DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, in line 3, the limitation “preferably” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation that follow are required by the claim.
Regarding claim 9, in line 5, the limitation “preferably” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation that follow are required by the claim.
Regarding claim 14, in line 3, the limitation “preferably” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation that follow are required by the claim.
Regarding claim 15, in line 5, the limitation “preferably” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation that follow are required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eiselmeier et al (WO 2017/106890) (hereinafter Eiselmeier).
Regarding claim 1, Eiselmeier discloses a lateral wall for a drawer, comprising: at least one support profile (4), and at least one retaining device (7) for connecting the lateral wall to a drawer rear wall or a drawer front wall, wherein the support profile and the retaining device are formed at least in sections by a metal material (page 1 of translation) and are welded to one another by at least one laser weld seam (at 24a), wherein the support profile has at least one separate laser deformation (at 24b) in the region of the at least one laser weld seam, which is formed by laser light.
Regarding claim 2, Eiselmeier discloses a lateral wall wherein the at least one laser weld seam is arranged predominantly at locations on the at least one support profile at which the at least one retaining device and the at least one support profile are in contact (Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 4, Eiselmeier discloses a lateral wall wherein the at least one laser deformation is arranged offset to the at least one laser weld seam on the at least one support profile (Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 10, Eiselmeier discloses a method for producing the lateral wall according to claim 1, the method comprising: welding together the at least one support profile and the at least one retaining device by at least one laser weld seam, and forming a laser deformation separate from the at least one laser weld seam in the region of the at least one laser weld seam by irradiation with laser light (Fig. 3a).
Regarding claim 11, Eiselmeier discloses a method wherein: the at least one laser weld seam is arranged predominantly at locations on the at least one support profile at which the at least one retaining device and the at least one support profile are in contact (Fig. 3a), and/or the at least one laser deformation is arranged predominantly at locations on the at least one support profile at which the at least one retaining device and the at least one support profile are not in contact, and/or the at least one laser deformation is arranged offset to the at least one laser weld seam on the at least one support profile.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5-7, 12 & 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 9, 14 & 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637