collimating the sputtered material from the deposition plume using the second collimator, wherein the second collimator comprises a plurality of fixed holes each having an aspect ratio defined by a ratio of a length of each hole to a diameter of each hole and the substrate stage is scanned relative to the second collimator. However, Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches that an ion beam sputtering source 42 for sputtering a substrate 44 through an aperture in a shadow mask 46 that serves to collimate the deposition particles may also include a built-in or separate collimator, such as a honeycomb style grid to further enhance collimation at the surface of the substrate (pg. 5, 7, 11; Fig. 2). Hegde teaches ion beam sputtering a target 145 to deposit on a scannable substrate where the deposition plume exposure (i.e., film forming area) is defined by physical beam blocks (171, 172) (i.e., shadow mask) (para 0086-0090; Fig. 17). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a collimator, as described by Pelhos, alongside the physical beam blocks (i.e., mask) and between the target and substrate to further control the sputtering rate and direction (collimating the sputtered material), thus improving control over the film uniformity. As a result, the combination of Hegde and Pelhos includes a second collimator between the target and substrate, where the substrate stage is scanned relative to the second collimator during deposition, and where the sputtered material from the deposition plume is collimated using the second collimator.
The combination of Hegde and Pelhos fails to explicitly teach the second collimator comprises a plurality of fixed holes each having an aspect ratio defined by a ratio of a length of each hole to a diameter of each hole. However, Moslehi (US 6132805 A), in the analogous art of sputtering, teaches a shuttering system 10 between a target 22 and substrate 26 for controlling deposition by blocking line of sight and/or using a collimator having a hexagonal honeycomb shape to limit the incidence angles of deposition, where the plurality of openings (fixed holes) in the collimator have an aspect ratio of diameter to thickness/length of the opening (col 4 line 10-25, col 7 line 21-57; Fig. 1, 5). Hegde teaches the physical beam blocks (171, 172) block/shutter deposition material to form a slit through which deposition can occur. Pelhos teaches a honeycomb shaped collimator that is built-in to a shadow mask (pg. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the honeycomb shaped collimator of Pelhos with the hexagonal honeycomb shaped collimator having holes with an aspect ratio, as described by Moslehi, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The combination of Hegde, Pelhos, and Moslehi fails to explicitly teach the holes in the wafers are etched. However, Pearson (US 20200176214 A1), in the analogous art of substrate processing, teaches that a plurality of features/holes on a substrate may be etched using an ion beam (para 0003, 0037, 0100; Fig. 12A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the 3-dimensional features/holes of Hegde with etched features, as described by Pearson, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)B).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, Moslehi, and Pearson teaches the substrate stage 140 can be rotated during deposition (at least a portion of the exposure step) in order to form a more uniform film (Hegde para 0087, 0089; Fig. 16-17).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, Moslehi, and Pearson teaches the wafer rotation speed may be 0.5 to 1000 rpm for the deposition process (Hegde para 0082, 0085). The aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach a rotation speed “up to five hundred RPMs”. However, one skilled in the art would have expected the use of any value within the Hegde range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 0.5 to 1000 rpm, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, Moslehi, and Pearson teaches the stage 140 can tilt the wafer relative to the deposition material (plume) during at least a portion of the deposition/exposure step, where the wafer tilt angle may range from about 1 to 85 degrees relative to the etch/deposition source (Hegde para 0084-0085, 0087, 0089-0090; Fig. 16-17). Hegde fails to explicitly teach the stage is tilted at no greater than +/-5 degrees. However, one skilled in the art would have expected the use of any value within the Hegde range to have yielded similar results. Absent any showing of criticality, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any values within 1 to 85 degrees relative to the deposition material, including values within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) for further details.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hegde, Pelhos, Moslehi, and Pearson teaches the scanning the substrate stage during deposition may be at a speed of 0.01 mm/s to 1 cm/s (up to 10 m/s) (Hegde para 0081, 0085).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9-12, filed 7/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pelhos (WO 2005040449 A1) and Moslehi (US 6132805 A, previously cited).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794