DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the amendment filed July 12, 2026. Claims 1-9 and 17-20 have been elected. Claims 10-16 been withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category
(MPEP § 2106)
The claims are directed to a method.
Conclusion: The claims are directed to a statutory category: a process, as defined under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong One: Judicial Exception – Abstract Idea
(MPEP § 2106.04(a))
Claim 1 recites an abstract idea in the form of a mental process, including observations, evaluations, and judgments.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
"automatically filtering the email data ... to identify a set of unstructured purchase confirmations of a plurality of products";
"extracting product information from each unstructured purchase confirmation based on patterns within the unstructured purchase confirmation that correspond to one or more products"; and
“organizing extracted product information into a structured digital inventory containing the products and their corresponding product information.”
These limitations describe identifying purchase confirmations, evaluating their contents to recognize product-related information, extracting the relevant product information, and organizing the information into an inventory.
Such activities constitute concepts that can be performed in the human mind, such as reviewing purchase receipts, identifying purchased products, recognizing product characteristics, and organizing the identified information into an inventory.
Although the claim recites computer-based implementation of these activities, the underlying concepts of evaluating purchase information, identifying product characteristics, and organizing product information constitute mental processes.
The specific operations of generating and executing query language on an email server and electronically displaying an inventory are considered additional elements in the analysis below rather than mental acts themselves.
Accordingly, claim 1 recites a judicial exception in the form of an abstract idea (mental processes).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Integration into a Practical Application
(MPEP § 2106.04(d))
Claim 1 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional elements include a computer-implemented method, an application programming interface (API), an email server, generated query language executed on the email server, and a user interface.
The API and email server provide a computerized environment for accessing email data containing purchase information. Generating and periodically executing query language facilitates retrieval of purchase confirmations for subsequent evaluation and extraction of product information.
The user interface displays the resulting structured digital inventory.
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and are used as tools for carrying out the abstract idea of identifying, extracting, and organizing purchase information.
The claim does not recite a particular improvement to the functioning of the email server, API, or user interface. Rather, the claimed operations automate the collection and organization of purchase information that would otherwise be performed manually.
Furthermore, the claim does not specify a particular query-generation algorithm or technological modification to the email server that improves the operation of the computer system itself.
The claimed receipt retrieval and inventory display facilitate implementation of the abstract idea rather than providing a technological improvement separate from the information-processing activity.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Inventive Concept
(MPEP § 2106.05 and § 2106.07(a))
Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The additional elements of an API, email server, and user interface are recited functionally to perform operations of accessing email data, executing searches, and displaying product information.
The claim does not recite a particular technical implementation or unconventional arrangement of these components that provides an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea.
When considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements implement the abstract idea through a sequence of accessing purchase information, identifying purchase confirmations, extracting product details, and presenting an inventory.
Subject to evidentiary support establishing that the additional elements and their ordered combination are well-understood, routine, and conventional, the claim does not recite significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, the claim is not directed to patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding Claim 17
Independent Claim 17 is parallel in scope to claim 1 and ineligible for similar reasons.
Regarding Claims 2-9 and 18-20
Dependent claims 2-9 and 18-20 merely set forth further embellishments to the abstract idea, and therefore do not confer eligibility on the claimed invention and are ineligible for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Montgomery (US 2024/0370821 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Montgomery discloses A computer-implemented method of automatically generating a personalized digital inventory of based on email receipts, the method comprising:
pairing an application programming interface (API) with an email server associated with an email inbox associated with a user, wherein said pairing enables access by the API to email data from the email inbox; (Montgomery: paragraph [0065] - The functionality for automatically tracking consumer purchases, aggregating detailed information from multiple web and database sources, and transforming the data into a personalized digital inventory listing that can be used for multiple new purposes disclosed herein may be generated by email pairing or browser software (e.g., a browser extension) that may be authored for a particular web browser);
automatically filtering the email data by (1) generating a set of query language configured to be executed on the paired email server using the API and (2) periodically executing the generated query language on the paired email server to identify a set of unstructured purchase confirmations of a plurality of products; (Montgomery: paragraph [0079] - The data may be captured or received in real-time, or the data sources may be polled periodically during a periodic data-gathering process);
extracting product information from each unstructured purchase confirmation based on patterns within the unstructured purchase confirmation that correspond to one or more products of the plurality of products, wherein the extracted product information characterizes the one or more products of the plurality of products; and (Montgomery: Figure 8);
displaying, on a user interface, a structured digital inventory corresponding to the user, the structured digital inventory populated with entries indicating, for each unstructured purchase confirmation, (1) the one or more products and (2) corresponding extracted product information of the one or more products (Montgomery: Figures 11-16).
Regarding claim 2, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses receiving a user interaction from the user via the user interface indicating a particular product within the structured digital inventory; responsive to receiving the user interaction, automatically generating a set of secondary sale listings of the particular product on one or more secondary retail platforms; and adding an indication of the set of secondary sale listings of the particular product to the structured digital inventory (Montgomery: Figure 24 - allows users to sync their accounts with 3rd party resale sites such as eBay, paragraph [0112] - The user has multiple ways to cross-list, including posting multiple inventory items at once or setting up rules to automatically cross-list without logging into the platform).
Regarding claim 3, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses:
determining whether an existing image link mapping a particular product within the structured digital inventory to a product image depicting the particular product is inactive; and (Montgomery: paragraph [0171] - The system enhances digital inventory listings with additional details, such as product descriptions and images, by extracting information from multiple web pages and databases);
responsive to determining that the existing image link is inactive, retrieving a replacement image link corresponding to the one or more products, wherein the replacement image link is active, and wherein the replacement image link is different from the existing image lin (Montgomery: paragraph [0152] - Referring to FIG. 10, the product page on the third-party website from which the user purchased the item (e.g., silk top) matching their receipt may contain additional information not found on the receipt. For example, the product page for the item indicates “adjustable shoulder ties,” “center back zipper,” “hip length,” side rouching, “slim fitting,” and so on. This additional information may be pulled into and integrated with the user's digital listing on a website, e.g., Outset.com for this item in their digital closet).
Regarding claim 4, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses wherein the structured digital inventory is populated using one or more artificial intelligence (AI) models, wherein using the one or more AI models comprises transmitting a command set into a set of pre-trained AI models, wherein the command set is configured to cause the set of pre-trained AI models to identify information related to a set of predefined data fields within each unstructured purchase confirmations, and wherein the set of predefined data fields includes one or more of: a product identifier, a product description, a product category, a product size, a product brand, or a product price (Montgomery: paragraph [0057] - Other data points include top retailers, brands, and categories by inventory number and by spend, frequency of purchases, and more).
Regarding claim 5, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses wherein filtering the email data comprises: applying a set of cascading content filters to the email data by evaluating information within the email data in accordance with a predetermined sequence of content types to populate a set of information fields representing the extracted product information, wherein the set of cascading content filters proceed through a subsequent content type evaluated subsequent to a previous content type in the predetermined sequence of content types in response to determining that one or more information fields remain unfilled from the previous content type (Montgomery: paragraph [0082] - In this example embodiment, the email scraper may capture the following information from receipts: brand, retailer, date purchased, size purchased, product name, product picture, retail price, price paid, color purchased, description, order number, item SKU, or other information).
Regarding claim 6, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses generating a browser extension interface configured to display an overlay window on an online retail page associated with the one or more products within the structured digital inventory; and displaying an indication of a set of secondary sale listings of the one or more products through the overlay window (Montgomery: paragraph [0065] - For example, the browser software, according to an embodiment described herein, modifies the user interface when a user purchases or browses an online item by displaying a prompt (e.g., a pop-up notification or window), allowing the user to export data and metadata associated with that online item from the website displaying the online item to the user's Digital Personal Possession Portfolio).
Regarding claim 7, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses:
wherein displaying the structured digital inventory further comprises: displaying an estimated value of the one or more products within the structured digital inventory determined based on aggregate market data; (Montgomery: paragraph [0056] - This resale value may be calculated using multiple sources, including various web pages, purchasing and product data, and internal information collected on the platform);
displaying a combined value of the one or more products sold in association with the structured digital inventory; and (Montgomery: paragraph [0011] - Additionally, the systems offer features such as automated valuation of individual listings or the entire collection of possessions, paragraph [0050] - New Functions include valuation data so the user can see an estimated value of their portfolio of possessions and on third-party websites, including automatically cross-listing a product from the single digital inventory listing, based on the product and purchasing details and user-provided information, across one or more reseller sites);
displaying a resell button for the one or more products, wherein the resell button is configured to create a new secondary sale listing of the one or more products (Montgomery: Figure 11).
Regarding claim 8, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses receiving, via the user interface, a user request to search the email inbox; executing, in response to said receiving, the generated query language on the paired email server to identify new unstructured purchase confirmations; and updating the structured digital inventory with new entries corresponding to products identified in the new unstructured purchase confirmations (Montgomery: paragraph [0063] - In another embodiment, upon signup, the users' email account and database are paired, and a connection between the inbox and system database may be maintained. Updates in the inbox trigger the system database to extract purchasing details and trigger the software to pull additional data from multiple web pages and websites done in real-time or closet to real-time).
Regarding claim 9, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 1. Montgomery further discloses detecting, via the API, completion of a purchase transaction on a retail website associated with one or more entries in the structured digital inventory; executing, in response to said detecting, the set of query language on the paired email server to identify a purchase confirmation corresponding to the completed purchase transaction; and automatically adding a new entry to the structured digital inventory corresponding to a product identified in the purchase confirmation (Montgomery: paragraph [0063] - In another embodiment, upon signup, the users' email account and database are paired, and a connection between the inbox and system database may be maintained. Updates in the inbox trigger the system database to extract purchasing details and trigger the software to pull additional data from multiple web pages and websites done in real-time or closet to real-time).
Regarding claim 17, Montgomery discloses A computer-implemented method of automatically generating a personalized digital inventory of based on email receipts, the method comprising:
pairing an application programming interface (API) with a web browser that monitors user interactions with retail websites; pairing the API with an email server associated with an email inbox associated with a user, wherein said pairing enables access by the API to email data from the email inbox when the email inbox is open in the web browser; (Montgomery: paragraph [0065] - The functionality for automatically tracking consumer purchases, aggregating detailed information from multiple web and database sources, and transforming the data into a personalized digital inventory listing that can be used for multiple new purposes disclosed herein may be generated by email pairing or browser software (e.g., a browser extension) that may be authored for a particular web browser);
automatically filtering the email data by (1) generating a set of query language configured to be executed on the paired email server using the API and (2) executing the generated query language on the paired email server when the email inbox is open to identify a set of unstructured purchase confirmations of a plurality of products; (Montgomery: paragraph [0079] - The data may be captured or received in real-time, or the data sources may be polled periodically during a periodic data-gathering process);
extracting product information from each unstructured purchase confirmation based on patterns within the unstructured purchase confirmation that correspond to one or more products of the plurality of products, wherein the extracted product information characterizes the one or more products of the plurality of products; and (Montgomery: Figure 8);
displaying, on a user interface, a structured digital inventory corresponding to the user, the structured digital inventory populated with entries indicating, for each unstructured purchase confirmation, (1) the one or more products and (2) corresponding extracted product information of the one or more products (Montgomery: Figures 11-16).
Regarding claim 18, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 17. Montgomery further discloses:
wherein each product of the plurality of products is an apparel item, and wherein the product information include at least one of: an identification number, a product description, a product category, a brand name, a size, a price, a style, a material, or a color (Montgomery: paragraph [0057] - Examples of analytics and graphs include total investment on possessions in their closet (handbags, apparel, and shoes), spending by category, color analysis by products and categories, spending by color, number of inventory items by categories, number of items by attributes such as color, pattern, style, season, and the like. Other data points include top retailers, brands, and categories by inventory number and by spend, frequency of purchases, and more);
extracting textual information from images of physical receipts within the set of email data; using the textual information to identify a set of matching products sharing the textual information; presenting the set of matching products via the user interface; and responsive to user interaction on the user interface indicating the set of matching products, adding the product information of the set of matching products to the structured digital inventory (Montgomery: paragraph [0152] - Referring to FIG. 10, the product page on the third-party website from which the user purchased the item (e.g., silk top) matching their receipt may contain additional information not found on the receipt. For example, the product page for the item indicates “adjustable shoulder ties,” “center back zipper,” “hip length,” side rouching, “slim fitting,” and so on. This additional information may be pulled into and integrated with the user's digital listing on a website, e.g., Outset.com for this item in their digital closet).
Regarding claim 19, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 17. Montgomery further discloses extracting textual information from images of physical receipts within the set of email data; using the textual information to identify a set of matching products sharing the textual information; presenting the set of matching products via the user interface; and responsive to user interaction on the user interface indicating the set of matching products, adding the product information of the set of matching products to the structured digital inventory (Montgomery: paragraph [0152] - Referring to FIG. 10, the product page on the third-party website from which the user purchased the item (e.g., silk top) matching their receipt may contain additional information not found on the receipt. For example, the product page for the item indicates “adjustable shoulder ties,” “center back zipper,” “hip length,” side rouching, “slim fitting,” and so on. This additional information may be pulled into and integrated with the user's digital listing on a website, e.g., Outset.com for this item in their digital closet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (US 2024/0370821 A1) in view of Laue (US 2025/020063 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Montgomery discloses all of the limitations as noted above in claim 17. Montgomery does not expressly disclose determining whether a product in the structured digital inventory is associated with an affiliate link of an available merchant; and responsive to determining that the product is associated with the affiliate link, automatically generating affiliate commissions through the affiliate link for sales associated with the product purchased in association with the structured digital inventory. Laue discloses determining whether a product in the structured digital inventory is associated with an affiliate link of an available merchant; and responsive to determining that the product is associated with the affiliate link, automatically generating affiliate commissions through the affiliate link for sales associated with the product purchased in association with the structured digital inventory (Laue: paragraph [0030] - In an affiliate-seller agreement, an affiliate seller or vendor promotes products or services that are provided by a different company or vendor. Thus, in e-commerce, an affiliate seller or vendor typically earns a commission for each sale or lead that is generated through an affiliate link, where the affiliate link is provided to an online customer by the affiliate seller or vendor, for example via a website, email, or other electronic means).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and apparatus of Montgomery to have included determining whether a product in the structured digital inventory is associated with an affiliate link of an available merchant; and responsive to determining that the product is associated with the affiliate link, automatically generating affiliate commissions through the affiliate link for sales associated with the product purchased in association with the structured digital inventory, as taught by Laue because allow resellers to expand customer base and reduce online retailer/vendor fees (Laue: paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PTO-892 Reference U discloses Applications of Machine Learning Techniques to Resale Based e-Commerce Websites.
US 2022/0277370 A1, Schubert et al discloses Inventory Ingestion and Pricing System.
US 9,965,791 B1, Baxter et al discloses Systems, apparatuses, and methods for extracting inventory from unstructured electronic messages.
KATHLEEN GAGE DAVISON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/KATHLEEN DAVISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688