DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hingne et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0127542; hereinafter Hingne) in view of Easton (Pat. No.: 4,491,436).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 8, Hingne discloses an articulated coupling arrangement for a three-point power lift of an agricultural tractor/an agricultural tractor including an articulated coupling arrangement for a three-point power lift (See title) comprising:
a lifting arm (14) articulated to be raised and lowered by a lifting mechanism (See para. [0026] where the lifting mechanism is disclosed as hydraulic cylinders that are not shown);
a lifting spindle (20) connected to a free end of the lifting arm (14) in a bearing position (at fastening eye 28) for pivoting actuation of a lower link (16) having a coupling arrangement for reversible attachment of an attachment interface (See para. [0026] for disclosure of the above elements).
Hingne fails to disclose the remaining limitations of the instant claim. Easton discloses a pivot pin assembly which eliminates the need for a high pre-load torque to be applied in order to fix a friction-reducing element relative to the pivot pin (See abstract). Easton further discloses the pin assembly comprising a bifurcated member (12) connected to a free end of an intermediate member (26).
Unlike Hingne, Easton discloses first and second opposing fork cheeks (16 and 14 respectively) with receiving bores (20 and 18 respectively) flush along a joint axis being formed on the bifurcated member (12), through which receiving bores a retaining bolt (30) is guided; and a bearing ball (58) guided on the retaining bolt (30) being supported on a stop (32) formed on the retaining bolt (30) such that that the bearing ball (58) can be braced by a fastening element (52) engaging the retaining bolt (30) with respect to the first fork cheek (16) in a rotationally conjoint manner in a predefined coupling position between the first and second fork cheeks (See Fig. 1 for the rotationally conjoint manner that creates the coupling position between the cheeks), the bearing ball (58) being accommodated within a fastening eye of the intermediate member (26; See Fig. 1 where the fastening eye is generally the space between the cheeks 18 and 16 and through which the retaining bolt is guided) for the formation of the bearing point of a bearing running surface formed in a complementary manner (See Fig. 1 where the bearing running surface corresponds to the surface between parts 60 and 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pivotable assembly of Hingne, to be the pivot pin assembly of Easton, Such a modification merely constitutes the substitution of a known coupling assembly for a specific pin coupling assembly to produce the predictable result of coupling a lifting spindle/bifurcated member to a lifting arm/intermediate member as is known in the art (see MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 1 and 8 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein the bearing running surface (See Fig. 1 where the bearing running surface corresponds to the surface between parts 60 and 62) is formed on a bearing shell (62) inserted within a recess in the fastening eye (as seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 1 and 8 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein the bearing ball (58) is braced in a rotationally conjoint manner with the first fork cheek (16) via an intermediate spacer sleeve (42; See Fig. 1 where element 42 is with the first fork cheek).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 1 and 8 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein a crown margin (68) formed at the end side on the spacer sleeve (See Fig. 1 where element 68 is at the end side of spacer sleeve 42) engages at least one of the bearing ball and an inside of the first fork cheek (See Fig. 1 where element 68 engages the bearing ball 58).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 1 and 8 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein the bearing ball (58) runs in accordance with the predefined coupling position centered between the first and second fork cheeks (See Fig. 1 where the predefined coupling positions results from the centering of the bearing ball via snap rings 64 and 66).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 1 and 8 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein the fastening element (52) is formed by a threaded bolt which engages through the receiving bore in the first fork cheek (as seen in Fig. 1), which is screwed into an internal thread (40) provided at the end side on the retaining bolt (30) and the head of which is supported on an outside of the first fork cheek for bracing the bearing ball (See Fig. 1 where the opening 50 for the enlarged head 54 of the fastener 52 is at least partially outside the first fork cheek 16).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the above combination discloses the coupling arrangement according to claims 6 and 13 respectively. Hingne fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in light of the modification made to the respective independent claim above, Easton, of the combination also discloses wherein the retaining bolt (52) has, on a side facing away from the internal thread (40), a receptacle (See receptacle for element 56 in Fig. 1 disposed between elements 44 and 50) for engagement of a tool (56) for resistance during bracing of the bearing ball by the threaded bolt (See col. 2, lns. 48-50 where it discloses “in order to ensure that the bolt 52 remains in engagement with the threaded bore 40, a lock washer 56 can be used.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are directed towards coupling arrangement for links of a hitch system for an agricultural machine and are considered reasonably pertinent. Schibel et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2019/0327877); Schibel (EP3095309); Wood Jr. et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 20070014487); and Kletzli et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2002/0168122). Additional references relevant cited but not discussed here can be found in the attached 892.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/A.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3671