CTNF 19/072,563 CTNF 83485 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0070635 to Takahashi et al. (“Takahashi”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0104033 to Ho et al. (“Ho”) . Regarding claim 1 , Takahashi teaches a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, one or more input devices ( reference number 300 touch panel, see Figure 3) , a camera ( reference number 208 including RGB camera and other camera and sensors, and camera unit 202) , and a light source ( reference number 207 projector or reference number 361 pattern projected unit both to project light) , comprising: one or more processors ( reference number, 302 CPU) ; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors ( reference number 303, 304, memory) , the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a request to capture image data with the camera ( Figure 16B shows an example of an input button 1612 to request document scanning) ; in response to detecting, via the one or more input devices, the request to capture image data with the camera: in accordance with a determination that the request to capture image data corresponds to a request to scan a document ( Figure 12A is an example of a book or page to scan) : capturing, via the camera, first image data; and in accordance with a determination that the request to capture image data corresponds to a request to capture visual media ( reference number 1614 3D scan is a request to capture a 3D object into visual media) : illuminating at least a second portion of the environment within a field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in a second manner ( an infrared pattern is projected onto a target of capturing, see paragraph [0068] ; and capturing, via the camera, second image data different from the first image data ( the infrared camera captures the image, see reference number 524) . Takahashi is silent on illuminating at least a first portion of an environment within a field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in a first manner. Takahashi is further silent on the second manner is different from the first manner. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the infrared pattern is for depth sensing and is performed on 3d objects, therefore the 2d scan would not require depth measurement and would use ordinary illumination without need depth sensing. Ho teaches this exactly. Paragraph [0039] of Ho teaches that flood illumination is used for 2D scanning while pattern illuminate is used for 3D scanning since depth measurement is necessary ( see also paragraphs [0030]-[0031]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teaching of Takahashi with that of Ho to use ordinary illumination such as flood illumination for 2d scanning while using pattern illumination for 3d scanning to measure the depth of the 3d object. Regarding claim 2 , Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein Ho further teaches generating light from the light source in the first manner comprises generating light with a first pattern; and generating light from the light source in the second manner comprises generating light with a second pattern different from the first pattern ( as stated above with reference to Ho, the second pattern is a pattern illumination for detecting 3d objects while the first pattern is a flood light) . Regarding claim 3 , Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein Ho further teaches generating light from the light source in the first manner comprises generating light with a first spatial distribution of illumination; and generating light from the light source in the second manner comprises generating light with a second spatial distribution of illumination different from the first spatial distribution of illumination ( similarly to the above citation to Ho, the spatial distribution of illumination would be different between flood illumination and patterned illumination) . Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 3, wherein Ho further teaches the light source comprises a plurality of illumination components and wherein: generating light with the first spatial distribution of illumination comprises illuminating a first set of the plurality of illumination components; and generating light with the second spatial distribution of illumination different from the first spatial distribution of illumination comprises illuminating a second set of the plurality of illumination components different from the first set of the plurality of illumination components ( the illumination is different between a flash illumination for RGB light and illumination for speckle pattern, see Figure 6 reference number 105A flood illumination and reference number 105B speckle illuminator) . Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting, via the one or more input devices, the request to capture image data with the camera: in accordance with a determination that the request is a request to scan content having a first document property, illuminating at least the first portion of the environment within the field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in a third manner; and in accordance with a determination that the request is a request to scan content having a second document property different from the first document property, illuminating at least the first portion of the environment within the field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in a fourth manner that is different from the third manner. While Takahashi in view of Ho do not specifically teach a third and fourth manner of lighting in response to a first document property and second document property, it is understood in Ho that the between the two illuminators 105A and 105B there are many variations in manners of lighting that are specific to the image to be captured. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teaching of Takahashi in view of Ho to respond with a different manner of lighting that is appropriate to the property of the document or object to be scanned in order to make optimal use of the various forms of illumination provided in Ho. Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein Ho further teaches illuminating at least the first portion of the environment within the field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in the first manner includes: in accordance with a determination that a document within the field-of-view of the camera is a first type of document, using a first flash setting; and in accordance with a determination that the document within the field-of-view of the camera is a second type of document different from the first type of document, using a second flash setting, different from the first flash setting ( paragraph [0030] teaches flash illumination) . Ho does not specifically state that the two manners of lighting can be two different flash illumination, however given the options of illumination it would be obvious that the flash may be used for two types of image capturing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains modify the teaching of Takahashi in view of Ho to use flashing lighting to illumination the document or object to be scanned to provide appropriate lighting to capture a clear image. Regarding claims 7-8, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, but are silent on wherein capturing first image data includes using a first exposure setting and capturing second image data using a second exposure setting, and the first image data includes: performing a first type of image processing and performing a second type of image processing on a second component of the first image data. It would be obvious to change parameters that are commonly adjusted for a specific environment including exposure time and image processing on a component of the image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teaching of Takahashi in view of Ho to change commonly adjusted parameters between the first and second image data to optimize scanning or imaging the 2d document or the 3d object. Regarding claim 9 , Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein capturing, via the camera, first image data further includes: illuminating at least the first portion of the environment within the field-of-view of the camera by generating light from the light source in a third manner that is different from the first manner; capturing, via the camera, third image data different from the first image data; and combining the first image data and the third image data to create a digital document ( paragraph [0040] of Ho further teaches that the images may be combined into a composite image) . Regarding claim 17, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, Takahashi further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: displaying, via the display generation component, a media capture user interface including a live preview of the field-of-view of the camera; detecting a document within the field-of-view of the camera; and in response to detecting the document within the field-of-view of the camera, displaying a prompt to scan the document in the media capture user interface ( See Figure 16B showing the live preview of the camera within 1611 and the prompt to scan the document reference number 1612, 1614, etc.) . Regarding claim 18, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 17, Takahashi further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: detecting selection of the prompt to scan the document; and in response to detecting selection of the prompt to scan the document, displaying, via the display generation component, a document scanning user interface ( see Figure 16B for example) . Regarding claim 19, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 17, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the document within the field-of-view of the camera, displaying an indication of a location of the document within the field-of-view of the camera ( see Figure 16B showing the document within the field of view of the camera 1611 within 209) . Regarding claim 20, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, Takahashi further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the document within the field-of-view of the camera: in accordance with a determination that the first image data includes a document that is digitally published, provide access to a link to a digitally published version of the document ( see paragraph [0003] teaching that a link with electronic information can be generating upon reading for example a bar code printed on a paper document) . Regarding claim 21, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 20, Takahashi further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while providing access to the link to the digitally published version of the document, detecting selection of the link to the digitally published version of the document; and in response to detecting selection of the link to the digitally published version of the document, displaying the digitally published version of the document, wherein a portion of the digitally published version of the document corresponding to a portion of the document included in the first image data is visually distinguished from other portions of the digitally published version of the document ( see paragraph [0003] providing a link with electronic information in accordance with scanning a bar code printed on a paper document or book). . Regarding claim 22, Takahashi in view of Ho teach the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first image data includes a document and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: after capturing the first image data concurrently displaying: a representation of the document generated based on the first image data; and a plurality of options corresponding to the digital document including a first option that, when selected, initiates a process to perform a first operation corresponding to the digital document ( digital manipulation may be performed on the digital representation of the 2d scan) . Claims 23-24 are rejected similarly to claim 1 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMY R HSU whose telephone number is (571)270-3012. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lin Ye can be reached at (571)272-7372. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. AMY R. HSU Examiner Art Unit 2664 /AMY R HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 2 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 3 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 4 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 5 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 6 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 7 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 8 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 9 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 10 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/072,563 Page 11 Art Unit: 2638