Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20230010194 A1, and Chen ‘194 hereinafter) in view of Chou et al. (US 20080239658 A1, and Chou hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen ‘194 discloses a remote release module, comprising:
a button (136, fig. 6);
a moving member (131, fig. 6), linked with the button (fig. 6), and comprising a first driving portion (right end of 131, fig. 6);
a rotating shaft (121, figs. 4-5), comprising a second driving portion (122, fig. 5) and at least one third driving portion protruding from a peripheral side (120, fig. 5), the second driving portion linked with the first driving portion (figs. 4-5).
Chen ‘194 does not explicitly disclose at least one hook, disposed beside the at least one third driving portion, wherein when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the at least one third driving portion to drive the at least one hook to retract.
Chou discloses a release mechanism comprising at least one hook (120, fig. 4), disposed beside the at least one third driving portion (annotated figure I below), wherein
when pressing a button (180, fig. 4), the moving member is driven (figs. 3-5), a first driving portion (bottom end portion of 180, fig. 4) drives a second driving portion (portion of 170 that contacts 180, fig. 4), causing a rotating shaft (160, fig. 4) to rotate (figs. 3-5), thereby causing at least one third driving portion (potion of 170 that abuts 121, fig. 4) to drive the at least one hook to retract (figs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 to incorporate the teachings of Chou so that it comprises at least one hook, disposed beside the at least one third driving portion, wherein when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the at least one third driving portion to drive the at least one hook to retract, in order allow for a linear engaging/release mechanism that incorporates bias (hook 120 is biased with spring 130, fig. 4 of Chou). This modification could be implemented substituting the rotating release structure 120 of Chen ‘194 (fig. 4) by that of Chou (including 170, hook 120, spring 130, as well as support structure around 120 and 130, which would be integrated to the base of Chen ‘194 that supports the release structure).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a first base (structure on which 120 is supported/pivoted, fig. 7 of Chen ‘194), wherein the rotating shaft is pivotally disposed at the first base (figs. 6-7 of Chen ‘194) but does not explicitly disclose the first base comprises at least one first track, the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track.
Chou further discloses a first base (110, fig. 2) comprises at least one first track (annotated figure I below, sidewalls enclosing hook 120), the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 to incorporate the teachings of Chou so that the first base comprises at least one first track, the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track, in order to facilitate alignment and guiding the hook
during its motion.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first base comprises at least one second track (annotated figure I above), in communication with the at least one first track (annotated figure I above), the at least one hook moves along the at least one second track (fig. 1 of Chou; see also rejection of claim 1 above, first and second track are sidewalls that contain and guide the motion of the hook).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 2, further comprising at least one first elastic member (Chen ‘194 as modified, incorporates 130, fig. 2 of Chou), disposed between the first base and the at least one hook (Chen ‘194 as modified incorporates support structure for 130 shown in fig. 2 of Chou, e.g., vertical sidewall supporting right end of 130).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the at least one third driving portion comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side, the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions, when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously.
Chou further discloses one third driving portion (potion of 170 that abuts 121, fig. 2) comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side (fig. 2 in view of fig. 1; fig. 1 shows two instances of hook 120, and thus corresponding instances of identical third driving portion would necessarily be required to drive them. See also rejection of claim 1 above), the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, (fig. 1) the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions (“170 can be used for driving the hooks 120 and the ejectors 140 to move”, [0028]), when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously (figs. 2-5 in view of fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 to incorporate the teachings of Chou so that the at least one third driving portion comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side, the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions, when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously, in order to provide plural engagement locations allowing a more reliable retention. A person of ordinary skill would recognize this modification would be equivalent to a mere duplication of parts. Duplication of parts has been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.04, VI, B).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen ‘194/Chou discloses a circuit board device, comprising:
a circuit board body (110, fig. 1 of Chen ‘194);
at least one connector socket (112, fig. 1 of Chen ‘194), disposed on the circuit board body (fig. 1 of Chen ‘194); and
a remote release module as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the at least one hook is driven by the button, so as to retract away from the at least one connector socket (Chen ‘194 as modified by Chou incorporates hook 120 shown in figs. 3-4 Chou, that retracts in a direction consistent with the rotation of 170 (compare to figs. 4-5 of Chen ‘194) and away from connector socket).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the remote release module further comprises a first base (structure on which 120 is supported/pivoted, fig. 7 of Chen ‘194), the rotating shaft is pivotally disposed at the first base (figs. 6-7 of Chen ‘194) but does not explicitly disclose the first base comprises at least one first track, the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track.
Chou further discloses a first base (110, fig. 2) comprises at least one first track (annotated figure I above, sidewalls enclosing hook 120), the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 to incorporate the teachings of Chou so that the first base comprises at least one first track, the at least one hook moves along the at least one first track, in order to facilitate alignment and guiding the hook during its motion.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first base comprises at least one second track (annotated figure I above), in communication with the at least one first track (annotated figure I above), the at least one hook moves along the at least one second track (fig. 1 of Chou; see also rejection of claim 1 above, first and second track are sidewalls that contain and guide the motion of the hook).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the remote release module further comprises at least one first elastic member (Chen ‘194 as modified, incorporates 130, fig. 2 of Chou), disposed between the first base and the at least one hook (Chen ‘194 as modified incorporates support structure for 130 shown in fig. 2 of Chou, e.g., vertical sidewall supporting right end of 130).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose the at least one third driving portion comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side, the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions, when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously.
Chou further discloses one third driving portion (potion of 170 that abuts 121, fig. 2) comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side (fig. 2 in view of fig. 1; fig. 1 shows two instances of hook 120, and thus corresponding instances of identical third driving portion would necessarily be required to drive them. See also rejection of claim 1 above), the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, (fig. 1) the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions (“170 can be used for driving the hooks 120 and the ejectors 140 to move”, [0028]), when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously (figs. 2-5 in view of fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 to incorporate the teachings of Chou so that the at least one third driving portion comprises a plurality of third driving portions, the third driving portions extend in parallel from the peripheral side, the at least one hook comprises a plurality of hooks, the hooks are respectively disposed beside the third driving portions, when pressing the button, the moving member is driven, the first driving portion drives the second driving portion, causing the rotating shaft to rotate, thereby causing the third driving portions to drive the hooks to retract simultaneously, in order to provide plural engagement locations allowing a more reliable retention. A person of ordinary skill would recognize this modification would be equivalent to a mere duplication of parts. Duplication of parts has been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.04, VI, B).
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ‘194 in view of Chou, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20230251695 A1, and Chen ‘695 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second base (140a, fig. 8 of Chen ‘194), wherein the button is pressably disposed at the second base (“button 136 movably disposed at a base body 140 a”, [0037] of Chen ‘194) but does not explicitly disclose the second base comprises a third track, the moving member comprises a protrusion, slidably disposed in the third track.
Chen ‘695 discloses a second base (including 131 and 132, fig. 4) comprises a third track (portion of 131 and 132 accommodating protrusion of 141, figs. 4 and 11), the moving member comprises a protrusion (portion of 141 that protrudes through sidewall of 131 and 132, figs. 4 and 11), slidably disposed in the third track (figs. 4 and 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the second base comprises a third track, the moving member comprises a protrusion, slidably disposed in the third track, in order to guide and limit the linear motion of the moving portion. This modification would require to also substitute the moving element of Chen ‘194 by that of Chen ‘695, which has the same functional role of transmitting the movement of the button in a different direction and to a different location at the end of the moving element.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen ‘194/Chou/Chen ‘695 discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 7, wherein the second base comprises a first section (portion of 140a that is parallel to the left edge of the board 110, fig. 6 of Chen ‘194) and a second section connected in a bent manner (portion of 140a that is parallel to 115, fig. 6 of Chen ‘194), the button is pressably disposed at the first section (figs. 6 and 10 of Chen ‘194), the third track is located at the second section (Chen ‘194 as modified by Chen ‘695 incorporates third track located at second section. See figs. 4 and 11 and Chen ‘695 and rejection of claim 7 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the button comprises a first inclined surface, the moving member comprises a second inclined surface leaned on the first inclined surface.
Chen ‘695 discloses a button (134, fig. 4) comprises a first inclined surface (135, fig. 4), a moving member (140, fig. 4) comprises a second inclined surface (134, fig. 4) leaned on the first inclined surface (fig. 4; “When the button is pressed along the third direction D3, the second inclined surface 135 cooperates with the third inclined surface 143”, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the button comprises a first inclined surface, the moving member comprises a second inclined surface leaned on the first inclined surface, in order to provide a greater contact area to transmit the force on the button to the moving element. This modification would require to also substitute the moving element of Chen ‘194 by that of Chen ‘695, which has the same functional role of transmitting the movement of the button in a different direction and to a different location at the end of the moving element.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the remote release module further comprises a second base (140a, fig. 8 of Chen ‘194), wherein the button is pressably disposed at the second base (“button 136 movably disposed at a base body 140 a”, [0037] of Chen ‘194) but does not explicitly disclose the second base comprises a third track, the moving member comprises a protrusion, slidably disposed in the third track.
Chen ‘695 discloses a second base (including 131 and 132, fig. 4) comprises a third track (portion of 131 and 132 accommodating protrusion of 141, figs. 4 and 11), the moving member comprises a protrusion (portion of 141 that protrudes through sidewall of 131 and 132, figs. 4 and 11), slidably disposed in the third track (figs. 4 and 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the second base comprises a third track, the moving member comprises a protrusion, slidably disposed in the third track, in order to guide and limit the linear motion of the moving portion. This modification would require to also substitute the moving element of Chen ‘194 by that of Chen ‘695, which has the same functional role of transmitting the movement of the button in a different direction and to a different location at the end of the moving element.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 17, wherein the second base comprises a first section (portion of 140a that is parallel to the left edge of the board 110, fig. 6 of Chen ‘194) and a second section connected in a bent manner (portion of 140a that is parallel to 115, fig. 6 of Chen ‘194), the button is pressably disposed at the first section (figs. 6 and 10 of Chen ‘194), the third track is located at the second section (Chen ‘194 as modified by Chen ‘695 incorporates third track located at second section. See figs. 4 and 11 and Chen ‘695 and rejection of claim 17 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose the button comprises a first inclined surface, the moving member comprises a second inclined surface leaned on the first inclined surface.
Chen ‘695 discloses a button (134, fig. 4) comprises a first inclined surface (135, fig. 4), a moving member (140, fig. 4) comprises a second inclined surface (134, fig. 4) leaned on the first inclined surface (fig. 4; “When the button is pressed along the third direction D3, the second inclined surface 135 cooperates with the third inclined surface 143”, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the button comprises a first inclined surface, the moving member comprises a second inclined surface leaned on the first inclined surface, in order to provide a greater contact area to transmit the force on the button to the moving element. This modification would require to also substitute the moving element of Chen ‘194 by that of Chen ‘695, which has the same functional role of transmitting the movement of the button in a different direction and to a different location at the end of the moving element.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ‘194 in view of Chou and Chen ‘695, further in view of Alexander et al. (US 20140339834 A1, and Alexander hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen ‘194/Chou discloses the remote release module as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the button is a push-push button, when pressing the button, one end of a second elastic member slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button, so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position.
Chen ‘695 discloses a button (134, fig. 2) is a push-push button (“the forcing part 134 is a push-push mechanism”, [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the button is a push-push button, in order to simplify operation for the user.
Alexander discloses a push-push mechanism when pressing a button (including 16 and 18, fig. 11A), one end (33,41, fig. 11A) of a second elastic member (“cam spring” 40, fig. 11A) slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button (32, figs. 11A), so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position (fig. 11B; “Interaction between the pin member 33 and guide ridges (not shown) in the bottom of the cam-track 32 guide the pin member 33 through the closed course 34. In other words, the pin member 33 gets stuck in a portion of the cam-track 32 … When the SMA actuator 20 contracts in an actuated state… pin member 33 into the guide ridges (not shown) to engage the entire closed course 34 of the cam-track 32”, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194, Chou, and Chen ‘695 to incorporate the teachings of Alexander so that when pressing the button, one end of a second elastic member slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button, so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position, in order to provide an operational mechanism that is functionally similar to commercially available push-push buttons.
Regarding Claim 20, Chen ‘194 /Chou discloses the circuit board device as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose the button is a push-push button, when pressing the button, one end of a second elastic member slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button, so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position.
Chen ‘695 discloses a button (134, fig. 2) is a push-push button (“the forcing part 134 is a push-push mechanism”, [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194 and Chou to incorporate the teachings of Chen ‘695 so that the button is a push-push button, in order to simplify operation for the user.
Alexander discloses a push-push mechanism when pressing a button (including 16 and 18, fig. 11A), one end (33,41, fig. 11A) of a second elastic member (“cam spring” 40, fig. 11A) slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button (32, figs. 11A), so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position (fig. 11B; “Interaction between the pin member 33 and guide ridges (not shown) in the bottom of the cam-track 32 guide the pin member 33 through the closed course 34. In other words, the pin member 33 gets stuck in a portion of the cam-track 32 … When the SMA actuator 20 contracts in an actuated state… pin member 33 into the guide ridges (not shown) to engage the entire closed course 34 of the cam-track 32”, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen ‘194, Chou, and Chen ‘695 to incorporate the teachings of Alexander so that when pressing the button, one end of a second elastic member slides along a groove structure on a wall surface of the button, so that the button stays at a lower position or an upper position, in order to provide an operational mechanism that is functionally similar to commercially available push-push buttons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “a projection of the blocking portion projected onto the end surface is located between a projection of the second driving portion projected onto the end surface and a projection of the at least one third driving portion projected onto the end surface”. Chou (US 7817414 B2), Huang (US 20170344062 A1), Wright (US 5629836 A), Angelucci (US 8854818 B1), Takagi (US 11693294 B2), Wang (US 20130322832 A1), Lewis (US 20210364021 A1), Lee (US 20100214749 A1), and Yu (US 20200253078 A1) are also as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a button, a moving member, a rotating shaft, and/or a hook. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
For instance, Chou discloses a releases mechanism comprising a button (180, fig. 5), a moving member (portion of 170 to the right of 160, fig. 5) comprising a second driving portion (portion of 170 that is in direct contact with 180, fig. 5) and a third driving portion (portion of 170 that is in direct contact with 121, fig. 5), a hook (120, fig. 5), and a rotating shaft (160, fig. 5), wherein the rotating shaft comprises an end (side) surface and a blocking portion protruding from the peripheral side (portion of 170 to the left of 170, fig. 5); however Chou lacks a projection of the blocking portion projected onto the end surface is located between a projection of the second driving portion projected onto the end surface and a projection of the at least one third driving portion projected onto the end surface.
Huang discloses a moving member (610, fig. 5), a rotating shaft (640, fig. 5) comprising a second driving portion (650, fig. 5), a third driving portion (660, fig. 5), and an end (side) surface; however Huang lacks a blocking portion protruding from the peripheral side, a projection of the blocking portion projected onto the end surface is located between a projection of the second driving portion projected onto the end surface and a projection of the at least one third driving portion projected onto the end surface. The additional references cited above, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841