DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words and because it includes a phrase which is implied, i.e., “The present disclosure relates to”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim lacks a colon after the transitional phrase.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, “the inner wall” should be –an inner wall– for proper antecedence.
Appropriate correction for the above list of issues is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0315021 A1 to Tang.
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a grinding device (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprising
a shell 1b and an adjusting mechanism 16, 19, 27 (Fig. 1, 3; Paras. [0022] and [0024]),
a male grinding head 15 and a female grinding head 17 are arranged in the shell (Figs. 1, 3 and 4; Paras. [0019] and [0020]), a grinding channel is formed between the male grinding head and the female grinding head (Figs. 1, 3 and 4; Paras. [0019] and [0020]),
the adjusting mechanism 16, 19, 27 comprises a first adjusting assembly 27 and a second adjusting assembly 16a, 19 (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0022]-[0024]), the first adjusting assembly 27 is connected with the shell 1a,b (Figs. 1-2), the second adjusting assembly comprises a first adjusting sleeve 19 and a second adjusting sleeve 16a which are screwed together (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0021] and [0024]), the first adjusting sleeve 19 is rotated accordingly when the first adjusting assembly 27 is rotated (Para. [0024]), the second adjusting sleeve 16a is driven by the rotation of the first adjusting sleeve 19 to move up and down (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0021] and [0024]), and the size of the grinding channel is changed by the up and down movement of the second adjusting sleeve 16a (Para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 1 (Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the inner wall of the first adjusting assembly 27 is provided with at least one second limiting bulge (Figs. 2 and 4 show that the end of the knob includes a protrusion, i.e., a bulge), the outer wall of the first adjusting sleeve is provided with at least one second limiting groove (Figs. 1-4; Para. [0021]; as shown in Fis. 1 and 3, the face 21 of sleeve 19 is positioned against the slot 7a which knob 27 is positioned in and Fig. 4 shows that the there is a groove next to the face 21, i.e., the recessed portion on sleeve 19 next to face 21, which would be the groove that receives the knob so that it may extend into slot 7a, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2), the position of the second limiting groove is corresponding to that of the second limiting bulge (Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0021] and [0022]), and the second limiting bulge is located in the second limiting groove (Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0021]-[0022]; a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the end of the knob with the protrusion shown in Fig. 2 is positioned in the recessed portion next to face 21, i.e., the groove, as Figs. 1 and 3 show that the face occupies the area behind slot 7a except for the portion that receives the knob shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 1 (Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the first adjusting sleeve 19 is provided with internal threads 20 (Fig. 3; Para. [0021]), the second adjusting sleeve 16a is provided with external threads 18 (Figs. 3-4; Para. [0021]), and the first adjusting sleeve 19 and the second adjusting sleeve 16a are screwed together through the internal and external threads (Fig. 3; Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 4 (Figs. 2-4), wherein the second adjusting sleeve 16a comprises a connecting part 22 and an accommodating part (Fig. 4 shows that the sleeve 16a includes an accommodating part, e.g., the thicker bottom portion, and a connecting part, i.e., the cylindrical projection 22), the connecting part 22 and the accommodating part are integrated in one piece (Fig. 4), the connecting part 22 is arranged above the accommodating part (Fig. 4), the external threads 18 are provided on the outer peripheral wall of the connecting part 22 (Fig. 4; Para. [0020]), and the accommodating part is sleeved outside the female grinding head (Figs. 3 and 4 show the accommodating part, i.e., the thick bottom portion, is sleeved outside the female grinding head 17 which is positioned on the inner surface of sleeve 16b).
Regarding claim 6, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 5 (Figs. 2-4), wherein the inner peripheral wall of the connecting part 22 is provided with a diversion surface (Fig. 3 shows that the inner wall of the connecting part 22 includers a top surface in the opening 28 that diverts material towards the grinding elements), and the diversion surface is arranged at the upper end of the connecting part (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 5 (Figs. 2-4), wherein the second adjusting assembly also comprises a third adjusting sleeve 16b, the third adjusting sleeve 16b is arranged below the second adjusting sleeve 16a (Figs. 2-3; Para. [0020]; the sleeve 16b is positioned below the connecting part 22 of the sleeve 16a) and connected with the second adjusting sleeve (Fig. 3; Para. [0020]), the second adjusting sleeve 16a moves upward to drive the third adjusting sleeve 16b to move upward (Para. [0024] states that member 16, which includes 16a and b, moves upward), and the lower end of the female grinding head 17 is in contact with the upper edge of the third adjusting sleeve 16b (Fig. 3; contact is interpreted as a union of surfaces, and the female grinding element 17 is formed on the inner surface of sleeve 16b, thus the surfaces of the grinding element, including the lower surface, are in union with the surfaces of the sleeve 16, including the upper surface, i.e., as the female grinding element 17 and the sleeve 16b are formed as one piece the surfaces of these components are joined together and in contact through the unitary body of the component).
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 7 (Figs. 2-4), wherein the outer peripheral wall of the third adjusting sleeve 16b is provided with at least one first clamping bulge, the inner peripheral wall of the accommodating part is provided with at least one first clamping groove, and the first clamping bulge is matched with the first clamping groove to make the third adjusting sleeve clamped with the second adjusting sleeve (Examiner Annotated Fig. 3 is provided below to show the clamping bulge and clamping groove of the sleeves are fit together, i.e., matched, to join the sleeves together, with the groove being formed in the accommodating part at the bottom of sleeve 16a).
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 1, wherein the grinding device also comprises a support frame 6 (Fig. 4; Para. [0017]), the support frame 7 is arranged between the first adjusting assembly 27 and the first adjusting sleeve 19a (Figs. 2-4 show that the collar 7 is between the knob 27 and the sleeve 19a, and it is noted that as the claims recite the first adjusting assembly is connected to the first adjusting sleeve the phrase “between” is interpreted as located between at least one end of the first adjusting assembly and an end of the first adjusting sleeve), the support frame 7 is provided with a hollow structure 7a (Fig. 4; Para. [0017]), and the first adjusting assembly 27 is connected with the first adjusting sleeve 16a at the position of the hollow structure 7a (Figs. 3-4; Para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches the grinding device according to claim 1 (Figs. 2-4), wherein a first connecting sleeve 1a is connected above the shell 1b (Figs. 1 and 3-4), and the first connecting sleeve 1a is connected with a feeding assembly 30 (Fig. 3; Paras. [0015]-[0016]; the sleeve 1a is connected to the reservoir 30 that feeds the material to the grinding assembly).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2024/0016339 A1 to Yeh.
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches a grinding device (Fig. 1; Abstract), comprising
a shell 111 and an adjusting mechanism 171, 172, 173 (Figs. 1-2 and 9; Paras. [0046]-[0047]),
a male grinding head 132 and a female grinding head 113 are arranged in the shell (Fig. 2; Para. [0036]), a grinding channel is formed between the male grinding head and the female grinding head (Fig. 2; Para. [0036]),
the adjusting mechanism 171, 172 173 comprises a first adjusting assembly 173 and a second adjusting assembly 171, 172 (Fig. 2; Paras. [0046]-[0047]), the first adjusting 173 assembly is connected with the shell 111 (Figs. 1-2), the second adjusting assembly 171, 172 comprises a first adjusting sleeve 172 and a second adjusting sleeve 171 which are screwed together (Figs. 2-4 and 9; Para. [0046]; it is noted that a sleeve is interpreted as a tubular component and the rods 172 together form a tubular shape that surrounds the member 171, and it is noted that the phrase “are screwed together” is interpreted as the pieces have been attached together in a manner in which the components have been fastened or attached to each other by means of a twisting motion, i.e., the claim does not require the components to have screw threads because it is only describing the manner in which they have been attached together), the first adjusting sleeve 172 is rotated accordingly when the first adjusting assembly 173 is rotated (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0046]-[0047]), the second adjusting sleeve 171 is driven by the rotation of the first adjusting sleeve 172 to move up and down (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0046]-[0047]), and the size of the grinding channel is changed by the up and down movement of the second adjusting sleeve 172 (Figs. 2-4; Paras. [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh teaches the grinding device according to claim 1 (Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the inner wall of the first adjusting assembly 173 is provided with at least one first limiting groove (Fig. 4 shows the that member 173 includes grooves, i.e., the indents in which the rods 172 are positioned), the outer wall of the first adjusting sleeve 172 is provided with at least one first limiting bulge (Fig. 4 shows that the end of the rods 172 include a protrusion that fits within the grooves of member 173), the position of the first limiting groove is corresponding to that of the first limiting bulge (Fig. 2), and the first limiting bulge is located in the first limiting groove (Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0153698 A1 (Figs. 1-2 and 8; Para. [0052]) and US 2025/0302235 A1 (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0108]-[0109]) each teach a grinder including an adjustment mechanism to change the grinding gap between the male and female grinding heads..
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 8 September 2026