DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: punctuation and grammatical errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 17/635,207 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application no. ‘207 anticipates the claimed subject matter in the instant claims. Claim 1 recites a treatment support apparatus for photoimmunotherapy comprising: an excitation light source configured to irradiate a drug containing a fluorescent substance and an antibody, which bines to a cancer cell, with excitation light in a specific waveband (encompassed by excitation light source in claim 1 of ‘207); a storage configured to store an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (encompassed by storage in claim 1 of ‘207); a controller configured to retrieve the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored in the storage, and control the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved from the storage (encompassed by controller in claim 1 of ‘207); a fluorescence detector configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (encompassed by fluorescence detector in claim 1 of ‘207); and an image generator configured to generate a fluorescence distribution image, which is an image showing a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance, based on the fluorescence from the fluorescence substance detected by the fluorescence detector (encompassed by image generator in claim 1 of ‘207); wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity by the excitation light source has energy that excites the fluorescence substance but does not kill the cancer cell (encompassed by excitation light in claim 1 of ‘207). Claim 2 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘207. Claim 3 is encompassed by claim 3 of ‘207. Claim 4 is encompassed by claim 4 of ‘207. Claim 5 is encompassed by claim 5 of ‘207. Claim 6 is encompassed by claim 6 of ‘207. Claim 7 is encompassed by claim 7 of ‘207. Claim 8 is encompassed by claim 8 of ‘207. Claim 9 is encompassed by claim 9 of ‘207. Claim 10 recites a treatment support apparatus for photoimmunotherapy comprising: an excitation light source configured to irradiate a drug containing a fluorescent substance and an antibody, which bines to a cancer cell, with excitation light in a specific waveband (encompassed by excitation light source in claim 10 of ‘207); a storage configured to store an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (encompassed by storage in claim 10 of ‘207); a controller configured to retrieve the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored in the storage, and control the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved from the storage (encompassed by controller in claim 10 of ‘207); a fluorescence detector configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (encompassed by fluorescence detector in claim 10 of ‘207); and a distribution information output configured to output information about a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance based on the fluorescence detected by the fluorescence detector (encompassed by image generator in claim 10 of ‘207); wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity by the excitation light source has energy that excites the fluorescence substance but does not kill the cancer cell (encompassed by excitation light in claim 10 of ‘207). Claim 11 recites an image generation method comprising: irradiating a drug containing fluorescent substance and an antibody, which binds to a cancer cell, with excitation light in a specific waveband (encompassed by irradiating in claim 11 of ‘207); storing an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (encompassed by storing in claim 11 of ‘207); retrieving the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored (encompassed by retrieving in claim 11 of ‘207); controlling the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved (encompassed by controlling in claim 11 of ‘207); detecting fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (encompassed by detecting in claim 11 of ‘207); and generating a fluorescence distribution image, which is an image showing a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance, based on the detected fluorescence emitted by the fluorescence substance of the drug due to the excitation by the excitation light (encompassed by detecting in claim 11 of ‘207); wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity has energy that excites the fluorescent substance but does not kill the cancer cell (encompassed by excitation light in claim 11 of ‘‘207).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 6,214,033).
Li et al. discloses a treatment support apparatus for photoimmunotherapy comprising: an excitation light source (21; 31; 51a; 51b) configured to irradiate a drug containing a fluorescent substance and an antibody, which bines to a cancer cell, with excitation light in a specific waveband (col. 1, lines 23-40; col. 2, lines 28-39); a storage configured to store an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (55; col. 16, lines 56-63); a controller configured to retrieve the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored in the storage (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24), and control the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved from the storage (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24); a fluorescence detector configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (25; 35; 36; col. 2, lines 7-27; col. 7, lines 13-15); and an image generator (26; 35; 36) configured to generate a fluorescence distribution image, which is an image showing a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance, based on the fluorescence from the fluorescence substance detected by the fluorescence detector; wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity by the excitation light source has energy that excites the fluorescence substance but does not kill the cancer cell (col. 2, lines 7-19; col. 8, lines 4-19).
With respect to claims 2-5, Li et al. discloses controlling the integrated energy (col. 17, line 66 to col. 18, line 32).
With respect to claims 6 and 8-9, Li et al. discloses controlling a limit to an irradiation intensity, an irradiation time, and a number of times of irradiation of the excitation light (col. 18, lines 23-32 and 39-57).
With respect to claim 10, Li et al. discloses a treatment support apparatus for photoimmunotherapy comprising: an excitation light source (21; 31; 51a; 51b) configured to irradiate a drug containing a fluorescent substance and an antibody, which binds to a cancer cell, with excitation light in a specific waveband (col. 1, lines 23-40; col. 2, lines 28-39); a storage configured to store an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (55; col. 16, lines 56-63); a controller configured to retrieve the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored in the storage (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24), and control the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved from the storage (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24); a fluorescence detector configured to detect fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (25; 35; 36; col. 2, lines 7-27; col. 7, lines 13-15); and a distribution information output (26; 35; 36) configured to output information about a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance based on the fluorescence detected from the fluorescence detector; wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity by the excitation light source has energy that excites the fluorescence substance but does not kill the cancer cell (col. 2, lines 7-19; col. 8, lines 4-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 6,214,033) in view of Wu et al. (US 2013/0053699).
Li et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for comprising a visible light detector and an image synthesizer configured to generate a composite image. However, Wu et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor comprising detecting white light image and synthesizing a composite image to superimpose the white light image and the fluorescent image ([0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Li et al. with the composite image as taught by Wu et al. as superimposing white light and fluorescent images are well known in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 6,214,033) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2012/0010558).
Li et al. discloses an image generation method comprising: irradiating a fluorescent substance of a drug administered into a body of a subject with excitation light in a specific waveband (col. 1, lines 23-40; col. 2, lines 28-39); storing an irradiation time and an irradiation intensity of the excitation light corresponding to the drug (55; col. 16, lines 56-63); retrieving the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity stored (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24); controlling the excitation light source to irradiate the drug with the excitation light with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity retrieved (7; col. 6, lines 47-54; col. 10, lines 19-24); detecting fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance due to excitation by the excitation light (col. 2, lines 7-27, col. 7, lines 13-15); and generating a fluorescence distribution image, which is an image showing a distribution state of the fluorescence emitted by the fluorescent substance, based on the detected fluorescence emitted by the fluorescence substance of the drug due to the excitation by the excitation light (col. 2, lines 7-27; col. 8, lines 4-19); wherein the excitation light radiated with the irradiation time and the irradiation intensity has energy that excites the fluorescent substance but does not kill the cancer cell (col. 2, lines 7-19; col. 8, lines 4-19). Li et al. does not teach the drug containing a fluorescent substance and an antibody. However, Kobayashi et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor a fluorescent substance and an antibody to specifically bind to the cell surface protein ([0069]; [0156]). Ther3efore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Li et al. with the fluorescent substance and an antibody as taught by Kobayashi et al. as it is a well known substance for fluorescence imaging of cancer cells.
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797