DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-28, as filed on 03/07/2025, are currently pending and considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figures 4A, 4B, 4C have reference numbers 11, 12, and 16 pointing towards the same structure, it is unclear what structure is which.
Figure 4A has reference number 10 which does not exist.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Paragraph 55: reference number 11 is used for both the connecting element and the receiving sleeve.
Claim Objections
The following claims is/are objected to because of the following informalities; appropriate correction is required:
Claim 5: amend “the cable bolts” to ---cable bolts---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Zhu discloses a standing board (“trampoline”, see Figures) comprising:
a mat (bounce fabric 10); and
a frame (frame 200) having a profile configured to fix the mat to the frame (see Figures wherein the frame is formed of profiled hollow sections configured to have the fabric attached to the frame);
wherein the frame has a mounting groove (groove channel 221) configured to position a screw connecting element (left L shaped screw rod, Figure 4) for mounting further accessories in a number (two) along the frame (holes 215).
Zhu discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Zhu does not disclose the profile as an aluminum extruded profile.
Widich teaches an analogous exercise device in the same field of endeavor of trampolines solving the same issue of providing a trampoline frame comprising:
A frame (frame 23) having an aluminum extruded profile (“aluminum alloy tubes” Paragraph 34; the aluminum is considered to be an extruded tubular profile as it is a product by process).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the profile to be an extruded aluminum profile, as taught by Widich, in order to provide a low weight frame.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the standing board has an upper side configured for placement of feet of a user and an opposite underside (top and bottom sides of bounce fabric 10 respectfully), wherein the mounting groove is arranged as a lower mounting groove (bottom half of channel 221) on the frame along the underside of the standing board (bottom half of channel 221 is considered to be on the frame along the underside of the standing board as it is on the bottom side of the frame).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the screw connecting element is a screw with a screw head (see Figure 4 wherein the L shaped screws have threaded heads configured to engage with the bolts shown.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the mounting groove extends over an entire length of the aluminum extruded profile (channel 221 is along the entire length of the frame forming a circular channel about the entire trampoline).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, further comprising:
Feet (connectors 210, support pipes 230) detachably connected to the frame by a screw (right L shaped screw rod) connecting element fixed in the mounting groove (right screw rod engages the apertures 215 through the channel 221 fixing the connector 210 of the considered foot to the channel).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 11, wherein a position of one of the feet on the frame is adjustable by linear displacement (“ frame grooved pipe 220 is connected to the connector 210, one end of the frame grooved pipe 220 is arranged in the through hole 213 of the connector 210, and the groove 214 is arranged in the grooved-pipe horizontal channel 221” Col 3, lines 57-61; said connector 210 is linearly adjustable via sliding arrangement between pipe 220 and connector 210) and is fixable by screwing (“the fixed holes 222 and the second fixed holes 215 are fixedly connected by an L-shaped screw rod” Col. 61-64; said screw is configured to fix the pipes together).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the aluminum extruded profile has a hollow chamber profile (see Figures wherein the pipes are hollow).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 11, wherein the feet form tubes (support pipes 230 which are tubes).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 1, further comprising: at least six feet supporting the standing board on ground (Figure 3 annotated below; Feet considered left and right sides each comprising connectors 210 and respective support pipe sections 230).
Claims 5-9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 10173090 B2 (Heymans).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed see above. Zhu further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the frame has an opening (space between pipes 220 as shown in Figure 4), wherein the standing board has springs (springs 11) over the opening on the frame and connected to the mat by clamps (clamps 300).
Zhu does not wherein the standing board has closed or pressed rubber cable rings threaded over the opening on the frame and connected to the mat by the cable bolts.
Haymans teaches an analogous trampoline device in the same field of endeavor solving the same issue of attaching a trampoline mat to a trampoline frame comprising:
A frame (frame 19), wherein the standing board has closed elastic cable rings (rubber cables 18 with rings at each end) connected to the mat by the cable bolts (retaining elements 3A, 3B in the form of rod-shaped elements of tensioning element 1 attached to the mat via flaps 20).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the springs to be rubber cables with tensioning elements and flaps, as taught by Haymans, in order to provide softer deceleration of the body and dampen jumping sensations (Col. 1, lines 18-21).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Zhu further discloses wherein the opening is whatever distance the pipes 220 are held before being attached together. Zhu does not disclose the opening as approximately 20mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Zhu to have an opening of approximately 20 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of the relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distant from the prior art device.” In the instant case, the device of Zhu would not operate differently with the claimed opening size. Further, applicant places no criticality on the opening claimed, indicating only that the opening is “approximately” the claimed size. Therefore it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the opening to be 19.05 mm to reduce space between the ends of the pipes to reduce being forces being applied.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 5, further comprising: a closure element (connector 210) configured to close the opening after the mat is mounted by threading the rubber cable rings onto the frame (as shown in Figure 3; connector 210 is connected to respective ends of pipes 220 such that they are fixed together and the opening is closed).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 7, wherein the closure element is sleeve-shaped (see Figure 4 wherein the connector 210 is hollow allowing for the respective ends of pipes 220 to be inserted into ends of the connector in a sleeved relationship).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 5, wherein the rubber cable rings are loop-shaped (ends of the cable rings are formed into loops).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed see above. Zhu further discloses the standing board of claim 1, wherein the frame has an opening (space between pipes 220 as shown in Figure 4), wherein the standing board has springs (springs 11) over the opening on the frame and connected to the mat by clamps (clamps 300).
Zhu does not wherein exactly two rubber cable rings are connected to exactly one cable bolt with exactly one loop of the mat.
Haymans teaches an analogous trampoline device in the same field of endeavor solving the same issue of attaching a trampoline mat to a trampoline frame comprising:
two rubber cable rings (Figure 4: Annotated; elastic cables 18 are rubber) are connected to exactly one cable bolt (tensioning element 1 with retaining elements 3A; see Figure 4 wherein two cable rings of two different elastic cables 18 are attached to a singular tensioning element 1) with exactly one loop of the mat (singular flap 20).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the springs to be rubber cables with tensioning elements and flaps, as taught by Haymans, in order to provide softer deceleration of the body and dampen jumping sensations (Col. 1, lines 18-21).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 20170361143 A1 (Mehr et al; henceforth Mehr).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Zhu discloses the standing board as circular (see Figures). Zhu does not disclose the standing board as oval.
Mehr teaches an analogous trampoline device in the same field of endeavor comprising:
A standing board that is oval (“frame shape here can be circular, elongate-oval” Paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the standing board to be elongated-oval in order to provide varying resistances by the springs along the jump surface.
Claims 21-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 20180280750 A1 (Fischer et al; henceforth Fischer).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Zhu further discloses the frame formed of attachable grooved pipes 220. Zhu does not disclose wherein the aluminum extruded profile is a single extruded profile formed in one piece.
Fischer teaches an analogous trampoline device in the same field of endeavor comprising:
A frame (frame 1) wherein the frame has a profile (circular) formed in a singular piece (frame 1 is formed of a single continuous pipe with a total of two ends welded to guide 7).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the profile to be formed in one piece, as taught by Fischer, in order to reduce the number of required parts.
Regarding Claim 22, Zhu as modified discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Zhu does not disclose a frame component or a profile, wherein the frame component or profile is fixed to the frame via a connecting element, wherein the connecting element has a receiving sleeve configured to introduce ends of one or more frame profile elements, wherein the receiving sleeve has a receiving opening configured to insert the frame component or the profile, and wherein the receiving sleeve has a clamping piece arranged in a movable manner in the receiving sleeve so that the frame component or the profile is fixable in the receiving sleeve by the clamping piece in a clamping manner.
Fischer teaches an analogous trampoline exercise device in the same field of endeavor comprising:
a frame component or a profile (bar 5),
wherein the frame component or profile is fixed to a frame (frame 1) via a connecting element (guide 7 with actuating mechanism 8),
wherein the connecting element has a receiving sleeve (guide 7) configured to introduce ends of one or more frame profile elements (seen in Figure 2 wherein lower end of bar 5 is put through guide 7),
wherein the receiving sleeve has a receiving opening (openings 13) configured to insert the frame component or the profile (Figure 3), and
wherein the receiving sleeve has a clamping piece (inner piece 12) arranged in a movable manner (via threaded pin 16) in the receiving sleeve so that the frame component or the profile is fixable in the receiving sleeve by the clamping piece in a clamping manner (inner piece 12 is configured to be linearly moved by the actuating mechanism 8 such that the bar 5 can be frictionally locked within guide 7).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the frame with a frame component and connecting element, as taught by Fischer, in order to provide a hand grip location to the user for stability.
Regarding Claim 23, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 22, wherein the receiving sleeve has a fixing means for fixing linear movement between the receiving sleeve and one or more frame profiles of the frame (weld seams 9; guide 7 is welded onto the frame and fixes linear movement therebetween).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 22, wherein the movement of the clamping piece is triggered by an actuating element, wherein the actuating element is a lever, a handle, a handwheel, or a tool engagement (grip 10, grip 10 is a handle that is rotated to actuate the inner piece 12.
Regarding Claim 25, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 24, further comprising: a threaded rod between the actuating element and the clamping piece (threaded pin 16, Figure 3 to show the pin located between the inner piece 12 and grip 10).
Regarding Claim 26, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 22, wherein the clamping piece is guidedable in a linearly movable manner in the receiving sleeve (inner piece 12 is linearly movably via pin 16 in a left right motion relative to Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 27, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 22, wherein the receiving sleeve has two opposing receiving openings configured to for receive the frame component or the profile (see Figure 3 wherein there are two openings 13 located on opposite sides of guide 7).
Regarding Claim 29, Zhu as modified further discloses the standing board of claim 27, wherein the receiving sleeve defines a first insertion direction for the aluminum extruded profile, and the receiving opening defines a second insertion direction aligned perpendicular to the first insertion direction (see Figures 3-5 wherein the insertion directions of the bar 5 and the frame 1 are perpendicular).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 15-16, 19, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 10173090 B2 (Heymans) fails to teach or render obvious the device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
the cable bolts being elastically connected to the frame on each side by a respective one of the rubber cable rings.
The prior art of record teaches the cable bolts adjacent to each other with only singular rings attached thereon, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify cable bolt to be attached on each side without improper hindsight and modifying a teaching reference.
Regarding Claim 19, the prior art of record US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 10173090 B2 (Heymans) fails to teach or render obvious the device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
wherein a respective cable bolt is wrapped around in each case by two of the rubber cable rings at an end and is wrapped around in a middle by a loop attached to the mat.
The prior art of record teaches rubber cable rings wrapped around respective cable bolts with the loop attached the mat offset from each, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the cable bolt to have the rings at each end and the loop therein on the middle without modifying the teaching reference based on improper hindsight.
Regarding Claim 28, the prior art of record US 11583717 B1 (Zhu) in view of US 20070010374 A1 (Widich) in further view of US 10173090 B2 (Heymans) fails to teach or render obvious the device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
wherein the clamping piece has one or more guide segments which is/are matched to a width of a respective hollow chamber of the aluminum extruded profile, which has a hollow chamber profile.
The prior art of record teaches the clamping piece being a different size and orientation with respect to the hollow chamber of the aluminum extruded profile, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the clamping piece to have guide segments that are matched to a width of the respective hollow chamber of the aluminum extruded profile without improper hindsight and without modifying a teaching reference.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3784