DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5-8, 10,11, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seung et al. (KR0010033A, hereinafter “Seung ‘033”) in view Seung et al. (KR0141523A, hereinafter “Seung ‘523”).
Regarding claim 1, Seung ‘033 teaches a camera comprising: a frame ( a base (110)); a lens unit (lens assembly (150)); movably disposed with respect to the frame and includes at least one lens; a first carrier (130 (AF carrier)) including an auto focus (AF) magnet (M2) disposed to face a first direction, and coupled to the lens unit to move the lens unit in the first direction; and a second carrier (120 (first OIS carrier)) including a first optic image stabilization (OIS) magnet (M1) disposed to a first face and a second OIS magnet (M3) moving ([0048]) the lens unit in at least one of a second direction or a third direction different from the second direction, wherein the frame (base) includes a first AF coil (C2) disposed to the frame to face the AF magnet (M2), a first OIS coil (C1) disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet (M1), and a second OIS coil (C3) disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet (M3) ([0002], [0038], [0044], [0046], [0053], [0054], [0065], and [0081], fig. 1).
Seung ‘033 fails to teach: and wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke disposed to face the first OIS magnet, and a second yoke disposed to face the second OIS magnet.
Seung ‘523, however, teaches (fig.5): wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke (171) disposed to face the first OIS magnet (130-1), and a second yoke (172) disposed to face the second OIS magnet (130-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add to the device of Seung ‘033, a first carrier including a first yoke disposed to face the first OIS magnet, and a second yoke disposed to face the second OIS magnet. One would have been motivated to use the specific combination of magnets, coils, and yokes as proposed in the claim to form a compact reduced size camera module.
Regarding claim 2, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0083]):
at least one sphere (B2) disposed between the first carrier (130) and the second carrier (120) so that the first carrier is movable on the second carrier.
Regarding claim 3, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0084, 0085], fig. 4):
wherein the second carrier (120) includes a first ball guide groove (123) disposed so that at least one first sphere is movable in the first direction on a face facing the first carrier.
Regarding claim 5, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0011], fig. 1 Seung ‘033, attached below):
at least one second sphere disposed between the second carrier (first OIS carrier (120)) and the third carrier (second OIS carrier (140)) so that the second carrier is movable on the third carrier.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 1 Seung ‘033)]
Regarding claim 6, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0011], [0021], [0023], fig. 7 Seung ‘033, attached below)
wherein the third carrier includes a second ball guide groove disposed so that the at least one second sphere is movable in the second direction on a face facing the second carrier.
Regarding claim 7, Seung ‘033 as modified by ‘523, further teaches ([0066], fig. 7 Seung ‘033, attached below): at least one third sphere (B3) disposed between the third carrier and the frame so that the third carrier is movable on the frame.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 7, Seung ‘033)]
Regarding claim 8, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0069-0071, 0100], fig. 7):
wherein the frame includes a third ball guide groove (141) disposed so that the at least one third sphere is movable in the third direction on a face facing the third carrier.
Regarding claim 10, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0029]):
wherein the first direction is a direction identical to an optical axis (Z axis) of the lens unit or parallel to the optical axis, wherein the second direction (X axis) is a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and wherein the third direction (Y axis) is a direction perpendicular to the optical axis and the second direction.
Regarding claim 11, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0022], [0048]):
wherein the first face of the second carrier is substantially perpendicular to the second face.
Regarding claim 16, Seung ‘033 teaches an electronic device (camera module) comprising: a frame ( a base (110)); a lens unit (lens assembly (150)); movably disposed with respect to the frame and includes at least one lens; a first carrier (130 (AF carrier)) including an auto focus (AF) magnet (M2) disposed to face a first direction, and coupled to the lens unit to move the lens unit in the first direction; and a second carrier (120 (first OIS carrier)) including a first optic image stabilization (OIS) magnet (M1) disposed to a first face and a second OIS magnet (M3) moving ([0048]) the lens unit in at least one of a second direction or a third direction different from the second direction, wherein the frame (base) includes a first AF coil (C2) disposed to the frame to face the AF magnet (M2), a first OIS coil (C1) disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet (M1), and a second OIS coil (C3) disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet (M3) ([0002], [0038], [0044], [0046], [0053], [0054], [0065], and [0081], fig. 1).
Seung ‘033 fails to teach: and wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke disposed to face the first OIS magnet, and a second yoke disposed to face the second OIS magnet.
Seung ‘523, however, teaches (fig.5): wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke (171) disposed to face the first OIS magnet (130-1), and a second yoke (172) disposed to face the second OIS magnet (130-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add to the device of Seung ‘033, a first carrier including a first yoke disposed to face the first OIS magnet, and a second yoke disposed to face the second OIS magnet. One would have been motivated to use the specific disposition of magnets, coils, and yokes as proposed in the claim to form a compact reduced size camera module.
Regarding claim 17, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0083-0085], fig. 4):
at least one sphere (B2) disposed between the first carrier (130) and the second carrier (120) so that the first carrier is movable on the second carrier, wherein the second carrier (120) includes a first ball guide groove (123) disposed so that at least one first sphere is movable in the first direction on a face facing the first carrier.
Regarding claim 19, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523, further teaches ([0011], [0021], [0023] figs. 1,7 Seung ‘033 attached above): at least one second sphere disposed between the second carrier (first OIS carrier (120)) and the third carrier (second OIS carrier (140)) so that the second carrier is movable on the third carrier, wherein the third carrier includes a second ball guide groove disposed so that the at least one second sphere is movable in the second direction on a face facing the second carrier.
Regarding claim 20, Seung ‘033 as modified by ‘523, further teaches ([0066, 0069-0071], fig. 2, and fig. 7 Seung ‘033 attached above): at least one third sphere disposed between the third carrier and the frame so that the third carrier is movable on the frame, wherein the frame includes a third ball guide groove (113) disposed so that the at least one third sphere is movable in the third direction on a face facing the third carrier.
Claim 4, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected over Seung ‘033 in view of Seung ‘523 and in further view of Qi (CN114500776A, hereinafter “Qi”).
Regarding claim 4, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all the claim limitations except:
a third carrier disposed between the second carrier and the frame.
Qi, however, teaches ([0061], fig. 1, attached below):
a third carrier disposed between the second carrier and the frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into the Seung ‘033’s device, the disposition of the third carrier in Qi’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the carriers and frame as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
Regarding claim 13, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all of the claim limitations, except:
wherein at least one of the first OIS magnet or the second OIS magnet are disposed to face the first direction, and wherein the first OIS coil is disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet,
and the second OIS coil is disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet.
Qi, however, teaches ([0060, 0061], fig. 2, attached below):
wherein at least one of the first OIS magnet (11) or the second OIS magnet (21) are disposed to face the first direction, and wherein the first OIS coil (12) is disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet (11), and the second OIS coil (22) is disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the dispositions of the coils and magnets in Qi’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the magnets and coils as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
Regarding claim 14, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all of the claim limitations, except:
wherein the first OIS magnet is disposed to face a second direction, and the second OIS magnet is disposed to face a third direction, and wherein the first OIS coil is disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet, and the second OIS coil is disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet.
Qi, however, teaches ([0060, 0061], fig. 2, attached below):
wherein the first OIS magnet (11) is disposed to face a second direction, and the second OIS magnet (21) is disposed to face a third direction, and wherein the first OIS coil (12) is disposed to the frame to face the first OIS magnet (11), and the second OIS coil (22) is disposed to the frame to face the second OIS magnet (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the dispositions of the coils and magnets in Qi’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the magnets and coils as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 2, Qi)]
Regarding claim 18, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all the claim limitations except:
a third carrier disposed between the second carrier and the frame.
Qi, however, teaches ([0061], fig. 1, attached below):
a third carrier disposed between the second carrier and the frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the disposition of the third carrier in Qi’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the carriers and frame as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 1, Qi)]
Claim 9 and 12 rejected over Seung ‘033 in view of Seung ‘523 and in further view of Ok (KR20200068886A, hereinafter “Ok ‘886”).
Regarding claim 9, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all the claim limitations, except:
wherein the frame further includes a second AF coil facing the first AF coil, and wherein the AF magnet is disposed between the first AF coil and the second AF coil.
Ok ‘886, however, teaches ([0029-0036, fig. 2 Ok ‘886 attached below):
wherein the frame further includes a second AF coil (230) facing the first AF coil (120-1), and wherein the AF magnet (130-1) is disposed between the first AF coil and the second AF coil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the dispositions of the coils and magnets in Ok ‘886’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the magnets and coils as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 2, Ok ‘886)]
Regarding claim 12, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘886 teaches all the claim limitations except:
wherein the AF magnet is disposed to a portion extended from a face facing one face of the first carrier to which the first yoke is disposed.
Ok ‘886, however, teaches ([0005, 0029, 0033], fig. 7 Ok ‘886 attached below):
wherein the AF magnet (130-1) is disposed to a portion extended from a face facing one face of the first carrier to which the first yoke (193) is disposed.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig.7, Ok ‘886)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the dispositions of the yokes and magnets in Ok ‘886’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the magnets and coils as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera.
Claim 15 is rejected over Seung ‘033 in view of Seung ‘523 and in further view of Ok (KR20200061622A, hereinafter “Ok ‘622”).
Regarding claim 15, Seung ‘033 as modified by Seung ‘523 teaches all the claim limitations, except:
wherein the second carrier further includes a third OIS magnet disposed parallel to the first OIS magnet on the first face, and a fourth OIS magnet disposed parallel to the second OIS magnet on the second face, and wherein the frame further includes a third OIS coil disposed to the frame to face the third OIS magnet, and a fourth OIS coil disposed to the frame to face the fourth OIS magnet.
Ok ‘622, however, teaches (claims 1 and 3, figs. 1 and 4): wherein the second carrier (housing) further includes a third OIS magnet (second magnet part) disposed parallel to the first OIS magnet (first magnet part) on the first face, and a fourth OIS magnet (second magnet part) disposed parallel to the second OIS magnet (first magnet part) on the second face, and wherein the frame further includes a third OIS coil (third OIS coil) disposed to the frame (bobbin) to face the third OIS magnet, and a fourth OIS coil (fourth OIS coil) disposed to the frame (bobbin) to face the fourth OIS magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to include into Seung ‘033’s device, the dispositions of the coils and magnets in Ok ‘662’s camera module. One would have been motivated to form the arrangement of the magnets and coils as proposed to form a reduced in size and robust compact camera module.
Conclusion
/F.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/MICHAEL H CALEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871