DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Application filed on 3/6/2025 in which claims 1-7 were presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
An insert
A magnetic insert
Bill depth greater than the depth of said brim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fulper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055618 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fulper et al. “Fulper” discloses a head covering (Figs. 1-2 identifier 100), comprising:
a cranial covering portion (110) having a circumferential perimeter (the edge at marking 121) configured (capable) to encircle the head of a wearer (when worn);
a flexible brim (See annotated Fig. A above) extending from the perimeter of said cranial covering portion (See Fig. A), said brim extending incompletely around the perimeter of said cranial covering portion (See Fig. A because it does not completely encircle the head of the wearer) and having a depth no greater than 15 cm (para. 0019 discloses 2 inches in depth or width which is 5.08 CM meeting the claimed range); and
a bill (See Fig. A) extending from the perimeter of said cranial covering portion (110 as shown in Fig. A), said bill being configured (capable) to shade a face of the wearer (when worn), said bill (See Fig. A) being constructed from a rigid, bend-resistant material (para. 0022 discloses “brim 120 may have a longer, baseball cap extension in the front to better cover the face” which was interpreted that the brim and bill are made of the same material, para. 0018 discloses that the material is plastic which is interpreted as rigid bend-resistant material as evident by the applicant own specification), said bill (See Fig. A) having a lower surface that is concave in a vertical plane (Fig. 2 illustrates a concave lower surface but it is shown clearer in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Fulper discloses a head covering wherein said bill includes an insert constructed from cardboard (See para. 0002).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Fulper discloses a head covering wherein said bill has a depth (width) greater than the depth of said brim (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Fulper discloses a head covering wherein the depth of said brim is no greater than 10 cm ((para. 0019 discloses 2 inches in depth or width which is 5.08 CM meeting the claimed range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055618 A1) in view of Moshier (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0168708 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fulper discloses a head covering wherein at least the cranial covering portion (110) is constructed from material that substantially blocks ultraviolet transmission, para. 0017.
Fulper does not explicitly disclose that the cranial covering portion is constructed from a UPF 50+ sun resistant material.
However, Moshier teaches yet another head covering (Fig. 3 identifier 10) having a cranial covering portion (crown) (12) constructed from UPF 50+ sun resistant material (para. 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Fulper device with the cranial covering portion is constructed from a UPF 50+ sun resistant material as taught by Moshier in order to enhance protection to the wearer from harmful sun rays by providing maximum protection from ultraviolet light.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055618 A1) in view of Young (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0143799 A1) as best understood.
Regarding claim 4, Fulper discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Fulper does not disclose further comprising a magnetic insert configured to retain a golf ball mark.
However, Young teaches yet another head covering (See Fig. 1) having a magnetic insert (24) configured to retain a golf ball mark (para. 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Fulper device with a magnetic insert configured to retain a golf ball mark as taught by Young in order to enhance securement of the golf ball marker to avoid the loss of the ball marker when not in use.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055618 A1) in view of Davis (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0404997 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fulper discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Fulper does not disclose that the depth (width) of said brim is equal to a depth of said bill around the entirety of said brim.
However, Davis teaches yet noter head covering (See Fig. 2G) having a brim (235) and a bill (230), wherein the depth (width) of said brim is equal to a depth of said bill around the entirety of said brim (See Fig. 2G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Fulper device with the depth (width) of said brim is equal to a depth of said bill around the entirety of said brim as taught by Davis in order to a more appealing look having a straight line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732