DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2022-0133089, filed on 10/17/2022; and 10-2022-0113557, filed on 09/07/2022 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 03/07/2025; and 11/13/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 03/07/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. [US 10,674,647], in view of Inoue Michinobu [JP 2006093471].
Regarding claim 1, Yao et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1 and 2A-2B) comprising:
a housing (102, figure 1) comprising:
a front surface (a front surface of the housing 102, figure 1);
a rear surface (a rear housing, figure 1) opposite to the front surface; and
a side surface (a periphery of the housing 102, figure 1) enclosing an internal space (an interior space is within the housing 102, figure 1) between the front surface and the rear surface;
a display (104, figure 1) visually exposed to an outside through the front surface;
a printed circuit board (a PCB 112, figure 1) in the internal space comprising a board surface, the board surface comprising a shield area (an area disposed under a shield assembly 114, figure 1);
at least one electrical component (108/106, figure 1) on the shield area of the board surface; and
a shield can (116, figures 1 and/or 2A-2B) assembly disposed along a circumference of the shield area and connected to the PCB, the shield can assembly forming a partition wall (210, figures 2A-2B) perpendicular to the board surface, wherein the shield can assembly comprises:
at least one first shield member (a straight shield portion disposed on a right side of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) extending in a first direction (Y direction, figures 2A-2B) on the board surface;
a plurality of second shield members (at least four corners shield portions, figures 2A-2B) comprising:
a first portion (a right bottom corer 210, figures 2A-2B) extending in a second direction (X direction, figures 2A-2B) on the board surface, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction; and
a second portion (an extended portion is coupled to the first shield portion, figures 2A-2B) extending in the first direction on the board surface; and
wherein the at least one first shield member and the plurality of second shield members enclose at least a portion of the shield area (figures 1 and 2A-2B).
Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the second shield member includes a plurality of second shield members, and a shield cover connected to the at least one first shield member and the plurality of second shield members and covering the shield area.
Inoue Michinobu discloses a shield structure (1, figures 1-16) comprising a shield can (4, figures 1-4) includes a plurality of corners parts (41 & 42, figures 1-4), wherein the shield can is mounted on a printed circuit board (2, figures 1 and 3), an a shield cover (5, figures 1-3) is coupled on the shield can (figures 1-3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a shield cover on a shield can including a plurality of second shield members of an electronic device of Yao et al., as suggested by Inoue Michinobu, in order to easily install shield cans on a printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein a shape of the shield cover corresponds to a shape of the shield area.
Inoue Michinobu further discloses wherein a shape of the shield cover corresponds to a shape of the shield area (figures 1 - 3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a shape of a shield cover corresponds to a shape of a shield area, in an electronic device of Yao et al., as suggested by Inoue Michinobu, in order to completely isolate sensitive components from electromagnetic interference and prevent signal leakage in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 3, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, further disclose wherein the at least one first shield member comprises:
a first side surface part (210, figures 2A-2B) extending from the board surface in a height direction (Z, direction, figures 2A-2B) perpendicular to the board surface and forming at least a portion of the partition wall; and
a first support part (208, figures 2A-2B) extending in a direction perpendicular to the height direction from a first end of the first side surface part opposite to the board surface.
Regarding claim 6, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, further disclose wherein at least one of second shield member comprises:
a second side surface part (210, figures 2A-2B) extending from the board surface in a height direction (Z, direction, figures 2A-2B) perpendicular to the board surface and forming at least a portion of the partition wall; and
a second support part (208, figures 2A-2B) extending from an end of the second side surface part opposite to the board surface in a direction perpendicular to the height direction.
Regarding claim 7, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, further disclose wherein each of the plurality of second shield member further comprises an upper flange (an upper joined portion which is connected between the first portion and the second portion of each corner of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) on a portion of the second side surface part and protruding in the direction perpendicular to the height direction from the end of the second side surface part opposite to the board surface.
Regarding claim 8, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, further disclose wherein the upper flange is provided at area corresponding to where the first portion and the second portion are connected (figures 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 9, Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein a length of the first portion is different than a length of the second portion.
Inoue Michinobu, further discloses the shield can comprising a plurality of corner shield members (42A, figures 1-3) including a first portion (41, figures 1-3) and a second portion (42, figures 1-3), wherein a length of the first portion is different than a length of the second portion (at least one corner shield member 42A has a different length between two portions, figure 1-3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a second shield member of Inoue Michinobu, in a shield can of Yao et al., in order to improve and adapt a shield shape in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 10, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose wherein a gap (figures 2A-2B) exists between a first shield member of the at least one first shield member a second shield member of the plurality of shield members that are adjacent to each other, or between adjacent second shield members of the plurality of second shield members.
Regarding claim 12, Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein a width of the gap is less than or equal to 0.1 mm.
Inoue Michinobu, further discloses wherein a width of a gap is about 0. 2mm (see document).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set a gap of ≤ 0.1mm in a shield can of Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, in order to prevent high-frequency leakage from a shield can, since such a modification would have involved the use of a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d at 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at1396.
Regarding claim 14, Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the shield cover comprises: a first cover portion parallel to the board surface; and a second cover portion connected to an edge of the first cover portion and connected to an outer circumferential surface of the partition wall.
Inoue Michinoku, further discloses wherein the shield cover (5, figures 1 and 3) comprises: a first cover portion (51, figures 1 and 3) parallel to the board surface (2, figures 1 and 3); and a second cover portion (52, figures 1 and 3) connected to an edge of the first cover portion and connected to an outer circumferential surface of the partition wall (41, figures 1 and 3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a shield cover design of Inoue Michinobu, in an electronic device of Yao et al., in order to improve board-level electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding in an electronic device.
Regarding claim 15, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose wherein the at least one first shield member and the plurality of second shield members enclose the shield area in a closed-loop shape (figures 1 and 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 16, Yao et al., disclose a shield can assembly (116, figures 1 and/or 2A-2B) connected to a printed circuit board (a PCB 112, figure 1), the shield can assembly comprising:
at least one first shield member (a straight shield portion disposed on a right side of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) having a straight shape (figures 2A-2B); and
a plurality of second shield members (at least four corners shield portions, figures 2A-2B) comprising:
a first portion (a right bottom corer 210, figures 2A-2B) extending in a second direction (X direction, figures 2A-2B); and
a second portion (an extended portion is coupled to the first shield portion, figures 2A-2B) extending from an end of the first portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction,
wherein the at least one first shield member and the plurality of second shield members enclose a shield area of the PCB in a closed-loop shape (figures 1 and 2A-2B).
Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the second shield member includes a plurality of second shield members.
Inoue Michinobu discloses a shield structure (1, figures 1-16) comprising a shield can (4, figures 1-4) includes a plurality of corners parts (41 & 42, figures 1-4), wherein the shield can is mounted on a printed circuit board (2, figures 1 and 3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a shield can including a plurality of second shield members of an electronic device of Yao et al., as suggested by Inoue Michinobu, in order to easily install shield cans on a printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 17, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose wherein the at least one first shield member comprises:
a first side surface part (210, figures 2A-2B) extending perpendicular to a surface of the PCB; and
a first support part (208, figures 2A-2B) bent in a direction parallel with the surface of the PCB from an end of the first side surface part opposite to the surface of the PCB,
wherein each of the plurality of second shield members comprises:
a second side surface part (210, figures 2A-2B) extending perpendicular to the surface of the PCB; and
a second support part (208, figures 2A-2B) bent in the direction parallel to the surface of the PCB from an end of the second side surface part opposite to the surface of the PCB,
Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the shield can assembly further comprises a shield cover on the at least one first shield member and the plurality of second shield members and covering the shield area, and wherein an edge of the shield cover is connected to the first support part and the second support part.
Inoue Michinobu discloses a shield structure (1, figures 1-16) comprising a shield can (4, figures 1-4) includes a plurality of corners parts (41 & 42, figures 1-4), wherein the shield can is mounted on a printed circuit board (2, figures 1 and 3), an a shield cover (5, figures 1-3) is coupled on the shield can (figures 1-3) and wherein an edge of the shield cover is connected to a periphery of extended portions on a top shield can (figures 1 and 3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a shield cover on a shield can including a plurality of second shield members of an electronic device of Yao et al., as suggested by Inoue Michinobu, in order to easily install shield cans on a printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 19, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, further disclose wherein each of the plurality of second shield member further comprises an upper flange (an upper joined portion which is connected between the first portion and the second portion of each corner of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) connected to the second side surface part and spaced apart from the surface of the PCB, and wherein the upper flange is provided at area corresponding to where the first portion and the second portion are connected (figures 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 20, Yao et al., disclose an electronic device (100, figures 1 and 2A-2B) comprising:
a housing (102, figure 1) comprising:
a front surface (a front surface of the housing 102, figure 1);
a rear surface (a rear housing, figure 1) opposite to the front surface; and
a side surface (a periphery of the housing 102, figure 1) enclosing an internal space (an interior space is within the housing 102, figure 1) between the front surface and the rear surface;
a display (104, figure 1) visually exposed to an outside through the front surface;
a printed circuit board (a PCB 112, figure 1) in the internal space;
at least one electrical component (108/106, figure 1) on a surface of the PCB; and
a shield can assembly (116, figures 1and 2A-2B) connected to the PCB , the shield can assembly defining a shield area (an area disposed under a shield assembly 114, figure 1) on the PCB and enclosing the at least one electrical component,
wherein the shield can assembly comprises:
a first shield member (a straight shield portion disposed on a right side of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) and a second shield member (a corner shield portions, figures 2A-2B) that form a partition wall (210, figures 2A-2B) perpendicular to the surface of the PCB and extending around the shield area; and
wherein the first shield member comprises a first side surface part (a surface 208 disposed on the first shield member, figures 2A-2B) forming at least a portion of the partition wall and having straight shape, and
wherein the second shield member comprises:
a first portion (a right bottom corer 210, figures 2A-2B) extending in a first direction (Y direction, figures 2A-2B) and a second portion (an extended portion is coupled to the first shield portion, figures 2A-2B) extending in a second direction (X direction, figures 2A-2B) perpendicular to the first direction; and
an upper flange (an upper joined portion which is connected between the first portion and the second portion of each corner of the shield can, figures 2A-2B) on ends of the first portion and the second portion opposite to the surface of the PCB and configured to connect to the shield cover.
Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a shield cover connected to the first shield member and the second shield member and covering the shield area.
Inoue Michinobu discloses a shield structure (1, figures 1-16) comprising a shield can (4, figures 1-4) includes a plurality of corners parts (41 & 42, figures 1-4), wherein the shield can is mounted on a printed circuit board (2, figures 1 and 3), an a shield cover (5, figures 1-3) is coupled on the shield can (figures 1-3).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a shield cover on a shield can including a plurality of second shield members of an electronic device of Yao et al., as suggested by Inoue Michinobu, in order to easily install shield cans on a printed circuit board.
Claims 4-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Gore et al. [US 5,495,399].
Regarding claims 4-5, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one first shield member further comprises at least one lower flange in a portion of the first side surface part and extending in a direction perpendicular to the height direction from a second end of the first side surface part adjacent to the board surface, and wherein each of the first support part and the at least one lower flange extend toward the shield area.
Gore et al., disclose a shield structure (100, figures 1-2) comprising a shield can (110, figures 1-2), wherein the shield can comprises a side surface part (111, figure 1) and a support part (112, figure 1) is perpendicularly extended from one end of the side surface part; and at least one lower flange (116, figure 1) is extended from another end of the side surface part (figures 1-2), and wherein each of the support part and the at least one lower flange extend toward the shield area (figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add additional lower flange design to a first shield member where the lower flange is contacted on a printed circuit board surface in an electronic device of Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as suggested by Gore et al., in order to provide a stable, surface-mount base of a shield can on a printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 18, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one first shield member further comprises a lower flange connected to at least a portion of the first side surface part and contacts the surface of the PCB, and wherein the lower flange is on a central part of the at least one first shield member.
Gore et al., further disclose wherein the shield can comprises a side surface part (111, figure 1); and a lower flange (116, figure 1) is connected to at least a portion of the first side surface part and contacts the surface of the PCB (116, figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add additional lower flange design to a first shield member where the lower flange is on a central part of the at least one first shield member in an electronic device of Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as suggested by Gore et al., in order to provide a stable, surface-mount base of a shield can on a printed circuit board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Odagiri [US 2021/0360774].
Regarding claim 11, Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, disclose wherein the PCB further comprises a circuit wiring extending from the shield area to an outside of the shield area through the gap.
Odagiri discloses an electronic apparatus (figures 1-4) comprising a shield area (12, figure 1) disposed on a printed circuit board (10, figures 1-2) and a shield member (20, figures 1-2) enclosed the shield area, at least one circuit wiring (13, figures 1-2) extending from the shield area to an outside of the shield area through a gap (23, figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a gap of a shield can for guiding a circuit wiring to connect an inside and an outside of the shield area, in an electronic device of Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as suggested by Odagiri, in order to improve routing circuit wirings on a printed circuit board.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Jin et al., [US 2012/0229347].
Regarding claim 13, Yao et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a bonding member connected to the shield can assembly and configured to seal the gap.
Jin et al., disclose an electronic device (figures 1-10) comprising a shield housing (12, figure 1) wherein the shield housing includes a plurality of shield members (16, figure 1) and at least one bonding member (18A-18D, figure 1) is used to connect a plurality of shield members and configured to seal a plurality of gaps therebetween.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a bonding member to seal a gap in a shield can of Yao et al., in view of Inoue Michinobu, as suggested by Jin et al., in order to provide a completely seal an electronic device shield can.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nozawa [US 2019/0364703] discloses electronic apparatus; and
Castaneda et al. [US 5,596,487] apparatus for RF shield assembly.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800