DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits in response to communications on 8/26/2026. Claims 3, 7 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-11 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 10 have been considered but are moot because of new amendments thus the arguments do not apply to current rejections. In addition, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Starting on page 7 of REMARKS, Applicant is arguing:
Chen discloses 'reassigning' a mission if a robot becomes incapable (paragraph [0216]).
However, 'reassigning' is a general term and does not directly and unambiguously disclose the specific process claimed 'on a basis of the condition according to a progress state of the inspection work' as required by the amendment to claims I, 9 and 10. Chen could be interpreted as restarting the entire mission with a new robot.
On the other hand, the claimed invention, in contrast, provides a more efficient and seamless handover by continuing the work precisely from the point of interruption.
However, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., provides a more efficient and seamless handover by continuing the work precisely from the point of interruption) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As for the recited claim limitation “'on a basis of the condition according to a progress state of the inspection work”, Chen at least at [0216] teaches “real-time monitoring by RSP 672 may determine if a robot is no longer capable of performing one or more missions which are assigned to the robot. For example, a battery level may have decreased beneath an acceptable threshold for performing the mission, and RSP 672 may reassign one or more missions to another robot capable of performing the one or more missions”. This teaching reads on the claim limitation because the progress state is that one or more missions is not done by the robot and to be done by the another robot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20220269284 a reference in IDS 6/13/2025).
Regarding claims 1, 9-10, Chen et al. teaches:
A robot management system comprising:
a plurality of robots including robots having models different from each other; and
a management server including:
an adapter that converts work information data of inspection work into a command in a specific format corresponding to each of the models of the plurality of robots, and transmits the command after conversion into the specific format corresponding to the model of the robot that performs the inspection work to the robot that performs the inspection work among the plurality of robots, and
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248])
a processor that selects, from among the plurality of robots, a single robot satisfying a condition of the inspection work in a plant and generates the work information data for the single robot selected,
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions);
wherein
when the inspection work by the single robot is interrupted, the processor selects a transfer destination robot of the inspection work from among the plurality of robots on a basis of the condition according to a progress state of the inspection work;
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc.…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions; at least at [0216] teaches “real-time monitoring by RSP 672 may determine if a robot is no longer capable of performing one or more missions which are assigned to the robot. For example, a battery level may have decreased beneath an acceptable threshold for performing the mission, and RSP 672 may reassign one or more missions to another robot capable of performing the one or more missions”. This teaching reads on the claim limitation because the progress state is that one or more missions is not done by the robot)
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. teaches:
wherein the work information data includes an inspection name of the inspection work, a progress state of the inspection work, the model of the robot that performs the inspection work, and a name of the robot that performs the inspection work, and
the adapter converts the work information data into the command in the specific format on a basis of the model indicated in the work information data
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions)
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. teaches:
wherein the processor selects the single robot by including an equipment necessary for inspection of an inspection target and a movement place at a time of the inspection work in the condition (at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions; [0195])
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. teaches:
a storage unit that stores inspection information in which the inspection target, the equipment necessary, and the movement place are set in association with each other, wherein
the processor selects the single robot by using the inspection information
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions)
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. teaches:
a storage unit that stores robot information in which each of the models of the plurality of robots, each movement type of the plurality of robots, and a mounting equipment of each of the plurality of robots are set in association with each other, wherein
the processor selects the single robot by using the robot information
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions)
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al. teaches:
wherein the processor reports a progress state of the inspection work to an industrial automation system that instructs the management server to perform the inspection work
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc.…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions; [0186]-[0224] discussed status, feedback, claim 16)
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. teaches:
wherein the plurality of robots includes a first robot of the first model and a second robot of the second model, and
the adapter comprises:
a first robot adapter dedicated to the first model;
a second robot adapter dedicated to the second model; and
a robot adapter master that transmits the work information data to the first robot adapter when the model indicated in the work information data is the first model, and transmits the work information data to the second robot adapter when the model indicated in the work information data is the second model, wherein
the first robot adapter converts the work information data into a command in a specific format usable for the first robot of the first model upon receiving the work information data from the robot adapter master, and
the second robot adapter converts the work information data into a command in a specific format usable for the second robot of the second model upon receiving the work information data from the robot adapter master
(at least figs. 1-18 [0013]-[0048] [0142]-[0254] claims 1, 12, 16, discussed a robotics management system/robotics services platform (RSP), adapters that are robot-specific, transmit mission control information to robot, discussed inspect; in particular [0184]-[0217][0235] [0248] [0235]] discussed robot status, capabilities, type, etc.…, figs. 11-12 [0194]-[0224] discussed defining missions, assigning robots to missions; fig. 6 [0161]-[0175] discussed navigation control and data services 626, fleet manager 628, robot-specific adapters 644, vendor-specific interfaces 648 and 650, [0168] discussed “Fleet management module 638 may determine which of robots 110A, 110B, and 110C should perform each task or mission, and may provide detailed information about robot tasks and missions to robot-specific adapters 644”, [0170] discussed “Fleet manager 628 may include vendor specific fleet management module 646, which may provide management of robots 110A, 110B, and 110C that is specific to the vendor of one or more of robots 110A, 110B, and 110C. A separate vendor specific fleet management module 646 may be provided for each vendor-specific interface, such as vendor-specific interfaces 648 and 650. Fleet manager 628 may assign missions and tasks to robots 110 based on mission requirements and robot capabilities. For instance, if fleet manager 628 determines that a mission can be supported by only a robot type of type A, fleet manager 628 may assign the mission to only a robot among robots 110A, 110B, and 110C of type A. For example, a mission may require traversing obstacles, such as stairs, that can only be traversed by robots of a particular type. For another mission that can be assigned to a robot of type A or B, fleet manager 628 may assign the mission to a robot among robots 110A, 110B, and 110C of type A or B based on the availability of each robot 110A, 110B, and 110C. The availability of each robot 110A, 110B, and 110C may be determined by fleet manager 628 using metrics such as, for example, communications state and battery life, etc. In some embodiments, operations management system 200 may specify a mission or task to be performed by a specific robot or a robot among a specific group of robots” )
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656