DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,434,042 B2; and claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,312,135 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim a cup with an integrated folding lid foldably connected to a body of the cup; said lid being formed via a plurality of foldable sections that together substantially cover a top of the cup.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al. (US 2019/0077536 A1; hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 12, 15-16, and 18, Chan discloses a spill resistant disposable cup comprising a center portion defining a sidewall (12), the sidewall extending between a first end (14) and a second end (16), the first end of the sidewall attached to the second end of the sidewall along a seam (24); a circular bottom portion extending from the center portion defining a base (16; see Fig. 2), the circular bottom portion configured to extend from the sidewall in a first direction; a plurality of integrated folding lid sections 34’/32/30/34”), each of the plurality of integrated folding lid sections separated from the center portion by a fold line (34a/32b/32a/30a/30b/34a), wherein the plurality of integrated folding lid sections cooperate to form a lid when folded along their respective fold lines (see Figures 1-4); and a cutout (Examiner considers the “cutout” to be the gap between 30 and 32; and Examiner considers the gap capable of receiving a straw, stirrer, or utensil) defined through the lid configured to provide access to contents of the cup when the plurality of integrated folding lid sections cooperate to form the lid (see Par. 0025-0027), wherein the center portion comprises a spout adjacent to the cutout (80), wherein the spout extends above a fold line adjacent to the spout (see Fig. 6; Examiner notes that the spout is defined by element 80 which extends above the fold lines attaching lid portions to the body portion of the cup).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Chan discloses a cup further comprising a piece of material (80) extending from at least one of the plurality of integrated folding lid sections, wherein the piece of material at least partially covers the cutout (see Par. 0044).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Chan discloses a cup wherein the spout is positioned to extend perpendicular to a surface defined by the lid formed by the plurality of integrated folding lid sections (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Chan discloses a cup wherein the fold line comprises one or more of a perforation line, a creased line, a ridged line, a solid score line, or a dashed score line (see Par. 0040).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Chan discloses a cup wherein at least one tab extends upward from a first integrated folding lid section of the plurality of integrated folding lid sections, and wherein a slit is defined in a second integrated folding lid section of the plurality of integrated folding lid sections (see Par. 0029-0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Herman (US 8505807 B2).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 20, Chan discloses the claimed invention except for graphical designs printed on the cup for identifying locations of fold lines. Herman teaches a foldable drinking vessel comprising at least one graphical design printed thereon for identifying a location of a fold line (Col 5 lines 10-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Chan’s cup to provide graphical indicia instructing a user on which fold lines to fold first in order to use the container properly, as taught by Herman.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734