DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3-7-2025 and 8-22-2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 8, the phrase “sub-objects” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 6-8 of copending Application No. 19071230. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because They both provide for the same apparatus identifying a wall and an object with minor changes to sentence structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liedtke, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 6,163,292, published December 2000 in view of Sentelle, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0301167, published October 22, 2015.
As per claim 1, Liedtke discloses a computer-implemented method of operating a measuring device, comprising:
receiving radar data of a radar sensor unit of the measuring device, wherein the radar data depicts a wall to be diagnosed (Liedtke, Col. 4, lines 6-12);
performing a wall diagnostics by performing an analysis of the radar data and generating diagnostic results using a diagnostic module of the measuring device, wherein the performing the wall diagnostics comprises: performing a wall type classification and providing wall type classification results of a wall type of the wall using the diagnostic module based on the radar data (Liedtke, Fig. 3, S3 and S4);
performing an object recognition of an object disposed in the wall using the diagnostic module based on the radar data and taking into account the wall type classification results of the wall type, wherein the object recognition comprises an object detection and an object classification (Liedtke, Fig. 3, S6 and Col. 1, lines 25-35).
Liedtke fails to explicitly disclose classifying the object and providing the information on a display.
Sentelle teaches detection of objects through a medium and classifying them (¶249) and outputting the position to a display (¶86).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to classify and display in order to gain the obvious benefit of informing the user.
As per claim 2, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the received radar data comprises a plurality of radar signals of different frequencies reflected by the wall, and wherein the received radar data is summarized to a plurality of windows (Liedtke, Col. 3, line 54 using multiple frequencies).
As per claim 3, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein performing the wall type classification comprises: performing partial classifications on individual windows of the radar data and providing partial classification results of the wall type; and merging a plurality of partial classification results to an overall classification result and determining the wall type based on the overall classification result (Liedtke, Col. 3, lines 55-65 tracking medium changes and Col. 4, lines 38-65 combining the data).
As per claim 4, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the merger is affected by performing a merger algorithm, and/or wherein, during the merger, the partial classification results are considered with a weighting with respect to the results of the object recognition (Liedtke, Col. 4, lines 38-65).
As per claim 5, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the wall type classification comprises: storing the wall type classification results for the wall type; comparing the currently determined wall type classification results for the wall type with stored wall type classification results for the wall type; and providing the current wall type classification results for the wall type if the current wall type classification results for the wall type deviate from the stored wall type classification results for the wall type for a predetermined number of windows of the radar data (Liedtke, Col. 4, lines 29-35 comparing to a look up table).
Liedtke fails to disclose using a predetermined number of windows however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the window limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 6, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: the radar data is received for a plurality of positions of the measuring device relative to the wall, and the method further comprises receiving movement data of a movement detection unit of the measuring device, wherein the movement data represents a movement of the measuring device relative to the wall between the plurality of positions of the measuring device relative to the wall (Sentelle, ¶108).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to move the sensor in order to gain the obvious benefit of covering more surface area of the wall.
As per claim 7, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising: checking, based on the movement data of the movement detection unit, whether a movement of the measuring device relative to the wall by a predefined distance has been detected; if no movement has been detected, storing the radar data and performing the check again; and if movement by the predefined distance has been detected, performing the wall diagnostics based on the radar data using the diagnostic module (Sentelle, ¶108 where the movement is known).
As per claim 8, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the wall diagnostics further comprises: summarizing sub-objects detected and classified at various positions of the measuring device relative to the wall, based on radar data to a contiguous object, if there is a predefined distance dependency between the sub-objects (Sentelle, ¶218 where clustering associates returns between targets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to identify a contiguous object in order to gain the obvious benefit of reducing the number of false targets.
As per claim 9, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses a computing unit configured to perform the method of operating a measuring device according to claim 1 (Liedtke, Col. 3, lines 2-5).
As per claim 10, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses a computer program product comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a data processing unit, cause the data processing unit to perform the steps of the method for operating a measuring device according to claim 1 (Liedtke, Col., 3, lines 2-5).
As per claim 11, Liedtke as modified by Sentelle further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the measuring device includes a wall diagnostic device (Liedtke, Col. 4, lines 6-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provide on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646