DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant' s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202410297558.4, filed on 03/15/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 1,8, and 14 recite(s) “the same image pair” without a prior recitation of “an image pair”. The term is understood to refer to each of the “image pairs formed by the adjacent images” recited earlier in the claim. Applicant may consider reciting, for example, “each of the image pairs”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 19 introduces “image pairs formed by the adjacent images” along the second direction and then recites “a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair.” Claims 1, 8, and 14 from which these claims depend already use “the same image pair” for a pair formed by adjacent images along the first direction. It is therefore unclear whether “the same image pair” in claims 7, 13, and 19 refers to the first direction pair of the base claim or to a second direction pair, and the scope of the evaluation and substitution recited in these claims cannot be determined. For purposes of examination, the term in claims 7, 13, and 19 is interpreted as referring to each image pair formed by adjacent images along the second direction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11, 13-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cao et al (CN110197455B, hereafter referred to as Cao) in view of Gormish et al (US 20170178372 A1, hereafter referred to as Gormish) and Martin et al (US 20200043134 A1, hereafter referred to as Martin).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Cao teaches A method of stitching images, comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images arranged in an array (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0056] discloses acquiring the images to be stitched in a preset row and column acquisition mode, for example 25 images captured in 5 rows and 5 columns), wherein, the array of the plurality of images contains a plurality of image columns along a first direction and at least one image row along a second direction different from the first direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0056]-[n0057], Fig. 4 discloses 5 images columns spaced 300mm apart and 5 image rows spaced 200 mm apart in a plane parallel to the working platform, the images of each row being numbered consecutively along the row), and there is at least a predetermined range of overlap greater than zero between the adjacent images respectively arranged along the first direction and the second direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0047] discloses that the overlap ratio of every 2 adjacent images to be stitched is greater than a first preset ratio threshold, for example 60%, which applies to the row adjacent and column adjacent images of the grid);
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image rows along the first direction, a first stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0055], [n0057] discloses for each row, determining a first target perspective transformation matrix for each pair of adjacent images and aligning the pairs in succession to form the row stitching result; ¶¶[n0071], [n0085] discloses computing each pairs perspective transformation matrix from matched feature point pairs purified by RANSAC combined with homography matrix estimation), (The examiner notes the use of “or”. This alternative is not relied upon.),
further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of a plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate a stitched image (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061], [n0089] discloses after the row stitching results of all 5 rows are obtained, determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning and fusing the row results along the column direction to obtain the final 2D panoramic image).
Cao does not explicitly teach all of “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition … a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair
However, Gormish teaches “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses determining whether a homography determined between a pair of adjacent images is good or bad by using that homography to map other feature points of the pair and analyzing the result of the mapping, and rejecting the homography when the result falls outside the range expected from the image capture pattern; ¶62 discloses that such a homography may be used as the mapping between the 2 images of the pair).”
Gormish is analogous art because Gormish, like Cao, is in the field of stitching overlapping images captured from different camera positions into a panoramic image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of detecting a pairwise transformation that would misalign an adjacent image pair.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the row-wise pairwise registration of Cao with the homography evaluation of Gormish because Gormish teaches that this evaluation provides identification and rejection of a homography rendered bad by mismatched feature points (¶63), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao would test each first target perspective transformation matrix before it is used to align the corresponding image pair, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao computes the same kind of 3x3 perspective transformation from matched feature points of each adjacent pair.
Cao in view of Gormish does not explicitly teach all of “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair”
However, Martin teaches “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of an adjacent left-right image pair fails, the pairs (dx, dy) values are replaced with average (dx, dy) values that serve as good initialization values, selected according to whether the pair lies in a positive-dy or negative-dy column; ¶¶105-106 discloses placing the right image of a pair at Rx = Lx + (width – dx) and Ry = Ly – dy relative to the left image, and the combination expresses that placement as a translation homography)”
Martin is analogous art because Martin, like Cao in view of Gormish, is in the field of stitching overlapping images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of stitching an adjacent image pair whose pairwise registration fails.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the response of Cao in view of Gormish to a rejected first target perspective transformation matrix with the average value replacement of Martin because Martin teaches that replacing the (dx, dy) values of a left-right pair whose local matching fails with average (dx, dy) values, selected according to whether the pair belongs to a positive or negative dy column, approximates the overlap and shift between the images of that pair and provides the good starting values that accurate placement of a pair with unreliable matching requires (¶¶99-100), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish would stitch the pair with the 3x3 translation homography, which maps the right image of the pair into the left images pixel coordinates under Martin’s placement relation, instead of with the rejected matrix, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao moves the camera by translation only, at fixed row and column spacing, with the optical axis perpendicular to the platform, so that a translation homography models the relation between adjacent images, and Cao’s alignment already accepts a substituted matrix in place of an eliminated abnormal matrix.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein,
the obtainment of the plurality of images arranged in the array includes
obtaining the plurality of images by utilizing a camera or a camera group moving along the first direction, wherein, the camera group contains a plurality of cameras installed along the second direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0046], [n0056], [n0089] discloses a single 2D camera carried and moved horizontally by a robotic arm, the images of each row being captured at column positions spaced at 300mm apart, so that the camera moves along the row direction between the captures of a row).
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein,
the acquisition of the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, includes
acquiring, based on a relative displacement between the images in the same image pair, the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column where the same image pair is located (Martin in ¶¶99-100 discloses that the substituted average (dx, dy) values approximate the overlap and shift between the images of the pair; ¶¶105-106 discloses converting those values into the offset of the right image relative to the left image, from which the combinations initial translation homography is formed), wherein, the first initial homography matrix represents the relative displacement (Martin in ¶¶105-106 discloses that these values define the positional offset between the two images of the pair, and the combinations matrix contains only the offset and therefore represents the relative displacement).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein,
in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting the predetermined condition (Claim 1 requires the unconditional step of a stitching result of each image pair being evaluated. Stitching the pair with a previously stitched row’s matrix or a first initial homography matrix occurs only “in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition,” and the column wise stitching occurs only “in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of a plurality of image rows.” Under MPEP § 2111.04(II), the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim does not require a step whose condition precedent is not met, whereas a claim to a system or medium that recites programming for a conditional function requires the programming to be capable of performing that function. This language further defines the failure response of claim 1 and is conditioned on the evaluated stitching result of the pair not meeting the predetermined condition.), the utilizing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in the previously-stitched image row to stitch the same image pair, or acquiring the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, and utilizing the first initial homography matrix to stitch the same image pair includes (Under MPEP § 2111.04(II), this step is not required to be performed because it depends on the failure condition of the preceding clause, which doesn’t occur when each pairs evaluated stitching result meets the predetermined condition)
in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of a plurality of image rows and there being one or more previously-stitched image rows, selecting the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in a first previously-stitched image row closest to the image row where the same image pair is located, further evaluating the stitching result of the same image pair, and stitching the same image pair in response to the evaluated stitching result meeting the predetermined condition (Under MPEP § 2111.04(II), this step is not required to be performed because it depends on the failure condition of the preceding clause, which doesn’t occur when each pairs evaluated stitching result meets the predetermined condition),
in response to the further evaluated stitching result not meeting the predetermined condition, sequentially choosing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in a second previously-stitched image row closest to the first previously-stitched image row, and stitching the same image pair in response to the evaluated stitching result meeting the predetermined condition Under MPEP § 2111.04(II), this step is not required to be performed because it depends on the failure condition of the preceding clause, which doesn’t occur when each pairs evaluated stitching result meets the predetermined condition, and
in response to the evaluated stitching results based on the first stitching homography matrices of all the previously-stitched image rows not meeting the predetermined condition, selecting the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, to stitch the same image pair Under MPEP § 2111.04(II), this step is not required to be performed because it depends on the failure condition of the preceding clause, which doesn’t occur when each pairs evaluated stitching result meets the predetermined condition.
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein,
in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting the predetermined condition, the utilizing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in the previously-stitched image row to stitch the same image pair, or acquiring the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, and utilizing the first initial homography matrix to stitch the same image pair includes (Gormish in ¶63 discloses the failure condition as applied in claim 1’s rejection. The prior-row alternative is not relied upon. Martin in ¶¶100, 105-106 discloses the initial matrix alternative as described for claim 1)
in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of one image row or there not being one or more previously-stitched image rows, selecting the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, to stitch the same image pair (Cao in ¶[n0057] discloses stitching each row by the same steps, so the row stitched first has no previously stitched image row; Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of a pair fails, the pair’s (dx, dy) values are replaced with average values chosen according to whether the pair belongs to a positive-dy or negative-dy column).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein,
the further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of the plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate the stitched image includes: (Cao in ¶¶[n0056], [n0060]-[n0061] discloses 5 image rows and after the rows are stitched, stitching along the column direction to generate the final panoramic image)
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction, a second stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061] discloses determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning them pair by pair along the column direction, using the same stitching mechanism as for adjacent images within each row), wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair (Gormish in ¶63 discloses evaluating a pairs homography by mapping other feature points of the pair and determining whether the result falls within the expected range), and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses rejecting the homography when the result of the mapping is outside the expected range), the same image pair is stitched by utilizing the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image row in a previously-stitched image column (This alternative is not relied upon. The claim recites the failure responses in the alternative, and the alternative second initial homography matrix is addressed next.), or a second initial homography matrix corresponding to the image row, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶¶107-108 discloses the placement relation between a top image and a bottom image of a column from which the combination forms the substitute translation homography for a vertically adjacent pair).
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches An apparatus for stitching images, comprising:
a processor (Cao in ¶¶[n0019], [n0108] discloses a processor); and
a storage storing a computer program, coupled to the processor (Cao in ¶¶[n0019]-[n0020], [n0108] discloses memory connected to a processor storing a computer program),
wherein, the computer program causes, when executed by the processor, the processor to implement
obtaining a plurality of images arranged in an array (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0056] discloses acquiring the images to be stitched in a preset row and column acquisition mode, for example 25 images captured in 5 rows and 5 columns), wherein, the array of the plurality of images contains a plurality of image columns along a first direction and at least one image row along a second direction different from the first direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0056]-[n0057], Fig. 4 discloses 5 images columns spaced 300mm apart and 5 image rows spaced 200 mm apart in a plane parallel to the working platform, the images of each row being numbered consecutively along the row), and there is at least a predetermined range of overlap greater than zero between the adjacent images respectively arranged along the first direction and the second direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0047] discloses that the overlap ratio of every 2 adjacent images to be stitched is greater than a first preset ratio threshold, for example 60%, which applies to the row adjacent and column adjacent images of the grid);
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image rows along the first direction, a first stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0055], [n0057] discloses for each row, determining a first target perspective transformation matrix for each pair of adjacent images and aligning the pairs in succession to form the row stitching result; ¶¶[n0071], [n0085] discloses computing each pairs perspective transformation matrix from matched feature point pairs purified by RANSAC combined with homography matrix estimation), (The examiner notes the use of “or”. This alternative is not relied upon.),
further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of a plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate a stitched image (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061], [n0089] discloses after the row stitching results of all 5 rows are obtained, determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning and fusing the row results along the column direction to obtain the final 2D panoramic image).
Cao does not explicitly teach all of “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition … a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair
However, Gormish teaches “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses determining whether a homography determined between a pair of adjacent images is good or bad by using that homography to map other feature points of the pair and analyzing the result of the mapping, and rejecting the homography when the result falls outside the range expected from the image capture pattern; ¶62 discloses that such a homography may be used as the mapping between the 2 images of the pair).”
Gormish is analogous art because Gormish, like Cao, is in the field of stitching overlapping images captured from different camera positions into a panoramic image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of detecting a pairwise transformation that would misalign an adjacent image pair.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the row-wise pairwise registration of Cao with the homography evaluation of Gormish because Gormish teaches that this evaluation provides identification and rejection of a homography rendered bad by mismatched feature points (¶63), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao would test each first target perspective transformation matrix before it is used to align the corresponding image pair, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao computes the same kind of 3x3 perspective transformation from matched feature points of each adjacent pair.
Cao in view of Gormish does not explicitly teach all of “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair”
However, Martin teaches “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of an adjacent left-right image pair fails, the pairs (dx, dy) values are replaced with average (dx, dy) values that serve as good initialization values, selected according to whether the pair lies in a positive-dy or negative-dy column; ¶¶105-106 discloses placing the right image of a pair at Rx = Lx + (width – dx) and Ry = Ly – dy relative to the left image, and the combination expresses that placement as a translation homography)”
Martin is analogous art because Martin, like Cao in view of Gormish, is in the field of stitching overlapping images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of stitching an adjacent image pair whose pairwise registration fails.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the response of Cao in view of Gormish to a rejected first target perspective transformation matrix with the average value replacement of Martin because Martin teaches that replacing the (dx, dy) values of a left-right pair whose local matching fails with average (dx, dy) values, selected according to whether the pair belongs to a positive or negative dy column, approximates the overlap and shift between the images of that pair and provides the good starting values that accurate placement of a pair with unreliable matching requires (¶¶99-100), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish would stitch the pair with the 3x3 translation homography, which maps the right image of the pair into the left images pixel coordinates under Martin’s placement relation, instead of with the rejected matrix, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao moves the camera by translation only, at fixed row and column spacing, with the optical axis perpendicular to the platform, so that a translation homography models the relation between adjacent images, and Cao’s alignment already accepts a substituted matrix in place of an eliminated abnormal matrix.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein,
the acquisition of the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, includes
acquiring, based on a relative displacement between the images in the same image pair, the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column where the same image pair is located (Martin in ¶¶99-100 discloses that the substituted average (dx, dy) values approximate the overlap and shift between the images of the pair; ¶¶105-106 discloses converting those values into the offset of the right image relative to the left image, from which the combinations initial translation homography is formed), wherein, the first initial homography matrix represents the relative displacement (Martin in ¶¶105-106 discloses that these values define the positional offset between the two images of the pair, and the combinations matrix contains only the offset and therefore represents the relative displacement).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein,
in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting the predetermined condition, the utilizing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in the previously-stitched image row to stitch the same image pair, or acquiring the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, and utilizing the first initial homography matrix to stitch the same image pair includes (Gormish in ¶63 discloses the failure condition, i.e. rejecting the pair’s homography when the mapping result is outside the expected range, as applied in claim 8’s rejection. The prior-row alternative is not relied upon. Martin in ¶¶100, 105-106 discloses the initial matrix alternative as described for claim 8)
in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of one image row or there not being one or more previously-stitched image rows, selecting the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, to stitch the same image pair (Cao in ¶[n0057] discloses stitching each row by the same steps, so the row stitched first has no previously stitched image row; Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of a pair fails, the pair’s (dx, dy) values are replaced with average values chosen according to whether the pair belongs to a positive-dy or negative-dy column. The stored program of the combination stitches the pair with the translation homography formed from those values under Martin ¶¶105-106, and it does every failure, including when no previously stitched image row exists).
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein,
the further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of the plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate the stitched image includes: (Cao in ¶¶[n0056], [n0060]-[n0061] discloses 5 image rows and after the rows are stitched, stitching along the column direction to generate the final panoramic image)
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction, a second stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061] discloses determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning them pair by pair along the column direction, using the same stitching mechanism as for adjacent images within each row), wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair (Gormish in ¶63 discloses evaluating a pairs homography by mapping other feature points of the pair and determining whether the result falls within the expected range), and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses rejecting the homography when the result of the mapping is outside the expected range), the same image pair is stitched by utilizing the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image row in a previously-stitched image column (This alternative is not relied upon. The claim recites the failure responses in the alternative, and the alternative second initial homography matrix is addressed next.), or a second initial homography matrix corresponding to the image row, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶¶107-108 discloses the placement relation between a top image and a bottom image of a column from which the combination forms the substitute translation homography for a vertically adjacent pair).
Claim 14
Regarding Claim 14, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having a computer program for execution by a processor (Cao in ¶¶[n0019]-[n0020], [n0108] discloses memory connected to a processor storing a computer program), wherein,
the computer program causes, when executed by the processor, the processor to implement
obtaining a plurality of images arranged in an array (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0056] discloses acquiring the images to be stitched in a preset row and column acquisition mode, for example 25 images captured in 5 rows and 5 columns), wherein, the array of the plurality of images contains a plurality of image columns along a first direction and at least one image row along a second direction different from the first direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0056]-[n0057], Fig. 4 discloses 5 images columns spaced 300mm apart and 5 image rows spaced 200 mm apart in a plane parallel to the working platform, the images of each row being numbered consecutively along the row), and there is at least a predetermined range of overlap greater than zero between the adjacent images respectively arranged along the first direction and the second direction (Cao in ¶¶[n0045], [n0047] discloses that the overlap ratio of every 2 adjacent images to be stitched is greater than a first preset ratio threshold, for example 60%, which applies to the row adjacent and column adjacent images of the grid);
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image rows along the first direction, a first stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0055], [n0057] discloses for each row, determining a first target perspective transformation matrix for each pair of adjacent images and aligning the pairs in succession to form the row stitching result; ¶¶[n0071], [n0085] discloses computing each pairs perspective transformation matrix from matched feature point pairs purified by RANSAC combined with homography matrix estimation), wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition, the same image pair is stitched by utilizing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in a previously-stitched image row (The examiner notes the use of “or”. This alternative is not relied upon.), or a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair; and
further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of a plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate a stitched image (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061], [n0089] discloses after the row stitching results of all 5 rows are obtained, determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning and fusing the row results along the column direction to obtain the final 2D panoramic image).
Cao does not explicitly teach all of “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition … a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair
However, Gormish teaches “… wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses determining whether a homography determined between a pair of adjacent images is good or bad by using that homography to map other feature points of the pair and analyzing the result of the mapping, and rejecting the homography when the result falls outside the range expected from the image capture pattern; ¶62 discloses that such a homography may be used as the mapping between the 2 images of the pair).”
Gormish is analogous art because Gormish, like Cao, is in the field of stitching overlapping images captured from different camera positions into a panoramic image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of detecting a pairwise transformation that would misalign an adjacent image pair.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the row-wise pairwise registration of Cao with the homography evaluation of Gormish because Gormish teaches that this evaluation provides identification and rejection of a homography rendered bad by mismatched feature points (¶63), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao would test each first target perspective transformation matrix before it is used to align the corresponding image pair, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao computes the same kind of 3x3 perspective transformation from matched feature points of each adjacent pair.
Cao in view of Gormish does not explicitly teach all of “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair”
However, Martin teaches “… a first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of an adjacent left-right image pair fails, the pairs (dx, dy) values are replaced with average (dx, dy) values that serve as good initialization values, selected according to whether the pair lies in a positive-dy or negative-dy column; ¶¶105-106 discloses placing the right image of a pair at Rx = Lx + (width – dx) and Ry = Ly – dy relative to the left image, and the combination expresses that placement as a translation homography)”
Martin is analogous art because Martin, like Cao in view of Gormish, is in the field of stitching overlapping images and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of stitching an adjacent image pair whose pairwise registration fails.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the response of Cao in view of Gormish to a rejected first target perspective transformation matrix with the average value replacement of Martin because Martin teaches that replacing the (dx, dy) values of a left-right pair whose local matching fails with average (dx, dy) values, selected according to whether the pair belongs to a positive or negative dy column, approximates the overlap and shift between the images of that pair and provides the good starting values that accurate placement of a pair with unreliable matching requires (¶¶99-100), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish would stitch the pair with the 3x3 translation homography, which maps the right image of the pair into the left images pixel coordinates under Martin’s placement relation, instead of with the rejected matrix, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao moves the camera by translation only, at fixed row and column spacing, with the optical axis perpendicular to the platform, so that a translation homography models the relation between adjacent images, and Cao’s alignment already accepts a substituted matrix in place of an eliminated abnormal matrix.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 14, wherein,
the acquisition of the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, includes
acquiring, based on a relative displacement between the images in the same image pair, the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column where the same image pair is located (Martin in ¶¶99-100 discloses that the substituted average (dx, dy) values approximate the overlap and shift between the images of the pair; ¶¶105-106 discloses converting those values into the offset of the right image relative to the left image, from which the combinations initial translation homography is formed), wherein, the first initial homography matrix represents the relative displacement (Martin in ¶¶105-106 discloses that these values define the positional offset between the two images of the pair, and the combinations matrix contains only the offset and therefore represents the relative displacement).
Claim 17
Regarding Claim 17, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 14, wherein,
in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting the predetermined condition, the utilizing the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in the previously-stitched image row to stitch the same image pair, or acquiring the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, and utilizing the first initial homography matrix to stitch the same image pair includes (Gormish in ¶63 discloses the failure condition, i.e. rejecting the pair’s homography when the mapping result is outside the expected range, as applied in claim 14’s rejection. The prior-row alternative is not relied upon. Martin in ¶¶100, 105-106 discloses the initial matrix alternative as described for claim 14)
in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of one image row or there not being one or more previously-stitched image rows, selecting the first initial homography matrix corresponding to the image column, where the same image pair is located, to stitch the same image pair (Cao in ¶[n0057] discloses stitching each row by the same steps, so the row stitched first has no previously stitched image row; Martin in ¶100 discloses that, when local matching of a pair fails, the pair’s (dx, dy) values are replaced with average values chosen according to whether the pair belongs to a positive-dy or negative-dy column. The stored program of the combination stitches the pair with the translation homography formed from those values under Martin ¶¶105-106, and it does every failure, including when no previously stitched image row exists).
Claim 19
Regarding Claim 19, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 14, wherein,
the further stitching, in response to the plurality of images being inclusive of the plurality of image rows, the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction so as to generate the stitched image includes: (Cao in ¶¶[n0056], [n0060]-[n0061] discloses 5 image rows and after the rows are stitched, stitching along the column direction to generate the final panoramic image)
acquiring, in an image pair-by-image pair stitching process performed on the plurality of images by image columns along the second direction, a second stitching homography matrix corresponding to each of image pairs formed by the adjacent images (Cao in ¶¶[n0060]-[n0061] discloses determining a second target perspective transformation matrix for each 2 adjacent row stitching results and aligning them pair by pair along the column direction, using the same stitching mechanism as for adjacent images within each row), wherein, a stitching result of the same image pair is evaluated based on the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair (Gormish in ¶63 discloses evaluating a pairs homography by mapping other feature points of the pair and determining whether the result falls within the expected range), and in response to the stitching result of the same image pair not meeting a predetermined condition (Gormish in ¶63 discloses rejecting the homography when the result of the mapping is outside the expected range), the same image pair is stitched by utilizing the second stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image row in a previously-stitched image column (This alternative is not relied upon. The claim recites the failure responses in the alternative, and the alternative second initial homography matrix is addressed next.), or a second initial homography matrix corresponding to the image row, where the same image pair is located, is acquired and utilized to stitch the same image pair (Martin in ¶¶107-108 discloses the placement relation between a top image and a bottom image of a column from which the combination forms the substitute translation homography for a vertically adjacent pair).
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cao et al (CN110197455B, hereafter referred to as Cao), Gormish et al (US 20170178372 A1, hereafter referred to as Gormish), and Martin et al (US 20200043134 A1, hereafter referred to as Martin), further in view of Khwaja et al (US 20200020075 A1, hereafter referred to as Khwaja).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The method according to claim 1.
Cao in view of Gormish and Martin does not explicitly teach all of wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition.
However, Khwaja teaches wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes
performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image (Khwaja in ¶101 discloses adjusting and aligning an image of a pair using a homography matrix calculated from matched feature points; ¶157 discloses determining the differences in the region of overlap after the image portions are moved) or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image (This alternative is not relied upon.); and
evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition (Khwaja in ¶130 discloses detecting edge lines in each image with Sobel gradients, or aligning extracted SIFT, SURF, or ORB features; ¶157 discloses determining whether a difference in the overlapping region is greater than a predetermined threshold and combining the images into the merged image when the difference is less than the threshold).
Khwaja is analogous art because Khwaja, like Cao in view of Gormish and Martin, is in the field of stitching overlapping images into a composite image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining whether the alignment of two overlapping images is acceptable before combining.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the evaluation of each pair’s first target perspective transformation matrix of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin with the transformed image evaluation of Khwaja because Khwaja teaches that comparing edge features from the overlapping regions of the transformed images and combining only when the difference is less than a predetermined threshold provides alignment of the edges and edge lines of the two images in the overlap region to avoid visible misalignment such as unaligned handrails in the merged image (¶¶37, 157), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin would test the image content that each pair’s matrix actually produces in the overlap region, in addition to Gormish’s geometric bound, before the pair is accepted, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao already transforms one image of each pair with that pair’s matrix and defines the overlap region of each pair, which supply the transformed image and overlap region on which Kwaja’s edge comparison operates.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The apparatus according to claim 8.
Cao in view of Gormish and Martin does not explicitly teach all of wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition.
However, Khwaja teaches wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes
performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image (Khwaja in ¶101 discloses adjusting and aligning an image of a pair using a homography matrix calculated from matched feature points; ¶157 discloses determining the differences in the region of overlap after the image portions are moved) or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image (This alternative is not relied upon.); and
evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition (Khwaja in ¶130 discloses detecting edge lines in each image with Sobel gradients, or aligning extracted SIFT, SURF, or ORB features; ¶157 discloses determining whether a difference in the overlapping region is greater than a predetermined threshold and combining the images into the merged image when the difference is less than the threshold).
Khwaja is analogous art because Khwaja, like Cao in view of Gormish and Martin, is in the field of stitching overlapping images into a composite image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining whether the alignment of two overlapping images is acceptable before combining.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the evaluation of each pair’s first target perspective transformation matrix of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin with the transformed image evaluation of Khwaja because Khwaja teaches that comparing edge features from the overlapping regions of the transformed images and combining only when the difference is less than a predetermined threshold provides alignment of the edges and edge lines of the two images in the overlap region to avoid visible misalignment such as unaligned handrails in the merged image (¶¶37, 157), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin would test the image content that each pair’s matrix actually produces in the overlap region, in addition to Gormish’s geometric bound, before the pair is accepted, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao already transforms one image of each pair with that pair’s matrix and defines the overlap region of each pair, which supply the transformed image and overlap region on which Kwaja’s edge comparison operates.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 18
Regarding Claim 18, Cao in view of Gormish and Martin teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 14.
Cao in view of Gormish and Martin does not explicitly teach all of wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image; and evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition.
However, Khwaja teaches wherein, the evaluation of the stitching result of the same image pair based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair includes
performing, based on the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the same image pair, transform on an image in the same image pair to acquire a transformed image (Khwaja in ¶101 discloses adjusting and aligning an image of a pair using a homography matrix calculated from matched feature points; ¶157 discloses determining the differences in the region of overlap after the image portions are moved) or fusion on the two images in the same image pair to acquire a fused image (This alternative is not relied upon.); and
evaluating, for the transformed image or the fused image, the stitching result of the same image pair by utilizing at least one selected from a group of results of target detection, feature extraction, shape detection, structural similarity, and peak signal-to-noise ratio to determine whether the stitching result of the same image pair meets the predetermined condition (Khwaja in ¶130 discloses detecting edge lines in each image with Sobel gradients, or aligning extracted SIFT, SURF, or ORB features; ¶157 discloses determining whether a difference in the overlapping region is greater than a predetermined threshold and combining the images into the merged image when the difference is less than the threshold).
Khwaja is analogous art because Khwaja, like Cao in view of Gormish and Martin, is in the field of stitching overlapping images into a composite image and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of determining whether the alignment of two overlapping images is acceptable before combining.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the evaluation of each pair’s first target perspective transformation matrix of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin with the transformed image evaluation of Khwaja because Khwaja teaches that comparing edge features from the overlapping regions of the transformed images and combining only when the difference is less than a predetermined threshold provides alignment of the edges and edge lines of the two images in the overlap region to avoid visible misalignment such as unaligned handrails in the merged image (¶¶37, 157), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this feature into the method of Cao in view of Gormish and Martin would test the image content that each pair’s matrix actually produces in the overlap region, in addition to Gormish’s geometric bound, before the pair is accepted, with a reasonable expectation of success because Cao already transforms one image of each pair with that pair’s matrix and defines the overlap region of each pair, which supply the transformed image and overlap region on which Kwaja’s edge comparison operates.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
When the prior art of record is considered individually and in combination, none teaches or suggests programing that, when a pair’s stitching result doesn’t meet the predetermined condition, first selects “the first stitching homography matrix corresponding to the image pair of the same image column in a first previously-stitched image row closest to the image row where the same image pair is located” and further evaluates the result, then sequentially chooses the matrix from the previously stitched image row next closest to the first previously stitched image row, and selects the first initial homography matrix only when “the evaluated stitching results based on the first stitching homography matrices of all the previously-stitched image rows” don’t meet the predetermined condition. Cao replaces an abnormal matrix with the average of the remaining matrices of the same row (¶59), Martin replaces a failed pair’s values with average values for the row or column (¶100), and Gormish recomputes a rejected homography from another set of feature points and uses initial camera parameter estimates only when global bundle adjustment fails to converge (¶¶63, 72). None selects the same column matrix of the nearest previously stitched row and then of successively more distant rows before resorting to an initial matrix. Claim 4 recites the same sequence, but is rejected in light of MPEP § 2111.04(II) for reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
/J.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674
Date: 10/21/2026