DETAILED ACTION
2. The Action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment, filed on May 11, 2026.
3. It is acknowledged that as a result of the amendment, Claims 21, 23, 30, and 40 have been amended.
4. Claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. 11,372,877 and 1-20 of 11,762872, and 1-20 of US 12,277,128 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, see table below:
19/072792
US 12,277,128
21. A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting for a change event relating to first content displayed on a physical screen of a computing device; and
providing a companion experience relating to the first content, the companion experience involving: identifying a change to the first content displayed on the computing device;
the change being associated with the detected change event
automatically obtaining second content based at least on the change to the first content associated with the detected change event; and displaying the second content on the same physical screen of the computing device concurrently with the first content.
22. The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the automatically obtaining the second content comprises performing a search for the second content based at least on the change to the first content identified by the change event.
23. The computer-implemented method of claim 22, wherein the first
content is displayed in a first graphical user interface element and the second
content is displayed in a second graphical user interface element.
24. The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the first
graphical user interface element comprises a first window or sub-window and the second graphical user interface element comprises a second window or sub-window.
25. The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the first content comprises a media item and the second content relates to a change to the
media item that occurs while the first content is being displayed in the first graphical user interface element.
26. The computer-implemented method of claim 25, wherein the change
event identifies a song that begins playing and the second content relates to the
song.
27. The computer-implemented method of claim 25, wherein the change
event identifies an actor that appears in the media item and the second content
relates to the actor.
28. The computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the first
content comprises a video game and the second content relates to a change to
the video game that occurs while the first content is being displayed in the first
graphical user interface element.
29. The computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein the change event identifies a particular game level that is reached during video game play in
the first graphical user interface element and the second content relates to the
particular game level.
1. A method comprising:
displaying first content on a physical screen of a computing device;
and
initiating a companion experience relating to the first content, the companion experience involving: automatically conducting a search based on the first content
displayed on the physical screen of the computing device to obtain second content;
and displaying the second content obtained via the search in a frame or sub-window on the same physical screen of the computing device as the first content.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the companion experience is initiated in response to user input.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the companion experience is initiated automatically.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the search is conducted using a search query associated with the first content.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising: automatically sending the search query to a search engine supported by a web service; receiving search results related to the first content from the search engine in response to the search query, the second content comprising the search results; and rendering and updating the search results in the frame or sub-window on the physical screen as the first content is being rendered on the same physical screen.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: formulating the search query based on the first content.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the search results include video relating to the first content
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of data processing at the time the invention was made to modify the invention as claimed in the instance application by substituting detecting, identifying a change to the first content; the change being associated with the detected change event since an omission and addition of a cited limitation would have not changed the process according to which the method and system as claimed.
Therefore, the use of listening to a content would be an obvious variation in the art for the purpose of achieving the same end results having additional content that is renderable on the second screen and would not interfere with the functionality of the steps previously claimed and would perform the same function.
The dependent claims 22-40 are rejected for fully incorporating the errors of their respective base claims by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claim 21-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tonse (US 7707226), in view of Rosenblatt (US 2010/0082784).
As per Claim 21, Tonse discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising: detecting a change event relating to first content displayed on a physical screen of a computing device; (Columns 5-6, lines 65-67 and 1-7, respectively, “At 308, server 102 further performs dynamic monitoring of the real-time context of the user client system 104 to detect a change in the real-time context of the user client system. Upon detecting a change in the real-time context of the user client system” and see Figure 2) and providing a companion experience relating to the first content, the companion experience involving: identifying a change to the first content displayed on the computing device, the change being associated with the detected change event; (Col. 5, lines 15-31, “… initially displays a first advertisement. As the user continues to operate the web application, the server 102 monitors the user's interaction with the web application. As the user performs searches, clicks on links, inputs information, etc., the context of the web application may be continually changing (e.g., using Ajax code). However, the present invention is able to analyze changes in the real-time context, which in one embodiment, triggers a change in the content item being displayed on the web application in order to attempt to display a content item that interests a user. In other words, the content items displayed on the web application change according to the content that the user displays the most interest in.”) automatically obtaining second content based at least on the change to the first content associated with the detected change event; and displaying the second content on the same physical screen of the computing device concurrently as the first content. (Col. 1, lines 50-59, “further performing dynamic monitoring of the real-time context of the user client system, identifying a second content item based on a change in the real-time context of the user client system, and sending the second content item to the user client system.” And Col. 4, lines 14-36, “The real-time context of the user client system can be evaluated based on one or more factors. In one embodiment, the real-time context is based on identifying one or more content keywords of an application 116 operating on the user client system. Identifying one or more content keywords can include, but is not limited to, crawling content presented by the application 116, detecting metadata associated with the application 116, identifying content of interest of the application 116 based on user interaction with at least an aspect of the application, identifying a lack of user interaction with at least an aspect of the application 116, and the like. Identifying content of interest of the application 116 based on user interaction with at least an aspect of the application 116 can further include detecting such events including, but not limited to, hovering over an aspect of a display of the application 116, clicking on a link in the content of the application 116, identifying a conversion related to content of the application 116, identifying content input by the user into the application 116, and the like” and Col. 6, lines 52-67, “. FIG. 4 depicts this method 400 in further detail. The content of the instant messaging session is dynamically monitored to determine what the user is most interested in and content items are dynamically displayed accordingly.”)
However, Tonse, do not specifically disclose the “companion experience”
Rosenblatt discloses the above claimed feature as follows:
(Par [0098], “The audio input structures 56 may be one or more microphones for receiving voice data from a user, and the audio output structure 58 may be a speaker for outputting audio data, such as data received by the handheld device 40 over a cellular network. In certain embodiments, an audio port 60 may facilitate peripheral audio input and output devices, such as headsets, speakers, or microphones for use with the handheld device 40. It should be appreciated that telephone functionality associated with the handheld device 40 may also include emitting a ringtone through the audio output structure 58, causing the handheld device 40 to vibrate, or changing images on the display to indicate an incoming phone call.” And see Figures 2-4, 10-12, 33A-33E and 34, having a home theater sharing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Rosenblatt into the method of Tonse to take advantage of dynamically or automatically display information. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills in the art would implement providing answers or content to similar displayed content in real time.
As per Claim 22, the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the automatically obtaining the second content comprises performing a search for the second content based at least on the change to the first content identified by the change event. (Par [0237], “automatically update the resource-sharing software plug-in. Among other options available via the button 630 may be a preferred scheme which may be automatically loaded when the button 618 is selected or when the resource-sharing operation 606 is undertaken.”).
As per Claim 23, the rejection of Claim 22 is incorporated and Tonse further discloses: wherein the first content is displayed in a first graphical user interface element and the second content is displayed in a second graphical user interface element on the same physical screen of the computing device as the first graphical user element. (Col. 1, lines 50-59, “further performing dynamic monitoring of the real-time context of the user client system, identifying a second content item based on a change in the real-time context of the user client system, and sending the second content item to the user client system.” And Col. 4, lines 14-36, “The real-time context of the user client system can be evaluated based on one or more factors. In one embodiment, the real-time context is based on identifying one or more content keywords of an application 116 operating on the user client system. Identifying one or more content keywords can include, but is not limited to, crawling content presented by the application 116, detecting metadata associated with the application 116, identifying content of interest of the application 116 based on user interaction with at least an aspect of the application, identifying a lack of user interaction with at least an aspect of the application 116, and the like. Identifying content of interest of the application 116 based on user interaction with at least an aspect of the application 116 can further include detecting such events including, but not limited to, hovering over an aspect of a display of the application 116, clicking on a link in the content of the application 116, identifying a conversion related to content of the application 116, identifying content input by the user into the application 116, and the like” and Col. 6, lines 52-67, “. FIG. 4 depicts this method 400 in further detail. The content of the instant messaging session is dynamically monitored to determine what the user is most interested in and content items are dynamically displayed accordingly.”).
As per Claim 24, the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the first graphical user interface element comprises a first window or sub-window and the second graphical user interface element comprises a second window or sub-window. (Par [0081], “The user interface 20 may represent indicator lights and user input structures, but may also include a graphical user interface (GUI) on the display 18. In practice, the user interface 20 may operate via the CPU 12” and See Figures 53, and 54A- 58).
As per Claim 25, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the first content comprises a media item and the second content relates to a change to the media item that occurs while the first content is being displayed in the first graphical user interface element. (Par [0102], “Turning to FIG. 3, a computer 62 may represent another embodiment of the electronic device 10 of FIG. 1. The computer 62 may be any computer, such as a desktop computer, a server, or a notebook computer, but may also be a standalone media player or video gaming machine” and par [0226], “The button 574 may appear first because the handheld device may be currently running an application that would benefit from sharing a video resource of the computer 62, such as the photo viewing application illustrated above in FIG. 40. If the user selects the button 574, a screen 578 may be displayed on the handheld device 40…”).
As per Claim 26, the rejection of Claim 21 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the change event identifies a song that begins playing and the second content relates to the song. (Par [0074], “a television may have a display for television video and speakers for television audio” and see Figures 2-4, 10-12, 33A-33E and 34, having a home theater sharing, the content is displayed including its information. And par [0079] and par [0149], “iTunes” use.).
As per Claim 27, the rejection of Claim 25 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the change event identifies an actor that appears in the media item and the second content relates to the actor. (Par [0074], “a television may have a display for television video and speakers for television audio” and see Figures 2-4, 10-12, 33A-33E and 34, having a home theater sharing; par [0079], and par [0222], “a resource-sharing scheme for using the resources of a television may enable video information to be sent to and displayed on the display of the television.”)
As per Claim 28, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the first content comprises a video game and the second content relates to a change to the video game that occurs while the first content is being displayed in the first graphical user interface element. (Par [0098], “associated with the handheld device 40 may also include emitting a ringtone through the audio output structure 58, causing the handheld device 40 to vibrate, or changing images on the display to indicate an incoming phone call… and Par [0228], “FIG. 43 depicts a resource-sharing operation 384 between a handheld device 40, representing the resource-using device 92, and a game controller 84, representing a controller associated with the resource-sharing device 94, which may be a video game system or the standalone media player 68. The video game system or the standalone media player 68 may be running a video game configured to interact with the handheld device 40.”).
As per Claim 29, the rejection of Claim 28 is incorporated and Rosenblatt further discloses: wherein the change event identifies a particular game level that is reached during video game play in the first graphical user interface element and the second content relates to the particular game level. (Par [0014] FIG. 6 is a schematic of a video game controller for the standalone media player of FIG. 4 or a video game system” and par [0051], “FIG. 43 is a schematic of a resource-sharing operation for using the resources of a video game system” and par [0052]).
As per Claims 31-40, being the device and computer-readable storage media claims corresponding to the method claims 21-29 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection of the rejections of Claims 21-29 and further Rosenblatt discloses: (Par [0079]).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lamkin; Allan B. (US-7779097-B2) relates to methods and systems for use in network management content.
O'Toole; James, ( US-7610280-B2), relates to method and system for dynamically pre-positioning content in a network based detecting or predicting user presence.
/ANGELICA RUIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154 June 27, 2026