DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 1 states “The invention related to”, which is considered to be implied language.
Line 7 states the phrase “means”, which is legal phraseology.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehin (United States Patent Application US 2021/0206583A1) in view of Lehner (German Patent Application DE102012220479A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gehin discloses A method for buffering containers in a filling system, the method comprising: moving containers grouped in a single row in an infeed direction on at least one infeed conveyor belt;(Figure 8: Entry Conveyor 5)moving the containers in the single row, by rail-guided and individually driven shuttles with row pushers, in a buffering direction transverse to the infeed direction onto a buffer area;(Figure 8: Pushing members 7 pushing lines of products 1 down)removing the containers from the buffer area on at least one outfeed conveyor belt that moves in an outfeed direction transverse to the buffering direction;(Figure 8: Exit conveyor 6).
However, Gehin does not disclose moving the containers onto and/or off of the buffer area by way of branching conveyor belts integrated into said buffer area, the branching conveyor belts moving transverse to the buffering direction and independently of said infeed conveyor belt and said outfeed conveyor belt.
Lehner discloses a similar method for buffering containers moving the containers onto and/or off of the buffer area by way of branching conveyor belts integrated into said buffer area, the branching conveyor belts moving transverse to the buffering direction and independently of said infeed conveyor belt and said outfeed conveyor belt.(Figure 3b: Buffer area 38 and conveyor section 40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gehin to include the branching conveyor belt sections as taught by Lehner. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a variable handling buffer for cargo of all kinds arranged within a conveyor section with tracks to allow for the controlled displacement of products (Page 5, paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 1, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where a first group of the containers moved onto the buffer area by at least one of said branching conveyor belts are treated, inspected, and/or stored immediately upstream in a manner differing from a second group of the containers moved onto the buffer area by said at least one infeed conveyor belt.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,")
Regarding Claim 3, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 1, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where the branching conveyor belts connect the buffer area to a secondary buffer area.(Figure 5b: Storage device 38 and storage table 70 with a plurality of tracks 42)
Regarding Claim 4, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 1, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where moving the containers onto and/or off of the buffer area by way of branching conveyor belts comprises moving the containers by way of at least two of said branching conveyor belts immediately before and/or after labelling, inspection, or buffering.(Figure 5b: Conveyor sections 34, 46 and horizontal conveyor 60, 79)
Regarding Claim 5, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 3, as seen above. Lehner further discloses the method further comprising moving the containers onto the secondary buffer area by way of a second infeed conveyor belt.(Figure 5b: Conveyor 60)
Regarding Claim 6, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 5, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where the infeed conveyor belt moves containers to the buffer area from a first independent treatment unit and the second infeed conveyor belt moves containers to the secondary buffer area from a second independent treatment unit.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,", wherein as shown in Figure 3b, conveyor 60 can be used to transport any one of conveyor tracks 42, which could carry a different product to what is being fed by conveyor 26)
Regarding Claim 7, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 1, as seen above. Gehin further discloses where the outfeed conveyor belt comprises multiple lanes and moves the containers in multiple layers to a second treatment unit.(Figure 9: Multiple lanes on conveyor 6)
Regarding Claim 8, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 6, as seen above. Lehner further discloses the method further comprising filling the containers with a first filling material at the first independent treatment unit and filling the containers with a second filling material at the second independent treatment unit.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,", wherein the variety of conveyed goods could be containers filled or packaged with different materials or products)
Regarding Claim 9, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 6, as seen above. Lehner further discloses wherein containers moved from the first independent treatment unit to the buffer area via the infeed conveyor belt comprise a first container format, and containers moved from the second independent treatment unit to the secondary buffer area via the second infeed conveyor belt comprise a second container format.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,", wherein as shown in Figure 3b, conveyor 60 can be used to transport any one of conveyor tracks 42, which could carry a different product to what is being fed by conveyor 26)
Regarding Claim 10, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the method according to Claim 6, as seen above. Lehner further discloses wherein containers produced in the first independent treatment unit and in the second independent treatment unit are advanced, with the inclusion of the secondary buffer area, in a mixed sequence on the first buffer area to the outfeed conveyor and are distributed in an accordingly mixed manner to transport aisles of the outfeed conveyor, arranged next to one another.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,")
Regarding Claim 11, Gehin discloses A device for buffering containers grouped in a single row without back pressure in a filling system(Figure 8: Entry Conveyor 5) where said transport system comprises shuttles that are guided on rails and are driven independently of one another with row pushers aligned to be transverse to said buffering direction for moving said containers grouped in single rows,(Figure 8: Pushing members 7 pushing lines of products 1 down) a first infeed conveyor belt running traverse to the buffering direction and connecting the first buffer area to a first independent treatment unit of a first treatment machine, a second infeed conveyor belt running transverse to the buffering direction and connecting the second buffer area to a second independent treatment unit of the first treatment machine, an outfeed conveyor belt running transverse to said buffering direction, (Figure 8: First and second conveyor 11, 12 and exit conveyor 6)
However, Gehin does not disclose comprising: a first buffer area, a second buffer area, a transport system arranged above the first buffer area and the second buffer area for moving said containers on said first buffer area and said second buffer area in a buffering direction, and branching conveyor belts integrated into said first buffer area and said second buffer area which run transverse to said buffering direction and are driven independently of said first infeed conveyor belt, said second infeed conveyor belt, and said outfeed conveyor belt.
Lehner discloses a similar device comprising: a first buffer area, a second buffer area, a transport system arranged above the first buffer area and the second buffer area for moving said containers on said first buffer area and said second buffer area in a buffering direction,(Figure 5b: Buffer area 38, storage table 70, tracks 42 and conveyor sections 34, 60)and branching conveyor belts integrated into said first buffer area and said second buffer area which run transverse to said buffering direction and are driven independently of said first infeed conveyor belt, said second infeed conveyor belt, and said outfeed conveyor belt.(Figure 5b: Conveyor tracks 42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gehin to include the branching conveyor belt sections as taught by Lehner. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a variable handling buffer for cargo of all kinds arranged within a conveyor section with tracks to allow for the controlled displacement of products (Page 5, paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses where said transport system furthermore comprises an empty shuttle buffer and a connectable vertical track switch, each arranged above said first buffer area.(Figures 5-7: Slider beds 9 and tools 8)
Regarding Claim 13, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses where said transport system furthermore comprises a second empty shuttle buffer and a second connectable vertical track switch, each arranged above said second buffer area.(Figures 5-7: Slider beds 9 and tools 8)
Regarding Claim 14, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses wherein the outfeed conveyor belt comprises multiple lanes and is configured to move the containers from the first buffer area to a second treatment machine.(Figure 9: Multiple lanes on conveyor 6)
Regarding Claim 15, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses where said row pushers for guiding said containers in the single row on two sides each comprise a respective anterior row guide that is leading them in said buffering direction and a posterior row guide that is trailing said containers.(Figure 5: Members 70. 71)
Regarding Claim 16, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses where said row pushers are arranged in pairs on said shuttles.(Figure 5: Members 70. 71)
Regarding Claim 17, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where the branching conveyor belts comprise a first branching conveyor belt configured to move containers in a first direction, and a second branching conveyor belt configured to move containers in a second direction, where the second direction is opposite the first direction.(Figure 5b: Conveyor tracks 42, wherein tracks can move in either direction as shown by arrow)
Regarding Claim 18, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Lehner further discloses wherein the first independent treatment unit and the second independent treatment unit perform the same treatment step.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,")
Regarding Claim 19, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 18, as seen above. Lehner further discloses where the first independent treatment unit and the second independent treatment unit are configured to fill and close the containers.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,")
Regarding Claim 20, Gehin in view of Lehner discloses the device according to Claim 11, as seen above. Gehin further discloses a first and second infeed conveyor (Figure 8: First and second conveyor 11, 12), and Lehner further discloses where the first infeed conveyor belt is configured to move the containers from the first independent treatment unit to the first buffer area, and where the second infeed conveyor belt is configured to move the containers from the second independent treatment unit to the second buffer area.(Page 6, Paragraph 8: "The three schematic views of 2 illustrate a first embodiment of a horizontal conveyor line 24 with therein arranged storage device for conveyed goods. This is how the schematic view of the 2a a section 22 a horizontal conveyor line 24 for consecutively on a first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 moving goods 30 , This in the 2a merely indicated conveyed goods 30 can, for example, by article 32 all types, packaged or piece goods or by similar or different containers are formed in a continuous or interrupted / grouped series of successively transported piece or conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 along the first horizontal conveyor 26 in the conveying direction 28 to be moved. The first horizontal conveyor 26 thus forms a first conveyor section 34 the horizontal conveyor line 24 , a feeder for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 as well as an adjustable transfer point 36 to a storage device 38 - Also referred to below as multi-track memory and / or buffer area - trained second conveyor section 40 having. The transfer point 36 the first conveyor section 34 the first horizontal conveyor 26 opens at the end of the memory device 38 , the several parallel conveyor tracks 42 has, in each case separately driven and / or their bearing surfaces for the conveyed goods 30 or article 32 with different conveying speeds perpendicular to the conveying direction 28 are movable. The multilane configuration of the memory device 38 enables the outsourcing of single, multiple or a variety of conveyed goods 30 or articles 32 , Packaged or general cargo and / or containers on the various conveyor tracks 42 ,", wherein as shown in Figure 3b, conveyor 60 can be used to transport any one of conveyor tracks 42, which could carry a different product to what is being fed by conveyor 26)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2016/0244271A1 (Walter, Ralf): Walter discloses a similar device for buffering containers comprising an infeed conveyor, outfeed conveyor, transfer conveyor and guide elements, as seen in Figure 1.
United States Patent US 6,854,583 B1 (Horn, George): Horn discloses a similar storage and transportation system comprising modular conveyor track elements, transfer elements, storage matrix and a conveyor highway, as seen in Figure 3.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651