DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casado et al (US 2024/0271576 hereinafter “Casado”) in view of Hartman et al (US 6,345,611 hereinafter “Hartman”).
In regards to claim 1:
Casado teaches a fuel supply device that supplies at least a gas fuel to a predetermined supply target (4), the fuel supply device comprising: a gas fuel adjustment unit (4.2) that adjusts a supply volume of the gas fuel and supplies the gas fuel to the supply target (4); a pressure adjustment device (7) that adjusts supply pressure of the gas fuel; and a temperature adjustment unit (2) that is disposed between the pressure adjustment device (7) and the gas fuel adjustment unit (4.2) in a supply direction of the gas fuel and adjusts, in accordance with an operation state and/or an operation environment of the supply target, a temperature of the gas fuel supplied to the gas fuel adjustment unit.
Casado does not teach the pressure adjustment device and the temperature adjustment unit are accommodated in adjacent installation spaces, of a common housing, defined by one or more floor portions and one or more side surfaces.
Hartman teaches a pressure adjustment device (18) and a temperature adjustment device (10) accommodated in a common housing adjacent installation space, of a common housing, defined by one or more floor portions and one or more side surfaces (Figure 4 shows a single common housing for both the pressure adjustment device and temperature adjustment device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the pressure adjustment device and the temperature adjustment device of Casado as taught by Hartman in order to adjust the pressure and temperature of a fuel in a single housing.
In regards to claim 2:
Casado teaches a gas fuel reservoir (6) in which the gas fuel is stored (Paragraph [0114] recites “The fuel tank (6) is configured to maintain the pressurized gas fuel”), and a gas fuel supply path that connects the gas fuel reservoir (6) to the gas fuel adjustment unit (4.2) and allows the gas fuel to flow therethrough, wherein the pressure adjustment device (7) and the temperature adjustment unit (2) are disposed in the gas fuel supply path (Path can be seen in Figure 1).
In regards to claim 3:
Casado teaches a chamber disposed between the temperature adjustment unit and the gas fuel adjustment unit to store therein the gas fuel, the temperature of which is adjusted (Shown in annotated Figure 1 below).
Annotated Figure 1 of Casado
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casado and Hartman as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Brandt et al (US 3,989,019 hereinafter “Brandt”).
In regards to claim 4:
Casado teaches the supply target is an engine, the gas fuel adjustment unit is a gas fuel supply valve, the gas fuel supply path includes a common path through which the gas fuel flows, and the temperature adjustment unit is disposed in the common path.
Casado does not teach the engine including a plurality of cylinders.
Brandt teaches an engine having a plurality of cylinders (27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to specify the engine of Casado to have cylinders as taught by Brandt in order to have a known engine configuration, utilizing a piston within a cylinder to combust fuel and expand to produce a mechanical output.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casado, Hartman and Brandt as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Stronati et al (US 2019/0195162).
In regards to claim 5:
Casado as modified teaches an engine system comprising: the fuel supply device according to claim 4; and the engine, wherein the temperature adjustment unit includes a heat exchange unit that allows a heat exchange medium to flow therethrough and act on the gas fuel (heat exchanger of Brandt teaches heat from coolant through inlet 35 can be used in addition to an electric heater 71), and a flow rate adjustment unit (valve 65 of Brandt) that adjusts a flow rate of the heat exchange medium, the engine system further comprises a control device that controls the gas fuel adjustment unit and the flow rate adjustment unit, the control device calculates a target temperature of the gas fuel based on a target output of the engine, and when a detected temperature of the gas fuel is below the target temperature, the control device controls the flow rate adjustment unit to increase the temperature of the gas fuel to cause the detected temperature to reach the target temperature.
Casado does not teach the engine system further comprises a control device that controls the gas fuel adjustment unit and the flow rate adjustment unit, the control device calculates a target temperature of the gas fuel based on a target output of the engine, and when a detected temperature of the gas fuel is below the target temperature, the control device controls the flow rate adjustment unit to increase the temperature of the gas fuel to cause the detected temperature to reach the target temperature.
Stronati teaches a control device (24) that controls a gas fuel adjustment unit (32) that controls the amount of power to be given to fuel heaters (33), the control device calculates a target temperature of the gas fuel based on a target output of the engine, and when a detected temperature of the gas fuel is below the target temperature, the control device controls the power given to the fuel heaters to increase the temperature of the gas fuel to cause the detected temperature to reach the target temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the engine system of Casado to have a control device as taught by Stronati to provide heated fuel at a desired engine output (Paragraph [0060] of Stronati recites “Where the fuel is heated by fuel heating element(s) 33 prior to injection, the ECU may use a pre-stored model of the behaviour of the engine 2 which takes in to account the higher temperature of the fuel being injected. The ECU may use a pre-stored heated-fuel model when the fuel is being heated by the heating element(s) and may use a pre-stored unheated-fuel model when the fuel is not being heated by the heating element(s). The pre-stored heated-fuel model and the pre-stored unheated-fuel model may be parts of an overall model of behaviour of the engine 2. The pre-stored model may be an output map which, for a given torque demand, tells the ECU the outputs required to cause the engine to generate a desired engine torque.”). Wherein Casado teaches the heating of fuel to be supplied to an engine and the temperature of the fuel is controlled by a controller. Brandt introduces the fact that heating of the fuel can be done with coolant with a thermostatic valve to control the temperature of the fuel. Stronati teaches that the fuel temperature has a direct relationship with engine output and based on a desired engine output to use a predetermined fuel temperature model based on the desired engine output to have the fuel at a desired temperature. Wherein heating fuel to a desired temperature based on an engine output and to stop the heating of fuel past this temperature is taught, wherein the heating of fuel is known in the art through electric heaters and waste heat such as coolant and exhaust gases.
In regards to claim 6:
Casado teaches an engine system comprising the fuel supply device according to claim 4; and the engine, wherein the temperature adjustment unit includes a heat exchange unit that allows a heat exchange medium to flow therethrough and act on the gas fuel, and a flow rate adjustment unit that adjusts a flow rate of the heat exchange medium.
Casado does not teach the engine system further comprises a control device that controls the gas fuel adjustment unit and the flow rate adjustment unit, and when a target output of the engine is at a predetermined output threshold or more, the control device controls the flow rate adjustment unit to stop a flow of the heat exchange medium.
Stronati teaches a control device (24) that controls a gas fuel adjustment unit (32) and the power given to fuel heaters (33), and when a target output of the engine is at a predetermined output threshold or more, the control device controls the fuel heaters to stop heating the fuel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the engine system of Casado to have a control device as taught by Stronati to provide heated fuel at a desired engine output (Paragraph [0060] of Stronati recites “Where the fuel is heated by fuel heating element(s) 33 prior to injection, the ECU may use a pre-stored model of the behaviour of the engine 2 which takes in to account the higher temperature of the fuel being injected. The ECU may use a pre-stored heated-fuel model when the fuel is being heated by the heating element(s) and may use a pre-stored unheated-fuel model when the fuel is not being heated by the heating element(s). The pre-stored heated-fuel model and the pre-stored unheated-fuel model may be parts of an overall model of behaviour of the engine 2. The pre-stored model may be an output map which, for a given torque demand, tells the ECU the outputs required to cause the engine to generate a desired engine torque.”). Wherein Casado teaches the heating of fuel to be supplied to an engine and the temperature of the fuel is controlled by a controller. Brandt introduces the fact that heating of the fuel can be done with coolant with a thermostatic valve to control the temperature of the fuel. Stronati teaches that the fuel temperature has a direct relationship with engine output and based on a desired engine output to use a predetermined fuel temperature model based on the desired engine output to have the fuel at a desired temperature. Wherein heating fuel to a desired temperature based on an engine output and to stop the heating of fuel past this temperature is taught, wherein the heating of fuel is known in the art through electric heaters and waste heat such as coolant and exhaust gases.
In regards to claim 7:
Casado teaches the engine, wherein the temperature adjustment unit includes a heat exchange unit that allows a heat exchange medium to flow therethrough (coolant flows through the heater (10) of Brandt) and act on the gas fuel, and a cooling device (radiator 30 of Brandt) that cools the heat exchange medium.
Casado does not teach the engine system further comprises a control device that controls the gas fuel adjustment unit and the cooling device, and when a target output of the engine is at predetermined output threshold or more, the control device controls the cooling device to operate.
Stronati teaches a control device (24) that controls a gas fuel adjustment unit (32) and the power given to fuel heaters (33), and when a target output of the engine is at a predetermined output threshold or more, the control device controls the fuel heaters to stop heating the fuel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the engine system of Casado to have a control device as taught by Stronati to provide heated fuel at a desired engine output (Paragraph [0060] of Stronati recites “Where the fuel is heated by fuel heating element(s) 33 prior to injection, the ECU may use a pre-stored model of the behaviour of the engine 2 which takes in to account the higher temperature of the fuel being injected. The ECU may use a pre-stored heated-fuel model when the fuel is being heated by the heating element(s) and may use a pre-stored unheated-fuel model when the fuel is not being heated by the heating element(s). The pre-stored heated-fuel model and the pre-stored unheated-fuel model may be parts of an overall model of behaviour of the engine 2. The pre-stored model may be an output map which, for a given torque demand, tells the ECU the outputs required to cause the engine to generate a desired engine torque.”). Wherein Casado teaches the heating of fuel to be supplied to an engine and the temperature of the fuel is controlled by a controller. Brandt introduces the fact that heating of the fuel can be done with coolant with a thermostatic valve to control the temperature of the fuel. Stronati teaches that the fuel temperature has a direct relationship with engine output and based on a desired engine output to use a predetermined fuel temperature model based on the desired engine output to have the fuel at a desired temperature. Wherein heating fuel to a desired temperature based on an engine output and to stop the heating of fuel past this temperature is taught, wherein the heating of fuel is known in the art through electric heaters and waste heat such as coolant and exhaust gases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3 of Remarks, filed 7/6/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art. Applicant has amended the independent claim to further define that the pressure adjustment device and temperature adjustment device are in a common housing in adjacent installation spaces defined by floor portions and side surfaces. New prior art has been added to address this, wherein Hartman teaches a single common housing with a pressure adjusting device and a temperature adjusting device for a gaseous fuel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3747 /HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747