Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by German (US 20060266625).
Regarding claim-1. German discloses A conveyor system (Fig.1) comprising: a first set of slave rollers (support roller) defining a first conveying section; a second set of slave rollers (support roller) defining a second conveying section separate from the first conveying section; and, a motor driven roller (MDR, drive roller 22[0027]) comprising at least a fixed pulley, a first independent pulley, and a second independent pulley, wherein the first independent pulley is coupled with the first set of slave rollers and the second independent pulley is coupled with the second set of slave rollers, and wherein the motor driven roller (22) is configured to drive at least one of the first set of slave rollers or the second set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of at least one of the first independent pulley or the second independent pulley (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-2. German discloses wherein the first independent pulley is coupled with each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a first set of belts and the second independent pulley is coupled with each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a second set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-3. German discloses wherein the fixed pulley comprises at least a first bearing hub, a first bearing, and a rotating shaft (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-4. German discloses wherein the first independent pulley comprises at least a first electromagnet clutch, a first electromagnet, a second bearing, and a second bearing hub (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-5. German discloses wherein the second independent pulley comprises a second electromagnet clutch, a second electromagnet, a third bearing, and a third bearing hub (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-6. German discloses further connected to a controller, wherein, the controller is configured to receive an upstream photo eye signal from an upstream photo eye sensor [0034] based on presence of a package in proximity of the first set of slave rollers and in response to the upstream photo eye signal, the controller is further configured to drive the motor driven roller through the fixed pulley (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037].
Regarding claim-7. German discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to control the motor driven roller to activate a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is activated to selectively engage the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a first electromagnet clutch and to drive each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a second bearing, a second bearing hub, and the first set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-8-9. German discloses wherein the motor driven roller comprises an inbuilt motor and the controller is configured to drive the motor driven roller using the inbuilt motor and through the fixed pulley; wherein the motor driven roller is connected to an external motor and the controller is configured to drive the motor driven roller using the external motor and through the fixed pulley [0027]. Moreover, It is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus and obvious choice in which skilled person in the art can easily provide or select external motor or internal motor to MDR without involving any inventive step.
Regarding claim-10. German discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to receive a first photo eye signal from a first photo eye sensor based on presence of the package on the first set of slave rollers and in response to the first photo eye signal [0034;, control the motor driven roller to activate a second electromagnet of the second independent pulley, wherein the second electromagnet is activated to selectively engage the second independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a second electromagnet clutch and to drive each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a third bearing, a third bearing hub, and the second set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0033], [0037]). .
Regarding claim-11. German discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to receive a second photo eye signal from a second photo eye sensor based on the presence of the package on the second set of slave rollers (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-12. German discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to determine, through the first photo eye sensor, if the package is present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to presence of the package, control the motor driven roller to continue engagement of the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller to drive each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-13. German discloses (See Claim-1 Rejection) A method of controlling a conveyor system, comprising: defining a first conveying section by a first set of slave rollers; defining a second conveying section by a second set of slave rollers, wherein the second conveying section is defined separately from the first conveying section; arranging a motor driven roller between the first set of slave rollers and the second set of slave rollers, wherein the motor driven roller comprising at least a fixed pulley, a first independent pulley, and a second independent pulley; coupling the first independent pulley of the motor driven roller with the first set of slave rollers; coupling the second independent pulley of the motor driven roller with the second set of slave rollers; driving, through the motor driven roller, the first set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of the first independent pulley; and, driving, through the motor driven roller, the second set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of the second independent pulley (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-14. German discloses further comprising, coupling the first independent pulley with each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a first set of belts and coupling the second independent pulley with each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a second set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0033], [0037]).
Regarding claim-15. German discloses further comprising, receiving an upstream photo eye signal from an upstream photo eye sensor [0026] based on presence of a package in proximity of the first set of slave rollers and in response to the upstream photo eye signal, driving the motor driven roller through the fixed pulley (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim-16. German discloses further comprising, controlling the motor driven roller for activating a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is activated for selectively engaging the first independent pulley with a rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a first electromagnet clutch and for driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a second bearing, a second bearing hub, and the first set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0030-0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim-17. German discloses further comprising, receiving a first photo eye signal from a first photo eye sensor based on the presence of the package on the first set of slave rollers and in response to the first photo eye signal, controlling the motor driven roller for activating a second electromagnet of the second independent pulley, wherein the second electromagnet is activated for selectively engaging the second independent pulley with a rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a second electromagnet clutch for driving each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a third bearing, a third bearing hub, and the second set of belts (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026] [0030-0034], [0037]). .
Regarding claim-18. German discloses further comprising, determining, through the first photo eye sensor, if the package is present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to presence of the package, controlling the motor driven roller to continue engagement of the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller for driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim-19. German discloses further comprising, determining, through the first photo eye sensor, if the package is not present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to absence of the package, controlling the motor driven roller for deactivating a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is deactivated for disengaging the first independent pulley from the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller to stop driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim-20. German discloses (See Claim-1 Rejection) a pulley for a roller of a conveyor system, wherein the pulley comprising: a fixed pulley comprising a first surface, a second surface, a first bearing hub, a first bearing, and a rotating shaft, wherein the first surface of the fixed pulley is configured to function as a first edge of the pulley; a first independent pulley comprising a third surface, a fourth surface, a first electromagnet clutch, a first electromagnet, a second bearing, and a second bearing hub, wherein the third surface of the first independent pulley is coupled with the second surface of the fixed pulley; and, a second independent pulley comprising a fifth surface, a sixth surface, a second electromagnet clutch, a second electromagnet, a third bearing, and a third bearing hub, wherein the fifth surface of the second independent pulley is coupled with the fourth surface of the first independent pulley and the sixth surface of the second independent pulley is configured to function as a second edge of the pulley (Fig.4-6, 8-11 [0026], [0030-0034], [0037])..
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 13-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shenoy (US 20240010434).
Regarding claim-1. Shenoy discloses a conveyor system (Fig.1-4, [0001]) comprising:
a first set of slave rollers (102a-c, Fig.6a-b) defining a first conveying section ([0077], Fig.6a-b);
a second set of slave rollers (103a-c, Fig.6a-b) defining a second conveying section separate from the first conveying section ([0077], Fig.6a-b); and,
a motor driven roller (101, Fig.6a-b) comprising at least a fixed pulley (140 provide torque that is fix to housing 103 of 101, [0072], Fig.5b), a first independent pulley (111, Fig.5a-b), and a second independent pulley (121, Fig.5a-b), wherein the first independent pulley is coupled with the first set of slave rollers (Fig.6b) and the second independent pulley is coupled with the second set of slave rollers (Fig.6a), and wherein the motor driven roller (101) is configured to drive at least one of the first set of slave rollers or the second set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of at least one of the first independent pulley or the second independent pulley (Fig.6a-b, [0052], [0064]).
Regarding claim-2. Shenoy discloses wherein the first independent pulley (111) is coupled with each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a first set of belts (bands 14) and the second independent pulley (121) is coupled with each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a second set of belts (bands 14) ([0052], Fig.6a-b, Fig.3).
Regarding claim-3. Shenoy discloses wherein the fixed pulley (140) comprises at least a first bearing hub, a first bearing, and a rotating shaft (components [0072], Fig.5b).
Regarding claim-6. Shenoy discloses further connected to a controller ([0004], [0059], [0083], Fig.1, 4), wherein, the controller is configured to receive an upstream photo eye signal from an upstream photo eye sensor (13) based on presence of a package in proximity of the first set of slave rollers and in response to the upstream photo eye signal, the controller is further configured to drive the motor driven roller through the fixed pulley (See Fig.4, [0059] and [0083-0084]).
Regarding claim-8. Shenoy discloses wherein the motor driven roller (101) comprises an inbuilt motor and the controller is configured to drive the motor driven roller using the inbuilt motor and through the fixed pulley (Fig.5b, [0051-0052]).
Regarding claim-13. Shenoy discloses a method of controlling a conveyor system (Fig.1-4, [0001]), comprising:
defining a first conveying section by a first set of slave rollers (102a-c); defining a second conveying section by a second set of slave rollers (103a-c), wherein the second conveying section is defined separately from the first conveying section (Fig.6a-b);
arranging a motor driven roller (101) between the first set of slave rollers and the second set of slave rollers (Fig.6a-b), wherein the motor driven roller comprising at least a fixed pulley (140 provide torque that is fix to housing 103 of 101), a first independent pulley (111), and a second independent pulley (121);
coupling the first independent pulley of the motor driven roller with the first set of slave rollers (Fig.6b);
coupling the second independent pulley of the motor driven roller with the second set of slave rollers (Fig.6a);
driving, through the motor driven roller, the first set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of the first independent pulley; and, driving, through the motor driven roller, the second set of slave rollers based on selective engagement of the second independent pulley (Fig.6a-b, [0052], [0064]).
Regarding claim-14. Shenoy discloses further comprising, coupling the first independent pulley with each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a first set of belts (bands 14) and coupling the second independent pulley with each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a second set of belts (bands 14) ([0052], Fig.6a-b, Fig.3).
Regarding claim-15. Shenoy discloses further comprising, receiving an upstream photo eye signal from an upstream photo eye sensor (13) based on presence of a package in proximity of the first set of slave rollers and in response to the upstream photo eye signal, driving the motor driven roller through the fixed pulley (See Fig.4, [0059] and [0083-0084]).
Regarding claim-18. Shenoy discloses further comprising, determining, through the first photo eye sensor (13), if the package is present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to presence of the package, controlling the motor driven roller to continue engagement of the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller for driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (See Fig.4, [0059] and [0083-0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7, 9-12, 16-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20240010434) in view of German (US 20060266625).
Regarding claim-4. Shenoy discloses wherein the first independent pulley (111) comprises at least a first clutch (111), a first electromagnet, a second bearing, and a second bearing hub. But Shenoy does disclose clutch element (111) but doesn’t specify type of clutch i.e., electromagnetic clutch as claimed. However, it is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus and obvious choice in which skilled person in the art can easily select specific clutch type based on required needs without involving any inventive step.
German discloses a conveying system and also, teaches electromagnetic clutch (34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to explicitly provide Shenoy with electromagnetic clutch as taught by German for purpose selectively transfers rotation of the clutch roller to the drive roller in order to drive the conveying surface more efficiently.
Regarding claim-5. Shenoy as modified discloses wherein the second independent pulley comprises a second electromagnet clutch, a second electromagnet, a third bearing, and a third bearing hub (as taught by German).
Regarding claim-7. Shenoy discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to control the motor driven roller to activate a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is activated to selectively engage the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a first electromagnet clutch and to drive each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a second bearing, a second bearing hub, and the first set of belts (as taught by German).
Regarding claim-9. Shenoy discloses wherein the motor driven roller is connected to an external motor and the controller is configured to drive the motor driven roller using the external motor and through the fixed pulley. It is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus and obvious choice in which skilled person in the art can easily provide or select external motor or internal motor to MDR without involving any inventive step.
Regarding claim-10-12. Shenoy discloses wherein, the controller is further configured to receive a first photo eye signal from a first photo eye sensor based on presence of the package on the first set of slave rollers and in response to the first photo eye signal, control the motor driven roller to activate a second electromagnet of the second independent pulley, wherein the second electromagnet is activated to selectively engage the second independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a second electromagnet clutch and to drive each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a third bearing, a third bearing hub, and the second set of belts; wherein, the controller is further configured to receive a second photo eye signal from a second photo eye sensor based on the presence of the package on the second set of slave rollers; wherein, the controller is further configured to determine, through the first photo eye sensor, if the package is present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to presence of the package, control the motor driven roller to continue engagement of the first independent pulley with the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller to drive each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (Check [0059, [0083-0086], Fig.4 with as taught by German).
Regarding claim-16-17. Shenoy discloses further comprising, controlling the motor driven roller for activating a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is activated for selectively engaging the first independent pulley with a rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a first electromagnet clutch and for driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers through a second bearing, a second bearing hub, and the first set of belts; further comprising, receiving a first photo eye signal from a first photo eye sensor based on the presence of the package on the first set of slave rollers and in response to the first photo eye signal, controlling the motor driven roller for activating a second electromagnet of the second independent pulley, wherein the second electromagnet is activated for selectively engaging the second independent pulley with a rotating shaft of the motor driven roller through a second electromagnet clutch for driving each slave roller from the second set of slave rollers through a third bearing, a third bearing hub, and the second set of belts (Check [0059, [0083-0086], Fig.4 with as taught by German).
Regarding claim-19. Shenoy discloses further comprising, determining, through the first photo eye sensor, if the package is not present on the first set of slave rollers and in response to absence of the package, controlling the motor driven roller for deactivating a first electromagnet of the first independent pulley, wherein the first electromagnet is deactivated for disengaging the first independent pulley from the rotating shaft of the motor driven roller to stop driving each slave roller from the first set of slave rollers (Check [0059], [0083-0086], Fig.4 with as taught by German).
Regarding claim-20. Shenoy discloses A pulley for a roller of a conveyor system (Fig.1-4), wherein the pulley comprising: a fixed pulley (140) comprising a first surface, a second surface, a first bearing hub, a first bearing, and a rotating shaft, wherein the first surface of the fixed pulley is configured to function as a first edge of the pulley; a first independent pulley (111) comprising a third surface, a fourth surface, a first electromagnet clutch, a first electromagnet, a second bearing, and a second bearing hub, wherein the third surface of the first independent pulley is coupled with the second surface of the fixed pulley; and, a second independent pulley (121) comprising a fifth surface, a sixth surface, a second electromagnet clutch, a second electromagnet, a third bearing, and a third bearing hub, wherein the fifth surface of the second independent pulley is coupled with the fourth surface of the first independent pulley and the sixth surface of the second independent pulley is configured to function as a second edge of the pulley (Check [0052], [0064], [0059], [0083-0086], Fig.4 with as taught by German).
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651