DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,525,232; claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,844,569; claims 1-63 of U.S. Patent No. 9,863,114; claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 9,506,214; and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,231. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the support system comprising a first and second support components/shafts having at one the ends grooves, ribs, and/or rotational interlock feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itagaki (JP 2011247056).
With regards to claim 1 and 21, Itagaki discloses A support system for a building foundation, the support system comprising: a first foundation support component (3) including a first end having a first pair of fastener holes (27) and a first rotational interlock feature (6) spaced from the first pair of fastener holes (figure 11-13); and a second foundation support component (2) including a second end having a second pair of fastener holes (25) and a second rotational interlock feature spaced (interior grooves) from the second pair of fastener holes; wherein the first end and the second end are configured to partly engage while the first and second rotational interlock features are misaligned, and are further configured to self-align and fully engage the first and second rotational interlock features via a rotation of one of the first and second ends about a longitudinal center axis relative to the other of the first and second ends; and wherein the first end and the second end are configured to automatically align the first pair of fastener holes with the second pair of fastener holes as the first and second rotational interlock features are self-aligned and fully engaged to simplify an insertion of a fastener through the aligned first and second pairs of fastener holes while avoiding a deformation of the first and second pairs of fastener holes when the first and second foundation support components are driven to a desired depth on a building site to support the building foundation (figures 1-14).
As to claim 3, Itagaki discloses wherein the first and second rotational interlock feature includes at least one torque transmitting edge extending from each of the first end and the second end (figures 12-13; interaction between edges of grooves and protrusions).
As to claim 4, Itagaki discloses wherein the at least one torque transmitting edge extends linearly (figures 1-14).
As to claim 5, Itagaki discloses wherein the at least one torque transmitting edge extends radially outwardly or radially inwardly from the first end or the second end (figures 1-14).
As to claim 6, Itagaki discloses wherein the at least one torque transmitting edge is defined by a projecting rib or a depending groove in the first end and the second end (figure 13).
As to claim 7, Itagaki discloses wherein the first end defines a smaller diameter inner coupler portion and wherein the second end defines a larger diameter outer coupler portion (figures 13).
As to claim 8-10, Itagaki discloses wherein the first foundation support component is a primary foundation support pile; and wherein the second foundation support component is an extension foundation support pile (pile 16); wherein the primary foundation support pile includes a helical auger (21) (figure 8).
With regards to claim 11, Itagaki discloses a method of installing a foundation support system on a building site, the method comprising: providing at the building site a first foundation support component (3) including a first end formed with a first pair of fastener holes (27) and a second foundation support component (2) including a second end having a second pair of fastener holes (25); after driving one of the first and second foundation support components partly below ground on the building site, partly engaging the first end and the second end in a misaligned orientation; and rotating one of the first and second ends about a longitudinal center axis relative to the other, causing the first and second ends to self-align and fully engage; whereby the first pair of fastener holes are automatically engaged with the second pair of fastener holes as the first end and second end are fully engaged (figures 1-14).
As to claim 22, Itagki discloses wherein the first interlock features (6) comprise at least two spaced apart outwardly projecting ribs (figure 13).
As to claim 23, Itagki discloses wherein the second interlock features comprise at least two spaced apart inwardly depending grooves (figure 13; e.g. groove between 22, 24).
As to claim 24, Itagki discloses wherein one of the first foundation support and the second foundation support is a primary pile (16) and wherein the other of the first foundation support and the second foundation support is an extension pile (figure 8).
As to claim 25, Itagaki discloses further comprising a drive tool coupler (figure 8 top coupler) including a third coupler portion (2) having a third pair of fastener holes and a third rotational interlock feature spaced from the third pair of fastener holes, wherein the third coupler portion is configured to automatically align the first pair of fastener holes with the third pair of fastener holes when the first and third rotational interlock features are aligned.
As to claim 26, Itagaki discloses wherein the first and second coupler portions are configured to self-align the first interlock feature and the second interlock feature when one of the first coupler portion and the second coupler portion is rotated about a longitudinal center axis relative to the other (figure 13).
As to claim 27, Itagaki discloses wherein the first and second foundation support components are uniformly round in cross section (figures 1-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki (JP 2011247056) in view of Ruiz et al. (US 6,183,167).
As to claim 2 and 12, Itgaki discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Itagaki is silent about wherein the fastener is a single bolt extending through and between the aligned first pair of fastener holes and the second pair of fastener holes. Ruiz et al. discloses a similar system including a first foundation support component (34) including a first end having a first pair of fastener holes (38) and a second foundation support component(34) including a second end having a second pair of fastener holes (14) and wherein the fastener is a single bolt (35) extending through and between the aligned first pair of fastener holes and the second pair of fastener holes (figures 4-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the holes and bolt as taught by Ruiz et al., since it would provide a more secure and stable connection of the pier system.
As to claim 13, Itagaki discloses wherein the first end and the second end are each formed with at least one torque transmitting edge, and wherein rotating one of the first and second ends about the longitudinal center axis relative to the other further causes the at least one torque transmitting edge to self-align and fully engage in the first end and the second end (figures 12-13; interaction between edges of grooves and protrusions).
As to claim 14, Itagaki discloses further comprising driving the first foundation support component and the second foundation support component below ground via engagement of the least one torque transmitting edge in each of the first end and the second end while the fastener is mechanically isolated from torque transmission (figures 1-14; abstract).
As to claim 15, Itagaki discloses wherein the at least one torque transmitting edge extends radially outwardly or radially inwardly from the first end or the second end (figures 1-14).
As to claim 16, Itagaki discloses wherein the at least one torque transmitting edge is defined by a projecting rib or a depending groove in the first end and the second end (figure 13).
As to claim 17, Itagaki discloses wherein the first end defines a smaller diameter inner coupler portion and wherein the second end defines a larger diameter outer coupler portion (figures 13).
As to claim 18-20, Itagaki discloses wherein the first foundation support component is a primary foundation support pile; and wherein the second foundation support component is an extension foundation support pile (pile 16); wherein the primary foundation support pile includes a helical auger (21) (figure 8).
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678