DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901).
Regarding claims 1 and 11
Ryu et al. shows the circuit system disposed in a display device, and method for displaying a casted content on a split window (taken to be mirroring data or screen sharing, see para. 0083 and 0099 and Fig. 4), which is performed in a circuit system of a display device, comprising:
receiving an image from a user device when the display device is operated under a multi-window display mode (see Fig. 8 and 9, steps 801 and 901, and para. 0132 and 0142);
obtaining an active region of the image (taken to be determining the posture, direction and size of the multimedia content of the first display to be displayed on the second display area, see para. 0133-0134 and 0144-0146); and
extracting an active region image from the image (taken to be the display area of the second display, see para. 0144-0146), and displaying the active region image in one of split windows of the display device after a display ratio of the active region image is adjusted (taken to be adjusting or changing the aspect ratio of the multimedia content based on the posture and direction of the content, or adjusting or removing the black bar area, see Fig. 9, steps 905-909, and para. 0100, 0107, 0133-0134 and 0154).
Regarding claim 2
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein the active region image extracted from the image is a portrait-orientation image or a landscape- orientation image (see para. 0134 and 0155).
Regarding claim 3
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein the user device is a handheld device that provides a portrait display mode and a landscape display mode (taken to be a smartphone, see Figs 3-6, and para. 0056), and the user device transmits the portrait-orientation image or the landscape-orientation image to the display device by an image-casting technology (taken to be mirroring, screen sharing or streaming data, see para. 0135-0136).
Regarding claim 4
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein the image to be casted by the user device is determined to be the portrait-orientation image or the landscape-orientation image according to a difference or a ratio between a width and a height of the active region (taken to be the aspect ratio, size, posture and display direction of the multimedia content, see para. 0133-0134).
Regarding claim 5
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein, when the active region is determined as the landscape-orientation image, one or more inactive regions are cropped based on information of the active region image (take to be zooming in or out the multimedia content based on the posture of the content, which include landscape orientation, see para. 0099, 0134 and 0154).
Regarding claim 13
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein a quantity of the split windows provided by the display device in the multi-window display mode is at least two (see for example Fig. 4, split windows areas 402 and 403, taken to be at least 2), and the at least two split windows display a screen received from an image source and the active region image, respectively (see Fig. 4 the movement or adjustment of the split windows based on the orientation or posture of the display devices).
Regarding claim 14
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein the circuit system embodies an image-processing device connected with the display device for receiving the image casted from the user device by an image-casting technology (taken to be mirroring, screen sharing or streaming data, see para. 0135-0136).
Regarding claim 15
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein the user device is a handheld device that is capable of operating a portrait display mode and a landscape display mode (taken to be a smartphone, see Figs 3-6, and para. 0056);
wherein, when the user device operates the portrait display mode, a portrait-orientation image is transmitted to the display device by the image-casting technology (taken to be mirroring, screen sharing or streaming data based on posture of the multimedia content and display device, which include portrait display mode, see para. 0135-0136).
Regarding claim 16
Ryu et al. further shows, wherein, when the active region is determined as the landscape-orientation image, one or more inactive regions are cropped based on information of the active region image (take to be zooming in or out the multimedia content based on the posture of the content, which include landscape, see para. 0099, 0134 and 0154).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 12 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 6 and 7
The prior art of record, Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the method for displaying a casted content on a split window, which is performed in a circuit system of a display device, as recited in claim 4, having the further limitations which include:
wherein, when the active region is determined as the portrait-orientation image, an edge-finding process is used to obtain the active region and one or more inactive regions, and the one or more inactive regions are cropped from the image, as recited in claims 6 and 7.
Further, even though Ryu et al. shows the invention as claimed, as discussed above in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 6 and 7, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Ryu et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 6 and 7.
Regarding claims 8-10
The prior art of record, Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the method for displaying a casted content on a split window, which is performed in a circuit system of a display device, as recited in claim 4, having the further limitations which include:
wherein the process of extracting the active region image by the circuit system comprises:
obtaining screen information for the display device to display the image that is transmitted by the user device;
obtaining window information for the display device to display the split window that is configured to display the image;
establishing a coordinate system of the split window that displays the image, and obtaining edges of the image based on features of the image, so as to obtain the active region; and
obtaining the active region image by cropping the image based on coordinate parameters of the active region, as recited in claims 8-10.
Further, even though Ryu et al. shows the invention as claimed, as discussed above in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 8-10, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Ryu et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 8-10.
Regarding claim 12
The prior art of record, Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the circuit system disposed in a display device, as recited in claim 11, having the further limitations which include:
wherein the process of extracting the active region image by the circuit system comprises:
obtaining screen information for the display device to display the image that is transmitted by the user device;
obtaining window information for the display device to display the split window that is configured to display the image;
establishing a coordinate system of the split window that displays the image, and obtaining edges of the image based on features of the image, so as to obtain the active region; and
obtaining the active region image by cropping the image based on coordinate parameters of the active region, as recited in claim 12.
Further, even though Ryu et al. shows the invention as claimed, as discussed above in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 12, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Ryu et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claim 12.
Regarding claim 17
The prior art of record, Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the circuit system disposed in a display device, as recited in claim 16, having the further limitations which include:
wherein the process of extracting the active region image by the circuit system comprises:
obtaining screen information for the display device to display the image that is transmitted by the user device;
obtaining window information for the display device to display the split window that is configured to display the image;
establishing a coordinate system of the split window that displays the image, and obtaining edges of the image based on features of the image, so as to obtain the active region; and
obtaining the active region image by cropping the image based on coordinate parameters of the active region, as recited in claim 17.
Further, even though Ryu et al. shows the invention as claimed, as discussed above in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 17, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Ryu et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claim 17.
Regarding claims 18-20
The prior art of record, Ryu et al. (US 2020/0380901), taken to be the closest prior art noted above, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the circuit system disposed in a display device, as recited in claim 15, having the further limitations which include:
wherein, when the active region is determined as the portrait-orientation image, one or more inactive regions that are obtained by an edge-finding process are cropped, and an aspect ratio of the split window occupied by the active region is obtained;
wherein the aspect ratio is referred to for adjusting the display ratio of the active region image that is to be displayed in the split window, as recited in claims 18-20.
Further, even though Ryu et al. shows the invention as claimed, as discussed above in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 18-20, noted above.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Ryu et al., with any of the prior art of record, to include the limitations as recited in claims 18-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al. (US 2017/0139576), shows a display device having the ability of displaying content in a split window and displaying and adjusting the windows based on the orientation of the display device (see the abstract, Figs. 6A-14, and para. 0005 and 0091-0176).
Liu et al. (US 2025/0130825), shows a display device having the ability of displaying content in a split window and displaying and adjusting the windows based on the desired size of the display content (see the abstract, Figs. 1d-20, and para. 0086-0123).
Chang et al. (US 2025/0016256), shows a display device having the ability of displaying content in a split window and displaying and adjusting the windows based on the desired size of the display content (see the abstract, Figs. 3A-12, and para. 0040-0116).
/MUHAMMAD N. EDUN/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2629
/MUHAMMAD N EDUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629