Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun (Made of reference in ids: KR20210021930A) in view of Umetani (Nobuyuki Umetani, Danny M. Kaufman, Takeo Igarashi, and Eitan Grinspun. 2011. Sensitive couture for interactive garment modeling and editing. ACM Trans. Graph. 30, 4, Article 90 (July 2011), 12 pages. https://doi.org/10.1145/2010324.1964985).
Regarding claim 1, Hyun teaches A method of transforming a garment pattern, the method comprising: receiving a selection input of a user with respect to a first pattern of two-dimensional (2D) garment patterns (para 35: receives selection of a first point on a first pattern piece. Para.36: expressly states the pattern pieces correspond to portions of a 3d pattern); determining a second pattern linked with the first pattern ( Para.38: receives selection of a second pattern piece combined with the first pattern piece. Para.39: explains the first and second pattern pieces correspond to parts that are sewn together); generating a link between the first pattern and the second pattern ( para.48-50: obtain and store coupling (bonding) points between the pattern pieces. 60-61L again stores bonding information and provides guidance using the stored coupling information); receiving a pattern transformation input of the user with respect to one of the first pattern and the second pattern (para.45-48 and 55-60: the user selects points and move the virtual pattern piece.); But fails to teach and displaying a transformation result of the first pattern and the second pattern on both the first pattern and the second pattern based on the pattern transformation input of the user ( Para 50, displays sewing lines on both pattern pieces. Para 80-81 display corresponding notch marks on both pattern pieces using the stored coupling point).
Umetani teaches displaying a transformation result of the first pattern and the second pattern on both the first pattern and the second pattern based on the pattern transformation input of the user( Abstract, fig.1, introduction , section 3 and conclusion: teaches synchronized bidirectional editing in which edits applied to one representation are immediately reflected in the corresponding linked representation while both remain displayed. It would have been obvious to configure the primary linked garment patterns so that a transformation performed on one linked pattern is correspondingly displayed for the second linked pattern, thereby providing immediate visual feedback and maintaining consistency between associated garment representations during editing.)
Regarding claim 2, Hyun in view of Umetani teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second pattern is a pattern that is linked with at least a portion of the first pattern ( Para. 7 receiving a selection of a second point on a second pattern piece that is combined with first pattern piece).
Regarding claim 3, Hyun in view of Umetani teaches The method of claim 1 ,wherein the generating of the link comprises: determining whether preset points exist in the first pattern and the second pattern (Hyun ,Para 35, 38, 84 and 81: discloses the system receives a selection of a first point on a first pattern piece and a second point on a second pattern piece through the user interface. Para 48-50, 60-61, 78-81 and 89-92: teaches the processor stores the coupling /bounding points and later retrieves and uses them); and responsive to determining that the preset points exist ( Hyun, Para. 40, 43, 85: once the first point and second point have been received, the processor generates a virtual pattern corresponding to the first pattern piece in response to the second point selection), generating the link by matching a preset first point in the first pattern with a preset second point in the second pattern ( Hyun,Para 43-49, 65-68, 88-91: the process generates correspondence between pattern pieces by generating virtual pattern piece, aligning corresponding points, storing coupling point information, and providing a guide between the first and second pattern pieces. Para 42, 64-65 and 85: the processor generates a virtual pattern corresponding to the first pattern piece where the third point corresponds to the first point selected on the first pattern piece. Also , teaches the processor arranges the virtual pattern so that the third point matches the second point on the second pattern piece.).
Regarding claim 5, Hyun in view of Umetani teaches The method of claim 1 ,wherein the generating of the link comprises: determining whether preset sewing lines exist between the first pattern and the second pattern(Hyun, Para.50, 90 and 91: teaching storing and using sewing line information between the first and second pattern pieces); and responsive to determining that the preset sewing lines exist , generating the link using the preset sewing lines (Hyun, Para. 50, 61, and 91: once the stored sewing/bonding information is available , the system generates the coupling/link between the pattern pieces using that existing sewing line information).
Regarding claim 6, Hyun in view of Umetani teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the pattern transformation input of the user comprises at least one of (i) an input to move a point positioned in a pattern in which the link is generated(Hyun, Para.38, 43, 47, 58, 59: the user provides point selections on the pattern, and the system moves the virtual pattern so the corresponding points align) ,(ii) an input to move a line segment positioned in the pattern in which the link is generated, or (iii) an input to transform a curvature corresponding to a curve of the pattern in which the link is generated.
Regarding claim 13, Hyun teaches An electronic device comprising: a user interface device configured to receive a selection input of a user with respect to a first pattern of two-dimensional (2D) garment patterns and receive a pattern transformation input of the user with respect to one of the first pattern and a second pattern (para.45-48 and 55-60: the user selects points and move the virtual pattern piece.); and one or more processors configured to:determine the second pattern linked with the first pattern based on the selection input of the user with respect to the first pattern ( Para.38: receives selection of a second pattern piece combined with the first pattern piece. Para.39: explains the first and second pattern pieces correspond to parts that are sewn together),generate a link between the first pattern and the second pattern ( para.48-50: obtain and store coupling (bonding) points between the pattern pieces. 60-61L again stores bonding information and provides guidance using the stored coupling information), But fails to teach apply and display a transformation result of the first pattern and the second pattern to both the first pattern and the second pattern based on the pattern transformation input of the user. (Para 50, displays sewing lines on both pattern pieces. Para 80-81 display corresponding notch marks on both pattern pieces using the stored coupling point).
Umetani teaches apply and display a transformation result of the first pattern and the second pattern to both the first pattern and the second pattern based on the pattern transformation input of the user. ( Abstract, fig.1, introduction , section 3 and conclusion: teaches synchronized bidirectional editing in which edits applied to one representation are immediately reflected in the corresponding linked representation while both remain displayed. It would have been obvious to configure the primary linked garment patterns so that a transformation performed on one linked pattern is correspondingly displayed for the second linked pattern, thereby providing immediate visual feedback and maintaining consistency between associated garment representations during editing.)
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun (Made of reference in ids: KR20210021930A) in view of Umetani (Nobuyuki Umetani, Danny M. Kaufman, Takeo Igarashi, and Eitan Grinspun. 2011. Sensitive couture for interactive garment modeling and editing. ACM Trans. Graph. 30, 4, Article 90 (July 2011), 12 pages. https://doi.org/10.1145/2010324.1964985) in further view of OH (US 20210056755 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hyun in view of Umetani teaches The method of claim 3,wherein the generating of the link comprises: responsive to determining that the preset points do not exist in at least one of the first pattern and the second pattern( Hyun. para.35-49, 84-91: teaches a point generation procedure in which a user selects corresponding points on first and second pattern pieces and the system generates corresponding virtual and coupling points. A POSITA would understand this point generation procedure to be invoked when preset coupling points are unavailable), generating the link by matching a first point of the first pattern with a second point of the second pattern (Hyun, 35-49, 57-61 and 84-91: teaches the user selects first point and second point. Then the virtual point is generated and the second point is matching.), but fails to teach wherein the first point and the second point are determined based on a length ratio between a first line of the first pattern and a second line of the second pattern, with a second point of the second pattern.
Hyun teaches determining corresponding points on first and second garment pattern pieces for generating a coupling/ link between pattern pieces by selecting corresponding points and aligning the pattern pieces. However, Hyun does not expressly disclose that the corresponding points are determined based on a length ratio.
OH teaches maintain the same length ratio between corresponding sewing lines of a source pattern.it would have been obvious to determine the corresponding points of Hyun’s in view of Umetani system according to the proportional length ratio of the corresponding sewing lines taught by OH, in order to preserve proportional seam correspondence and improve alignment between linked garment pattern pieces.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and its dependents 8-12 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “Determining whether to move the link based on user pattern transformation input.”
The closest prior art found was Umetani (Nobuyuki Umetani, Danny M. Kaufman, Takeo Igarashi, and Eitan Grinspun. 2011. Sensitive couture for interactive garment modeling and editing. ACM Trans. Graph. 30, 4, Article 90 (July 2011), 12 pages. https://doi.org/10.1145/2010324.1964985). Discloses bidirectional synchronization and linked editing between garment models, but it does not appear to teach determining whether a link should move, making a decision to move or not move a linkage or conditional movement of linked patterns.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 20220361612 A1.): discloses an integrated garment design system including creation and modification of 2d garment patterns, parametric garment patters, sewing information and associated 3d garment simulations.
Bonner (US 20170109926 A1): discloses a computer implemented garment design system that generates manufacturable two dimensional garment patterns from 3d models using segmentation, flattening, mesh correspondence to maintain relationships between 3d garment panels and corresponding 2d flattened patterns.
/LATRELL ANTHONY CREARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613