DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19073051 filed on 03/07/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application Continuation of PCT/CN2024/138504 , filed 12/11/2024.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Specifically, the title is directed towards a lens driving device, but the invention and the claims are solely directed towards a device that is driving a circuit board with imaging sensor for imaging stabilization in a camera , not towards optical imaging stabilization in which an actual lens is driven by the driving device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is directed toward as “A lens driving device” as recited in line 1. However, this limitation is confusing because there are no other limitations in the claim that further describe an actual lens being driven by any device or structures. Specifically, while no lens driving mechanism or driving structure is recited, the claim limitations describe structures with a fixed case with a magnet assembly fixed to the case, an elastic bracket fixed in the case, and a circuit board with driving coil stacked and fixed to the circuit and an image sensor fixed to the circuit board, with the coil having first and second coil set, where the first coil set works together with the first magnet unit to drive the circuit board assembly to move along a first direction, and the second coil set works together with the second magnet unit to drive the circuit board assembly to move along a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being perpendicular to each other and both perpendicular to the optical axis direction. In such arrangement the circuit board is driven and moved along the place of two perpendicular directions, but there is no lens or other optical refractive element being driven by the driving device. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issue.
Claims 2-13 depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 20240205544 A1
In regard to independent claim 1, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) a lens driving device (as camera device 10 and optical instrument as lens 400, AF moving unit 100 and image sensor unit 350, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [05-21, 69-76, 146-156,160-174,274-287, 295-304], e.g. Figs. 1-4,9-17]), comprising:
a case (fixed unit with as cover 300, housing 140, and base 210 with second board unit 800, paragraphs [69-76, 146-156], Figs. 1-4,9-10);
an elastic bracket fixed in the case (elastic member support board 310, 310A,310B, fixed to 800 and base 210, paragraphs [146-153, 231-236,257,248-249], e.g. Figs. 9-10, 15-16);
a circuit board assembly supported at the elastic bracket (i.e. circuit board unit 255 with circuit boards 250, 260 supported by 310, paragraphs [146-153, 160-174,178-185], e.g. Figs. 9-10, 12,15-16);
a driving coil stacked and fixed to the circuit board assembly and electrically connected to the circuit board assembly (coil(s) 230 on, electrically connected to 255, paragraphs [146-150,174, 186-194], e.g. Figs. 9-11,15-17);
a magnet assembly fixed to the case (magnet 130 in housing 140 and cover 300 of case, paragraphs [107,114-119,149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17); and
an image sensor fixed to the circuit board assembly (image sensor 810 fixed to 255, 260, paragraphs [73-74,84,146,149,161,173,183,276-278], Figs. 4, 10-12),
wherein the case is provided with an opening penetrating therethrough along an optical axis direction of the image sensor (i.e. as bore 303 of case 300 penetrating along optical OA Z-axis to 810, paragraphs [282, 146-153], Figs. 1,3-4), the driving coil is arranged at a corner position of the circuit board assembly (coil(s) 230 at corner(s) on 255, paragraphs [189,146-150,174, 186-194], e.g. Figs. 9-11,15-17), and the driving coil is spaced from the magnet assembly (i.e. as 230 is spaced from and facing magnet assembly, paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17); and
wherein the driving coil comprises a first coil set (e.g. 230-1, 230-3, e.g. paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4,16-17) and a second coil set spaced from each other (e.g. 230-2, 230-4, e.g. paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4,16-17), the first coil set is arranged along a diagonal line of the circuit board assembly (e.g. 230-1, 230-3 arranged along one diagonal of 255 , e.g. paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4,16-17), and the second coil set is arranged along another diagonal line of the circuit board assembly (e.g. 230-2, 230-4 arranged along other diagonal of 255 , e.g. paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4,16-17);
the magnet assembly comprises a first magnet unit spaced from the first coil set (e.g. magnets 103-1, 130-3, spaced from 230-1, 230-3, paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17) and a second magnet unit spaced from the second coil set (e.g. magnets 130-2, 130-4, spaced from 230-2, 230-4, paragraphs [149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17); and
the first coil set works together with the first magnet unit to drive the circuit board assembly to move along a first direction (i.e. as 103-1, 130-3, with 230-1, 230-3 moves 255 along 1st e.g. y-axis direction, paragraphs [297, 149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17), and the second coil set works together with the second magnet unit to drive the circuit board assembly to move along a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being perpendicular to each other and both perpendicular to the optical axis direction (i.e. as 103-1, 130-3, with 230-1, 230-3 moves 255 along 2st direction e.g. x-axis direction, which is perpendicular to y-axis direction and both x- and y-axis directions are perpendicular to OA optical axis z-axis direction , see e.g. paragraphs [295, 149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303,66], Figs. 4-5,17).
But Park is silent that first magnet unit is the first magnet unit is a Halbach magnetic circuit (as magnet(s) 130, e.g. 103-1, 130-3 can be magnetized magnet, a bipolar-magnetized magnet or a 4-pole magnet, which includes two N poles and two S poles, but Park does not specify that the multi-polar magnet includes Halbach magnetic circuit magnetic arrangement, paragraphs [117-119, 149,152,186-188,209-211,290-303], Figs. 4-5,17).
However, Mao teaches in related field of invention of a vibration magnet-coil motor for portable mobile equipment (see Figs. 5-7, abstract, paragraphs [14-21,23-32]) and further teaches that first magnet unit is the first magnet unit is a Halbach magnetic circuit (i.e. as magnet set 222 includes Halbach magnetic circuit of magnets 2221-2225 arranged in Halbach array magnetic circuit, increasing magnetic lines penetrating through voice coil and increasing electromagnetic driving force, paragraphs [23-32]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement the multipolar magnet unit (130, 130-1, 130-3) of Park into Halbach magnetic circuit array according to teachings of Mao in order to achieve increase of magnetic lines penetrating through voice coils and increased electromagnetic driving force, paragraphs [23-32]).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) further comprising a first magnetic conductive sheet, wherein the first magnetic conductive sheet is stacked and fixed to a side of the magnet assembly away from the driving coil (i.e. as conductive member 150, 150-1,150-2 with outer frame(s) 152, on side of magnets 130-1-4 away from coil(s) 230, paragraphs [113,135-142,234], where conductive elastic members of metal are magnetic, e.g. Figs. 5,7-8); and the case is provided with an aperture penetrating therethrough, and the first magnetic conductive sheet is arranged in the aperture (i.e. as housing 140 of case has aperture and 150 is arranged in the aperture of 140, as depicted in Figs. 5,7-8, paragraphs [113,135-142,234]).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) further comprising a second magnetic conductive sheet that is fixed to the case (i.e. as conductive elastic member 30A, 30B connected via conductive 31A,B to support board 310 and base 210, paragraphs [234,248-249, 146, 233], Figs. 10, 15-16], where elastic members of metal are magnetic) wherein the second magnetic conductive sheet is arranged at a side of the driving coil away from the magnet assembly, and the second magnetic conductive sheet is opposite to the magnet assembly (i.e. as 30A,B is on side of 230 away from 130, and opposite from 120, as depicted in Figs. 4,10, 15-17, paragraphs [248-249, 146, 233).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) that the elastic bracket comprises a first fixation portion fixed to the case, a second fixation portion fixed to the circuit board assembly, and a connection portion connecting the first fixation portion and the second fixation portion (i.e. as 310 with 310B has support board portion(s) 310-1, 310-2 with terminals 311 connected to second board unit 800 on base 210, and has portions 320A,B fixed to circuit board 255, with the connection portion in-between as depicted in e.g. Figs. 15A,B, paragraphs [233-244,253-257]).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) that the circuit board assembly comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board stacked to the first circuit board (i.e. as 255 has 260 and 250/270 circuit boards, paragraphs [146-153, 160-174,178-185], e.g. Figs. 9-10, 12,15-16), the driving coil is fixedly connected to the second circuit board (as 230 is fixedly connected to 270 and 250 , paragraphs [146-153, 160, 174]), and the first circuit board and the second circuit board are soldered for fixation (as 260 and 250 are coupled by means of solder, paragraphs [186-185], Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) further comprising a vibration damping member fixed to a surface of the circuit board assembly away from the magnet assembly (i.e. as protruding portion(s) 4A, - 4D, on surface of 270, 250 away from magnet(s)130, paragraphs [251-252]).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) further comprising an anti-collision block fixed to each side surface of the circuit board assembly (i.e. as holder 270 with 4A-4D blocks on each side of 255, 250, paragraphs [156-166], Figs. 10, 14-16), wherein the second fixation portion of the elastic bracket is fixedly connected to the anti-collision block (i.e. as 270 with 250/255 is connected to 310 with 310B, paragraphs [155-166,233-244,253-257]).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-20) further comprising a connection member for connecting adjacent anti-collision blocks (i.e. as connection portions e.g. on sides 42C connecting each of 4A through 4D bocks, Figs. 14-15, paragraphs [155-166251-252]).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103 would be improper. Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art of Park teaches that first coil set comprises first coil and second coil (i.e. as coils 230-1, 230-3).
However, regarding claim 2, the prior art of Park alone or in combination with cited prior art of Mao or any other prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest such a device including the specific arrangement where the first coil and the second coil that are fixed to the circuit board assembly and arranged side by side along the first direction; wherein the first magnet unit comprises a first magnet, a second magnet, a third magnet, a fourth magnet, a fifth magnet and a sixth magnet that are fixed to the case and arranged side by side along the first direction; and wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are opposite to the first coil; and the fourth magnet, the fifth magnet and the sixth magnet are opposite to the second coil, and in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 2 and base claim 1.
With respect to claims 3-6, these claims depend on claim 2 and are objected to at least for the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park US 20230171498 A1 also discloses features of instant invention (see e.g. Figs. 9-17 and their descriptions).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872