DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Walker (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0114217).
Re claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 20: Walker discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from an electronic casino gaming device of a plurality of electronic casino gaming devices, an indication of a game outcome of a first game of a plurality of games of a gaming session, wherein the gaming session comprises a game delay between each game of the plurality of games (see paragraph [0077, 0194]: “ For example, a new game play cycle may be commenced automatically after a losing game play cycle but the gaming device may wait for player input before commencing a new game play cycle after some or all winning game play cycles.”);
decreasing, based on the game outcome not meeting at least one criterion, the game delay between each game of the plurality of games (see paragraph [0077, 0194]: “For example, a new game play cycle may be commenced automatically after a losing game play cycle...” Here, the game outcome does not meet the at least one criterion of a winning game outcome); and
initiating, according to the decreased game delay between each game of the plurality of games, a second game of the plurality of games (see paragraph [0077, 0194]: a following game, i.e. a second game, is commenced after the losing game).
Re claims 2, 9, and 16: Walker discloses with respect to the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one criterion comprises one or more of: an occurrence of a symbol displayed on at least one stopped game reel, a threshold award amount associated with the game outcome (paragraph [0077]: a winning game encompasses displayed winning symbols and inherently a threshold award amount).
Re claims 3, 10, and 17: Walker discloses with respect to the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic casino gaming device comprises one or more of: a virtual slot machine, a virtual card game, or a virtual table game (see paragraph [0121, 0171, 0196, 0296]).
Re claims 7 and 14: Walker discloses with respect to the method of claim 1, further comprising stopping one or more reels of the electronic casino gaming device based on the game outcome not meeting the at least one criterion (see paragraph [0253]: Walker discloses a game outcome that is indicative of a small payout amount. Based on determining that the game outcome is associated with said small payout amount, the game machine stops the game reels to reveal the game outcome to the player. This process starts a brief pause, i.e. delay, in fore player to review the winning outcome. However, said delay is a decrease in time that would be spent in between rounds, if the game outcome was a larger payout which would have caused a longer pause).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Walker.
Re claims 4, 11, and 18: Walker fails to specifically disclose with respect to the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one criterion is selected by a player. However, Walker teaches that players can configure the limiting criterion of the automated gaming session (see paragraph [0013]). Walker also teaches that limiting criterion can include outcomes that include small payout amounts and large payout amounts (see paragraph [0253]), whereby on occurrences of said outcomes, the gaming device is paused for different time periods. Because Walker teaches allowing players to configure the limiting criterion of the automated gaming session, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to permit players to configure the small and large payout amounts, as said amounts constitute limiting criterion of the automated gaming session.
Re claim 5, 12, 19: Walker fails to disclose with respect to the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one criterion is determined based on a player account. However, Walker teaches that player accounts can contain accessible configuration information that include limiting criterion for configuring automated gaming session (see paragraph [0013]). Walker also teaches that limiting criterion can include outcomes that include small payout amounts and large payout amounts (see paragraph [0253]), whereby on occurrences of said outcomes, the gaming device is paused for different time periods. (see paragraph [0222]). Because Walker teaches accessing player accounts to configure the limiting criterion of the automated gaming session, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to use player accounts to configure small and large payout amounts, as said amounts constitute limiting criterion of the automated gaming session.
Conclusion
REGINALD A. RENWICK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715