CTNF 19/072,587 CTNF 77425 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2022/0414940) in view of Hannuksela (US 2022/0239949) . Regarding claim 1, Yasuda discloses a method (paragraph [232], Yasuda discloses a decoder for executing a method of decoding point cloud data) comprising: receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data (paragraph [232], fig.20, Yasuda discloses the decoding device for a receiving and decoding encoded point cloud data to obtain a bitstream) in a slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region can be divided into plural slices); and decoding the point cloud data (paragraph [232], fig.20, Yasuda discloses the decoding device for a receiving and decoding encoded point cloud data to obtain a bitstream), wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice (paragraph [115], Yasuda discloses a maximum value of a node size of each slice is determined), wherein the slice is identified based on the slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Yasuda does not disclose “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”. However, Hannuksela discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering (paragraph [133], Hannuksela discloses that an indication of raster-scan-order slices are in use, then the slice_address syntax element indicates that the slices are ordered in a raster (left to right) scanning order, and when rectangular slices are in use and the explicit slice_address ordering is indicated in PPS (picture parameter set), then the list of slice_address values (ie. slice ID values) are provided to a PPS are implemented to follow a pre-defined ordering of slices according to the slice_address values, thus reordering the slices according to the indication of whether raster-scan-order slices or rectangular slices are in use) for the point cloud data (paragraph [324], Hannuksela discloses the compression and decompression of point cloud data). Since Yasuda discloses “…node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”, and Hannuksela discloses “…discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda and Hannuksela together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice” in order to compress/decompress video data in a more compact form at a lower bit rate so as to transmit data effectively and efficiently (Hannuksela’s paragraph [84]). Regarding claim 2, Yasuda discloses wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Regarding claim 4, Yasuda discloses a device (paragraph [232], Yasuda discloses a decoder for decoding point cloud data), comprising: a memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU) and at least one processor connected to the memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU), wherein the processor is configured to: receive a bitstream containing point cloud data (paragraph [232], fig.20, Yasuda discloses the decoding device for a receiving and decoding encoded point cloud data to obtain a bitstream) in a slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region can be divided into plural slices); and decode the point cloud data (paragraph [232], fig.20, Yasuda discloses the decoding device for a receiving and decoding encoded point cloud data to obtain a bitstream), wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice (paragraph [115], Yasuda discloses a maximum value of a node size of each slice is determined), wherein the slice is identified based on the slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Yasuda does not disclose “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”. However, Hannuksela discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering (paragraph [133], Hannuksela discloses that an indication of raster-scan-order slices are in use, then the slice_address syntax element indicates that the slices are ordered in a raster (left to right) scanning order, and when rectangular slices are in use and the explicit slice_address ordering is indicated in PPS (picture parameter set), then the list of slice_address values (ie. slice ID values) are provided to a PPS are implemented to follow a pre-defined ordering of slices according to the slice_address values, thus reordering the slices according to the indication of whether raster-scan-order slices or rectangular slices are in use) for the point cloud data (paragraph [324], Hannuksela discloses the compression and decompression of point cloud data). Since Yasuda discloses “…node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”, and Hannuksela discloses “…discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda and Hannuksela together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice” in order to compress/decompress video data in a more compact form at a lower bit rate so as to transmit data effectively and efficiently (Hannuksela’s paragraph [84]). Regarding claim 5, Yasuda discloses wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Regarding claim 7, Yasuda discloses a method (paragraph [165], Yasuda discloses an encoder for executing a method of encoding point cloud data) comprising: encoding point cloud data (paragraph [165], Yasuda discloses an encoder for encoding point cloud data) in a slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region can be divided into plural slices); and transmitting a bitstream containing the point cloud data (paragraph [84], Yasuda discloses a bitstream, including 3D point cloud data, is generated from the encoder to be transmitted for video transmission to the decoder for decoding a bitstream that includes 3D point cloud data), wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region (ie. tile) can be divided into plural slices, thus providing a grouping of slices, paragraph [97], Yasuda discloses the number of points per slice can be set at each level for permitting each slice to include a number of points within the point cloud data for compression, in that the number of points per slice can represent sub-slice data), wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice (paragraph [115], Yasuda discloses a maximum value of a node size of each slice is determined), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Yasuda does not disclose “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”. However, Hannuksela discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering (paragraph [133], Hannuksela discloses that an indication of raster-scan-order slices are in use, then the slice_address syntax element indicates that the slices are ordered in a raster (left to right) scanning order, and when rectangular slices are in use and the explicit slice_address ordering is indicated in PPS (picture parameter set), then the list of slice_address values (ie. slice ID values) are provided to a PPS are implemented to follow a pre-defined ordering of slices according to the slice_address values, thus reordering the slices according to the indication of whether raster-scan-order slices or rectangular slices are in use) for the point cloud data (paragraph [324], Hannuksela discloses the compression and decompression of point cloud data). Since Yasuda discloses “…node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”, and Hannuksela discloses “…discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda and Hannuksela together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice” in order to compress/decompress video data in a more compact form at a lower bit rate so as to transmit data effectively and efficiently (Hannuksela’s paragraph [84]). Regarding claim 8, Yasuda discloses wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Regarding claim 10, Yasuda discloses a device (paragraph [165], Yasuda discloses an encoder for encoding point cloud data), comprising: a memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU) and at least one processor connected to the memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU), wherein the processor is configured to: encode point cloud data (paragraph [165], Yasuda discloses an encoder for encoding point cloud data) in a slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region can be divided into plural slices); and transmit a bitstream containing the point cloud data (paragraph [84], Yasuda discloses a bitstream, including 3D point cloud data, is generated from the encoder to be transmitted for video transmission to the decoder for decoding a bitstream that includes 3D point cloud data), wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice (paragraph [105], Yasuda discloses that a bitstream of point cloud data in a region (ie. tile) can be divided into plural slices, thus providing a grouping of slices, paragraph [97], Yasuda discloses the number of points per slice can be set at each level for permitting each slice to include a number of points within the point cloud data for compression, in that the number of points per slice can represent sub-slice data), wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier (paragraph [122], Yasuda discloses implementing a slice ID (identifier) for identifying specific slice address with “gsh_slice_id”), and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice (paragraph [115], Yasuda discloses a maximum value of a node size of each slice is determined), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Yasuda does not disclose “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”. However, Hannuksela discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering (paragraph [133], Hannuksela discloses that an indication of raster-scan-order slices are in use, then the slice_address syntax element indicates that the slices are ordered in a raster (left to right) scanning order, and when rectangular slices are in use and the explicit slice_address ordering is indicated in PPS (picture parameter set), then the list of slice_address values (ie. slice ID values) are provided to a PPS are implemented to follow a pre-defined ordering of slices according to the slice_address values, thus reordering the slices according to the indication of whether raster-scan-order slices or rectangular slices are in use) for the point cloud data (paragraph [324], Hannuksela discloses the compression and decompression of point cloud data). Since Yasuda discloses “…node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice”, and Hannuksela discloses “…discloses slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda and Hannuksela together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice” in order to compress/decompress video data in a more compact form at a lower bit rate so as to transmit data effectively and efficiently (Hannuksela’s paragraph [84]). Regarding claim 11, Yasuda discloses wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2022/0414940) and Hannuksela (US 2022/0239949) in view of Vosoughi (US 2020/0013215) . Regarding claim 3, Yasuda discloses wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a part of the octree at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a part of an octree in a slice from a level of an octree). Yasuda and Hannuksela do not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda, Hannuksela and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 6, Yasuda discloses wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a part of the octree at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a part of an octree in a slice from a level of an octree). Yasuda and Hannuksela do not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda, Hannuksela and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 9, Yasuda discloses wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a part of the octree at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a part of an octree in a slice from a level of an octree). Yasuda and Hannuksela do not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda, Hannuksela and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 12, Yasuda discloses wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a part of the octree at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a part of an octree in a slice from a level of an octree). Yasuda and Hannuksela do not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasuda, Hannuksela and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]) . Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-36 AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1, 7, 13 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,600 in view of Yasuda (US 2022/0414940) . Regarding claim 1, claim 13 of Patent ‘600 discloses most of the limitations of claim 1 of present Application ‘587. Peruse the table below. Claim 13 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 2, claim 13 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices. However, Yasuda teaches wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 4, claim 19 of Patent ‘600 discloses most of the limitations of claim 4 of present Application ‘587. Peruse the table below. Claim 19 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose a memory and at least one processor connected to the memory, and wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. However, Yasuda teaches a memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU) and at least one processor connected to the memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 19 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 5, claim 19 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices. However, Yasuda teaches wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 19 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 7, claim 1 of Patent ‘600 discloses most of the limitations of claim 1 of present Application ‘587. Peruse the table below. Claim 1 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 8, claim 1 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices. However, Yasuda teaches wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 10, claim 7 of Patent ‘600 discloses most of the limitations of claim 4 of present Application ‘587. Peruse the table below. Claim 7 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose a memory and at least one processor connected to the memory, and wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. However, Yasuda teaches a memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU) and at least one processor connected to the memory (paragraph [299], Yasuda discloses memory or storage medium that stores a program to executed by a computer, wherein paragraph [298], Yasuda discloses a CPU or central processing unit that operates in conjunction with RAM that stores instructions to be executed by a CPU), wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, and wherein paragraph [58], Yasuda discloses an octree structure has hierarchical levels including a level at the highest resolution to a level that is considered a desired hierarchical level, thus, Yasuda discloses information related to a level of an octree in a slice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Regarding claim 11, claim 7 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices. However, Yasuda teaches wherein nodes in the octree are divided based on slices (paragraph [56], Yasuda discloses the construction of an octree utilizes a plurality of nodes and voxels, wherein one node corresponds to eight voxels, and paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses that geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus nodes in the octree structure are divided or partitioned based on slices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]) . 08-36 AIA Claim s 3, 6, 9 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1, 7, 13 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,600 in view of Yasuda (US 2022/0414940) in view of Vosoughi (US 2020/0013215) . Regarding claim 3, claim 13 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus a slice includes a part of the octree). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Claim 13 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda do not disclose the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 13 of Patent ‘600, Yasuda and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 6, claim 19 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus a slice includes a part of the octree). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 19 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Claim 19 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda do not disclose the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 19 of Patent ‘600, Yasuda and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus a slice includes a part of the octree). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Claim 1 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda do not disclose the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘600, Yasuda and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Regarding claim 12, claim 7 of Patent ‘600 does not disclose wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Yasuda teaches wherein the slice includes a part of the octree (paragraph [117], Yasuda discloses geometry slice data includes a geometry node, wherein a geometry node includes octree data, thus a slice includes a part of the octree). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda together as a whole for controlling the number of points in a point cloud to be obtained by a decoder so as to efficiently send three-dimensional data over a transmission medium (Yasuda’s paragraph [6]). Claim 7 of Patent ‘600 and Yasuda do not disclose the octree from a start level to an end level. However, Vosoughi discloses the octree from a start level to an end level (paragraph [85], Vosoughi discloses that prior to quantization of transform coefficients, a search is performed from the bottom level (ie. end level) of the octree to a top level (ie. start level) of the octree, thus Vosoughi discloses the octree having levels that pertain from a start level to an end level). Since Yasuda discloses “…wherein the slice includes a part of the octree”, and Vosoughi discloses “…the octree from a start level to an end level”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 7 of Patent ‘600, Yasuda and Vosoughi together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the slice includes a part of the octree from a start level to an end level” in order to compress and decompress three-dimensional point cloud data in a more efficient manner with less processing power and less bandwidth requirements (Vosoughi’s paragraph [15]). Peruse table below. Present Application 19/072,587 US Patent No. 12,260,600 Claim 1. A method, comprising: receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data in a slice; and decoding the point cloud data, wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice, wherein the slice is identified based on the slice identifier, wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. Claim 13. A method of decoding point cloud data by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data in a slice; and decoding the point cloud data, wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice, wherein the slice is identified based on the slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice. Claim 4. A device, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to: receive a bitstream containing point cloud data in a slice; and decode the point cloud data, wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice, wherein the slice is identified based on the slice identifier, wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. Claim 19. A device for decoding point cloud data, the device comprising: a receiver configured to receive a bitstream containing point cloud data in a slice; and a decoder configured to decode the point cloud data, wherein the bitstream includes a slice identifier, wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice, wherein the bitstream includes the slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice. Claim 7. A method, comprising: encoding point cloud data in a slice; and transmitting a bitstream containing the point cloud data, wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice, wherein the bitstream includes the slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice, wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. Claim 1. A method of encoding point cloud data by an apparatus, the method comprising: encoding point cloud data in a slice; and transmitting a bitstream containing the point cloud data, wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice, wherein the bitstream includes the slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice. Claim 10. A device, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to: encode point cloud data in a slice; and transmit a bitstream containing the point cloud data, wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice, wherein the bitstream includes the slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice, wherein the bitstream further includes information related to a level of an octree in a slice. Claim 7. A device for encoding point cloud data, the device comprising: an encoder configured to encode point cloud data in a slice; and a transmitter configured to transmit a bitstream containing the point cloud data, wherein the slice is identified based on a slice identifier, wherein the slice is included in a slice group as a sub-slice, wherein the bitstream includes the slice identifier, slice reordering information for representing that the bitstream is sensitive to reordering for the point cloud data and node size information for representing a maximum node size related to the slice. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALLEN C WONG whose telephone number is (571)272-7341. The examiner can normally be reached on Flex Monday-Thursday 9:30am-7:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sath V Perungavoor can be reached on 571-272-7455. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 2 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 3 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 4 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 5 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 6 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 7 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 8 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 9 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 10 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 11 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 12 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 13 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 14 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 15 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 16 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 17 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 18 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 19 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 20 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 21 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/072,587 Page 22 Art Unit: 2488