DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group and specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/10/2025. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions have overlapping subject matter is not persuasive as explained in the restriction mailed 9/10/2025 the inventions require different elements and/or structure which would require different searches and/or more specific searches within class for species, this would burden the examiner.
It is also noted that examiner will be withdrawing claim 6 (flat shape is not defined in elected specie), claim 8 (only a first side of the finger portion not defined in elected specie and any figures) and claim 9 (the finger portion of the buffer component is spaced from the RTV material sealant within the cavity not defined in elected specie and any figures). In conclusion claims withdrawn are 4, 6, 8-9 and 12-15.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (US. 20090071930A1) in view of Larson et al (US. 20160116064A1).
Sato discloses a sealed joint assembly comprising a plastic component (e.g. 22), a metal component (e.g. 4), wherein the plastic component and the metal component define a cavity in an assembled position (e.g. cavity S4), a material sealant (paragraph 0041, “sealant”) disposed within the cavity (see paragraph 0041), a buffer component (e.g. one of B, see figure below) disposed within the cavity and wherein the buffer component is in contact with the plastic component and the metal component (e.g. that is the case since the component is integral with 2). Regarding claim 2, wherein the buffer component comprises a base portion (e.g. base of B) and a finger portion (e.g. portion of B extending and contacting 4) extending from the base portion. Regarding claim 3, wherein the base portion is in contact with the plastic component and a distal end of the finger portion is in contact with the metal component (e.g. end of B is in contact with 4). Regarding claim 5, wherein the finger portion has rounded shape (e.g. that is the case since portion of B is annular as seen in figures) at a distal end thereof. Regarding claim 7, wherein the finger portion of the buffer component is surrounded by the material sealant on a first side and a second side of the finger portion (e.g. as stated in paragraph 0041, sealant is provided in clearance between 4 and 2). Regarding claim 10, wherein the buffer component is formed of one of at least one of rubber, a thermoplastic elastomer, and a thermoplastic vulcanizate (e.g. B is formed from thermoplastic vulcanizate, resin and see abstract). Regarding claim 11, wherein the metal component is formed of aluminum (e.g. paragraph 0044, see material of 4).
Sato discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose that the material sealant is a room temperature vulcanized material sealant (e.g. RTV). Larson discloses a sealant that is liquid or semi solid or RTV (e.g. paragraph 0015). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the material sealant of Sato be selected as room temperature vulcanized material sealant as taught by Larson, with reasonable expectation of success to provide curing of sealant at room temperature (inherent function of room temperature vulcanized material sealant or RTV, see description “room temperature vulcanized silicone in paragraph 0015 of Larson).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson (US. 20160116064) in view of Weitz.
This rejection is also applicable now and when applicant claims that the rounded shape is defined in cross-section of the finger portion.
Larson discloses a sealed joint assembly comprising a plastic component (e.g. 12), a metal component (e.g. 14), wherein the plastic component and the metal component (e.g. see paragraph 0012) define a cavity in an assembled position (e.g. cavity having sealant 56), a room temperature vulcanized material sealant (e.g. sealant 56, see paragraph 15) disposed within the cavity (see placement of sealant in cavity formed between 12 and 14) and wherein the metal component is formed of aluminum (e.g. paragraph 0012).
Larson discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose a buffer component made of at least one of rubber, a thermoplastic elastomer and a thermoplastic vulcanizate disposed within the cavity, the buffer component comprises a base portion and a finger portion that is rounded shape at a distal end extending from the base portion, wherein the base portion is in contact with the plastic component and the distal end of the finger portion is in contact with the metal component and the room temperature vulcanized material sealant on a first side and a second side of the finger portion. Weitz (e.g. figure 3) discloses a first component, a second component, a cavity (e.g. cavity having 5 and 12) having sealant (e.g. 12 in figure 3) between the first component and the second component, a buffer component (e.g. 5) made of at least one of rubber, a thermoplastic elastomer and a thermoplastic vulcanizate disposed within the cavity (e.g. figure 3), the buffer component comprises a base portion (e.g. base portion in contact with 7, figure 3) and a finger portion (e.g. finger having 16 and 17 on each side) that is rounded shape in cross-section (e.g. end of the finger portion is rounded in cross-section, see figure 3) at a distal end extending from the base portion, wherein the base portion is in contact with the first component and the distal end of the finger portion is in contact with the second component (e.g. figure 3 shows this) and the sealant on a first side and a second side of the finger portion (e.g. sealant 12 on both sides of the finger portion, figure 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealed joint assembly of Larson with the structure of a buffer component as taught by Weitz, with reasonable expectation of success to provide retention (e.g. see description of recess 11 in Weitz and these are the recesses 16 and 17 in figure 3 of Weitz).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference provided on 892 teach different material for components which can be applied to Weitz and the sealant material on 892 teach RTV which can be applied to Weitz. It is noted that no claims are allowable.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675