Detailed Office Action
1. This communication is being filed in response to the submission having a mailing date (03/07/2025), which a (3) month Shortened Statutory Period for Response has been set.
Acknowledgements
3. Upon new entry, claims (1 -17) appear pending for examination, of which (1, 7, 9, 15 and 17) are the five (5) parallel running independent claims on record.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is note that no information disclosure statements filed with this application. However the Background & introduction Sections of Applicant's Specification describes several known technologies that seem pertinent to the filed application. A listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. The 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or any other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper."
Drawings
The submitted Drawings on date (03/07/2025) has been accepted and considered under the 37 CFR 1.121 (d).
Claim Interpretation
6. For the purpose of examination, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation
(BRI) doctrine, consistent with the instant specification and the common knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, the below list of terms/limitations will be considered to read as:
6.1. Claim 17 implies the presumption of “a bitstream for decoding”, that when having support in at least Fig. 13; [specs; 0026], it may raise a potential 35 USC 112 issue in the claim. A gramma correction is recommended moving forward, specifying “an encoded bitstream, for decoding by a compliant decoder” instead, if intended.
Claim rejection section
35 U.S.C 102(a)(1)
7.1. Claim (17) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koo; et al. (US 10,499,061 B2; hereafter “Koo”).
Claim (17) is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (CRM) storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method. The claim doesn’t recite that the CRM contains executable instruction(s), that by execution, would implement the claimed encoding method.
To be given patentable weight, the CRM and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the CRM to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM storing the claimed bitstream in claim (17) merely services as a support for the CRM of the bitstream, and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the CRM. Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Koo; et al. (US 10,499,061 B2; which similarly recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (Figs (8, 9)) in at least [Col. 23; 50], in a similar codec ecosystem (i.e. encoder (Fig. 1) and decoder (Fig. 2)).
35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
8.1. Claims (1 -17) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Divorra; et al. (“Geometry-adaptive block partitioning; Divorra; 2007”); hereafter “Divorra”) in view of Ahn Yong; et al (US 2021/0274162, with a foreign benefit (27/06/2018); hereafter “Yong”).
Claim 1. Divorra discloses the invention substantially as claimed A decoder configured to: (e.g. the paper describes the principles of Linear (rectangular) and non-linear (geometric) partition techniques, in accordance with the extended H.264 AVC codec; as illustrated in Figs. (1-3)).
Divorra specifically teaches - receive a bitstream including a coded picture, the coded picture including a block of coded pixels (e.g. coded bitstream in accordance with AVC codec; [page 1])
and signaling information including (e.g. the coded bitstream includes side syntax information; [page 1]); a first partition index useful for determining the start point of a non-straight non-rectangular partition and a second partition index useful for determining the end point of the non-straight non-rectangular partition; (e.g. the coded bitstream further includes two (2) different indexes, defined for each of the “start” and “end” partition points, between divided regions P0/P1, Figs. (2-3); [page 2 -3]);
determine, using the first partition index, a start point of a non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, (e.g. partitioning of the same, Figs. (2-3); [page 2-3]); the start point being located on a first side of the block a first offset distance from a first corner of the block; (e.g. see start-point Figs. (2-3); [page 2 -3]);
determine, using the second partition index, an endpoint of the non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, (e.g. see “end” partition points, between divided regions P0/P1, Figs. (2-3); [page 2 -3]); the end point being located on a second side of the block, a second offset distance from a second corner of the block; (e.g. see corner end-point Figs. (2-3); [page 2 -3]);
generate first predictive pixel values in a first region on a first side of the non- straight, non-rectangular partition; (e.g. see analogous predicted values for P0 and P1 partition regions, in Figs. (2-3); [page 2 -3]);
generate second predictive pixel values in a second region on a second side of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; (e.g. see predicted pixel lines, for the linear (quadtree) and non-linear (geometric) between the P0/P1 regions; Fig. 2)
and decode the block using the predictive pixel values; (e.g. see similar decoder, employing look-up tables to improve computation requirements, wherein information can be stored and indexed with respect to all possible angle and location; [page 4]).
Given the teachings of Divorra as a whole, and under the obvious assumption and purpose of his papers, it is noted that, some of the standard “functional components” as claimed, are not fully disclosed in the papers (i.e. no encoder/decoder schematic shown).
For the purpose of additional structural support, and in the same field of endeavor, Yong discloses an encoder (Fig. 1) and decoder (Fig. 2), in accordance with AVC/HEVC codec standards (wherein CTU/CTB sizes of “8x8 to 64x64” is supported), similarly using linear and geometric partitioning techniques, as shown in Figs (5 -7); [Yong; 0005; 0135]).
Yong specifically teaches a decoder - receive a bitstream; (e.g. see incoming data in (210) Fig. 2; [Yong; 0087 -0105]); partition a current block (e.g. see 210 Fig. 2 [Yong], via an exponential partitioning mode into a first region and a second region; (e.g. see Fig. 6 [Yong; 0135]); determine prediction pixel values (e.g. see prediction (230. 235); [Yong]) associated with first region or the second region, (e.g. where the correspondent prediction techniques applied for P0/P1 regions; [Yong; 0099; 0136]); wherein determining includes constructing a candidate list; and (e.g. see step (s810), Fig. 8; [Yong; 0006, 0011; 0181]); and similarly decode the current block using the predicted values; (e.g. see image data reconstruction (245), Fig. 2; [Yong; 0105]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cited “geometric partitioning” technique of Divorra, with the “polygonal/curve” partitioning architecture of Yong - in order to improve codec efficiency, when applying block geometric partitioning of various types; [Summary; 0024]).
Claim 2. Divorra/Yong discloses - The decoder of claim 1, wherein a first motion vector chosen from a first set of motion vector candidates is used to generate the first region of predictive pixel values and a second motion vector chosen from a second set of motion vector candidates is used to generate the second region of predictive pixel values; (e.g. see MV candidate selection for both P0 and P1 regions, as shown in Figs (3, 11 -13); [Yong; page 13]; the same motivation applies herein.)
Claim 3. Divorra/Yong discloses -The decoder of claim 1, wherein: the decoder smooths the first predictive pixel values and second predictive pixel values across the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; (e.g. see Fig. 6; [Yong; 0135]);
and decodes the coded block by adding residual pixel values to the smoothed first and second predictive pixel values; (e.g. implemented at the decoder (200), Fig. 2; [Yong; 0134 -0138]; the same motivation applies herein.)
Claim 4. Divorra/Yong discloses -The decoder of claim 1, wherein the block is a coding tree unit. Examiner’s note is taking - regarding the use of CTB (codec tree block) or CTU (codec tree unit) block partitioning in HEVC codec, having range sizes of 16x16 to 64x64, where CB sizes of 8x8 is also technically supported.)
Claim 5. Divorra/Yong discloses -The decoder of claim 1, wherein the block is NxN and N is one of 128, 64, or 32. Examiner’s note is taking - regarding the use of CTB (codec tree block) or CTU (codec tree unit) block partitioning in HEVC codec, having range sizes of 16x16 to 64x64, where 8x8 is also technically supported.)
Claim 6. Divorra/Yong discloses -The decoder of claim 1, wherein the non-straight non-rectangular partition is a curve; (e.g. see linear (QTBT) and geometric (GMP) curve partitioning; in both Divorra (Fig. 2) and Yong (Fig. 6); the same motivation applies herein.)
Claim 7. Divorra/Yong discloses - A decoder configured to: receive a bitstream including a coded picture, the coded picture including a coding tree unit comprising multiple coding units and signaling information including a first partition index useful for determining the start point of a non-straight non- rectangular partition in the coding tree unit and a second partition index useful for determining the end point of the non-straight non-rectangular partition in the coding tree unit; determine, using the first partition index and second partition index, the start point and end point of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition in the coding tree unit; generate first predictive pixel values in a first region on a first side of the non- straight, non-rectangular partition using a first motion vector from a first set of motion vector candidates; generate second predictive pixel values in a second region on a second side of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition using a second motion vector from a second set of motion vector candidates; smooth the first predictive pixel values and second predictive pixel values across the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; and decode the coding tree unit by adding residual pixel values to the smoothed first and second predictive pixel values. (Current lists all the same elements as recite in Claim 1 above, but in “decoder form” instead, and is/are therefore on the same premise)
Claim 8. Divorra/Yong discloses - The decoder of claim 7, wherein the bit stream includes a first motion vector candidate index used to identify the first motion vector from the first set of motion vector candidates and a second motion vector candidate index used to identify the second motion vector from the second set of motion vector candidates. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 2 above).
Claim 9. Divorra/Yong discloses - An encoder configured to generate an encoded bitstream for decoding by a compliant decoder, the bitstream including a coded picture including a block of coded pixels and signaling information including a first partition index useful for determining the start point of a non-straight non-rectangular partition and a second partition index useful for determining the end point of the non-straight non- rectangular partition, the decoder receiving the bitstream and being configured to: determine, using the first partition index, a start point of a non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, the start point being located on a first side of the block a first offset distance from a first corner of the block; determine, using the second partition index, an endpoint of the non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, the end point being located on a second side of the block, a second offset distance from a second corner of the block; generate first predictive pixel values in a first region on a first side of the non- straight, non-rectangular partition; generate second predictive pixel values in a second region on a second side of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; and decode the block using the predictive pixel values. (Current lists all the same elements as recite in Claim 1 above, but in “encoder form” instead, and is/are therefore on the same premise)
Claim 10. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 9, wherein a first motion vector chosen from a first set of motion vector candidates is used to generate the first region of predictive pixel values and a second motion vector chosen from a second set of motion vector candidates is used to generate the second region of predictive pixel values. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 2 above).
Claim 11. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 9, wherein: the decoder smooths the first predictive pixel values and second predictive pixel values across the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; and decodes the coded block by adding residual pixel values to the smoothed first and second predictive pixel values. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 3 above).
Claim 12. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 9, wherein the block is a coding tree unit. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 4 above).
Claim 13. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 9, wherein the block is NxN and N is one of 128, 64, or 32. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 5 above).
Claim 14. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 9, wherein the non-straight non-rectangular partition is a curve. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 6 above).
Claim 15. Divorra/Yong discloses - An encoder configured to generate an encoded bitstream for decoding by a compliant decoder, the bitstream including a coded picture including a coding tree unit comprising multiple coding units and signaling information including a first partition index useful for determining the start point of a non-straight non-rectangular partition in the coding tree unit and a second partition index useful for determining the end point of the non-straight non-rectangular partition in the coding tree unit, the decoder receiving the bitstream and being configured to: determine, using the first partition index and second partition index, the start point and end point of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition in the coding tree unit; generate first predictive pixel values in a first region on a first side of the non- straight, non-rectangular partition using a first motion vector from a first set of motion vector candidates; generate second predictive pixel values in a second region on a second side of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition using a second motion vector from a second set of motion vector candidates; smooth the first predictive pixel values and second predictive pixel values across the non-straight, non-rectangular partition; and decode the coding tree unit by adding residual pixel values to the smoothed first and second predictive pixel values. (Current lists all the same elements as recite in Claim 1 above, but in “encoder device form” instead, and is/are therefore on the same premise.)
Claim 16. Divorra/Yong discloses - The encoder of claim 15, wherein the bit stream includes a first motion vector candidate index used to identify the first motion vector from the first set of motion vector candidates and a second motion vector candidate index used to identify the second motion vector from the second set of motion vector candidates. (The same rationale and motivation apply as given to Claim 2 above).
Claim 17. Divorra/Yong discloses - A non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with a bitstream for decoding by a compliant decoder,
the bitstream including a coded picture including a block of coded pixels and signaling information including a first partition index useful for determining the start point of a non- straight non-rectangular partition and a second partition index useful for determining the end point of the non-straight non-rectangular partition, the decoder receiving the bitstream and being configured to:
determine, using the first partition index, a start point of a non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, the start point being located on a first side of the block a first offset distance from a first corner of the block;
determine, using the second partition index, an endpoint of the non-straight non- rectangular partition in the block, the end point being located on a second side of the block, a second offset distance from a second corner of the block;
generate first predictive pixel values in a first region on a first side of the non- straight, non-rectangular partition;
generate second predictive pixel values in a second region on a second side of the non-straight, non-rectangular partition;
and decode the block using the predictive pixel values. (Current lists all the same elements as recite in Claim 1 above, but in “CRM form” instead, and is/are therefore on the same premise.)
Prior Art Citations
9. The following List of prior art, made of record and not relied upon, is/are considered
pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
9.1. Patent documentation
US 9,159,141 B2 Bordes; et al. H04N19/543; H04N19/176; H04N19/159;
US 9,756,359 B2 Zhao; Xin et al. H04N19/52; H04N19/597; H04N19/11
US 10,499,061 B2 Koo; et al. H04N19/46; H04N19/124; H04N19/176;
US 11,553,180 B2 Sjöberg; et al. H04N19/174; H04N19/11; H04N19/172;
US 11,172,214 B2 Wang; et al. H04N19/436; H04N19/46; H04N19/139;
US 11,259,014 B2 Furht; et al. H04N19/513; H04N19/13; H04N19/176;
US 12,075,046 B2 Furht; et al. H04N19/17; H04N19/119; H04N19/96;
US 20210274162 A1 Ahn; Yong; et al. H04N19/52; H04N19/573; H04N19/105;
9.2. Non-Patent documentation:
_ Geometry-adaptive block partitioning; Divorra; 2007.
_ Geometric deriving MV for motion prediction in block-based video coding; 2017.
_ Geometry-based Partitioning for Predictive Coding with Transform Adaptation; 2018.
_ Geometric partitioning - Overview; Blaser – 2018.
CONCLUSIONS
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS PEREZ-FUENTES (luis.perez-fuentes@uspto.gov) whose telephone number is (571) 270 -1168. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, WILLIAM VAUGHN can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 272 -3922. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated system, please call (800) 786 -9199 (USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 -1000.
/LUIS PEREZ-FUENTES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481.