DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the stannous chloride hydrate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner recommends deleting “the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strand et al. (US 2010/0310614 A1).
Strand et al. teach throughout a composition comprising stannous chloride and silicon dioxide (i.e., silica), wherein the composition improves the flowability of particulate stannous chloride (Abstract; Claims).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6 and 8, Strand et al. teach a particulate, solid composition comprising a) a particulate source of stannous chloride, and b) silica, wherein the source of stannous chloride is either stannous chloride dihydrate or stannous chloride anhydrous (Claims 1-2). Strand et al. teach that the silica is mixed with the stannous chloride within the range of 0.5-5% by weight silica admixed (Claim 4).
Regarding the anhydrous stannous chloride and the stannous chloride hydrate are present in a weight ratio of about 5:95 to about 81:19; or about 30:70, Strand et al. do not explicitly disclose the combination of stannous chloride anhydrous and stannous chloride dihydrate, nor the combination within the instantly claimed weight ratios.
However, Strand et al. teach that the stannous chloride is either stannous chloride anhydrous or stannous chloride dihydrate ([0014]-[0016]; Claim 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Strand et al. wherein the stannous chloride comprises a mixture of stannous chloride anhydrous and stannous chloride dihydrate.
Such would have been obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary because it is generally prima facie obvious to use in combination two or more ingredients that have previously been used separately for the same purpose to form a third composition useful for that same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been taught individually in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 646, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the water is present in an amount of about 1 to about 10 weight percent, about 2 to about 8 weight percent, or about 4 to about 8 weight percent, based on the total weight of the stannous chloride composition; Strand et al. teach that stannous (II) chloride can be maintained in a free flowing condition when admixed with silica with minimal activity loss in the activity of the stannous chloride due to the small amounts of silica utilised and the low water activity which inhibits stannous ion transfer to the silica ([0015]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to determine through routine experimentation the workable concentration range of water in the stannous chloride compositions in order to maintain a free-flowing composition, as suggested by Strand et al.
Regarding the stannous chloride composition has a dump angle of from about 20 to about 80 degrees, or about 35 to about 65 degrees, Strand et al. do not explicitly disclose the dump angle of the stannous chloride composition.
However, Strand et al. teach it has been found that stannous chloride dihydrate can be maintained in a free flowing condition when admixed with silica dioxide with minimal loss in the activity of the stannous chloride due to the small amounts of silica utilised and the low water activity which inhibits stannous ion transfer to the silica ([0006], [0010], [0015]; Claim 9). The instant specification states that the terminology “flowable” typically describes that the stannous chloride composition has a tipping angle or dump angle of from about 20 to about 80 degrees.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to maintain the flowability of the stannous chloride compositions according to Strand et al., and to determine through routine optimization the optimum dump angle for the composition.
Regarding claims 2, Strand et al. teach that stannous (II) chloride can be maintained in a free-flowing condition when admixed with silica with minimal activity loss in the activity of the stannous chloride due to the small amounts of silica utilised and the low water activity which inhibits stannous ion transfer to the silica ([0015]).
Regarding claims 7, Strand et al. teach the stannous chloride hydrate comprises stannous chloride dihydrate. The instant specification states that the terminology “stannous chloride hydrate” may be a term that encompasses both the dihydrate and distannous tetrachloride tri-hydrate (Sn2Cl4·3H2O) or only the dihydrate. Therefore, the stannous chloride hydrate according to Strand et al. encompasses both the dihydrate and the distannous tetrachloride tri-hydrate.
Regarding claim 9, Strand et al. teach that the composition further comprises one or more oral care agents selected from a source of fluoride ions, an additional dental abrasive, a flavour, a humectant, one or more chelants and mixtures thereof, and the composition is a toothpaste ([0018]-[0032]; Claims 7-8).
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strand et al. (US 2010/0310614 A1) in view of Hyatt (US 3,816,602).
The teachings of Strand et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claim 10, Strand et al. teach a particulate, solid composition comprising a) a particulate source of stannous chloride, and b) silica, wherein the source of stannous chloride is either stannous chloride dihydrate or stannous chloride anhydrous (Claims 1-2). Strand et al. do not explicitly disclose a method comprising drying stannous chloride hydrate under vacuum to a water content of from about 1 to about 10 weight percent, as instantly claimed.
Hyatt teaches that stannous chloride dihydrate may be readily converted to anhydrous stannous chloride by removing the water of crystallization by evaporation under vacuum or other conventional drying procedures (col. 3, ln. 1-4; Claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare a composition according to Strand et al. wherein the composition comprises stannous chloride hydrate and stannous chloride anhydrous, and the stannous chloride anhydrous is prepared by drying the stannous chloride hydrate under vacuum, as reasonably suggested by Hyatt. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to dry the stannous chloride hydrate until the composition comprises a sufficient amount of stannous chloride anhydrous and the composition improves the flowability of particulate stannous chloride, as suggested by Strand et al.
Regarding claim 14, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine experimentation the optimum temperature to dry the stannous chloride hydrate to get stannous chloride anhydrous according to Hyatt.
Claims 11-13 and 15-17 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above for claims 2-5 and 7-8.
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/MONICA A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616