DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/9/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bouchard (2009023776) hereafter Bouchard.
Regarding claims 1 and 12 Bouchard discloses in fig. 1, 3, par. [0013][0030]-[0033] a color electro-optic display, comprising: a layer of electro-optic material (106) having a viewing side for facing a viewer; a light-transmissive electrode (112, ITO) on the viewing side of the layer of electro-optic material; an array of pixel electrodes (104) on a side on the layer of electro-optic material opposite to the viewing side, each of said pixel electrodes being independently addressable to apply a driving voltage to an adjacent portion of the layer of electro-optic material associated therewith to drive such portion of the electro-optic material between a first substantially white optical state and a second substantially black optical state at the viewing side of the electro-optic layer; and a color filter array (110) disposed on the viewing side of the layer of electro-optic material, said color filter array comprising an array of pixels, each of said pixels having at least three color filter elements, each of said at least three color filter elements having a different color, each color filter element being aligned with a different one of the pixel electrodes such that the color of any color filter element is visible to the viewer when the pixel electrode aligned with that color filter element drives an adjacent portion of the electro-optic material to the substantially white optical state, and wherein the color of any color filter element is not visible to the viewer when the pixel electrode aligned with that color filter element drives an adjacent portion of the electro-optic material to a substantially black optical state (par. [0013][0030]-[0033]); wherein the colors of the color filter elements in the color filter array have the same lightness or a lightness difference no greater than 10 L* to substantially eliminate visible color filter array texture patterns (see par. [0035] and fig. 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the colors of the color filter elements in the color filter array have a luminance contrast of less than 1.6 (fig. 1, 3, par. [0013][0030]-[0033].
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the colors of the color filter elements in the color filter array are red, green, and blue (par. [0031]).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the colors of the color filter elements in the color filter array have lightness values between 45 L* and 55 L* (fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 16 Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the layer of electro-optic material is monochrome (par. [0030]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the layer of electro-optic material comprises an encapsulated electrophoretic medium (par. [0024][0025]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 6, wherein the encapsulated electrophoretic medium comprises an electrophoretic medium encapsulated in microcapsules or microcups (fig. 1, par. [0024][0025]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the layer of electro-optic material comprises charged pigment particles dispersed in a non-polar solvent (fig. 1, par. [0013]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 8, wherein the charged pigment particles comprise black and white pigment particles (fig. 1, par. [0013]).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the layer of electro-optic material is bistable (par. [0069]).
Regarding claims 11 and 22 Bouchard discloses the color electro-optic display of claim 1, wherein the colors of the color filter elements each have a given ink concentration configured to provide the same lightness, wherein each ink concentration is determined utilizing a Kubelka-Munk model (fig. 1, 3, par. [0013][0030]-[0033]).
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872